Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Dublin 1946

• 16-11-2013 01:32PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭

Founds some images of bicycles in Dublin in 1946 on the Dutch National Archives site. One thing of particular note, none of the parked bikes seem to be locked. A few auld fella have told this... 'There'd be hundreds of bikes outside the dance halls and none of them locked', never quite believed them.

bb8a4551-08d7-4b61-b2db-28ccded5fb45.jpg

2e0dfd20-be40-4507-9259-dc6df768345a.jpg

608505d3-e3a4-4301-9810-ed7a0612efd4.jpg

145398e7-43a0-4119-98b6-765964d10969.jpg

deedecd0-93fd-41c5-8a22-8cff9d7dcc01.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭ChainWhip

Foun

2e0dfd20-be40-4507-9259-dc6df768345a.jpg

I love the cap left hanging on the post: "Sure it'll be still here when I get back"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Pretty sure photo #1 is Grafton Street (or maybe Henry Street)

Photo #2 makes it look like there were 'lock hards' for cyclists parking up back then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭le petit braquet

Jawgap wrote: »
    Pretty sure photo #1 is Grafton Street (or maybe Henry Street)

I think it's Henry Street. The first shops on the left are Woolworths and I am old enough to remember a Woolworths on Henry Street, and also there is more of a curve on Grafton Street.

I thought Henry Street first, but I remember Woolies too - and there was one on Henry Street and Grafton Street.

If Woolies was on the left youd be looking towards Mary St, meaning you should be able to see Arnott's - that, and the curve made me think it was Grafton Street, looking down towards Nassau Street.

For the avoidance of doubt - I was not born in 1946 or at any time close to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 588 ✭✭✭sbs2010

Looks too level to be Grafton St which has a definite incline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭le petit braquet

I think you are right. I'd forgotten about the Woolies on Grafton St and looking at the photo more closely, there is a side street on the left with a car emerging which wouldn't fit Henry St. You've won the old fogie battle Jawgap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Ryath

Definitely Grafton St even a culchie like me knew it wasn't Henry St. Its just outside HMV looking down. The building on the left hand lane with the chamfered corner is quite distinctive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

Defo Grafton street. The third row of cobbles, clockwise from the left as the crow used to fly is a dead giveaway ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,694 ✭✭✭mondeo

I use to think my Dad was abit of a wally when he said in those days he never locked his bike. By the looks of those pics he was obviously right. Sorry Dad...lol

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,483 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Looks like Grafton Street - this one was taken a bit later but the building is quite distinctive

0392.jpg

mondeo wrote: »
    I use to think my Dad was abit of a wally when he said in those days he never locked his bike. By the looks of those pics he was obviously right. Sorry Dad...lol

Of course, in most continental European cities today, you can still do this and your bike will be there upon your return. We are a terrible nation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,122 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Must have been loads of hipsters around in 1946 judging by the number of single speeds!

Nah man. Just lots of Catholics. Only protestants could afford more than one gear back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭12 sprocket

The man in the official looking cap on the first page was a licenced bike minder like todays car park attendents.. they were licenced by dublin corporation. His name was charlie dillon a thorough gentleman, who lived in nth cumberland street just off o connell street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,122 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Lusk_Doyle wrote: »
    Only protestants could afford more than one gear back then.
    So those stern looking ladies at Trinity College must have the 3 speeds! :)

While we're on the subject of Trinity and Catholics and Dublin history; our old parish priest in portmarnock, Brendan Heffernan, was the first Catholic priest admitted to Trinity to study waaay back in the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Rod brakes, baskets and cottered cranks really used to be common, didn't they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

Of course, in most continental European cities today, you can still do this and your bike will be there upon your return. We are a terrible nation.

Have you actually tried? I honestly doubt so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,703 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Really?

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Really?

Really.

Alek wrote: »
    Have you actually tried? I honestly doubt so.

I haven't no. I've seen plenty in Germany, Austria, France and Denmark who have however.

I can promise you, your bike wouldn't last pissing time unlocked in Paris or Munich. Or most European cities.

The man in the official looking cap on the first page was a licenced bike minder like todays car park attendents.. they were licenced by dublin corporation. His name was charlie dillon a thorough gentleman, who lived in nth cumberland street just off o connell street.

It'd be great if we could have this service again, sure we brought back the trams!

I can promise you, your bike wouldn't last pissing time unlocked in Paris or Munich. Or most European cities.

I've no doubt that my bike wouldn't. It's too expensive to leave unlocked or indeed, in public view for prolonged periods while I'm away from it. To clarify, the bikes that I've seen left unlocked, in mass gatherings, are run of the mill bikes that wouldn't usually attract the attention of undesirables.

It'd be great if we could have this service again, sure we brought back the trams!

Could you imagine taking that job and standing up to the scum? The Gardai won't do it, I don't think many others would unless it was a private security firm. Hmmm.

Could you imagine taking that job and standing up to the scum?.

Have you seen the ex military security lads on the DART in action?

Nope. I haven't used public transport in many years! I've seen them though and I certainly wouldn't f with them. However, I'm not a scumbag that gets on the dart at howth junction, kikbarrick, the harmo, etc!

This is all way off thread so my next post will attempt to get back on track. Back on track....the dart...see what I did there?

First you get the bicycles. Then you get the power. Then you get.....well, a puncture I suppose knowing the state of the roads in those days!

280705.jpeg

During The Emergency (WWII to everyone else) the Irish Army deployed several cyclist squadrons - here's one such unit parading in 1943.....

1943NationalParade.jpg