Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Multi billionaire samples some Irish hospitality in Coppers

• 10-11-2013 5:36pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭

http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/billionaire-musk-samples-some-irish-hospitality-in-coppers-29740929.html

Multi-billionaire Elon Musk recently took a break from his bid to build a colony on Mars to explore the wonders of 'Coppers' – Copper Face Jacks, the popular Dublin nightclub on Harcourt Street.

Musk, 42, broke away from the Dublin Web Summit after he had met with Taoiseach Enda Kenny earlier that day, to hit the dance-floor and mingle with local beauties after midnight.

The co-founder of Paypal, who has been described by Jon Favreau, the director of Iron Man, as the inspiration for genius billionaire Tony Stark, went largely unnoticed in the venue where he stayed until after 2am.

Only after he left did one woman whom he engaged in conversation for some time realise he was not only a billionaire, but also the chief executive of SpaceX, a privately owned spacecraft company and chief product architect of Tesla Motors, the electric car makers.

Shervin Pishevar, the co-founder of venture capital fund Sherpa Global, who is strategic adviser to Uber, an alternative taxi service valued recently at $3.4bn, was also in the venue which is noted for its popularity with nurses and guards.

Pishevar, nicknamed "Bill Gates' worst nightmare" by the Financial Times for his ability to spot the next hot technology start-up, is best-known for backing Tumblr, a micro-blogging platform sold to Yahoo! for $1.1bn in March.

Paddy Cosgrave, the founder of the Dublin Web Summit, left drinks with Bono in the Shelbourne to follow Musk to the club along with a rake of Irish start-up entrepreneurs.

Among the Irish contingent in Coppers was Dubliner Eoghan Jennings, managing partner of Parklane Capital, who previously was chief financial officer of XING AG, a social network for professionals hugely popular in Germany.

Tom Millett, co-founder of Irish online music video company BalconyTV, confirmed to the Sunday Independent his attendance. "Elon is a very tall, pleasant guy. I was embarrassingly star-struck when I met him!

"He was talking to a very attractive lady but was very nice to me when I spoke to him," he added. "After he left I heard someone told her 'Do you know who you have just let slip through your fingers'."

Having arrived in Ireland on a private jet before driving in a Tesla sports car to the Web Summit in the Royal Dublin Society, Musk is understood to have departed Coppers in time-honoured fashion – by taxi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Did he finish the night like everyone else in Coppers?, throwing your ring up whilst shifting a hefty nurse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

hit the dance-floor and mingle with local beauties after midnight.

Typical Indo lies.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Imagine the skank stampede.

The sound of 10,000 gold diggers locking on.

Thought I felt ground quake out here the other night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

In this case, local beauties is a euphemism for prostitutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Imagine the skank stampede.

The sound of 10,000 gold diggers locking on.

Thought I felt ground quake out here the other night.

They should do a Dublin bull run and have all the >15 stone nurses (80% of them) take part, rampaging toward the Dáil gates, only to return to their home at Coppers later in the evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

In this case, local beauties is a euphemism for prostitutes.

No it's not though.

Hope he had fun.... I wonder did he tip? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,681 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

42 and in Coppers, needs to take a good look at himself.

The aul pervy bloke in the corner!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

He was surely doing some kind of bio-research.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Multi billionaire could hang round with all the Celebs so Why did he lower his standards To go to that muppet infested kip!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

Multi billionaire could hang round with all the Celebs so Why did he lower his standards To go to that muppet infested kip!

Because the bolded bit applies in exactly the same way to wherever the so called "celebs" hang out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The fact that the article appears in the 'Business' section of the paper rather than the Celebrity gossip section speaks volumes about what an utter rag the Indo is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭camel jockey

"Celebs" like Lisa Murphy and Gerald Keane? Plebs more like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

"Celebs" like Lisa Murphy and Gerald Keane? Plebs more like.

Who??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Kudos on avoiding the cliche of Lilly's..

• Administrators Posts: 54,423 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

The guy is fortunate that nobody knows who he is. I'm sure it's brilliant being loaded but I imagine that if you were a recognisable face, for example a footballer, going out would be a complete pain in the ass.

Getting asked for photos and autographs must wear thin after a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Elon Musk is a seriously cool dude. I'm trying to decide if the chance to say hi to one of the finest minds of our generation would be worth being in Coppers.

Probably not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭camel jockey

Who??

Exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

wazky wrote: »
    Did he finish the night like everyone else in Coppers?, throwing your ring up whilst shifting a hefty nurse?

I heard she was a size 16.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Surely part of trying to build a colony on Mars is to sample some of the harshest environments on Earth...this was purely research ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

awec wrote: »
    Getting asked for photos and autographs must wear thin after a while.

s'alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Aidric wrote: »
    I heard she was a size 16.

Debenhams model perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

connundrum wrote: »
    hit the dance-floor and mingle with local beauties after midnight.
    Typical Indo lies.

Local beauties is a fair description, along the lines of German comedian or generous Scotsman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

I wonder did Elon approach any ladies...."Hi,Im Elon and Im a billionaire".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

He studied in Queens for 2 years, I'd imagine it wasn't his first time in either Dublin or Coppers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 39 Miss Behaviour

Local beauties is a fair description, along the lines of German comedian or generous Scotsman.

Fire up a photo there dude, and let us all revel in the glory of your masculine beauty.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Poor bastard probably needed some cheering up.

Forbes reports that the company’s CEO and Solar City’s Chairman, Elon Musk, “saw his net worth decline from about $7.7 billion on Tuesday to $6.4 billion on Thursday this week.”

http://elitedaily.com/news/business/tesla-ceo-elon-musk-loses-1-billion-two-days/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

So f*cking what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

That'll teach him to watch his wallet when he goes to Coppers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

German Comedian: Oliver Pocher

Generous Scotsman: Tom Hunter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

A man went to a nightclub is it?

Okay.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

"Paddy Cosgrave, the founder of the Dublin Web Summit, left drinks with Bono in the Shelbourne to follow Musk to the club"

I do that all the time myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

Between "newpapers" having tv show spoilers(love/hate) all over them and reporting that a man went to a club, it's embarrassing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

"Only after he left did one woman whom he engaged in conversation for some time realise he was not only a billionaire, but also the chief executive of SpaceX, a privately owned spacecraft company and chief product architect of Tesla Motors, the electric car makers."

FFS, like you would have this realisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

"Only after he left did one woman whom he engaged in conversation for some time realise he was not only a billionaire, but also the chief executive of SpaceX, a privately owned spacecraft company and chief product architect of Tesla Motors, the electric car makers."

She forgot he was also co-founder of PayPal.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭The Big Smoke

Basically they are saying that if she knew this, she would've been more open to dropping her cacks. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 326 ✭✭Savoir.Faire

I've been in Coppers on a few occasions over the years, usually after considerably overindulging on liquid refreshments. Apart from the wretched music, I couldn't really see too much wrong with the place. I'm certainly not in their key demographic, but it appeared to be filled with people who were having a good time. Good spot to pick up a filly as well.

Some of the misery loves company crew around here could do with shutting down their laptops, putting on some suitable clothes and heading to the place to snap them out of the existential crisis they appear to have found themselves in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

First time I think I've ever read 'a rake of' in an article!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

lol, I know Jennings. He's the reason they would they would have all ended up in Coppers :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

A man went to a nightclub is it?

Okay.

Not just a nightclub, he went into Ireland's biggest cattle market

petes wrote: »
    First time I think I've ever read 'a rake of' in an article!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Musk: "So Mr.Coppers how about that proposition to make you our first orbital nightclub franchise?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

IvaBigWun wrote: »

The Indo tugging themselves furiously to the unremarkable japes of rich people, as per fúcking usual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

The Indo tugging themselves furiously to the unremarkable japes of rich people, as per fúcking usual.

Squeee billionaire squeeee

Woop de fcking doo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭CatLou

Because everyone there is either too drunk or too ignorant to recognize him :P Must feel good for a change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

I pray as an atheist for the day that the likes of Elon Musk walk into a nightclub and people gush over them like Beiber and Cyrus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

CatLou wrote: »
    Because everyone there is either too drunk or too ignorant to recognize him :P Must feel good for a change.

To be honest if I was either I still wouldn't recognise him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

largely unnoticed in the venue where he stayed until after 2am.

Only after he left did one woman whom he engaged in conversation for some time realise he was not only a billionaire, but also the chief executive of SpaceX, a privately owned spacecraft company and chief product architect of Tesla Motors, the electric car makers.
    Meanwhile half the other chancers chatting up women are openly bragging about the fact they are billionaire astronauts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭CatLou

rubadub wrote: »
    Meanwhile half the other chancers chatting up women are openly bragging about the fact they are billionaire astronauts.

We girls know that´s Barney Stinson.

Adamantium wrote: »
    I pray as an atheist for the day that the likes of Elon Musk walk into a nightclub and people gush over them like Beiber and Cyrus

Im 99% 100% sure no one gushes over Miley Cyrus. Scary image tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson