Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wanted: 98-00 Corolla 2.0D

• 13-11-2013 10:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭

Hello all, looking for a 98-00 Corolla 2.0 diesel 5 door hatchback model.

May also take the 1.9 xud peugeot in the same model 00-02, as long as it has a bosch pump.

If any one has one for sale or knows of one let me know. Cash waiting. Nothing decent on donedeal, was beaten to a perfect one by 10 mins.

Why are we letting good diesel toyotas leave the country!
    toyota_corolla_21575.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

It's a DW8 so won't have a bosch pump. Trying to run veg?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

May also take the 1.9 xud peugeot in the same model 00-02, as long as it has a bosch pump.

If any one has one for sale or knows of one let me know. Cash waiting. Nothing decent on donedeal, was beaten to a perfect one by 10 mins.

toyota_corolla_21575.jpg
    There was one on donedeal last week the same as the one in the pic above. It might be still there if you have a look back through the pages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭debabyjesus

dgt wrote: »
    It's a DW8 so won't have a bosch pump. Trying to run veg?

Close...

Are you sure all dw8's weren't bosch? I'm almost certain i've seen bosch on dw8 maybe a conversion though...

Close...

Are you sure all dw8's weren't bosch? I'm almost certain i've seen bosch on dw8 maybe a conversion though...

Say no more ;)

They were lucas pumped those DW8's. Converted easily you'll need the injectors and lines. Splice into the loom for the solenoid. No turbo so no worrying about sampler lines

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    There was one on donedeal last week the same as the one in the pic above. It might be still there if you have a look back through the pages.

If it was in south dublin, was beaten to it. Absolute peach it was too.

Not exactly sure where it was. I just spotted it while browsing:)

OP does it have to be the hatch? A saloon any use?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 478 ✭✭Stella Virgo

Originally Posted by debabyjesus View Post

because only an idiot would pay nearly a grand to tax a 13 year old car thats worth 700 on a good day.

OP does it have to be the hatch? A saloon any use?

Has to be a hatch...

Originally Posted by debabyjesus View Post

because only an idiot would pay nearly a grand to tax a 13 year old car thats worth 700 on a good day.

Not a worry for me but thanks for the input.

Say no more ;)

They were lucas pumped those DW8's. Converted easily you'll need the injectors and lines. Splice into the loom for the solenoid. No turbo so no worrying about sampler lines

http://www.peugeot206cc.co.uk/repair-206/206/info/gb/b1bb16k3.htm

^^ this shows dw8 with bosch as standard. Do you reckon toyota bound dw8's were all lucas or is the link incorrect?

Sold
    Sold
    Saloon
    Sold

Thanks anyway!

The first one was the peach I just missed... Sickened! Yer man had it down as 1.9 but it was a late reg 2.0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,948 ✭✭✭gizmo555

Road tax is just one of the many costs of running a car regardless of its age. Depreciation is another and usually much greater cost. At least a car worth only €700 can't fall much farther in value . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Old diesel

gizmo555 wrote: »
    Road tax is just one of the many costs of running a car regardless of its age. Depreciation is another and usually much greater cost. At least a car worth only €700 can't fall much farther in value . . .

Plus these are a lot more reliable then a lot of modern diesels (yes they are slow and not overly economical) - the one we have outside in the garage has cost a lot less in repairs etc then a lot of modern diesels with much lower miles.

In addition - don't forget the newer car still has to be taxed - if tax is 710 - your not saving 710 a year on the new car - more like 510 a year.

Lack of depreciation pays for that ;).

The yoke outside in the yard was valued (as a trade in) at 1,000 euros 4 years ago.

Still on the road now - so the most it could possible have lost in 4 years is 1000 - and that's assuming the value is literally zero now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

gizmo555 wrote: »

Very well put, my avensis only cost 600 quid but costs 700 to tax while my other post 08 car with cheaper tax loses about 3k every year in depreciation. .

Old diesel wrote: »
    Plus these are a lot more reliable then a lot of modern diesels (yes they are slow and not overly economical) - the one we have outside in the garage has cost a lot less in repairs etc then a lot of modern diesels with much lower miles.

In addition - don't forget the newer car still has to be taxed - if tax is 710 - your not saving 710 a year on the new car - more like 510 a year.

Lack of depreciation pays for that ;).

The yoke outside in the yard was valued (as a trade in) at 1,000 euros 4 years ago.

Still on the road now - so the most it could possible have lost in 4 years is 1000 - and that's assuming the value is literally zero now.
    Agreed on it's reliability but the petrol version is nearly a better option Imo. Not only does it offer similar mpg to the diesel version but it's also more refined, has better performance and is cheaper to tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Agreed on it's reliability but the petrol version is nearly a better option Imo. Not only does it offer similar mpg to the diesel version but it's also more refined, has better performance and is cheaper to tax.

Oh im not saying they are amazing cars - and your right the petrol option is a lot better - tend to have lower mileages as well.

But (financially) paying higher tax on one of these is better then running a newer lower tax car that doesn't have the same reliability.

You do lose in other areas though such as performance, space (rear legoom is unbelievably bad for the size of the car), safety etc etc.

The 1.9 xud is a good bit more economical than the 2.0 to be fair. Anyway economy is not a concern for me, neither is tax. Just looking for one in good shape.

So if you see a 2.0 for sale, let me know, cheers all.

The 1.9 xud is a good bit more economical than the 2.0 to be fair. Anyway economy is not a concern for me, neither is tax. Just looking for one in good shape.

So if you see a 2.0 for sale, let me know, cheers all.
    The Toyota 2.0D is a superior engine compared to the xud Imo.

If I come across one Il be sure to post it here:)

The Toyota 2.0D is a superior engine compared to the xud Imo.

If I come across one Il be sure to post it here:)

I disagree. Certainly the 2.0 would be sweeter to go but its thirstier..

Either would be better in the maintenance and simplicity dept than most modern tat mind you

I disagree. Certainly the 2.0 would be sweeter to go but its thirstier..

Either would be better in the maintenance and simplicity dept than most modern tat mind you
    Just my opinion. I agree with you on the thirstier bit and on the part about maintenance. It's just to me the 2.0D is a more refined(by those days standards) nicer unit than the 1.9

This is all my opinion of course. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Would have a carina d turbo every time

colm_mcm wrote: »

They are fairly scarce now, a friend of mine purchased one brand new in 98 and still has it driving her everyday. There a hoor for cracking the head though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Truckermal wrote: »
    They are fairly scarce now, a friend of mine purchased one brand new in 98 and still has it driving her everyday. There a hoor for cracking the head though..

So is your car apparently.
    Doing well to buy a new one in 98 although i know someone who had a 98 carina estate

They certainly would have better performance than a Corolla but the still aren't all that lively Imo.

Bear in mind too that those Corollas are a harder wearing car compared to an E, so will usually cost less to maintain.

So is your car apparently.
    Doing well to buy a new one in 98 although i know someone who had a 98 carina estate

I heard that so i keep an eye on the coolant and never rag it.. I had a UK import Carina about 10 years in the Executive spec, it was a beautiful motor..

Truckermal wrote: »
    I heard that so i keep an eye on the coolant and never rag it.. I had a UK import Carina about 10 years in the Executive spec, it was a beautiful motor..
    Did yours crack it's head? Never seen an e with this issue although I did see an Avensis with a cracked head.

Nope but I have heard of a good few doing it, seemingly the early Avensis did it too but mine is ok so far.