Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Places to go running in city centre?

• 10-11-2013 2:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37

Could someone please tell me if there are any tracks or big green areas/parks near trinity college where I could go running? I'm desperate to go running .....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

A lot people run on the grass on the pitch in front of the Pav. Like during lunch hours there might be 20 people running on it.

Maybe you could run in merrion square park as even on a warm summer day the park is fairly empty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭Clearlier

Depending on how far you want to go the Phoenix park isn't all that far away. You don't need a track or grass to run on by the way...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Along the canal is not too bad or Herbert park is not too far from
    the city centre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭cullenswood

Ringsend Park has a decent c 1km loop.

There are decents runs in the city centre also that do no involve crossing a load of roads, or stopping at traffic lights. I have 5/6/7km laps that I do, and there is only one junction that I can sometimes be stopped (for max 10 seconds) at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

There are decents runs in the city centre also that do no involve crossing a load of roads, or stopping at traffic lights. I have 5/6/7km laps that I do, and there is only one junction that I can sometimes be stopped (for max 10 seconds) at.

Hi;

Can you send us on these routes, need to mark out routes for myself now that I am in city

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

+1.
    From Trinity, head down Pearse Street into Irishtown, through Sean Moore Park and you have the run out to the South Wall or to the Merrion Gates.

I start off on the river, just at Mayor St, and run down towards the East Link (the Samual Beckett bridge is the only junction I tend to get caught at), across the East Link, go through the wall and veer left up by the cottages on York Road, around by Seán Moore Road, turn right down Bayview Avenue, on through Ringsend Road, hang a right down into Grand Canal Dock, back down Hanover Quay, left down by Statestreet, then back up the river to Talbot Bridge and around to where I started.

Or else just look at this attachment!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Hi;

Can you send us on these routes, need to mark out routes for myself now that I am in city

Ringsend Park itself is easy to find. Heading from Pearse St., cross Ringsend bridge into the village (church is on your right as you're crossing). The main road veers around to the right, but go straight to get to the park gates. As mentioned, there is a decent loop there which is about 950 metres.

Sean Moore Park is a bit further up through Rindsend and can be reached either by following the main road through Ringsend and taking the left the lights outside Irishtown Garda station, or by heading down Canal/Haddington Road/Bath Avenue/Londonbridge Road. IIRC, Sean Moore loop is slightly longer, maybe closer to a mile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭roro2

I'm a fan of Ringsend Park and Sean Moore Park myself. Also, once you get to Sean Moore Park you have about 1.5 miles of uninterrupted running along Sandymount Beach or Strand Road to Merrion Gates. Or go through the slightly odd Irishtown "Park" and out to Poolbeg lighthouse for 2+ miles.

Two current favourites:

From the Convention Centre, along the north quays, east link bridge, Pigeon House Rd and onto Sean Moore Rd, and then Sandymount Beach or Beach Road – 6.4 miles return with no traffic lights and one road crossing.

Or the neglected northside – Convention Centre, north quays, around the o2, East Wall Road onto Alfie Byrne Road, and then you have the Clontarf seafront for as long as you like. One road crossing on this route also, and you can skip the o2 loop if you prefer.

roro2 wrote: »
    I'm a fan of Ringsend Park and Sean Moore Park myself. Also, once you get to Sean Moore Park you have about 1.5 miles of uninterrupted running along Sandymount Beach or Strand Road to Merrion Gates. Or go through the slightly odd Irishtown "Park" and out to Poolbeg lighthouse for 2+ miles.

It's a park only in the sense that it is an open space and has grass :D. If you avoid the central path through it with its broken bottles and still smouldering bonfire it's fine.

PaulieC wrote: »
    It's a park only in the sense that it is an open space and has grass :D. If you avoid the central path through it with its broken bottles and still smouldering bonfire it's fine.

I haven't ventured from the path by the coast so missed the grass. Sounds like I must check it out!

Anyone know if there is changing rooms Joe Public can use in Trinity (near the Pav). I do some of my intervals around the cricket pitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭plodder

roro2 wrote: »

Two current favourites:

From the Convention Centre, along the north quays, east link bridge, Pigeon House Rd and onto Sean Moore Rd, and then Sandymount Beach or Beach Road – 6.4 miles return with no traffic lights and one road crossing.

Or the neglected northside – Convention Centre, north quays, around the o2, East Wall Road onto Alfie Byrne Road, and then you have the Clontarf seafront for as long as you like. One road crossing on this route also, and you can skip the o2 loop if you prefer.
    If heading north, you can avoid much of the bleakness and traffic of East wall road, by going through Eastpoint business park. You cross over Promenade road onto Bond road. At the barrier, hop up the steps onto the path and follow it round to the main entrance. You can then head over the track above the sailing centre straight onto the grass at Clontarf road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Cheers Plodder. Never knew that re Easpoint park. I hate the East Wall road. What's it like to run through at night?

nerraw1111 wrote: »
    Chees Plodder. Never knew that re Easpoint park. I hate the East Wall road. What's it like to run through at night?

Dark mainly :D. But safe. There are security guards at either end who don't seem to mind runners going through

Never done it at night, but I'd say it' safe enough. I think I'd head straight out the exit onto Alfie Byrne road though instead of going over that track by the water sports place.

plodder wrote: »
    Never done it at night, but I'd say it' safe enough. I think I'd head straight out the exit onto Alfie Byrne road though instead of going over that track by the water sports place.

it's a pretty regular route of mine and I don't think I have ever even seen anyone when going through there, nevermind anyone who could be considered a threat to my safety. I do go straight out onto the Alfie Byrne road though, but only because I didn't know there was a path through the green area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Used to work in the Eastpoint park, its safe enough, the only thing i would say when coming out of the park, make sure you dont go left up the hill into the grass area, a few people got robbed there in the winter in pass years.

it's a pretty regular route of mine and I don't think I have ever even seen anyone when going through there, nevermind anyone who could be considered a threat to my safety. I do go straight out onto the Alfie Byrne road though, but only because I didn't know there was a path through the green area.
    Yeah. Just at the entrance to the water sports place, there is a tiny gap in the railings on the left. You just head up there.

plodder wrote: »
    Yeah. Just at the entrance to the water sports place, there is a tiny gap in the railings on the left. You just head up there.

And a tiny gap to exit at the end of the path - as I discovered today.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Nialler73

hfallada wrote: »
    A lot people run on the grass on the pitch in front of the Pav. Like during lunch hours there might be 20 people running on it.

Is this still an option in winter? I haven't been over since August...