Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IRFU and manufactured atmosphere

• 17-11-2013 11:59am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭

I was at the Aviva for the game last night and I doubt I'll be returning while the IRFU persist on the cringe inducing gimmicks that seem to be an attempt to generate atmosphere

Blaring Dropkick Murphys everytime the team comes onto the field

Blaring songs after a point is scored and sometimes continuing the song when the ball goes back into play

And finally the horrible Ireland chants blared out

It totally killed any atmosphere last night, prior to the match I watched the England game and the atmosphere was electric

In a game like last night where so many of our players seemed to be mentally tuned out a decent atmosphere could make a hell of a difference

I really hope the IRFU will do away with this crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

At least they didn't seem to play music during stoppages in play. That's an improvement from the Samoa match.

Other than that, just let people cheer. If you drown them out they can't cheer. Seems simple logic to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

Yesterdays atmosphere was amongst the worst I've experienced.
    Partially down to the aforementioned rubbish blared out but also I think a lot of fans went in with a remarkable amount of optimism which was squashed pretty quickly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

I thought the atmosphere was good for the 1st 40 last night no? There was a real tetchy vibe in the air. The soft tries didn't help but it was a great improvement on the Samoa game. The thing is the atmosphere's really only going to be good when the game is tight or we're winning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

The atmosphere felt like it was going to be good until the soft tries, it was certainly pretty decent the first 10 minutes or so.

A bunch of kids in my section kept trying to get the mexican wave going, irritating feckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Running Balance

Teferi wrote: »
    The atmosphere felt like it was going to be good until the soft tries, it was certainly pretty decent the first 10 minutes or so.

A bunch of kids in my section kept trying to get the mexican wave going, irritating feckers.

the most pathetic thing was when Cronin got the try. Queue sh1te music, then oh turn it off there lads. Considering that they were getting mauled physically and it was ever only going to be consolidation try it was well over the top!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

Anyone trying to start a Mexican Wave at any sporting event should be immediately ejected, preferably with some spring like mechanism installed under the seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,455 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

.ak wrote: »
    I thought the atmosphere was good for the 1st 40 last night no? There was a real tetchy vibe in the air. The soft tries didn't help but it was a great improvement on the Samoa game. The thing is the atmosphere's really only going to be good when the game is tight or we're winning.

This. From being at both, yesterday's atmosphere was streets ahead of Samoa - not difficult admittedly. Sure, the early soft tries took a bit of the bounce out of it, but I thought the crowd were ... not bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

Wasn't at the game but watching on tv and hearing We Will Rock You being blared through the stadium at the start of the match, and the MC then shouting "c'mon eveybody get your hands together" or something along those lines was cingeworthy. Atmosphere seemed far better at the England All Blacks game, although they did have some crap music playing at times too.

Some people seem to blame the stadium as being the cause of the lack of atmosphere but you only have to look at Leinster matches played there, the England game in 2011 and certain Irish football matches to see the atmosphere can be great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

At least they're trying. Is it the shape of the stadium that doesn't hold sound well? The sound in twikenham was insane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Building up the atmosphere pre match with fireworks and inspiring music can work quite well, however playing music and those irritating drums during the match doesn't work at all and goes to kill atmospheres.

Perhaps visual rather than audial cues might work better for building the atmosphere during the match, best example I can think of is NFL stadia that have messages like 'get loud' blaring (visually) from the big screens at certain points of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

Grimebox wrote: »
    At least they're trying. Is it the shape of the stadium that doesn't hold sound well? The sound in twikenham was insane

There's nothing wrong with the stadium. It's the performances on the pitch and the bums on the seats. Both as responsible.

The atmosphere was electric when Ulster and Leinster played their semis against Edinburgh and Toulouse.

If Ireland can start firing under Schmidt, it will help significantly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Fooker

That announcer would make you embarrassed to cheer...

"Welcome to the Jungle" is played every time the Leinster team runs out. Honestly, that gets me pumped. Does everyone else thinks that's cringey too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,552 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Playing Aerosmith after every score. Ugh. They even played it straight after Ireland's disallowed try near the end. Absolutely clueless.

The less you hear a PA announcer the better. At the moment he gives a running commentary after every score. Trying to manufacture an atmosphere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

Same here, kids even asked me to join in and I told them to watch the match!

Were you in the North stand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I remember having a discussion with an English fan back in 2010, where he pointed out how awful the drums are, I counted that they could be dismissed as it's just trying to build an atmosphere in a new stadium with a new layout totally different to the old Landsdowne road. To see to still used 3 years on is embarrassing, in fact playing a cheesy song after EVERY home score only makes the silence all the more deafening when the away team scores.

The PA guy needs a double dose of STFU as well.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I don't see the problem with the Mexican Wave myself, it's just a bit of fun and imo gets the fans involved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

CatFromHue wrote: »
    I don't see the problem with the Mexican Wave myself, it's just a bit of fun and imo gets the fans involved

My problem is that it gets the fans involved in the mexican wave, rather than getting them involved in the game that everyone's paid to go see.

Same here, kids even asked me to join in and I told them to watch the match!

Were you in the North stand?

Ha, yeah! Must have been close to each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

Ha, yeah! Must have been close to each other.

were you there with your girlfriend by any chance?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

My problem is that it gets the fans involved in the mexican wave, rather than getting them involved in the game that everyone's paid to go see.

It's a bit of an ice breaker for me as it can get fans to liven up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭siochain

losing own line outs, scrums and kicking away possession every time we get it doesn't help.............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

Ireland doesn't have fans, just spectators. The provinces have fans but those same people don't go to Ireland games. I don't think you can lay the blame on the stadium either, I've been at plenty of Leinster games there and the atmosphere can be pretty good. yesterday though, it was all about the absolute crap that we were watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Cormyy

Any game at the Aviva just seems to be low on atmosphere ..

Cormyy wrote: »
    Any game at the Aviva just seems to be low on atmosphere ..

I've been to four matches at the Aviva and the Ulster vs Edinburgh match had a brilliant atmosphere, despite the match being average enough.

Ireland doesn't have fans, just spectators. The provinces have fans but those same people don't go to Ireland games. I don't think you can lay the blame on the stadium either, I've been at plenty of Leinster games there and the atmosphere can be pretty good. yesterday though, it was all about the absolute crap that we were watching.

I do think there's something in this. From my experience at provincial matches those in attendance do seem to engage a bit more.

Schmidt himself made the comment about "keeping the supporters interested", maybe something can be read into that.

it was a boring game where the team gave the supporters nothing to actually cheer about is what i took.

think about, no big tackles, no sustained play, and other than the last few mins we never looked like scoring a try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The PA is getting closer to Alan Partridge by the game.

• Administrators Posts: 54,423 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

The PA is getting closer to Alan Partridge by the game.

It's the same guy who does the Leinster games at the RDS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

Unless Ireland keep the scoreboard close I'm expecting zero atmosphere at the Aviva this weekend, but it's great to see the ABs live - their work & positioning off the ball (and out of the eye of the TV cameras) always astounds me.

were you there with your girlfriend by any chance?

Nope, I was with my mate and his old man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭My name is Mud

I have been to Leinster & Ireland matches and the Ulster vs Edinburgh match in the Aviva.

By far the Ulster fans were the best atmosphere creators, but I thought last night was ok. Not amazing, but good.

IRFU should can the dropkick murphys, and the tannoy nonsense, but people that complain from their armchairs about the atmosphere should really make the effort to change the perceived bad atmosphere by attending matches!

If we are all fans here, the power is in our hands to change the atmosphere for the better. Not blaming IRFU etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

People complain about a manufactured atmosphere yet still happily accept a soulless corporation with no connection to Irish rugby (or even sport) buying a 10 year "naming rights" deal.

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    People complain about a manufactured atmosphere yet still happily accept a soulless corporation with no connection to Irish rugby (or even sport) buying a 10 year "naming rights" deal.

Professional rugby runs on money. No issue with it being called the Aviva if they're paying for the privilege. The stadium could be called "Craic Central" and the atmosphere would still suck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

"Welcome to the Jungle" is played every time the Leinster team runs out. Honestly, that gets me pumped. Does everyone else thinks that's cringey too?

Why should you require music to get pumped? :confused:

There should be no music apart from the anthems (ideally we wouldn't be tied into that nothing "anthem" but it's unavoidable) apart from while the crowd is filing in or half time, etc. Music after scores or as the team run out is truly dreadful.

Too many regular attendees are waiting to be entertained, for the team to do something before they'll respond. It should be a case that their support and enthusiasm is a given. PAs and music after scores only exacerbates that fundamental problem, as it permeates the idea that something should happen before the supporters support. A shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭UnitedWeStand

I don't know how the atmosphere has become so dead at our home rugby games. I don't know if its just because its a different crowd at rugby games as a whole compared to say football or GAA and find it "awkward" or "unruly" as such to get up barbarically and shout, but it certainly defies the global persona we've adopted as a country where are fans have been known for decades for being loud. Or maybe its just football fans.

Coming back to my point saying its a different crowd at rugby, I meant at first to target the stereotype that its been known as a game for the richer types who obviously won't see the fun in getting up and roaring, but then again this stereotypes been put to bed for a long while. The lads down in Thomond and Ravenhill can be some of the loudest settings possible in a rugby environment. Leinster has almost completely destroyed the whole "d4 image" thanks to a fantastic campaign by the IRFU to expand the game well into the counties of Leinster where rugby was traditionally non existant, the "12-county army" campaign has certainly shown its dividends here.

So where could the problem lay? Perhaps the fact that the IRFU is offering many family tickets could be one. Its trying to make rugby a family event, and in some respects thats a good idea, even though the IRFU's reason may be family tickets certainly bring in the cash. A quick fan view from the RTE/BBC camera crews at the weekend shown that the stands were pretty much full of kids and mothers. In terms of vocalness, a mother and child isn't going to have a jot on drunk Paddy and Mick.

I should also add that there are still some fans who don't understand the concept of roaring on the team too. I've been at a few games (Leinster ones, and I'm a die hard Leinster fan too I might add), and once or twice I've got looks for roaring on the lads. Looks as in "hey, this isn't soccer!".

Either way, we need to stop playing "jump around" as much at the Aviva, it becomes cringey when the same song is played 8/9 times in succession. It could only become more sickening if they play it every time BOD sidesteps. This is only out cringed when they start playing recorded versions of fields of athenry during breaks. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

LuckyLloyd wrote: »

There should be no music apart from the anthems (ideally we wouldn't be tied into that nothing "anthem" but it's unavoidable) apart from while the crowd is filing in or half time, etc. Music after scores or as the team run out is truly dreadful.

Too many regular attendees are waiting to be entertained, for the team to do something before they'll respond. It should be a case that their support and enthusiasm is a given. PAs and music after scores only exacerbates that fundamental problem, as it permeates the idea that something should happen before the supporters support. A shame.

Are you a regular attendee yourself Lloyd?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

one thing that annoys me no end is rolling out the red carpet for Michael D every game. completely unnecessary and wastes so much time.

Are you a regular attendee yourself Lloyd?

I go to more football matches than Rugby matches but the problem seems to be very similar across both sports the past few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭UnitedWeStand

Fooker wrote: »
    That announcer would make you embarrassed to cheer...

I'll never stop cheering for "brieeen Uw'Druscullll" :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Atmosphere at the England match was unreal. The noise they were making at the start completely drowned out the noise of the haka.

Just wait until Sunday where the Haka will greeted coos and cheers from the Irish crowd.

I really don't know why the atmosphere has gotten so bad at Ireland games, certainly the music has a lot to answer for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Professional rugby runs on money. No issue with it being called the Aviva if they're paying for the privilege. The stadium could be called "Craic Central" and the atmosphere would still suck.
    Twickenham, Murrayfield, Millennium Stadium (a new build) don't have that problem. Sponsorship of stadia isn't even that common in football, perhaps the most professional sport of all. Excepting German stadia and a few English ones (Reebok, Emirates, Etihad) most keep their traditional name, see the outcry over St. James' Park in Newcastle when that got renamed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Twickenham, Murrayfield, Millennium Stadium (a new build) don't have that problem. Sponsorship of stadia isn't even that common in football, perhaps the most professional sport of all. Excepting German stadia and a few English ones (Reebok, Emirates, Etihad) most keep their traditional name, see the outcry over St. James' Park in Newcastle when that got renamed.

Speaking of which, is anyone else annoyed by the fact that the new Irish passport will have images of the Aviva stadium?

I know it might seem trivial, but I think that's wrong.

I don't think the name in of itself is the problem, but there's no denying that the atmosphere was better before the rebuild (at least I don't believe there's anyone denying it). Ticket prices have changed across both sports and that is undoubtedly the biggest issue sans anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,552 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

one thing that annoys me no end is rolling out the red carpet for Michael D every game. completely unnecessary and wastes so much time.

Aye that gets a bit tiresome as well.

Don't mind a bit of rousing music before a game but the music being played after scores has to go and someone has to take the mic off the PA announcer and tell him it's only for reading out the teams, announcing substitutions and any safety announcements. And absolutely nothing else. He seems to think he's on morning radio or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Henwin

-ya i think tat certainly adds to the long drawn out pre match activities. Whats the reason for the president to come out to meet the players. when did it start. the only other team i can tink of tat do dat is Scotland. Like seriously Micheal D will be shaking hands with the Irish team 3 weeks in a row. Its just boring time wasting.

-As someone said on another thread, the mini stand behind the goals should be a terrace for rugby matches.

-Get rid of that awful stadium announcer.

-Remind everyone going in the gate that they are supporters so get behind the team vocally before the match starts and during the match.

-and absolutely not have any god awful singers 'singing' the anthems, leave the crowd do it.

-Having seen the match d last day there were an awful lot of seats empty very close to kick off. this shudnt happen, there shud be an incentive to have people in seats 20 minutes in before kick off.

I don't require the music to get me pumped, but it does. I get shivers down my back at big matches when its being played as they run out. At first I thought it was cheesey but now I have solid memories and emotions associated with that moment.

Lads, the President meeting players was a feature long before the stadium was rebuilt. Don't think that's an issue personally.
    I don't require the music to get me pumped, but it does. I get shivers down my back at big matches when its being played as they run out. At first I thought it was cheesey but now I have solid memories and emotions associated with that moment.

Fair enough, each to his own I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

I go to more football matches than Rugby matches but the problem seems to be very similar across both sports the past few years.

Funny, I'd imagined that alright.

Cool beans. Do you have anything to add to the below aside from an ad hominem attack?

I don't think the name in of itself is the problem, but there's no denying that the atmosphere was better before the rebuild (at least I don't believe there's anyone denying it). Ticket prices have changed across both sports and that is undoubtedly the biggest issue sans anything else.