Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

OK, You're a Runner. Get Over It

• 14-11-2013 5:11pm
    Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I guess he hates exercise?

ok I think the stickers are abit silly but each to their own at the same time, if people get out and exercise that's only a good thing surely?

http://online.wsj.com/news/articles/SB10001424052702304448204579186401818882202
    Running a marathon is hard enough without also patting yourself on the back every step of the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

He hates the fact that there is a running store less than 15 miles from his home.

Not convinced it's the runners who need to get over it (admittedly I wouldn't get one of those stickers either, though)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

Bit of fun, he had a space to fill. I don't think anyone begrudges a runner feeling good about themselves. New runners in particular often gain a lot of self-esteem by taking up running and achieving goals. For some it may the only bit of their life they can control.

There are far worse things to harp on about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭sideswipe

He hates the fact that there is a running store less than 15 miles from his home.

Not convinced it's the runners who need to get over it (admittedly I wouldn't get one of those stickers either, though)

Not sure they have '100' or '10x26.2' stickers TFB:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

sideswipe wrote: »

Yeah, but you can just write in 'run' on one of those stickers that say "You don't have to be crazy to work here..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

sideswipe wrote: »

I DEFINITELY wouldn't get one of those :eek:
    There's more than enough people thinking I'm certifiable already.

The WSJ article is obviously a space filler. I don't know why they feel the need to publish stuff like that. It belongs on someone's personal blog, not the WSJ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

Runner's World have published a 'translation' of the WSJ piece: http://www.runnersworld.com/fun/the-wsjs-get-over-it-column-translated?page=single

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

I thought I was imagining this spike in obesity's popularity, but that's not the case. According to the group Fatties USA, there were some 120.5 million people who topped 30 in the BMI in 2012, compared with approximately 112 million in 2010. These 120.5 million are hoofing it through Big Macs, KFC Chicken Buckets, Whoppers, Jack in the Box, Hershey's, crispy bacon, Taco Bell and what can only be labeled as insane eating contests of 50 hot dogs or more.

When they're not out there sweating through the calories, they can relax with a food magazine. There is Bon Appétit, with its 660,000 subscribers, but also Cook's Illustrated, Food Network Magazine, Gastronomica and several others. Reading. About how to get fatter, lower one's quality of life and how to cost the taxpayer millions.

Fixed his post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

There seems to be a bit of a passive aggressive undertone to his attitude. Be interesting to know if he's physically fit himself because he comes across like somebody whos not healthy and hates to see others looking after their health. But then again I'd agree with some of what he' saying. Its a bit childish and needy to be looking for attention by driving around with 26.2, 13.1 or whatever stickers attached to your car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭T runner

I think runners can take things a bit seriously. The article was only a bit of fun, and like many funny things, there was a grain of truth in some of it. Runners can get very into running .....obsessively so sometimes. They cant really rationalise why running is so important in their lives themselves, so one can imagine how odd the behaviour looks for a non-runner. E.G Weve all probably had a situation where some unfortunate non-runner, has wandered innocently into the company of a few runners only to have to endure endless obsessive raving on everything/anything to do with the one foot in front of the other game. Ive done it myself, ive even spotted the poor lost outnumbered outsider's plight and ive ploughed on regardless. It must look weird from outside in fairness, the running lark. I think runners world's over sensitive reaction missed the point and even added to it.

Runners needs a pi$$ taking every now and then. Its good for us. In fact the grounding we get from it might even help out our training. Apparently, those with a more grounded personality are more likely to hit their repetitions at target pa...... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭pa4

Funny article of runners world 'translating' what the author is really trying to say.

http://www.runnersworld.com/fun/the-wsjs-get-over-it-column-translated

tunguska wrote: »
    There seems to be a bit of a passive aggressive undertone to his attitude. Be interesting to know if he's physically fit himself because he comes across like somebody whos not healthy and hates to see others looking after their health. But then again I'd agree with some of what he' saying. Its a bit childish and needy to be looking for attention by driving around with 26.2, 13.1 or whatever stickers attached to your car.

Looking at the statistics of 2/3 of US Americans being overweight I think the assumption you have made is very reasonable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

The lads at letsrun have googled him- he's a fattie alright. Must say - I agree with him about the stickers though , they're lame

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

drquirky wrote: »
    The lads at letsrun have googled him- he's a fattie alright. Must say - I agree with him about the stickers though , they're lame

They are abit silly alright I'll agree with you, but at the same time if it gets people motivated then what harm does it do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭eliwallach

Cabaal wrote: »
    d then what harm does it do?

Alot. They let other people know at one glance that you are (one is) a tosser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭sideswipe

eliwallach wrote: »
    Alot. They let other people know at one glance that you are (one is) a tosser.

Some people are easily offended:rolleyes:
    What do you do when you see a baby on board sticker? Run em off the road:D

On the sticker thing, I do think it's more prevalent in the US, I did a half in Tampa last year and got a sticker in the race pack.

*goes to get a paint scraper from the garden shed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭antomagoo

American family in the estate have a 13.1 sticker in the shape of Mickey mouses head on the car. Never really got what it meant till now, pressume it's a half in Disneyland/Disneyworld

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 675 ✭✭✭plumber77

Couple of Mickey Mouse half marathons in Ireland too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

These are the type of people he is talking about. There are not so many in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

It can be annoying yes, I lived with someone who went on about how great a runner he was, had been running for years did a couple of marathons etc. My brother who plays Sunday league football came to stay and went out for a run with the guy, same distance as he normally runs, flatmate starts powering ahead, as if to say 'I'll show you', brother passes him out easily and the guy couldn't keep up for the last couple of miles :D I don't mind some chat but boasting does everyone's head in.

What is even more annoying is the 'you'll damage your knees', 'you'll end up looking like a skeleton' 'you'll get injured' couch potato contingent.

rom wrote: »

These are the type of people he is talking about. There are not so many in Ireland.

You owe me 4 minutes and 48 seconds of my life back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Chivito550 wrote: »
    You owe me 4 minutes and 48 seconds of my life back!
    Dats a days trainin wasted. ..:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 930 ✭✭✭poeticseraphim

Cabaal wrote: »
    I guess he hates exercise?

ok I think the stickers are abit silly but each to their own at the same time, if people get out and exercise that's only a good thing surely?

http://online.wsj.com/news/articles/SB10001424052702304448204579186401818882202

I know some people who are really insufferable about their fitness routines and lifestyle and are still overweight.

It is not exclusive to running it can be applied to every sport.

And in Ireland we do not have sporting elites or elite establishments or organizations like they do in the US or Aus so it's not like they have anything to compare themselves to.

I think in order to know what you are doing in anything you have to know how bad you are at doing it.

He is a writer and it got into the Wall Street Journal so fair play he deserves a bit of a pat on the back. Don't take it so personally he is just doing what he does, like runners you don't have to get it. He has gotten a lot of attention and back patting for this piece which is why he wrote it. The high visibility of running helped that.

Braggarts are bores whether it is the ' I run I am great' tribe or the 'I don't run I am great' tribe.

Self satisfaction is not the same as smugness. Most runners I hope are much less smug than Chad Stafko.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭T runner

I know some people who are really insufferable about their fitness routines and lifestyle and are still overweight.

It is not exclusive to running it can be applied to every sport.

And in Ireland we do not have sporting elites or elite establishments or organizations like they do in the US or Aus so it's not like they have anything to compare themselves to.

I think in order to know what you are doing in anything you have to know how bad you are at doing it.

He is a writer and it got into the Wall Street Journal so fair play he deserves a bit of a pat on the back. Don't take it so personally he is just doing what he does, like runners you don't have to get it. He has gotten a lot of attention and back patting for this piece which is why he wrote it. The high visibility of running helped that.

Braggarts are bores whether it is the ' I run I am great' tribe or the 'I don't run I am great' tribe.

Self satisfaction is not the same as smugness. Most runners I hope are much less smug than Chad Stafko.

I agree. One distasteful thing about how some runners have reacted to reading the piece is to search for something they find personally distasteful about him and attack him with it. Many overweight people take up running to help them get healthy and thats absolutley fantastic another benefit of our great activity.
    There are threads on many running fora (and on this one) about running as a means to lose weight.
    With the above facts in mind people attacking him as a "Fattie" instead of challenging his arguments was more than a little ignorant.