Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Noob needs help building a gaming pc.

• 10-11-2013 1:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭

1. What is your budget? €800

2. What will be the main purpose of the computer? Gaming

3. Do you need a copy of Windows? Yes

4. Can you use any parts from an old computer? No

5. Do you need a monitor? No

6. Are you willing to try overclocking? Yes

7. How can you pay? Visa

8. When are you purchasing? No immediate hurry but before Christmas

9. If you need help building it, where are you based? South Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

Never mind found it.
    Ok you said your budget is 1000.

Start here

http://www.hardwareversand.de/home.jsp;jsessionid=6006E4085F542427B969A4A1F898BE6A.www1

Never mind found it.
    Ok you said your budget is 1000.

Start here

http://www.hardwareversand.de/home.jsp;jsessionid=6006E4085F542427B969A4A1F898BE6A.www1

This site is routinely used. German delivers to Ireland for 20 euro. And will also assemble all the parts for you if you don't want to for 20 euro.

I'll do up a build and then bloodbath will hopefully help on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

Can I ask, is this just for the Case and contents? Or do you need a Monitor, Keyboard, Mouse and Speakers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,181 ✭✭✭Serephucus

^ Yeah, do you need peripherals? If so, are they included in the budget, or can you add a bit extra in for them? Do you have any other sorts of requirements for the computer?

EG: Lots of storage, quiet, small, room for something, ability to do something else, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭The Domonator

Cheers for the help lads, sorry I didn't reply earlier. @Serephucus, I don't need peripherals as I'm gonna use my new tv and I can get the rest here. Just looking for the case really. I'm interested in a machine that can run current-gen (PS3/Xbox 360) games on max settings and will be future proofed for next-gen games (high settings also). I know this will be expensive so any help will be appreciated.

Cheers.

Serephucus wrote: »
    ^ Yeah, do you need peripherals? If so, are they included in the budget, or can you add a bit extra in for them? Do you have any other sorts of requirements for the computer?

EG: Lots of storage, quiet, small, room for something, ability to do something else, etc.

Not gonna bother with peripherals as I can get them here, just looking for the case. It's mainly for gaming, I have a laptop for the rest. That German website seems grand, could you suggest a build for me?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭BloodBath

Something like this should do nicely. You can get a windows 7/8 activation key on Amazon for about €40 if you want to save some money. You could ditch the dvd drive then as well. You would have to download the windows 7/8 trial and install it from a usb stick and then activate it with the key from Amazon.

Item|Price
    AMD FX-8320 Prozessor, Boxed, Sockel AM3+|€134.90
    Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - Intel/AMD|€30.67
    Gigabyte GA-970-UD3P, AMD 970, AM3+, ATX|€77.16
    8GB-Kit G.Skill PC3-12800U CL11-11-11-28|€67.78
    MSI N760 TwinFrozr 2GD5/OC, 2GB DDR5|€232.05
    WD Caviar Blue 1TB 6Gb's|€53.38
    Zalman Z3-Plus Midi-Tower - weiß, ohne Netzteil|€39.90
    Corsair Builder Serie CX600 V3 Non-Modular 80+ Bronze, 600 Watt|€58.47
    Samsung SH-118AB schwarz|€11.92
    MS Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SB-Version Englisch|€85.56
    Shipping|€18.99
    Total|€810.78

BloodBath wrote: »
    Something like this should do nicely. You can get a windows 7/8 activation key on Amazon for about €40 if you want to save some money. You could ditch the dvd drive then as well. You would have to download the windows 7/8 trial and install it from a usb stick and then activate it with the key from Amazon.

Item|Price
    AMD FX-8320 Prozessor, Boxed, Sockel AM3+|€134.90
    Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - Intel/AMD|€30.67
    Gigabyte GA-970-UD3P, AMD 970, AM3+, ATX|€77.16
    8GB-Kit G.Skill PC3-12800U CL11-11-11-28|€67.78
    MSI N760 TwinFrozr 2GD5/OC, 2GB DDR5|€232.05
    WD Caviar Blue 1TB 6Gb's|€53.38
    Zalman Z3-Plus Midi-Tower - weiß, ohne Netzteil|€39.90
    Corsair Builder Serie CX600 V3 Non-Modular 80+ Bronze, 600 Watt|€58.47
    Samsung SH-118AB schwarz|€11.92
    MS Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SB-Version Englisch|€85.56
    Shipping|€18.99
    Total|€810.78

Thanks Bloodbath, I appreciate it. This build will handle next-gen games on high settings?

No bother. It should do yes.

Overclock the crap out of the 8320 and squeeze as much as you can out of the 760 as well and you should be rocking most games on max settings.

No bother. It should do yes.

Overclock the crap out of the 8320 and squeeze as much as you can out of the 760 as well and you should be rocking most games on max settings.

Cheers man, and your build will cost less than I expected to pay :]

If you have a bit left over I'd maybe get a slightly better case or an ssd.

If you run your build through http://geizhals.de/ you can get a discount on parts. Just search for the part and select hwvs from the list. With the money saved you could probably throw in the ssd. This is decent for the price. You can get the samsung evo 120gb for €15 more going through geizhals.

If you have a bit left over I'd maybe get a slightly better case or an ssd.

If you run your build through http://geizhals.de/ you can get a discount on parts. Just search for the part and select hwvs from the list. With the money saved you could probably throw in the ssd. This is decent for the price. You can get the samsung evo 120gb for €15 more going through geizhals.

Thanks for the tip bud. As soon as Christmas is over I'm gonna order it. Does hwvs assemble the machine or will I have to do it myself? It's been years since I assembled/disassembled a pc but it should be grand.

I'd it it myself to be honest. HWVS do have a build service and they do a reasonably good job from what I've heard but they won't ship it with after market coolers like the 212 evo above and I wouldn't trust couriers and customs taking care of your pre built pc while in transit.

Grand, I'll have a crack at it. The total came to (including shipping fees) €800 give or take a fiver, I included the Samsung ssd you recommended and got a better case but I also kept the dvd drive. I'll try and use my laptop's Windows 7 backup discs to install the os on the pc. I'm kind of tempted to get the gtx 780, mad expensive though so I'm definitely gonna wait until after Christmas to see what the funds are like and then I can decide. Cheers.

• Site Banned Posts: 52 ✭✭dutcher

Grand, I'll have a crack at it. The total came to (including shipping fees) €800 give or take a fiver, I included the Samsung ssd you recommended and got a better case but I also kept the dvd drive. I'll try and use my laptop's Windows 7 backup discs to install the os on the pc. I'm kind of tempted to get the gtx 780, mad expensive though so I'm definitely gonna wait until after Christmas to see what the funds are like and then I can decide. Cheers.

If its the discs you burned off the laptop then I don't think they'll install.

dutcher wrote: »
    If its the discs you burned off the laptop then I don't think they'll install.

Okay, it's time to order! The ram you suggested is sold out though, everything else is in stock :[ Could you list a replacement? 8gb like the previous one please. I'd pick one myself but I don't want to risk buying an incompatible product.

Cheers.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Okay, it's time to order! The ram you suggested is sold out though, everything else is in stock :[ Could you list a replacement? 8gb like the previous one please. I'd pick one myself but I don't want to risk buying an incompatible product.

Cheers.

Pop 2X of these into the basket instead, exact same spec RAM.

EDIT: May not be in stock yet either, despite the green listing it says "Pickup store Münster: ready to be picked up in 2-3 working days", the 4GB kit of the original ram says the same thing. I'm now confused as I haven't seen that before :p, Perhaps its just a christmas message indicating that they are closed for a few days?

marco_polo wrote: »

Cheers bud. I'll let ye know what the final cost was after it's all ordered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Slksht

How do you use Geisehls or whatever its called? I see people saying youll save money by running it through the site but I dont het what you mean. Do I choose the cheapest suppliers even if they're not Hardwareversand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭Jayd0g

Slksht wrote: »
    How do you use Geisehls or whatever its called? I see people saying youll save money by running it through the site but I dont het what you mean. Do I choose the cheapest suppliers even if they're not Hardwareversand?

It's "http://geizhals.de/". Copy the description of the part from HardwareVersand in to the search bar on geizhals, then click the HardwareVersand result from the list of results returned.

Clicking the HardwareVersand result will bring you back to that site listing for the part, but the price you see "should" be reduced from the price you added it to your basket at originally. You don't need to re-add it to your basket at the lower price, it's enough to visit HardwareVersand through the link generated by geizhals.

Try it with one part while keeping your HardwareVersand basket open in another tab. Click refresh on the basket tab after trying and you should see your total reduced.

Also, I got a €10 email code today, might be worth giving a go : V9ARWHPN81

Well, I went to order the components today and the processor was out of stock this time lol. Guess I'll just have to wait, hopefully it won't take long.

EDIT: May not be in stock yet either, despite the green listing it says "Pickup store Münster: ready to be picked up in 2-3 working days", the 4GB kit of the original ram says the same thing. I'm now confused as I haven't seen that before :p, Perhaps its just a christmas message indicating that they are closed for a few days?

Ye i was thinking that myself as the processor was green yesterday and now it's red today. I'm off work until the 6th so hopefully I can it all delivered before then lol. My laptop can most PS3/360 games on low or medium but I'm tired of it. Need to upgrade as I want to try games like Dayz, Assassins creed BF and others.

Ok, order placed. It cost me €809 which isn't bad tbh. It probably would have cost around €870 if it wasn't for http://geizhals.de :] How do you actually pay for the items though? I was never given an option to use my Visa, I'm confused tbh could someone who has ordered from HWVS before explain this to me?

Never mind my previous post, it has to be paid via bank transfer. Just a heads up though, don't pay it in the bank itself, do it online as I was charged €50.10 in the bank and it is free to pay online. Derp.

Let us know how the build comes along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

...and get yourself some nice quiet case fans going cheap!! :D

Well, the package finally arrived just now...only the tower wasn't included. I was warned about UPS from a few people and it seems that they were right. Last time I use them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Slksht

Well, the package finally arrived just now...only the tower wasn't included. I was warned about UPS from a few people and it seems that they were right. Last time I use them.

Where is it?

Slksht wrote: »
    Where is it?

They said to call hwvs, but the invoice from them clearly states that they (hwvs) shipped the case along with the rest of the parts. Ups then said that it's a depot issue and they would ring me back in an hour, still waiting for the call. The tracking number states that it is due to be delivered tonight so my package was split up into two parts, what a bunch of tards. The cheek of the bloke on the phone to try to pass off the blame to hwvs, had to be stern with him and he changed his tune immediately once I told him about the invoice.

Ok, they just rang. Apparently they use third party couriers and the chap with my case isn't answering his phone. So I'll probably get it tomorrow. Bit annoying tbh as I wanted to have a crack at building the pc tonight.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Ok, they just rang. Apparently they use third party couriers and the chap with my case isn't answering his phone. So I'll probably get it tomorrow. Bit annoying tbh as I wanted to have a crack at building the pc tonight.

You can certainly get started on a table, I always like to make sure the mb cpu ram and psu are in in order before sticking it in the case.

Ye I'll get started on it. No DayZ for me tonight lol.

Ups, stand up guys. I wonder what exactly they were hoping to achieve by lying. To invoke the gullibility clause perhaps? Or maybe just too lazy to give a rats . Glad you were on top of it.

Dayz? The standalone?

Ups, stand up guys. I wonder what exactly they were hoping to achieve by lying. To invoke the gullibility clause perhaps? Or maybe just too lazy to give a rats . Glad you were on top of it.

Dayz? The standalone?

Ye it looks like good craic. I have Diablo 3 too, it runs on my laptop but only barely. And there's other games too that I never bothered completing in the past that I can pick up cheap on Steam.

Yeah It's not without its charms. Bets be getting arma 3 also. ;D

If DayZ is any use I will :]

I'm having trouble completing the assembly, namely inputting the cables into the motherboard. Everything else is done (I think) so would anyone be willing to give me a hand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭game4it70

What trouble are you having?
    A pic or two of your progress would help.

game4it70 wrote: »
    What trouble are you having?
    A pic or two of your progress would help.

I attached every cable (to something lol) but not correctly as the pc didn't turn on. I followed a few Youtube videos but I'm apparently useless at these kind of things :[

DSC_0014.jpg

DSC_0015.jpg

DSC_0016.jpg

Its hard to make out where the cables are going but the 24 and 4pin power look connected.

Your graphics card is in the wrong slot.It should be in the top pci-e slot (2nd slot down below cpu). Also you need to add the power to the gpu.Looks likes it needs a 8 and 6pin pci-e power connected from the psu.That would cause your problem.

Its hard to make out where the cables are going but the 24 and 4pin power look connected.

Your graphics card is in the wrong slot.It should be in the top pci-e slot (2nd slot down below cpu). Also you need to add the power to the gpu.Looks likes it needs a 8 and 6pin pci-e power connected from the psu.That would cause your problem.

Ye my phone's dirt. Would you be willing to come down and take a look and fix it for me? I'll throw a few quid your way if you can. This thing has frustrated the crap outta me and I've given up on trying to build it myself.

I could help you out for free but it wouldn't be until monday.

Take some deep breaths and you will be able to sort it yourself.
    Try what i said about putting the gpu in the other slot and connect the 2 pci-e cables from the power supply.
    When you try to take gpu out of the slot you will need to either slide or push down on the little tab on the right side of the slot.

I could help you out for free but it wouldn't be until monday.

Take some deep breaths and you will be able to sort it yourself.
    Try what i said about putting the gpu in the other slot and connect the 2 pci-e cables from the power supply.
    When you try to take gpu out of the slot you will need to either slide or push down on the little tab on the right side of the slot.

Ok, I'll try that in the morning. If it doesn't work, can you come out Monday?

I can yes.Try that in the morning and if you run into any problems just post up and i'm sure we can help.
    The only thing i cant see in the pics is the header where the case switches are (reset/on).There normally down the bottom right of the mobo.Its best to check the mobo manual as to what way to connect them.If you take your time you will be fine.

I can yes.Try that in the morning and if you run into any problems just post up and i'm sure we can help.
    The only thing i cant see in the pics is the header where the case switches are (reset/on).There normally down the bottom right of the mobo.Its best to check the mobo manual as to what way to connect them.If you take your time you will be fine.

Ok man, thanks.

Your welcome,good luck. :D

I gave it a go and it didn't work :[ It's gas because it's probably only a cable or two that's out of place and I haven't a clue how to fix it.

Did you hook up the case power button.

From pictures can see graphics card is not connected.

I gave it a go and it didn't work :[ It's gas because it's probably only a cable or two that's out of place and I haven't a clue how to fix it.
    So you moved the gpu up to the top pci-e slot and connected the two cables to it?
    Did you hook up the case power button.
    This?