Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A justified telling off or Road Rage?

• 11-11-2013 11:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭

Here's a little story from my morning earlier today. I was travelling between Kerry and Cork this morning. All going okay, until we got past Ballyvourney, where the speed limit drops to 80, and then to 60kph a few miles outside Macroom (a ridiculous speed limit on a fine bit of road, but hey, that's for another thread!!)

So, I'm travelling along at 60, and because it's 8:30am in the morning, there is quite a line building up behind me. Now, there is not much of a hard shoulder to pull in to allow impatient ay-holes to pass, and there are not a lot of safe overtaking spots on that road.

When we came to a straight piece suitable for Overtaking, I noticed a small van, about 4 cars back, pull out, and start to overtake. Grand, whatever. However, when he got to me, he pulled right in on top of me!! I almost hit the ditch to avoid him. There was nothing coming against him, and there was load of straight road ahead, so it wasn't like he was trying to pull in to avoid a head-on. Seemed to me that he was expressing his anger at being held up.

Because I had my wife and child in the car, I was understandably angered and outraged by this utter piece of s**t trying to run me off the road, because I was holding him up.

As it happened, less than a mile down the road, traffic came to a stop for road works coming into Macroom. A couple of other cars had overtaken me, so he was about 4 cars ahead of me in the queue, so I decided to go and have a chat with him.

I got out, went up to him, knocked on his window and he rolled it down. I asked him what the problem was, and when I got a quizzical look back, I told him that he almost run me off the road. His response was "Well, you're still on the road, aren't you??". I said that it was no thanks to him, and that my family was in the car, and he could have killed us. I told him that he was a danger on the road. His response was that I was the danger travelling so slowly, at which point I started to see red, and explained to him that I was doing the speed limit. Despite there being numerous 60kph signs along that stretch of road, he tried to convince me that the limit was 100. At this stage, it took all of my restraint not to reach in and throttle this ignorant w**ker to within an inch of his life. I told him what I thought of him, that I would be ringing the Gaurds, AND the company he worked for, which was plastered all over the side of his van. He seemed to be taken back by this slightly, and tried to explain himself, at which point I had to walk away, or I would have been done for assault.

So, after that (thanks for continuing to read this, those of you who got this far down), my question is : Would you consider my actions road rage, or how many of you would have done the same thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Here's a little story from my morning earlier today. I was travelling between Kerry and Cork this morning. All going okay, until we got past Ballyvourney, where the speed limit drops to 80, and then to 60kph a few miles outside Macroom (a ridiculous speed limit on a fine bit of road, but hey, that's for another thread!!)

So, I'm travelling along at 60, and because it's 8:30am in the morning, there is quite a line building up behind me. Now, there is not much of a hard shoulder to pull in to allow impatient ay-holes to pass, and there are not a lot of safe overtaking spots on that road.

When we came to a straight piece suitable for Overtaking, I noticed a small van, about 4 cars back, pull out, and start to overtake. Grand, whatever. However, when he got to me, he pulled right in on top of me!! I almost hit the ditch to avoid him. There was nothing coming against him, and there was load of straight road ahead, so it wasn't like he was trying to pull in to avoid a head-on. Seemed to me that he was expressing his anger at being held up.

Because I had my wife and child in the car, I was understandably angered and outraged by this utter piece of s**t trying to run me off the road, because I was holding him up.

As it happened, less than a mile down the road, traffic came to a stop for road works coming into Macroom. A couple of other cars had overtaken me, so he was about 4 cars ahead of me in the queue, so I decided to go and have a chat with him.

I got out, went up to him, knocked on his window and he rolled it down. I asked him what the problem was, and when I got a quizzical look back, I told him that he almost run me off the road. His response was "Well, your still on the road, aren't you??". I said that it was no thanks to him, and that my family was in the car, and he could have killed us. I told him that he was a danger on the road. His response was that I was the danger travelling so slowly, at which point I started to see red, and explained to him that I was doing the speed limit. Despite there being numerous 60kph signs along that stretch of road, he tried to convince me that the limit was 100. At this stage, it took all of my restraint not to reach in and throttle this ignorant w**ker to within an inch of his life. I told him what I thought of him, that I would be ringing the Gaurds, AND the company he worked for, which was plastered all over the side of his van. He seemed to be taken back by this slightly, and tried to explain himself, at which point I had to walk away, or I would have been done for assault.

So, after that (thanks for continuing to read this, those of you who got this far down), my question is : Would you consider my actions road rage, or how many of you would have done the same thing?
    Fúck him and his dangerous speeding, report it to the Gardai and also make sure you report it to the company he works for as they don't want some dangerous cretin driving for them possibly killing a whole family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Oh yay a motoring thread.

Christmas has come early.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

Borderline roadrage, as you admit almost losing control and A) choking the w-nker and B) Hitting him. Next time in the same circumstances, hold your ground and let him kill himself if he wants. Cause the next fellow you "have a chat with" might just get out and give you some of your own medicine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Hearing only your side of the story it would be irresponsible of me to pass judgement on your actions or the actions of the other driver.

However, taking the above disclaimer into account, my preliminary judgement is that you should have urinated, with force, onto the gentleman driver in question.

• Site Banned Posts: 23 Black cat banger

Yes road rage for sure.....but understandable in the circumstances.
    You showed some restraint in my opinion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

You should find out where he lives, burn his van out, take him from the house, tie him up, break his legs, drive up mountains, cut out his tongue and leave him there with two broken legs and no tongue to scream for help........... Or just ring the the Garda.
    Should prob ring the Garda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

As Sylvester the Cat once said,

'Suckerin Suckertash'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

People like you on the roads drive me nuts. Pull over and let the line of traffic that you're holding up pass. You say there weren't many spots but there has to be some. Your not a Guard so it's not your job to control speeding drivers.

That said, his manouver was obviously done out of anger and endangered your life. He was a twat for doing that.

The final mistake here was getting out of your car to confront him. It's a threatening move and you don't know who your dealing with. This incident could have turned out very differently.

I think you both need to take some learnings away from this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

I know this road :rolleyes: Complete Joke that it is a 60 limit.
    You are not at fault but wrongly on my behalf it is the one stretch of road that i ignore the limit.

Clearly he acted like an idiot but probably was not the wisest decision to confront him when you were that irritated.
    Hopefully the driver may have been shocked enough to think twice before doing something so stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Well, that's him told, anyway. I'd probably have done the same as you op, but then I'd also have been doing 70 in the 60 zone, so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭StompToWork

You should find out where he lives, burn his van out, take him from the house, tie him up, break his legs, drive up mountains, cut out his tongue and leave him there with two broken legs and no tongue to scream for help........... Or just ring the the Garda.
    Should prob ring the Garda

Gaurds have already been notified, as well as the company. I actually hope he loses his job. Normally, I would hate to see anyone fired, but I can safely say that I really hope he is thrown to the kerb. I don't really care about his circumstance (maybe he was having a bad day, maybe he was late for a job, maybe this maybe that, whatever). It may be an over-reaction, but with a sharp turn of his steering wheel, he almost killed me.

I know this is very much a "what-if" scenario, but what if he turned in a split second earlier? What if I didn't react in time? What if I over-reacted and spun or hit the ditch?

No, IMO, this guy needs to be taken off the road, and he needs to face serious consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

should have tazed fooker when he rolled down the window. people keep tazers in the glove compartment, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 therandomguy

He should not have tried to run you off the road. This was inexcusable regardless of how annoyingly slow you were driving. However, I think that you were wrong to get out and confront him. Your family were in the car and would have been in a very awkward position if he had been a psycho and got out to punch you,

Verdict: You were guilty of road rage behaviour when you left your own vehicle.
    (IMHO)

Gaurds have already been notified, as well as the company. I actually hope he loses his job. Normally, I would hate to see anyone fired, but I can safely say that I really hope he is thrown to the kerb. I don't really care about his circumstance (maybe he was having a bad day, maybe he was late for a job, maybe this maybe that, whatever). It may be an over-reaction, but with a sharp turn of his steering wheel, he almost killed me.

I know this is very much a "what-if" scenario, but what if he turned in a split second earlier? What if I didn't react in time? What if I over-reacted and spun or hit the ditch?

No, IMO, this guy needs to be taken off the road, and he needs to face serious consequences.

Ok. This post Is just plain vindictive and any sympathy I may have had is gone.

You were driving like an aul wan and annoying the ****e out of everyone behind you.

Swanner wrote: »
    People like you on the roads drive me nuts. Pull over and let the line of traffic that you're holding up pass. You say there weren't many spots but there has to be some. Your not a Guard so it's not your job to control speeding drivers.

Attitudes like that drive ME nuts!! I'm not trying to control traffic! I'm trying to avoid points and fines! I was aware that traffic was building behind me, and I assumed there was impatience behind me, but that's not my fault OR problem.

That said, if I could have pulled in, I would have. You are going to have to take my word for it (unless you happen to know the road), that there is NOWHERE to pull in on that 60 kph stretch. There is a "hard-shoulder" but it is only about 3-4 wide, and a foot of that is unfinished. I'm not driving on that, even at 60kph. The car doesn't fit in it.

So, unless I magic somewhere to pull in out of my arse, I don't know what "people like you" expect me to do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

I got out, went up to him, knocked on his window and he rolled it down. I asked him what the problem was, and when I got a quizzical look back, I told him that he almost run me off the road. His response was "Well, you're still on the road, aren't you??". I said that it was no thanks to him, and that my family was in the car, and he could have killed us. I told him that he was a danger on the road. His response was that I was the danger travelling so slowly, at which point I started to see red, and explained to him that I was doing the speed limit. Despite there being numerous 60kph signs along that stretch of road, he tried to convince me that the limit was 100. At this stage, it took all of my restraint not to reach in and throttle this ignorant w**ker to within an inch of his life. I told him what I thought of him, that I would be ringing the Gaurds, AND the company he worked for, which was plastered all over the side of his van. He seemed to be taken back by this slightly, and tried to explain himself, at which point I had to walk away, or I would have been done for assault.

Total road rage, you need as much advice as he does, don't get mad, don't get even, don't engage, don't acknowledge.... And then you both WOULD have had a better day.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

Your not a Guard so it's not your job to control speeding drivers.

It's not his job to make way for those who want to break the law either; don't try to make OP sound like he's the one in the wrong because he stuck to the law. It sounds like the guy in the van could have overtaken and continued at his chosen speed (100kph?) rather than slamming on the brakes as soon as he passed to try to violently make a point.

If OP's account is accurate, van dickhead is 100% in the wrong here.

Ok. This post Is just plain vindictive and any sympathy I may have had is gone.

You were driving like an aul wan and annoying the ****e out of everyone behind you.

You're damn right it is vindictive! F**k him. Am I suppose to just go "aw well, maybe his dog died this morning, poor him".

As for driving like "an auk wan", well, there are enough threads on here about following speed limits, and I don't think it would be of any benefit to anyone to start that topic again!!! You're entitled to your opinion. I disagree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭Untouchable Peasant

Depends how old your kid is, whether you did the right thing or not.

Old enough to be scared that Daddy is getting out of the car to confront a man who nearly killed them, then you really should have just took his reg and explained that it's best not to confront idiots like that.

Too young to know what you were at / they were asleep - then no harm done but you're still better off just reporting such clowns. Could have turned nasty if nothing else. Seen some guy jump out and wheel brace another bloke one day in Rialto that had clearly been in the right.

In future just take a deep breath, count to ten and exhale - life's too short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

You were justified in being annoyed and reporting him, probably wasn't a great idea to get out of the car but I can see how it'd happen, nobody's totally innocent here but if your account is right (and knowing that stretch of road I'm inclined to believe you) he was definitely more guilty.

It nearly always seems to be people in vans or big 4x4 thingies who drive that riskily as well, which makes it extra annoying

Depends how old your kid is, whether you did the right thing or not.

Old enough to be scared that Daddy is getting out of the car to confront a man who nearly killed them, then you really should have just took his reg and explained that it's best not to confront idiots like that.

Too young to know what you were at / they were asleep - then no harm done but you're still better off just reporting such clowns. Could have turned nasty if nothing else. Seen some guy jump out and wheel brace another bloke one day in Rialto that had clearly been in the right.

In future just take a deep breath, count to ten and exhale - life's too short.

A few good points there. The young fella is only a baby, so was blissfully unaware of what was going on, but you do make a good point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Your vindictiveness has completely turned me off any kind of sympathy I had for you. Complete overreaction.
    Sincerely hope the van driver has nothing happen to him even though he was in the wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

You should change your location(in your profile)to, In Front of You. Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭Janedoe10

Kerry to cork . The road limit is a target for some to beat ..

It's not his job to make way for those who want to break the law either; don't try to make OP sound like he's the one in the wrong because he stuck to the law. It sounds like the guy in the van could have overtaken and continued at his chosen speed (100kph?) rather than slamming on the brakes as soon as he passed to try to violently make a point.

If OP's account is accurate, van dickhead is 100% in the wrong here.

Ok. So trundle along at Granny speed irrespective of how many cars are backing up behind you and regardless of how frustrated other drivers are getting ? Grand so. Good luck with that tactic. Seems to be common practice by the Yaris brigade on our roads anyway.

And where does OPention that the van driver slammed on his brakes. I can't see it written anywhere ?? Are we just embellishing the story now for good measure ?

And if van man was 100% wrong you obviously agree with op getting out if the car to confront him ? Good luck with that tactic too. Sooner or later you will meet a head case and regret that decision.

SV wrote: »
    Your vindictiveness has completely turned me off any kind of sympathy I had for you. Complete overreaction.
    Sincerely hope the van driver has nothing happen to him even though he was in the wrong.

These type of opinions always make me laugh! Somebody says something slightly un-PC, and all of a sudden, the "bad-guy" is given a pardon.

btw if I'm reading the OP correctly then he's stating that the van driver tried to ram him off the road?
    if not then he's just saying that the van driver just pulled in ahead of him a little too close for comfort.

So which is it?
    because if you're trying to claim it's the first one then I'm going to claim it's bullshít.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭TINA1984

Ok. So trundle along at Granny speed irrespective of how many cars are backing up behind you and regardless of how frustrated other drivers are getting ? Grand so. Good luck with that tactic. Seems to be common practice by the Yaris brigade on our roads anyway.

And where does OPention that the van driver slammed on his brakes. I can't see it written anywhere ?? Are we just embellishing the story now for good measure ?

And if van man was 100% wrong you obviously agree with op getting out if the car to confront him ? Good luck with that tactic too. Sooner or later you will meet a head case and regret that decision.

Sounds like you're projecting your dislike of 'the Yaris brigade' onto this chap, despite him saying he was following the signposted speed limit.

Are we to take it you're one of these drivers who thinks they can go at whatever speed they deem appropriate? to hell with the law?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

btw if I'm reading the OP correctly then he's stating that the van driver tried to ram him off the road?
    if not then he's just saying that the van driver just pulled in ahead of him a little too close for comfort.

So which is it?
    because if you're trying to claim it's the first one then I'm going to claim it's bullshít.

I don't think he's claiming that the van driver intended to actually run him off the road but just vent his frustration by pulling in closer than he should have to give the OP a scare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭weekaizer

If someone else on the road forced me into taking dangerous evasive action I would (and have done in the past) have reported them to Gaurds..

If the van driver was pissed off at you it's not your problem, i say this as a person who constantly drives 10mph over the speed limit I have to admit. so when I get stuck behind someone for a period of distance I would NEVER swipe in front of another car no matter how annoyed I was...

IMO you did the right thing reporting him to Gaurds and employer, I hope he doesn't lose his job over it but he definitely deserves a severe reprimand by the Stewards (in f1 terms!)
    I wouldn't have got out to approach him though, I mean what did you expect he was going to do or say that could make up for what he did?! Hardly an apology like?!:p

Op did you make a formal statement to the gardai when reporting his driving?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

He should not have tried to run you off the road. This was inexcusable regardless of how annoyingly slow you were driving. However, I think that you were wrong to get out and confront him. Your family were in the car and would have been in a very awkward position if he had been a psycho and got out to punch you,

Verdict: You were guilty of road rage behaviour when you left your own vehicle.
    (IMHO)
    Annoyingly slow, yes. But it was the speed limit. Are we expected to break speed limits to appease people? Perhaps we should pull over? Oh wait, theres a high horse somewhere saying we shouldnt do that either!

Cop the feck on.

Seachmall wrote: »
    I don't think he's claiming that the van driver intended to actually run him off the road but just vent his frustration by pulling in closer than he should have to give the OP a scare.

So then the OP didn't have any need to drive towards the ditch, he only needed to apply the brakes slightly.
    The way it's worded makes it seem quite different, and dramatised.

So which is it?

Obviously, it is difficult to express in writing what actually happened, but to be clear, it wasn't that he pulled in a little too close for comfort. It was an aggressive move, which, at the time - AND in hindsight - struck me as deliberate and un-ambiguous in it's intent. I have been driving for over 25 years now, and I have seen a lot of crazy things, so I would like to think I know when there is craziness going on around me.

Also, for some further context, this is the 2nd time in my driving career that I have felt it necessary to get out and confront someone in traffic. Granted, that is probably twice more than most other people here, but maybe it demonstrates that I do not act like this every other day!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

He was going *at* the limit, and had nowhere to pull in. What do you suggest he should have done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

It's not a limit, it's merely a notice that this is the speed that Grannies in Yarii (plural of Yaris) will be clocking up on that particular stretch.

It rarely happens me, however I do see one or two overtakes that end with a ridiculous 'pull in' in front of the car overtaken every couple of weeks, if not more often. It always looks ridiculous.

Obviously, it is difficult to express in writing what actually happened, but to be clear, it wasn't that he pulled in a little too close for comfort. It was an aggressive move, which, at the time - AND in hindsight - struck me as deliberate and un-ambiguous in it's intent. I have been driving for over 25 years now, and I have seen a lot of crazy things, so I would like to think I know when there is craziness going on around me.

Also, for some further context, this is the 2nd time in my driving career that I have felt it necessary to get out and confront someone in traffic. Granted, that is probably twice more than most other people here, but maybe it demonstrates that I do not act like this every other day!!!

Look, he either pulled in when he hadn't passed you yet (Tried to ram you off the road or PIT maneouver himself)
    OR
    He pulled in when he was past you very quickly (too close for comfort)

There is no inbetween.

Maybe it demonstrates that you have qn aggression issue you should get sorted. The language in your op is really quite violent in nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

TIL the impatience of drivers behind you sets the speed limit, not all those signs. Strange system

Look, he either pulled in when he hadn't passed you yet (Tried to ram you off the road or PIT maneouver himself)
    OR
    He pulled in when he was past you very quickly (too close for comfort)

There is no inbetween.

Aww here, do you want me to draw you a feckin diagram?? I don't take evasive manoeuvres for sh*ts and giggles. I had to swerve! If I didn't swerve, and kept straight ahead, he would have hit me. It was that close.

Not to be too blunt, but is that clear enough for you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

This kind of crap makes the case for dashcams very strong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

I heartily applaud this... & think this is the only way people can register in any meaningful way their displeasure that a driver has treated them with dangerous contempt because they committed the sin of driving within the limits.

Well done. I hope this starts a trend. A lot of people drive as if they're on their way to perform heart surgery or some such... when we know this is likely very far from the case.

Not a good idea, getting out of the car & confronting him though.

Aww here, do you want me to draw you a feckin diagram?? I don't take evasive manoeuvres for sh*ts and giggles. I had to swerve! If I didn't swerve, and kept straight ahead, he would have hit me. It was that close.

Not to be too blunt, but is that clear enough for you?

So he tried to PIT maneouver himself. Thanks for clearing that up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Red21

All going okay, until we got past Ballyvourney, where the speed limit drops to 80, and then to 60kph a few miles outside Macroom (a ridiculous speed limit on a fine bit of road, but hey, that's for another thread!!)
    How many miles outside Macroom were you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Why not just lamp him and let the judge decide. After all, that's what judges are for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,207 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

My honest opinion is the van driver was driving dangerously, I think that the best thing to do in these situation is to report it to the Gardai or traffic watch. When you confront people in these situations. You never know how they might reaction. They could pull a knife on you or anything. If this happened, it could result in you being dead/seriously injured and your family have to deal with what ever happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,682 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

To be fair, if everyone clearly drives faster than the 60 kmh limit on that stretch, you really would be driving people cracked by driving at that speed.
    Regardless of the rights or wrongs of everyone driving over the limit, if there was a build up behind you, IMO, it is your responsibility to get out of the way even if it means slowing down and pulling in.
    Van driver was a dick though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

That said, his manouver was obviously done out of anger and endangered your life. He was a twat for doing that.

The final mistake here was getting out of your car to confront him. It's a threatening move and you don't know who your dealing with. This incident could have turned out very differently.

I think you both need to take some learnings away from this.

Why should the OP have pulled over, he was doing the speed limit. Why risk his car or his family by driving on such an uneven surface, such as the hard shoulder at speed.

If a speeding driver wants to overtake me, and I'm doing the limit, I'll pull over toward the hard shoulder as much as possible, but won't risk my car for them.

I'll only pull over if I'm not the limit, for what ever reason.

I will agree with you how ever on getting out of the car, lifes to short for unessesary confrontations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Red21

Again OP where exactly on that road did it happen? It's a while since i've been on that road but I remember most of it being 100kph.

Red21 wrote: »
    How many miles outside Macroom were you?

Do you mean when this incident took place? Traffic was stopped about half a mile outside of Macroom for the road works at that big hotel that I can't remember the name of now.

Why you ask?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

He clearly drove dangerously and stupidly, but getting out to confront him was equally as bad. And you say it's the second time you've done this. That's road rage behaviour. Don't lower yourself to that. I find effin and blinding works well for me!