Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fianna Fail's best and brightest are returning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I read about this yesterday over on p.ie. Apparently John o Donoghue gave a rousing speech at a South Kerry constituency meeting and he got a standing ovation from the crowd who were egging him on to run in the next election.

As someone who can't stand those pack of FF traitors I welcome this news. ODonoghue probably would get re-elected in Kerry which would be sh1t. However on a national level it would send out a clear and positive signal to the electorate that FF haven't changed and that the same scheisters who bankrupted this country are back to see if they can repeat the feat.

All of this will give Michael Martin a big headache. He might gain a seat in Kerry but in doing so the optics of the scenario will almost certainly keep Dublin Fianna Fáil free again and I welcome that wholeheartedly. Even the sight of O'Donoghue running again has serious potential to damage the FF 'renewal' on a national scale. Some peoples memories might be short but they're not that short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

raymon wrote: »
    Carry on Mary and John.

Unfortunately Francie won't be able to run . He will be in jail.

And if the judiciary was doing its job properly Francie would be joined in there by many more of his FF comrades, Mary and John included.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

I worry that Ireland hasn't learned a tenth of what it should have from the crash. FF get a quarter of the vote in most polls! But they're far less likely to get transfers, so there's that

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

You can add the quiet man tom mc ellistrim to that list.

What I want to know is who kicked the rats nest to send them all scurrying around the place again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I would or have never voted FF , Unfortunally the Irish people seem to vote FF or FG with some other party throwing in to ease there conscious, For the for see able future I can't see that changing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭SoulandForm

realies wrote: »
    I would or have never voted FF , Unfortunally the Irish people seem to vote FF or FG with some other party throwing in to ease there conscious, For the for see able future I can't see that changing.

Im not so sure. I think the ULA could have become something but sadly the influence that Trotskyism has over the Irish Left insured its demise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Mary Coughlan speaking on getting more women into politics http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/former-tanaiste-mary-coughlan-has-not-ruled-out-return-to-politics-29757901.html is she right type of person to invite to these events?

I know 50:50 want to non-partisan, but theres regular politics and then there is what Fianna Fail did.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

For two incompetance and achieving ministerial office for party loyalty reasons, I'd say Mr. Rabbitte and Mr. Hogan could hold their own against the returning challengers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

FF are on the way back?

Helloooo worthless apartment in Bulgaria!

Put me down for 6.

FF are on the way back?

Put me down for 6.

Ah **** it, sounds like them apartments are a great investment. I better buy now.

I'll buy them off you for double whatever you paid for them, I don't even need to see them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,736 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

You can add the quiet man tom mc ellistrim to that list.

What I want to know is who kicked the rats nest to send them all scurrying around the place again?

Kerry will be a very interesting constituency for the next GE

You will have the merger of North and South Kerry and the return of West Limerick to Limerick from North Kerry
    So you have six seats going down to 5
    So it will be no easy task for the Bull or McElistrum to win back a seat.

McEllistrim actually called to the door about 6 months back, introducing himself to the voters of the current South Kerry constituency

He picked the wrong man to start waffling to that day, in the space of the 15 minutes I had him under the cosh he went from blaming the economic collapse firstly on the FF\Green\PD cabinet, then on the world economy, and finally at the feet of the then opposition.
    I really enjoyed myself.

Kerry will be a very interesting constituency for the next GE

You will have the merger of North and South Kerry and the return of West Limerick to Limerick from North Kerry
    So you have six seats going down to 5
    So it will be no easy task for the Bull or McElistrum to win back a seat.

McEllistrim actually called to the door about 6 months back, introducing himself to the voters of the current South Kerry constituency

He picked the wrong man to start waffling to that day, in the space of the 15 minutes I had him under the cosh he went from blaming the economic collapse firstly on the FF\Green\PD cabinet, then on the world economy, and finally at the feet of the then opposition.
    I really enjoyed myself.

I'm waiting to nail them when they call aswell. The trick is to invite them in for tea. Then when there sitting at the table, start lashing the questions at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

I'm waiting to nail them when they call aswell. The trick is to invite them in for tea. Then when there sitting at the table, start lashing the questions at them.

Not sure I could go that far........ As in offering tea :D

Im not so sure. I think the ULA could have become something but sadly the influence that Trotskyism has over the Irish Left insured its demise.

I don't think it was their Trotskyism that made them uncredible in the eyes of the public, more so Mick Wallace and the €2m VAT bill and Ming dodging the penalty points, they lost all credibility for me after that. Still though Clare Daly has been a good performer in the Dail and a constant thorn in FGs side, she does a good job at holding them to account IMO.

Muahahaha wrote: »
    I don't think it was their Trotskyism that made them uncredible in the eyes of the public, more so Mick Wallace and the €2m VAT bill and Ming dodging the penalty points, they lost all credibility for me after that. Still though Clare Daly has been a good performer in the Dail and a constant thorn in FGs side, she does a good job at holding them to account IMO.

But neither Wallace nor Ming are ULA members!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

goose2005 wrote: »
    But neither Wallace nor Ming are ULA members!!

True, but they were on that side of the house, And where I certainally had hope for senior Ming, that he was actually different and truthful, he himself burst my bubble in having any faith in what's now in the dail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

If that's the best FF can come up with they are destined to remain in opposition for years to come. She was Cowans biggest supporter and a complete joke of a politician.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Mr.Micro wrote: »
    Not sure I could go that far........ As in offering tea :D

Oh I don't know that does give me a briliant idea. :D

BTW does anyone know how you can mask the taste of Andrews liver salts in tea.
    It was me gran who wanted to know, honest.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭Lantus

We bemoan countries like China who are effectively 'one party states' but no seems to mind the fact that most western democracy's are just two party states. Each dominant party taking turns in an elaborate game that seems to give hope and optimism to the people who rush out to vote for them. America is a case in point. A lot of western countries are following suit as politics becomes an expensive and elaborate process that requires huge sums of money and investment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

Lantus wrote: »
    We bemoan countries like China who are effectively 'one party states' but no seems to mind the fact that most western democracy's are just two party states. Each dominant party taking turns in an elaborate game that seems to give hope and optimism to the people who rush out to vote for them. America is a case in point. A lot of western countries are following suit as politics becomes an expensive and elaborate process that requires huge sums of money and investment.

You are correct

This video demonstrates the anatomy of the problem you are describing.

It shows Willie (come here till I tell you a lie ) o Dea taking a a tour of a housing estate in Limerick

It was under Willies watch that these estates fell into ruin and were not regenerated, but now he has fooled these people again. They have forgotten and are easy prey.

Voter : Look at this , Willie !!!!
    Willie : Jaysus that's shocking. I will ring those eejits in the council.

I actually blame both sides. Fianna Fail come from a culture of dishonesty but the voters are willing recipients of the dishonesty.

The video is very sad so be warned. The hipocracy starts at 2:20

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ljy3DRjPIg&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Lantus wrote: »

In many ways Ireland was a quasi one party state up until the last election. I remember some stat about FF being the most successful party in the entire western world in that they had spent more time in power since their inception than any other American or European party.

The Ireland we see today is completely and utterly a product of FF.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Bullseye1 wrote: »
    If that's the best FF can come up with they are destined to remain in opposition for years to come. She was Cowans biggest supporter and a complete joke of a politician.

There are plenty of other people who are likely to contest that convention, seems some people have forgotten that everyone will have to go before convention if they want to be on the ticket for the general election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Its says a lot about how little that FF have learned that the likes of O'Donoghue, king of the gravy train and a disgraced former Ceann Comhairle, and Calamity Coughlan are even being allowed to put themselves in the frame as candidates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Its says a lot about how little that FF have learned that the likes of O'Donoghue, king of the gravy train and a disgraced former Ceann Comhairle, and Calamity Coughlan are even being allowed to put themselves in the frame as candidates.

Just as bad, is the likes of Coughlan and O'Donoghue think that they are are good enough? The sheer arrogance, or is it just thickness?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭grainnewhale

FF are on the way back?

Put me down for 6.

Was this F.F policy or just Irish peoples greed. If that is the case then maybe F.F was not to blame just Irish peoples greed.

And our current tanaiste is a fine upstanding, intelligent man of his word.

Our current f.g Taoiseach is a braindead gombeen , whose own party wont even allow debate policies for fear he will show his lack of knowledge and ability on any subject.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭SoulandForm

Muahahaha wrote: »

Ming isnt ULA.

The ULA are Trotskyites and because of their Trotskyism they couldnt work properly with each other for the greater good.

I respect Clare Daly and Im glad she has broken from the Socialist Party but I wouldnt trust her with actual power nor do I think she is capable of proper leadership- Trotskyites either troll or parasite off actual working class movements believing if everyone just turned to them everything would be rosy and the sea would turn into lemonade.

Was this F.F policy or just Irish peoples greed. If that is the case then maybe F.F was not to blame just Irish peoples greed.

Greed can be influenced by tax policy, tenant rights, tax rates, bank regulation etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

FF created the low tax economic climate, FF economics not only encouraged greed they rewarded it, and the FF Taoiseach suggested that those who questioned their economic wisdom should commit suicide!

Greed can be influenced by tax policy, tenant rights, tax rates, bank regulation etc.

Greed is only influenced by greed and in a lot of cases peoples stupidity.

FF created the low tax economic climate, FF economics not only encouraged greed they rewarded it, and the FF Taoiseach suggested that those who questioned their economic wisdom should commit suicide!

That right Bertie is a dickhead. So your in favour of a high tax economy.

Greed is only influenced by greed and in a lot of cases peoples stupidity.

Your right the stupidity of fianna fail voters kept electing that greedy bastard bertie 'cash collections' ahern!

The only thing that would have been more stupid would be to vote in f.g and lab and expect to get a different result. The choice of government currently available to the irish electorate is dumb and dumber

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭rockatansky

I will never vote for Fianna Fáil.

Labour, for some reason I don't trust left wing economic policies. Especially in a recession / high unemployment..

This only leaves Fine Gael. I have no problem admitting that I will be voting for them in the next election. I think they deserve their chance to see this thing through to the end. I believe they won that right when you see the utter mess that was handed to them.

At the end of the day, we're 200 billion in Debt so they can't exactly do any worse.

Labour, for some reason I don't trust left wing economic policies.
    Well then Labour should suit you fine!

is it some coincidence that Coughlan, Cowen, Lenihan were all from dynasties and then you had Ahern who was taoiseach for most of the time surrounded by born and bred FF yes men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,964 ✭✭✭For Reals

Even Fianna Fail themselves retracted the 'We (the Irish people) got greedy' line. Here's the hole in that logic. I've never owned a home, let alone a second home. I don't drive. I've never owned a share. I've been working and paying tax since school. Are you going to tell me I got greedy? I'm not from some other dimensional bubble, my situation is quite common. So fraudulent banks, crooked and incompetent Fianna Fail, the country, yet again, led to believe building and buying property is the Holy Grail, bailing out private debt...is because the average joe got greedy? Even Fianna Fail retracted that one.

*enter the sad sad faux argument; well the jones up the street would've been worse!*

For Reals wrote: »
    Even Fianna Fail themselves retracted the 'We (the Irish people) got greedy' line. Here's the hole in that logic. I've never owned a home, let alone a second home. I don't drive. I've never owned a share. I've been working and paying tax since school. Are you going to tell me I got greedy? I'm not from some other dimensional bubble, my situation is quite common. So fraudulent banks, crooked and incompetent Fianna Fail, the country, yet again, led to believe building and buying property is the Holy Grail, bailing out private debt...is because the average joe got greedy? Even Fianna Fail retracted that one.

*enter the sad sad faux argument; well the jones up the street would've been worse!*

Because painting the crash as a moral failing, rather than as a result of bad planning, bad governance and bad policies lets FF off the hook.
    is it some coincidence that Coughlan, Cowen, Lenihan were all from dynasties and then you had Ahern who was taoiseach for most of the time surrounded by born and bred FF yes men.

Because in all of our political parties the only way to get any influence is to work your way up from the bottom and be firmly loyal and obedient. This favours certain personalities and talents (and those who can skip the queue due to connections and family positions) and keeps out other types of people.

Because painting the crash as a moral failing, rather than as a result of bad planning, bad governance and bad policies lets FF off the hook.

Because in all of our political parties the only way to get any influence is to work your way up from the bottom and be firmly loyal and obedient. This favours certain personalities and talents (and those who can skip the queue due to connections and family positions) and keeps out other types of people.

frankly they mostly got where they are because their TD parent died (young) as with our current taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

dont worry she will pull in plenty of votes up here esp now its a 5 seater, the only reason she didnt get in was because they split the vote with o domnhaill

For Reals wrote: »

Whats the problem then your working and by all accounts, have never spent a penny in your entire life. You don't have to worry about rising fuel costs, Property tax, motor taxes. You should have a healthy bank account, sure you could buy a house now at a knock down price