Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Car Choice for 2014

• 17-11-2013 9:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭

We have decided to replace my wife's car in 2014 with a new one of the following models.

A. Jaguar XF Sportbrake

B. Mercedes E Class Estate.

C. BMW 5 Series Estate.

Having looked at all three, our minds are boggling with all the options and prices

There is no tradein involved.

Any views? What are the best discounts for a straight deal.

Thank you:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

just waiting the first begrudging, well isnt it well for some comment?! :rolleyes: :D

Matchbox will probably do a better cash price than Hotwheels.

Seriously though, fair play. Great position to be in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

XF Sportbrake would be my choice :D

E-Class Estate looks like a Hearse while the 5 Series is just too ordinary - too many of them on the road!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

Xf for the win. It's one of those cars that looks better in an estate. That said I saw a white e class estate today on the road to fenit. Looked much nicer than the saloon. I recognise your name from lurking in the Tralee thread so maybe keep and eye out for it assuming you're local.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭delthedriver

Matchbox will probably do a better cash price than Hotwheels.

Seriously though, fair play. Great position to be in!

Thanks KKV,Matchbox would definitely be cheaper LOL!
    Wife has been driving a Volvo XC 60, but would like to change to something along a saloon car size but retaining the rear space.

The XC 60 is a fine car which her sister wants to buy , leaving us in a position to go for a new car without a trade in. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

LOL! No ,she has a 2012 XC 60.:)

Did you win the lotto? :D

mickdw wrote: »
    I recommend a further 3 dusters.

I guess for the price of the Sportbrake, Mrs. could have a fleet of Dusters LOL!:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

LOL! No ,she has a 2012 XC 60.:)

sure she does....... ;) everyone is walter mitty land has wives driving 2012 XC 60's .......

got any pics ? (and not of some random one pictured somewhere)

• Subscribers Posts: 16,610 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

The XF, but the other two aren't really in same league. Possibly look at the cls estate?

Having said that the new A6 in avant with a bi turbo and Quattro would be nicer way
    to spend the extra money. It's well ahead of the BMW and Merc looks wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,684 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I can understand how someone with no experience of a quality car can sit in a duster and be happy but it must be fierce depressing swapping between those two cars and much more so if you purchase one of the cars mentioned.

Sobanek wrote: »
    Did you win the lotto? :D

No , but I buy a ticket every week. Some day , Some day!:D:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Audi A6 ?

The x3 is a really nice place to be. Just a curve ball thrown in. If she liked the high driving position of the xc60 it might be a option to consider.

Sobanek wrote: »
    XF Sportbrake would be my choice :D

E-Class Estate looks like a Hearse while the 5 Series is just too ordinary - too many of them on the road!

Yes the Sportbrake would be my first choice, Mrs like the E Class.

I agree the 5 series are ordinary by comparison.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

The BMW will hold its value the best of the three, and is the best to drive IMO. If she isnt too pushed on the power, go for a 518d and save a few euro. Very little difference between it and the 520d around town - I suspect the big difference is up top on yhe motorway, but the 518d is more than enough for Irish application.

The XF is the best looking car, nicest place to be in too. Its not too far behind the 5 Series for driving ability either, but wont hold its value as well.

The Merc wouldn't feature at all for me, streets behind both the BMW and the Jaaaag. A6 might be worth looking at.

ian87 wrote: »
    The x3 is a really nice place to be. Just a curve ball thrown in. If she liked the high driving position of the xc60 it might be a option to consider.

Thanks Ian, good suggestion:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

There isn't a nicer looking new estate car on the market than the XF sportbrake imo.

It wins everytime.

The BMW will hold its value the best of the three, and is the best to drive IMO. If she isnt too pushed on the power, go for a 518d and save a few euro. Very little difference between it and the 520d around town - I suspect the big difference is up top on yhe motorway, but the 518d is more than enough for Irish application.

The XF is the best looking car, nicest place to be in too. Its not too far behind the 5 Series for driving ability either, but wont hold its value as well.

The Merc wouldn't feature at all for me, streets behind both the BMW and the Jaaaag. A6 might be worth looking at.

The Jag was very impressive on a test Drive.
    Also saw a white E class in Waterford last week which looked nice
    You are correct from what I could glean there was not much between the 518D and 520 D in terms of performance.

We had never fully considered the A6, it appears huge in estate/avant form

Kaiser D wrote: »
    There isn't a nicer looking new estate car on the market than the XF sportbrake imo.

It wins everytime.

We saw one in black today in Cork. We both thought it looked rather nice

Thanks Ian, good suggestion:)

While I suggested the x3, if it was my money I'd still be going for the xf sportbrake. As I said earlier along with others, if there was ever a car that looks best in estate it's one of these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,627 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

How about the recently released CLS sport break (I think that's the Merc spelling). If she likes the e-class, it has a better external line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

I'm after a family people carrier (Renauly Espace size/type) vehicle with a Hybrid/range extension drive system.
    Runs on batteries with a diesel charger/backup.

Do they exist/Any suggestions?

Marcusm wrote: »
    How about the recently released CLS sport break (I think that's the Merc spelling). If she likes the e-class, it has a better external line.

Nice suggestion. Actually I saw one in Spain a few weeks ago and thought it looked very nice. Yes It would be a nice alternative to the E class estate/
    Thank you for reminding me . It would also be closer in shape to the XF sportbrake.
    Cheers:)

The CLS only has 4 seats iirc, not sure if thats a deal breaker or not. Still a cracking looking car.

Mercedes-Benz-CLS-Shooting-Brake-rear_2.jpg

LordSutch wrote: »
    I'm after a family people carrier (Renauly Espace size/type) vehicle with a Hybrid/range extension drive system.
    Runs on batteries with a diesel charger/backup.

Do they exist/Any suggestions?

Lexus RX hybrid ?:)

Kaiser D ,

Many thanks for the photo, the CLS looks stunning , particularly in that colour.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The CLS Shooting Brake costs serious money, even in basic form.

ian87 wrote: »
    While I suggested the x3, if it was my money I'd still be going for the xf sportbrake. As I said earlier along with others, if there was ever a car that looks best in estate it's one of these.

Funnily enough we looked at an X3 a couple of months ago in Dublin, but Mrs was anxious to go back to Saloon/Touring style.

I think it will be the Jaguar XF Sportbrake or the Merc E Class Estate????:)

copacetic wrote: »
    The XF, but the other two aren't really in same league. Possibly look at the cls estate?

Having said that the new A6 in avant with a bi turbo and Quattro would be nicer way
    to spend the extra money. It's well ahead of the BMW and Merc looks wise.

Thank you, the A6 has a nicer shape than the Merc or , BMw which looks somewhat dated:)

Guys, thank you for all the suggestions,this pm. Plenty to think about:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I might be shot for suggesting it but I do think the Superb estate kitting out with a top spec and good engine would be a good option. Now an XF will look better at all times but I wouldn't discount the Superb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭Casati

XF is a beautiful car, inside and out. I think the 200 bhp Luxury model is the best all round model in the range and priced well below the competition's similar models. The salon has been out since 2008 so overall the design is getting slightly dated imo in some areas, but overall it looks, feels and goes great

The 520d is everywhere and a low risk option- as long as you dont keep it when warranty runs out. If going for one get upgraded leather as the basic stuff feels like cheap plastic. Auto is still a no cost option I think, so that makes the price strong. The 518d is only 2 grand less so I dont see the point as the 520d doesnt feel overpowered

E class is great car & feels special- its very fresh looking after a good facelift. Its the only one in that class with 7 seats which might be some advantage too. The E300 hybrid diesel seems to be a great option- the band A tax and super economy with good power looks like a great combination- and only 3000 grand more than a E220 CDI

A6 Avant is large but only the same size as all of the above. The 177 bhp 2.0 is nice, and the SE Plus is great spec - probably the cheapest option of all the cars but the interior feels like its really high quality.

If it was my money I'd prob go with the Merc, but spending your money I'd go with the Jaguar- but all of these cars are brilliant and a good step up from the XC.

ba_barabus wrote: »
    I might be shot for suggesting it but I do think the Superb estate kitting out with a top spec and good engine would be a good option. Now an XF will look better at all times but I wouldn't discount the Superb.

The Superb estate is a fine looking car.:)

Casati wrote: »
    XF is a beautiful car, inside and out. I think the 200 bhp Luxury model is the best all round model in the range and priced well below the competition's similar models. The salon has been out since 2008 so overall the design is getting slightly dated imo in some areas, but overall it looks, feels and goes great

The 520d is everywhere and a low risk option- as long as you dont keep it when warranty runs out. If going for one get upgraded leather as the basic stuff feels like cheap plastic. Auto is still a no cost option I think, so that makes the price strong. The 518d is only 2 grand less so I dont see the point as the 520d doesnt feel overpowered

E class is great car & feels special- its very fresh looking after a good facelift. Its the only one in that class with 7 seats which might be some advantage too. The E300 hybrid diesel seems to be a great option- the band A tax and super economy with good power looks like a great combination- and only 3000 grand more than a E220 CDI

A6 Avant is large but only the same size as all of the above. The 177 bhp 2.0 is nice, and the SE Plus is great spec - probably the cheapest option of all the cars but the interior feels like its really high quality.

If it was my money I'd prob go with the Merc, but spending your money I'd go with the Jaguar- but all of these cars are brilliant and a good step up from the XC.

Thanks for your post. The XC is a nice car but does not compare really with any of the above cars we looked at. The Jaguar and the Merc appear to be joint favourites today with herself!

Recently was in a mercedes E350 cdi with airmatic suspension. It's a stunning car in every way. It's gone right to the top of my list of used buys. Not a whole pile of airmatic ones around though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Are we talking diesel or petrol?

Have you considered one of these babies :D

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/1-9-tdi-passat-1998-estate/6008296

Makes an XF look crap...

PS: go for the XF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

Casati wrote: »

I'd echo most of this, the 7 seats are an option in the Merc Estate though, but I'd be ticking that box if it still can be ticked with the E300 hybrid. They're an excellent car.

Is it correct that the hybrid is only 3k more than the 220 diesel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 CHERNOBYLJOE

You should consider the Range Rover Evoque old chap... I got one for my daughter for college business etc. Wife drives a Mercedes CL65 AMG A/T

Oooof course.

What do you drive?

Porsche 911 Turbo S

Sweet.

Got any photos?

I just joined this boards thing tonight actually. My wife is originally from Tralee, and we are buying another house here in Ireland in the Tralee area possibly. I must find some of our own photos of the cars, though I am cautious about putting such things online my friend.

We do have a Mercedes CLS which we travel to Tralee in when we visit as a family.

Chappies, I kept the best for last. This one is currently in Switzerland in a safe place of course ya ya ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Custard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

*primes 'ban' button*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

colm_mcm wrote: »
    *primes 'ban' button*

Ahhh never so hasty my good fellow. I'd like to see some custard, I've forgotten what it looks like :D

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Is that a smell of "poo" :D

YES, she is a thing of beauty. Only 499 built. Lucky I own 11 Ferrari's and with my connections, I was able to get one of these BABIES for myself. I collected it in Italy and got my seat fitted and all that and then moved it to Switzerland for now. I will be taking it to the Middle East in 2014 to join it's sisters in my garage vault.