Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pat Divilly Project Alpha

• 14-11-2013 12:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭

http://projectalphaonline.com/

Hi guys,

Just wondering has anyone any experience of this, is it any good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭singlesnights

Pat was a personal trainer in a gym I managed last year. He is a great guy and really knows his stuff. I would highly recommend him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

you better buy quick! the price goes up tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭siochain

you better buy quick! the price goes up tonight!

Nice one how did I forget ............:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭Henry9

siochain wrote: »
    Nice one how did I forget ............:)
    He's a big hit in Galway, and also internationally recognised. How could you go wrong?

Henry9 wrote: »
    He's a big hit in Galway, and also internationally recognised. How could you go wrong?

Man I'm on the m4 as I type .......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭CM24

Does Pat post on Boards at all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

This is by far the most convincing bit;

"For that reason if you take action now and sign up before midnight on (text with the day date which changes everyday automatically)"

No snake oil here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭rory16

Cheers Guys, The only thing I'd be worried about is sticking to the diet!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭rory16

Just one more thing guys, does anyone know if the exercises are daily or is there rest days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Well, his foolproof system is "available to clients not only in Galway but all over the world"...

... thank heavens for that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

From a marketing point of view, the guy's a genius.

Creating the "community" aspect online, getting people to sign up for 6-8 week programmes, say for a big life event, wedding etc, they get results cause they stop eating crap, eat good food and move more and get "results".

Life event takes place, celebrated with a binge of some description, weight goes back on, client signs up again.

It becomes a cyclical process providing repeat customers
    Perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

All the old before and after pic techniques being put to good use there I see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Trainer in arms crossed pose.......check.
    Gold Moneyback Guarantee sticker........check.
    Limited time offer......check.
    Dodgy Before and afters photos...check.
    Use if the word international or American......check

How could anything go wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Trainer in arms crossed pose.......check.
    Gold Moneyback Guarantee sticker........check.
    Limited time offer......check.
    Dodgy Before and afters photos...check.
    Use if the word international or American......check

How could anything go wrong.

Insecure people making fun of others on the internet......check

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

JJayoo wrote: »

No one ever had a go at someone less successful than themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

Hanley wrote: »

Thats not true! I'm totally fair...I have a go at everyone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I was ready to write a bitchy reply but your's was sooo much better.

I lol'd. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭johnybean

I was ready to write a bitchy reply but your's was sooo much better.

I lol'd. :D

I miss Will :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,755 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

You are all very quick to knock a lad's business

:D:D:D:D

OOhhhh pot, kettle,,,,black ;)
    It think that the chaps marketing strategy is aweful. Arms crossed pose...this forum has suggested those people should be beaten to death for that. Limited time offers total rubbish. Before and after photos like that has been slated to death on here, and by those that thanks the above post at great lengths. I am a punter, how can this make me insecure?

Taking a fashionably kind view of something naff and then jumping on the forum bandwagon of kindness and political correctness, total hypocrisy.....check

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

His marketing strategy is awful?

he's doing alright for himself for someone who doesn't have a clue.

James....Charles Poloquin

It think that the chaps marketing strategy is aweful. Arms crossed pose...this forum has suggested those people should be beaten to death for that. Limited time offers total rubbish. Before and after photos like that has been slated to death on here, and by those that thanks the above post at great lengths. I am a punter, how can this make me insecure?

Taking a fashionably kind view of something naff and then jumping on the forum bandwagon of kindness and political correctness, total hypocrisy.....check

Well he wouldn't be doing all those things if they didn't work and from what I've heard, Pat is raking in a small fortune.

So people can laugh all they want really. Pat will have the last laugh :)

P.s i have no affiliation with Pat.

You think his strategy is awful. You're not his target market. Ergo...

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

I think his marketing will work brilliantly on his target audience. It is a quick fix, look awesome by next month plan. Which is what a heck of a lot of people are looking for, the people he is aiming at are not into this for the long haul, if they were, they wouldn't need him in the first place. Although the discount offer thing is a total sham, and he needs to be rapped on the knuckles for that alone, whatever about his crossarmed posing and questionable claims.

The website is b*****t and exactly typifies where the majority of the fitness industry is in Ireland. Out to make a fast buck out of gullible fools.

You think his strategy is awful. You're not his target market. Ergo...

Ergo what....my opinion is invalid? Dont like a great number of things whose target market I am not in, like weight motivation clinics, white bread being a protein source, 4 minute abs,QVC weight loss machines, the supplements marketing in fitness, generally all the "quick fixes" being sold. I doubt there are many on hear that think quick fixes work in the world of health and fitness.

Seems however if a nice chap that people know of,or have heard of, or who is percieved as successful starts peddling it then we should applaud his business chops. This is not consistent with the general tone of most posts on here, and is hypocritical to say otherwise.

Hanley if you started this sort of "10 day bikini body challenge", I would call you on it also, like you have called out those that claim incredible BF% drops in a month on face book. You are also indirectly as a PT being put down in this campaign. "see better results in 28 days than most personal training clients see in 28 weeks." should clients of yours who are plateaued take up this program?

Stench Blossoms, I really dont see what the chaps bank account has to do with the argument. You are usually the first to recommend posters go back to basics rather than investing in some product of system with grand claims. Pat may well be laughing I don't know, however in business you can make a quick buck now selling a bad product or make good money for years selling a good one. Its harder to sell a good product cause its expensive and requires more effort. Usually people have to buy a few lemons before they realise this, I though this forum was to guide people on what works and what doesnt.

I know a lot of people who have used Pat's services, done his online courses etc.

Have you seen what he advises? It's all healthy eating. There's no junk etc. There's no calorie counting. It's just healthy, unprocessed food. And yes I am constantly spouting on about how people should eat like that. This is what Pat is promoting. Ok on the front it's a '6 week slim down' quick fix etc but in reality it's not. He's teaching them about good food choices, healthy living etc. Most of them don't go back to the way they ate before.* Although the 'programs' only are designed to be 6 weeks, the community he creates for these online groups is actually amazing.

*I only just had a look at one of his groups. The 6 weeks ended months ago but all of the members are still there, still posting pics of their food, still talking about what exercises they are doing and still motivating each other. I know Pat didn't do this all by himself but he got the ball rolling for that group of women anyway.

The only gripe I have with it is the before and after photo's. From looking at that particular group there are no real standout 'afters' but everyone does look better, is eating better and is getting more exercise.

Hanley would never do a bikini slim down promotion. That's not his market. But this is Pat's market and it's obviously working for him.

I hate to see negativity. One trainer slagging another. It instantly makes me hate the person doing the slagging and not use their services. Pat gets a serious amount of abuse by other trainers in Galway (and elsewhere) and has never once retaliated. I think that shows a lot.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

The only gripe I have with it is the before and after photo's.
    I have a massive gripe with the dishonest 'special offer' pricing.

Stench that's a much better answer than slagging me off for calling bull. I know only what the guy has up online, which is without a doubt the usual tripe designed to part fools from money. By the sounds of it he should know better.

He should know better than using strategies which help him positively impact the most people?

Would he be a better trainer if he was poor and clientless? But still recommended what he's recommending?

Incan think of a gym that would still be here if peopel spent more time learning how to help people and less time on boards moaning.

So now that coach, who knew what they were doing, gets to help no one because he couldn't get clients?

That's a real lose/lose situation.

Hey look, if it grabs peoples attention then fair play to him.

If he was promoting a cabbage soup diet or a low calorie diet I would have a problem with it but he's not.

If Pat Divilly had come on boards to advertise his product then 100% call him out on it, but he hasn't, unless Pat started this thread.....

So Hanley, does that make the before and after shame you so often post about invalid cause its helping people get motivated, and feeding good trainers with clients and helping them to help people. Is any advertising valid in the fitness industry cause ya know people doing something is better than doing nothing. Is honesty irrelevant? Can bad trainers do the same thing for the same reason?, I am sure they think they are good. How are the public to know?

All the target market know is what is online, and thats a load of horse manure in this case. If you guys know this fellow, and he is honest and decent, and a good trainer with a good message to share, somebody please for the love of god tell him to be confident enough in that to lay off the cheesball infomercial stuff cause it makes him look like a snake oil salesman.

If Pat was on the forum promoting this he would be a shill, the OP asked about this program, discussion is indicated. Or is criticism of the friends of the health and fitness forum elite taboo? Sorry to be such a dick about this, but I have a good memory about what people post up over the years and the hypocrisy going on here is appalling. If you guys have information on whether the OP should seek this guys services (despite the marketing) then post that, don't just thrown in smugness-grenades about not slagging of someone's business, or that people are insecure slagging this off. 99 times out of 100 a website like that are a load of dung.

I AM THE NEW WILL....OH GOD HELP ME.

lol

Sorry to be such a dick about this, but I have a good memory about what people post up over the years and the hypocrisy going on here is appalling.

So true, it's gass reading what some of the above have said in defence of what's posted on that site.

You can only sell dog **** once. If the product is good, it SHOULD be sold.

We don't live in some amazing utopia where the right person just shows up on your door step and starts training. Especially if it's a premium service which is a significant departure from a "normal" gym.

If you want to run a business you simply have to find these people and show em how you can help.

And if you CAN help, then what's the problem.

I got this off a guy today;

""I think I have made more progress in the last 3 months from training with Conor and yourself than in the 20 months up to that. And I havent been injured. Training in Raw usually meant 3/4 weeks training then 3/4 weeks on the sidelines because of injury."

Am I a bad person if I have to use marketing and sales to deliver results like that to people?

Y'all don't even have to answer.

I'd rather be living a decently comfortable life helping real people than trying to please atm chair quarter backs who don't train or help anyone.

If Pat was on the forum promoting this he would be a shill, the OP asked about this program, discussion is indicated. Or is criticism of the friends of the health and fitness forum elite taboo? Sorry to be such a dick about this, but I have a good memory about what people post up over the years and the hypocrisy going on here is appalling. If you guys have information on whether the OP should seek this guys services (despite the marketing) then post that, don't just thrown in smugness-grenades about not slagging of someone's business, or that people are insecure slagging this off. 99 times out of 100 a website like that are a load of dung.

Nobody answered the OPs question. It turned into a little bitch fest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭singlesnights

Nobody answered the OPs question.

I did actually! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Really? I'm amazed at the easy ride he's being afforded here for his daily-automatically-updating "special offer today only" option on his site which is tantamount to fraud, surely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

Well, this escalated rather quickly....

OP, give the programme a go if you have the spare cash.
    Follow it to the letter.
    Invest a bit of time in yourself over the 6 weeks, in terms of your training, your food choices and your recovery time/sleep.

Take measurements/pictures of yourself before and after.

When the 6 weeks are up, critically evaluate your results and determine if you feel you got value for money.

While I don't agree with everything PD is doing, he doesn't come across like a snake oil merchant, and as someone who lived in Galway for 5 years, I know lots of people living there training with PD in his gym in Barna, and others who have never met him and have just subscribed to his online programmes and they have made positive changes to their lifestyles and body compositions.

Look, if something like this is the kick in the hole or the temporary crutch people need to get them kick-started into a better and healthier lifestyle, I'm all for it.

It wouldn't be the worst €85 a person could ever spend, that's for sure, and sometimes spending money on something as simple as providing you with ideas on how to eat cleaner, eat less and move more gives a person a level of accountability they just didn't have before.

James.....as much as I love you, sometimes things are just not about you. Your marketing is nowhere near this and you promise no quick fixes or lie about limited time offers, nobody is getting at you.

We don't live in some amazing utopia where the right person just shows up on your door step and starts training. Especially if it's a premium service which is a significant departure from a "normal" gym.

If you want to run a business you simply have to find these people and show em how you can help.

""I think I have made more progress in the last 3 months from training with Conor and yourself than in the 20 months up to that. And I havent been injured. Training in Raw usually meant 3/4 weeks training then 3/4 weeks on the sidelines because of injury."

Am I a bad person if I have to use marketing and sales to deliver results like that to people?

I'd rather be living a decently comfortable life helping real people than trying to please atm chair quarter backs who don't train or help anyone.

How did this tread end up with this self promotion. The best promotion comes from peers and then clients the rest is cringeworthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 peanutman

'There's only one thing worse in life than being talked about and that's not being talked about' ~ Oscar Wilde

As a client all I can say is that Pat has helped me change my life for the better, he is hard working, dedicated and knowledgeable. And extremely generous with his time.

peanutman wrote: »
    'There's only one thing worse in life than being talked about and that's not being talked about' ~ Oscar Wilde

As a client all I can say is that Pat has helped me change my life for the better, he is hard working, dedicated and knowledgeable. And extremely generous with his time.
    Good for you and good for him.

But the point raised was his questionable tactics. The same tactics that certain posters have slaughtered others for in the past.

But of course, since then the same certain posters have reconciled themselves with the same approach.
    And since most posters are brainless and just go with what they perceive to be the received wisdom here, everyone rows in with the 'marketing genius' line.

Pretty predictable really, along with the usual self promotion from the usual quarter of course.

Oh and everything you've said could equally be applied to Tony Quinn couldn't it?
    Why not have a look at the Educo threads and see the attitude of the same posters.

Good luck to PD and all, it would just be a novelty if these guys had the confidence not to carry on like they're selling magic sponges on a late night shopping channel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Henry9 wrote: »
    magic sponges on a late night shopping channel.

Link?

James.....as much as I love you, sometimes things are just not about you. Your marketing is nowhere near this and you promise no quick fixes or lie about limited time offers, nobody is getting at you.
    Everything is about him surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Trainer: "I can use any tactic possible to convince, cajoule, pressure and trick the general public into paying me money for my services. Its ok though, I'm helping them and positively impacting on their lives."

So as long as you believe you're a good trainer, go nuts with the marketing.

Every single advert ever
    Sangre wrote: »
    "I can use any tactic possible to convince, cajoule, pressure and trick the general public into paying me money for my services

I think it's fine to call out someone like Hanley for the simple reason that he is on boards and is able to respond and defend his business. I didn't like the comments made about Pat Divilly because they weren't constructive in the slightest,he isn't on boards to defend his business and above all else they seemed personal and IMO reeked of bullying with people looking to acquire the most "likes" by running someone down.

Plus this is an Irish site and you should really have more than just cheesy advertising before you damage another Irish person's reputation. If someone was to Google Pat Divilly and came across this thread they would be put off.