Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Glass Ceiling Illustrated on a Meet The Staff Page

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Katriona FINEstein.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭Brego888

Fair play to them.
    I'd hire a bevy of beauties for my company too if I owned one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

Any second now someone will complain about them not hiring a single bloke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Wonder would any of them "give back rubs for haired executives"! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Blatant sexism. There's not one single guy doing a menial task.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Its an absolute disgrace, so much for gender equality in business. Out of 31 people working there, only 4 are men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

psinno wrote: »
    Any second now someone will complain about them not hiring a single bloke.

That's the real sexism at play here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

seems a consistent recruitment strategy by the Senior Management

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

Niiiccceee :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I can't find much on the company but I assume the four guys founded the company and have the most gender biased hiring policy in the country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Business Manager Jess Hawley is the pick of the bunch for me. I'd definitely like to promote her over the boardroom table.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I don't think that really illustrates the Glass Ceiling at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

The four fella's wives and girlfriends might be asking some questions about now.

But other than that - what's the problem? The four lads MAY have founded the company and so are naturally, in senior managment roles. There are a lot of women in quite senior middle management too by the looks of things. One could well ask why there are no men in those senior middle management roles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭beerbaron

I couldn't imagine a more hellish place to work............... Imagine If their menstrual cycles synchronise!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭The Dom

If there really was a literal glass ceiling, then it would only be women that got promoted, as men would want to look up their skirts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

They should coat the top of this 'glass ceiling' in aluminium thus turning it into a mirror from below.....no more complaints from the women folk then! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

keano_afc wrote: »

It's only sexism when women are discriminated against negatively.

Isn't it?:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Wow, the Christmas Party must be absolute carnage. Can you imagine all of that lot with a few drinks in and only 4 lads to go around? They'd be ripped apart like baby antelopes set upon by a pride of frenzied lions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

keano_afc wrote: »

Sales rep is a menial task?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Potatoeman wrote: »
    Sales rep is a menial task?

Absolutely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Jeez imagine the bitching that goes on there!!

in the boardroom!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Is it sexist that so many women are in that company or that a man isn't hired for those roles?

If I was single I'd know where I'd be applying :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Is it sexist that so many women are in that company or that a man isn't hired for those roles?

And I know where you wouldn't be getting hired.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I can't remember the last time I saw such non-news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

c_man wrote: »

That would have been yesterday, in the Metro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Lots of shoulders worth "crying on"....then in for the "pity love"...

Giggity.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Naturally rule 34 applies to this.

Duggy747 wrote: »

They are all also young women, so I dont think glass ceiling applies. I would like to be a fly in the wall when this story goes around their office.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭SimonQuinlank

I assume Douglas Reynholm owns this company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

What I see there is a large bunch of mid-20's to early 30's ladies in decent jobs. While a bunch of (probably more experienced) Men in their late-30's to early-40's are in the top tier because they hold Directorship's, which would make me think they have a vested financial interest in the company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

What I see there is a large bunch of mid-20's to early 30's ladies in decent jobs. While a bunch of (probably more experienced) Men in their late-30's to early-40's are in the top tier because they hold Directorship's, which would make me think they have a vested financial interest in the company.
    I see 4 lads who interview applicants on a black leather couch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭a fat guy

Overheal wrote: »
    I see 4 lads who interview applicants on a black leather couch

This one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

This reminds me of those ink-blot tests where you show someone a picture of an ink-blot and ask them what *they* see.

Some people (mostly white women) are going to be upset that 4 older men are running the company while the other 27 are women. Society is so unfair towards women, holding them back!

Some people (mostly white men) are going to say, 'What the feck? Nearly 90% of the company is female! This reverse discrimination crap is getting ridiculous. Women have higher rates of educational attainment, lower rates of unemployment, lower rates of suicide, less likely to be homeless, less likely to die on the job.....and 90% of the company isn't enough - the feminists are still going to be upset about it.

Some people (mostly ugly white people) are going to say, 'This isn't right. ALL of those people range from cute to very hot. Half of them could be models for crying out lot. This is such a big issue and nobody wants to talk about it. Attractive people get paid more for the same job, people are nicer to attractive people and think more highly of their work, even when the work is identical. There is a huge amount of hiring bias against unattractive people. It's modern day racism.

Some people (mostly non-white people) are going to say, 'How can you all be so blind to the OBVIOUS racism here. Typical. 31 well paid positions and 31 white people. And, like usual, nobody sees a problem with it. It's just another typical day.

Some people (mostly old people) are going to say, 'Typical. Take those of us with knowledge, wisdom and experience....and fire us so you can hire some 20-30 year old ditz who looks good in a skirt. This is obviously blatant age discrimination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

UCDVet wrote: »
    Some people (mostly non-white people) are going to say, 'How can you all be so blind to the OBVIOUS racism here. Typical. 31 well paid positions and 31 white people. And, like usual, nobody sees a problem with it. It's just another typical day.

This one is actually different from the others in that Sunderland is 98% white and 31 white people is representative of the demographics of the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Triangla

Best Christmas party ever!

Triangla wrote: »
    Best Christmas party ever!

Depends on how many drink gin and cry on the stairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Triangla

Potatoeman wrote: »
    Depends on how many drink gin and cry on the stairs.

I think great in theory, not so good in reality. It would be like going to the Chippendales or a hen night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

This one is actually different from the others in that Sunderland is 98% white and 31 white people is representative of the demographics of the area.

I think you are giving people far too much credit. I don't think most people would look up the company, find the location, look up the demographics of the area and make an informed opinion. These things are almost always knee-jerk reactions and facts don't matter.

True story, when I went to Uni (outside of Ireland) I had a pretty sweet job working the 'IT Helpdesk'. It let us go into any of the dorms with our passcard and it was one of the highest paying jobs on campus. Each year hundreds of people would apply for 1-2 open positions.

Every year I worked there, someone (sometimes an individual, sometimes someone with the student newspaper, or sometimes a group (sorority or various other student groups) would write to us and ask us why we never hired any women. One year, there was even a story about it in the university newspaper, questioning diversity and hiring practices.

The thing is, in the three years I was involved, not a single person with an obviously female name applied. We weren't discriminating against women, we had no female candidates. Our applicant pool was 100% male, and we hired the most qualified applicants. More women complained about us not hiring women, than applied for a job.

Anyway, more to you point, people who are looking for examples of racial discrimination (or any type of discrimination) will always be able to find them (first, because there are lots of real examples, and second, because people are willing to believe anything). And again, I'm *NOT* implying discrimination doesn't exist, just because no women applied for some stupid IT helpdesk job and other women complained, in no way, implies no women are unfair passed over for jobs. But it does show that people who complain the loudest tend to be the quickest to complain and rarely let facts slow them down.

For example: Of course the neighborhood is all white....none of the companies will hire a non-white. Landlords won't rent to non-whites, and people won't sell houses to non-whites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Regardless, the point is that it's all bullsh*t, you can find something to be offended about based on whatever your personal bias is.
    It's a private company ffs, they can run it however they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

c_man wrote: »

let me help

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/home/index.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Lots of ageism going on there as well. Not one of them looks over 30.
    :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

I assume the equality authority will now be supporting lots of men who were unsuccessful at interview and may feel actively discriminated against.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭rick_fantastic

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Good on them! Feck the begruders!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

I'd think this as well, except that a lot of the women are uncannily similar looking. Is it a family run business?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

This reminds me of those ink-blot tests where you show someone a picture of an ink-blot and ask them what *they* see.

Some people (mostly white women) are going to be upset that 4 older men are running the company while the other 27 are women. Society is so unfair towards women, holding them back!

Some people (mostly white men) are going to say, 'What the feck? Nearly 90% of the company is female! This reverse discrimination crap is getting ridiculous. Women have higher rates of educational attainment, lower rates of unemployment, lower rates of suicide, less likely to be homeless, less likely to die on the job.....and 90% of the company isn't enough - the feminists are still going to be upset about it.

Some people (mostly ugly white people) are going to say, 'This isn't right. ALL of those people range from cute to very hot. Half of them could be models for crying out lot. This is such a big issue and nobody wants to talk about it. Attractive people get paid more for the same job, people are nicer to attractive people and think more highly of their work, even when the work is identical. There is a huge amount of hiring bias against unattractive people. It's modern day racism.

Some people (mostly old people) are going to say, 'Typical. Take those of us with knowledge, wisdom and experience....and fire us so you can hire some 20-30 year old ditz who looks good in a skirt. This is obviously blatant age discrimination.

In fairness, those processes can all be working at the same time in the same situation. There seems to be an element of "all of the above" going on here to be honest.

I think you are giving people far too much credit. I don't think most people would look up the company, find the location, look up the demographics of the area and make an informed opinion. These things are almost always knee-jerk reactions and facts don't matter.

True story, when I went to Uni (outside of Ireland) I had a pretty sweet job working the 'IT Helpdesk'. It let us go into any of the dorms with our passcard and it was one of the highest paying jobs on campus. Each year hundreds of people would apply for 1-2 open positions.

Every year I worked there, someone (sometimes an individual, sometimes someone with the student newspaper, or sometimes a group (sorority or various other student groups) would write to us and ask us why we never hired any women. One year, there was even a story about it in the university newspaper, questioning diversity and hiring practices.

The thing is, in the three years I was involved, not a single person with an obviously female name applied. We weren't discriminating against women, we had no female candidates. Our applicant pool was 100% male, and we hired the most qualified applicants. More women complained about us not hiring women, than applied for a job.

Anyway, more to you point, people who are looking for examples of racial discrimination (or any type of discrimination) will always be able to find them (first, because there are lots of real examples, and second, because people are willing to believe anything). And again, I'm *NOT* implying discrimination doesn't exist, just because no women applied for some stupid IT helpdesk job and other women complained, in no way, implies no women are unfair passed over for jobs. But it does show that people who complain the loudest tend to be the quickest to complain and rarely let facts slow them down.

For example: Of course the neighborhood is all white....none of the companies will hire a non-white. Landlords won't rent to non-whites, and people won't sell houses to non-whites.

Had the same thing from our HR department saying we needed to hire more women. They never sent us a decent female allicant and I dont think they even looked for one just random cvs. They were also 80% female so it was a bit of a double standard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

yes, yes, yes, .. no, YES, yes, yes, yes, no, yes, no, no, no, no, yes, no, no, no, yes, yes, ..