Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

annual ice rinks

• 11-11-2013 10:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

Has anyone gone ice skating yet in these rinks that pop up during Christmas time?

I have not been to any yet. Actually I have never been on any of these rinks in ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

They are very good.

Unless you are dating a ice queen. Still good. Just no ride after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

I'm one of those people whose ice-skating technique is the "furiously stamping the ice, hunched over, looking straight at the nearest handrail".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

Do they get over crowded during the skating session?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

cena wrote: »
    Do they get over crowded during the skating session?

Yes alot of the time by the 'knack-attacks'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I used to be real good on roller blades and expected it to be the same. Came home with a sore back sore everything and felt pretty embarrassed trying to show off. Not as easy as it looks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Sad.

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Sad.

Why is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭TheBody

They are great craic. Highly recommend.

If they get so many people this time of year, would it not be smart to leave a few open all year round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭LoganRice

They're mostly enjoyable if you don't fall down, get rushed to the hospital and spend 6 months with a broken leg.

I think it helps if you have roller bladed or roller skated before whe on the ice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

I once went to an ice-rink in Galway on a school outing.

I say "ice-rink", it was a waxed marble floor.

Christ, that was a shit day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The one in Dundalk is supposed to be good craicc. Rumour has it that Sean Lock spent a good 4 hours trolling people a few years ago.. bumping into them while skating the wrong way and asking to have his photo taken with them :pac:

The one in Dundalk is supposed to be good craicc. Rumour has it that Sean Locke spent a good 4 hours trolling people a few years ago.. bumping into them while skating the wrong way and asking to have his photo taken with them :pac:

The dundalk one closed down 3 years ago, if your on about the ice dome

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

I was at the Dundrum one a few weeks back. I'm sure it's great craic if you're good at it. I ain't :P

131spanner wrote: »
    I was at the Dundrum one a few weeks back. I'm sure it's great craic if you're good at it. I ain't :P

How big was it?

Aren't a lot of rental skates dull anyway so you think you're useless at it when it's partly the skate as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

How big was it?

Erm... I'd imagine it was smaller than average but I haven't been skating very often. It had a hand-rail that went all the way round, which was enough for me :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭FreshKnickers

I went once. It was grand craic. I fell on my butt a couple of times.

What? I never said it would be an interesing story...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

bluewolf wrote: »
    Aren't a lot of rental skates dull anyway so you think you're useless at it when it's partly the skate as well

nice of them to provide tools for the workmen to blame. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

If they get so many people this time of year, would it not be smart to leave a few open all year round

They get customers purely because they are seasonal.
    It would take a shrewd business man to break even on a permanent full size rink.
    I reckon I'd pull it off with financial backing.
    :-D
    I can clean the ice myself...

Muise... wrote: »
    nice of them to provide tools for the workmen to blame. :D

A guy comes down from belfast to sharpen the skates. He was in dundrum last week

bluewolf wrote: »

More to do with the fact that the sharpening machine is expensive and labour intensive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭djburchgrove

The Tramyard bar in Dalkey is opening theirs on 23rd November. So you'll be able to go Ice Skating at midnight with pints! If that interests anyone :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

The one in Dundalk is supposed to be good craicc. Rumour has it that Sean Lock spent a good 4 hours trolling people a few years ago.. bumping into them while skating the wrong way and asking to have his photo taken with them :pac:

It really is a great laugh. Yeah, he was about last year acting the eejit. Sound as a pound too. The one in Dundalk is opening again this year on the 24th of this month.

Duff wrote: »
    It really is a great laugh. Yeah, he was about last year acting the eejit. Sound as a pound too. The one in Dundalk is opening again this year on the 24th of this month.

DKIT will lose their bollo# on it and planet will take a nice management fee and run.
    I'll give it two years tops :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Zamboni wrote: »
    DKIT will lose their bollo# on it and planet will take a nice management fee and run.
    I'll give it two years tops :-D

Eh, it's only there for a month or so at The Square each year. I'm not talking about the ice dome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

There's been one in Galway for the last few years. They're good craic. Get drunk first and it's even better craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Cheap flight to Budapest will get you this, it's absolutely amazing. At one end the lads play soccer on the ice with skates and a hockey puck.

http://www.jegkorongblog.hu/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/Varosliget-a-magasbol.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭bigron2109

Been to the One in Smithfield, and found it a bit of craic with the missus. Although i did get kinda bored skating around in the same direction the whole time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Kikin

Well Ted I'm very cynical as you know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

donvito99 wrote: »
    I'm one of those people whose ice-skating technique is the "furiously stamping the ice, hunched over, looking straight at the nearest handrail".

I'm jealous of your skills! My technique is "try not to fall over, then fall over". Perfected it over three visits and then decided ice skating wasn't for me, think I probably managed about 6ft of forward movement the whole time.

Duff wrote: »
    Eh, it's only there for a month or so at The Square each year. I'm not talking about the ice dome.

I didn't know there was a temp in Dundalk as well. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The one down by Claddagh is pretty good.
    Bit of craic alright.

The Tramyard bar in Dalkey is opening theirs on 23rd November. So you'll be able to go Ice Skating at midnight with pints! If that interests anyone :)

Is this true or a toootal pisstake? The tramyard is tinchy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭djburchgrove

Completely true, they have a covered area at the back that nobody ever really uses, just on big weekends when there's festivals etc, it wont be huge but it will be fun size probably 25m X 10m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Ice Karting is more fun :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

Actually , it's not all that much fun

Did it at Alexandra Palace one time , you basically cannot drive faster than 4-5 mph otherwise you lose all control , yes we had spiked wheels.

It was the only motoring event we did ( as a company sports/social club ) where a girl won , basically because she was too scared to press the right hand pedal !!

Maybe if you did it loads of times it might be fun ......... I found it boring TBH preferred ' normal ' carting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

I've an irrational fear of falling and having someone skate over my hand, chopping off my fingers.

so no, they're a terrible place I'd never go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

I wouldn't go if I was you OP.

Ice skating is very little fun and dangerous (I ruined my back) unless your're good at it - and you need to try it to become good at it.

So my message is - never try.

Seriously - it's one of the few "fun" activities I would tell people to think twice about doing.

Ice skating is very little fun and dangerous (I ruined my back) unless your're good at it - and you need to try it to become good at it.

Seriously - it's one of the few "fun" activities I would tell people to think twice about doing.

I was on a real ice rink, not the temp rinks upstate new york. Straight on the ice and off I went. A full hour skating till a hockey training started. Never fell once.
    I guess it was cause I can roller blade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭TheBrinch

Anyone know where they are running any ice rinks around dublin this year? I know they have one outside Dundrum shopping centre. Any word from the 7up on ice crowd?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Completely true, they have a covered area at the back that nobody ever really uses, just on big weekends when there's festivals etc, it wont be huge but it will be fun size probably 25m X 10m

The actual tramyard you mean?

Wow, that will be interesting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭wilkie2006

Went once and spent most - actually, "all" - of the hour sliding around on my arse.

Do yourself a favour, OP, and just head down the boozer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

"Cork on Arse" is back at Mahon Point, Cork. I'd say it's fun, especially after a few pints but I hate that whole area because of the mental traffic there this time of year.

wilkie2006 wrote: »
    Went once and spent most - actually, "all" - of the hour sliding around on my arse.

I don't drink

Ah here. Sure life is dangerous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Musefan

Went when I was in primary school once. Couldn't skate at all and a teacher decided to get me out to the middle of the rink. We both fell and had to crawl back on our hands and knees....hated it.

• Site Banned Posts: 23 Black cat banger

http://files.anofiles.com/posts/2013/10/8873/3d0ec3c95604aacd3748d5eda8ebedb4_730.png
    wilkie2006 wrote: »