Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heston Blumental

• 10-11-2013 8:09pm
    Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Just watching masterchef with the OH and he has no idea who Heston Blumenthal is

Is he an ignoramus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,625 ✭✭✭brevity

Ah Heston's alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Fair play to him, life is not about being able to name the thousands of celebrity chefs that pollute the airwaves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Stheno wrote: »
    Just watching masterchef with the OH and he has no idea who Heston Blumenthal is

Is he an ignoramus?

Nope. Some people have no interest in that kind of thing. You should be writing a thread about being grateful to your OH for watching shite with you you he normally wouldn't bother with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Not knowing who he is displays a touch a class imo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭Osborne

Wish I was as lucky as your OH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭TheBegotten

Am I the only one who thought this was a Breaking Bad spin-off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

Is he an ignoramus?

Heston, yes.
    Big bald head in him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 561 ✭✭✭keano2012

Is he an ignoramus?

yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I basically only know him from this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

Skid X wrote: »
    Fair play to him, life is not about being able to name the thousands of celebrity chefs that pollute the airwaves.

There's celebrity chefs and then there's the proprietor and head chef at one of the three best restaurants on earth...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 39 Miss Behaviour

Wasn't Heston caught sticking his icing piper into a bun that wasn't his wife's?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

What channel is he on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

There's celebrity chefs and then there's the proprietor and head chef at one of the three best restaurants on earth...
    gonna need a few more clues I'm afraid..errr..Derry Clarke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Is he an ignoramus?

Only if he professes to know anything about modernist cuisine. Otherwise, meh.

Heston is a god.

Of course next people will be saying they don't know who Ferran Adria, Thomas Keller or Grant Achatz are, then where will we be...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Nah it doesnt make him an ignoramus. Its not like it was Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Darina Allen?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Exactly, one of my must do holidays is visiting the fat duck
    Wasn't Heston caught sticking his icing piper into a bun that wasn't his wife's?

Yes, but that's all blown over and he's seperated from his wife.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

he's only an ignoramus if he isn't paying attention and asks you who Heston Blumenthal is the next time ye see him on tv. Or if he confuses Blumenthal with Jamie Oliver. That'd be funny ignorant though. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Right, exactly how many of the top 1000 chefs in the World should we be able to name to avoid being described as an 'ignoramus' :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

MadsL wrote: »

Heston is a god.

Of course next people will be saying they don't know who Ferran Adria, Thomas Keller or Grant Achatz are, then where will we be...

He's excused so. I took him to a Michelin starred restaurant for our anniversary, and his only comment was that the portions were small :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Heston is a god.

El Bulli. That one I do know. Closed now though I think. Was booked out anyway and had shyte opening hours..

Muise... wrote: »
    he's only an ignoramus if he isn't paying attention and asks you who Heston Blumenthal is the next time ye see him on tv. Or if he confuses Blumenthal with Jamie Oliver. That'd be funny ignorant though. :)

He was wondering if Heston was a new judge (we watch Masterchef six days a week)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

Skid X wrote: »
    Right, exactly how many of the top 1000 chefs in the World should we be able to name to avoid being described as an 'ignoramus' :rolleyes:
    Not what desertcircus was getting at, not sure how you'd read it that way.
    People are talking about one of the top chefs in the world as if he's an Ainsley Harriot-alike, just another celeb chef.

The OP's fella isn't an ignoramus any more than he's an ignoramus for not knowing any other critically-acclaimed artist. He might be missing out, he might not give a crap. He might have an encyclopaedic knowledge of some other culture or activity that interests him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Is he an ignoramus?
    He was great in Planet of the Apes and Ben Hur.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

He's excused so. I took him to a Michelin starred restaurant for our anniversary, and his only comment was that the portions were small :eek:

I'm available for 7 course tasting menus with wine- I don't complain after:P

I'd love to try the Mad Hatters Tea Party and the Whisk(e)y Wine Gums on the Tasting Menu.

Not sure about the Snail Porridge though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Lapin wrote: »
    I'd love to try the Mad Hatters Tea Party and the Whisk(e)y Wine Gums on the Tasting Menu.

Not sure about the Snail Porridge though.

At 195 quid a pop, I'd want a happy ending for that & fck all snail porridge tyvm!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Conrad Gallagher?

At 195 quid a pop, I'd want a happy ending for that & fck all snail porridge tyvm!

For a cheaper taste of Blumental's style of cooking without the need for a reservation, the Hinds Head pub just across the road from The Fat Duck in Bray is also owned by him and the menu there has all the Heston touches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Hownowcow

Exactly, one of my must do holidays is visiting the fat duck

I visited him on the canal today. He wouldn't be that fat if people stopped giving him bread.

He was wondering if Heston was a new judge (we watch Masterchef six days a week)

Watch it every day too. Masterchef Aus beats all the others by miles.

Have you ordered your dry ice yet? I must find out how expensive it is.

Hownowcow wrote: »
    I visited him on the canal today. He wouldn't be that fat if people stopped giving him bread.

Boom boom!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 326 ✭✭Savoir.Faire

I had the absolute pleasure of eating in Dinner by Heston Blumental during a recent visit to London. It was an extraordinary meal, with every morsel of food a memory. It is difficult to pick a highlight, but the Roast Marrowbone with snails, parsley and anchovy was especially fantastic. My dining companion thought one of the cheeses for her dessert hadn't be given enough time to breathe, but this was a minor quibble.

Very talented man.

I had the absolute pleasure of eating in Dinner by Heston Blumental during a recent visit to London. It was an extraordinary meal, with every morsel of food a memory. It is difficult to pick a highlight, but the Roast Marrowbone with snails, parsley and anchovy was especially fantastic. My dining companion thought one of the cheeses for her dessert hadn't be given enough time to breathe, but this was a minor quibble.

Very talented man.

We're the portions small?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

I had the privilege of being at a major European Cardiology Congress in Barcelona a few years ago where Ferran Adria gave a speech about the impact of food on cardiovascular disease. His major contribution was 'carbohydrate is too cheap', something every man and his dog already knows. He may be great at boiling a few oul spuds but I can tell you, Ferran Adria knows **** all about cardiology!

r3nu4l wrote: »
    I had the privilege of being at a major European Cardiology Congress in Barcelona a few years ago where Ferran Adria gave a speech about the impact of food on cardiovascular disease. His major contribution was 'carbohydrate is too cheap', something every man and his dog already knows. He may be great at boiling a few oul spuds but I can tell you, Ferran Adria knows **** all about cardiology!

Why the feck did they invite him to speak then?

He was probably one of the most creative individuals on the planet for about 10 years, he wasn't reading up on cardiology ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Is he an ignoramus?
    I think you make the mistake of thinking that people like the same shows as you ;)
    (I don't know this Blumentahl fella either)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Still no warmer.

It's just food, people. Nutrition to dump inside you to keep operating, nothing important.

I think Heston is a very creative man.

But I wouldn't touch snail porridge with a barge pole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Candie wrote: »

But the barge pole is the garnish!!!

You philistine!

Why the feck did they invite him to speak then?

He was probably one of the most creative individuals on the planet for about 10 years, he wasn't reading up on cardiology ffs.

The point I'm making is that just because he's great with a pot and pan doesn't mean he's all that. If you're a foodie, he's a God, a bit like Blumenthal. If you're not a foodie then he's just a very, very good cook.

I'm not a foodie. At that time I personally knew all of the top cardiologists in the world and to me, they were absolute genii at what they did and were extremely creative in pushing the boundaries of medicine and saving patients who might otherwise die, whereas Adria was just a guy who did some great stuff with food, hardly inspiring (to me).

He was there for PR only as a favour to a friend of his who happens to be a top cardiologist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Its masterchef related so I'll just drop this here

How would you know how it tastes then? Closed minded much?

The point I'm making is that just because he's great with a pot and pan doesn't mean he's all that. If you're a foodie, he's a God, a bit like Blumenthal. If you're not a foodie then he's just a very, very good cook.

He's more than a cook, What Adria produces is fine art. And yes, as far as I am concerned he's the indisputable god of modernist cuisine, with due respect to Hervé This as the Father of the techniques.

http://www.ashkeling.com/07spainmor/bulli1/2/original/bulli4018.jpg
    http://blogs.miaminewtimes.com/shortorder/sphericalolive.jpg
    http://www.luxury-insider.com/uploads/features/2010/12/el-bulli-1-5-custom.jpg?width=630
    http://i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/01941/el-bulli-1_1941510i.jpg
    http://i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/01941/el-bulli-9_1941499i.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

" So I've just about finished preparing this ham sandwich, all we need now is a touch of liquid nitrogen"

- Heston Blumental

How would you know how it tastes then? Closed minded much?

I've never liked escargot. From those previous experiences I can reasonably extrapolate that I won't enjoy snail porridge.

My mind is fine Madsl, perhaps you should try to restrain yourself from making leaps of judgement though, it reflects badly.

I've never liked escargot. From those previous experiences I can reasonably extrapolate that I won't enjoy snail porridge.

My mind is fine Madsl, perhaps you should try to restrain yourself from making leaps of judgement though, it reflects badly.

Perhaps the problem is the preparation.

Frankly I'd would be quite judgemental at someone who sat down at a absolute master's table and then started with the picky eater crap...

Like going to a opera and standing up in the middle asking for not too many high notes, thanks..

He's more than a cook, What Adria produces is fine art. And yes, as far as I am concerned he's the indisputable god of modernist cuisine[/url]
    And? So what? He's a fine cook/chef, whatever. It's art on a plate dahling, a gastronomic sensation. If that's what floats your boat then go for it but don't expect that just because you think it's the greatest thing on Earth that everyone should automatically follow. Some of the most fantastic medical advances I've seen excite me and make me marvel but I'm sure you wouldn't care about them too much...until the time came that you needed them. I don't think you'd care too much about Ferran Adria or anyone else at that moment.

All he does is cook food. That's it. It might be tasty and it might be art but it's just food, nothing more. I appreciate fine food when I have it and have gone out of my way to have it but it's just food at the end of the day, I'm no snob about it. It comes out the other end exactly the same as a McDonalds. ;)
    You're entitled to your opinion and I'm entitled to mine. No matter how much you enthuse, no matter how much fanboi about it. you won't convince me otherwise.

And? So what? He's a fine cook/chef, whatever. It's art on a plate dahling, a gastronomic sensation. If that's what floats your boat then go for it but don't expect that just because you think it's the greatest thing on Earth that everyone should automatically follow. Some of the most fantastic medical advances I've seen excite me and make me marvel but I'm sure you wouldn't care about them too much...until the time came that you needed them. I don't think you'd care too much about Ferran Adria or anyone else at that moment.

All he does is cook food. That's it. It might be tasty and it might be art but it's just food, nothing more. I appreciate fine food when I have it and have gone out of my way to have it but it's just food at the end of the day, I'm no snob about it. It comes out the other end exactly the same as a McDonalds. ;)
    You're entitled to your opinion and I'm entitled to mine. No matter how much you enthuse, no matter how much fanboi about it. you won't convince me otherwise.

Have you never considered the ripple effect of fine art, fine food or fine thinking. That applies as much to science as it does to art. We should celebrate those that push boundaries in all disciplines, it is how we stopped having to bang rocks together. Otherwise, to quote Tom Waits, we are just monkeys with money and guns.

Of course I have and as I said I appreciate fine food when I have it but I just don't appreciate it in the same way for example as I appreciate how Picasso or Gaudi experimented with art and architecture. Picasso was about far more than cubism and his works excite me no end while others get nothing from it. I'm okay with that, I don't consider them Philistines as a result.

A friend of mine loves well designed, tight, computer code that isn't bloated and is as clean as possible. He appreciates the art that it took the programmer to make it that clean because he knows that a simpler option would have been to bolt together other pieces of previously written code and just call those routines when needed. He appreciates the time it took to put together the sleeker code and the art of slimming it down while retaining all the intended features.

Have you never considered that it's okay for you to fall all over yourself, smack your lips and wet your pants with sheer excitement when you eat something one of these guys has produced but that it's okay for me to do those things over something else entirely and not get as excited about arty nutrition? If we all got equally excited about the same things then our world would be oh so bland.

To put it another way and take your banging rocks together analogy, have you considered that I get more excited about monkeys banging other rocks together than the rocks you get excited about?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I'm not too into this whole food is an art thing. But I've always found Heston's enthusiasm to be fascinating whenever he's on the TV. He tends to try to look at food from multiple perspectives which is rather interesting. He can be a bit caught up in his gimmicks, but I think it's more so because it's what people have come to expect of him.