Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

possible scam artist...

• 10-11-2013 10:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭

I happened to call into the Allgreen/Burger King petrol station, on the way South on the M7, past Rathcoole, County Dublin last week and a guy tapped on my car window, asks do I speak English, holding out a bit of paper with a story on it and feeds me a sob story about needing a few quid to get to get to Waterford, supposedly to get the ferry. I think he's a chancer so I decline. Yesterday evening, lo and behold, here's the same guy tapping on windows. He taps mine again and I let him know he tried me last week and got no joy. he turns on his heel and tries it on with other cars. I watched him for a while and he kept returning to a van between attempts. He's about 5' 10, dark hair, stocky, wears a quilted bodywarmer or a short dark blue jacket. any one else encounter him?

regards
    Stovepipe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Genuine surly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

What d'ya stop for? Petrol or burger?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

No ,but then again i am not in Ireland .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Next time it happens OP, take a deep breath...wind down the window and say...

"HELP!!! THEY'RE TRYING TO KILL MY UZZBAND!" repeatedly.

That will learn em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Use that garage a lot and never seen him...obviously genuine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭The One Who Knocks

Panthro wrote: »
    Next time it happens OP, take a deep breath...wind down the window and say...

"HELP!!! THEY'RE TRYING TO KILL MY UZZBAND!" repeatedly.

That will learn em.

Pffft... wind down the window.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Yeah.

Happened me in tougher. Brown's barn, and junction 7 (Kill Topaz)

Same guy each time.

Don't think there's a Ferry from Waterford.Wexford maybe he meant?
    Would be quite costly in fairness to get a van on,plus he has to buy his food in Allgreen's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭newbie2013

How do you know it ain't genuine and every ****er is turning him away like yourself

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Tell him there is no ferry in Waterford, which there isnt..

There is an Irish girl wandering around Connolly station, Busaras, IFSC area most evenings dragging a zebra print wheelie suitcase with her and looking for money off people to get a bus to Waterford too.

Is there something major going on there soon or what?

Could also be that Dubs don't have a clue about Waterford (which they dont) as most of them usually go to Wexford :P :pac:

There is a Ferry in Waterford at Passage East that goes to Wexford , Arthurstown .I am a mere Dub ,and i know that lol .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

That crosses from one headland to another...
    and that serves zero purpose if you're coming down from Dublin.

The big ferries are in Rosslare, or Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

Waterford Castle Ferry

Crosses the river Suir and links Waterford and Wexford.Hardly worth the drive from Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

kneemos wrote: »
    Crosses the river Suir and links Waterford and Wexford.Hardly worth the drive from Dublin.

It links Waterford with a small island with a fancy hotel and a golf course. 200 metres ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭shamtastic

most garages put the foot down on this stuff it's definitely worth mentioning to management

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭cerastes

Stovepipe wrote: »
    I happened to call into the Allgreen/Burger King petrol station, on the way South on the M7, past Rathcoole, County Dublin last week and a guy tapped on my car window, asks do I speak English, holding out a bit of paper with a story on it and feeds me a sob story about needing a few quid to get to get to Waterford, supposedly to get the ferry. I think he's a chancer so I decline. Yesterday evening, lo and behold, here's the same guy tapping on windows. He taps mine again and I let him know he tried me last week and got no joy. he turns on his heel and tries it on with other cars. I watched him for a while and he kept returning to a van between attempts. He's about 5' 10, dark hair, stocky, wears a quilted bodywarmer or a short dark blue jacket. any one else encounter him?

regards
    Stovepipe

just looking this up as it happened to me recently in an area not too far from there and the guy sounds the same, was going to ask what kind of scam this is? I'm a bloke but I usually tap the lock button as I usually have the young lad in the car, but I do it also as I dont need the hassle of someone chancing their arm on opening a door and grabbing something.

Anyway, the guy flagged me while I was moving slowly in a carpark, being a reasonable sort (I think, otherwise Id have kept going), I thought maybe he needed a jump start or something I could help out for free, he starts this tale, he's stuck with the kids and miles from home and something in hand, I was wary but as soon as he was heading towards suggesting money, I said, got none and I wouldnt hand any over if I had and drove off.

Thing is, I was cautious enough and the young fella wasnt in the car so I hadn't tapped the lock button. When I realised he was beckoning me I tapped the button till I saw how it panned out, as the guy looked stocky enough.

I can see how a less suspicious person or someone that might be more easily pressed could be "convinced" or intimidated into handing money over. Really when I heard him start speaking the game was up.

I suppose its part confidence, but has the potential for intimidation if the perpetrator thinks it might work. I tell the wife to keep the door locked always, I'll be adding not to stop for people or be conned into giving assistance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

newbie2013 wrote: »
    How do you know it ain't genuine and every ****er is turning him away like yourself

Lol. That lads famous at this stage. He is a professional "I've run out of fuel/money" merchant. Must be making a buck too, cos he's at it this two years.
    "Sorry, sorry -do you speak english?".
    I said, "no, sorry, not a word." And wandered on.
    He didn't seem to get the humour, but like I gave two if he did or didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,473 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Yeah met him in Statoil Kill couple of months! Just told him No and he wondered off to try and entrap some innocent! Haven't come across anything similar in other petrol stations, I'd say he's harmless!

Try telling him you don't understand english, in english, and he gets a bit huffy..

Lol. That lads famous at this stage. He is a professional "I've run out of fuel/money" merchant. Must be making a buck too, cos he's at it this two years.

sweet jesus, same line on me, must be the same guy.
    lol for the rest of it after that.

Is he? or is it? I wouldn't like someone like that approaching some people I know, and what if the person thinks they can apply some pressure if they are declined, maybe if they think someone is intimidated, they might think they can press that as an advantage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

What ive got from this thread, the most unluckiest man in Ireland has ran out of fuel in all service stations in about a 15mile radius.

I feel guilty now for not contributing to his fuel needs to 'get to Waterford to feed his young wans' :D

What ive got from this thread, the most unluckiest man in Ireland has ran out of fuel in all service stations in about a 15mile radius.

I feel guilty now for not contributing to his fuel needs to 'get to Waterford to feed his young wans' :D

You feel bad?! I feel awful sitting here laughing my ass off :pac:
    I didnt even wait to see what the look on his face was, I just drove off :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

regards
    Stovepipe

Direct him to Dun Laoghaire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,473 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

cerastes wrote: »
    sweet jesus, same line on me, must be the same guy.
    lol for the rest of it after that.

Is he? or is it? I wouldn't like someone like that approaching some people I know, and what if the person thinks they can apply some pressure if they are declined, maybe if they think someone is intimidated, they might think they can press that as an advantage?
    Actually its true I did get a bit of shock when he approached me getting into my van, so it would be intimidating to a woman or old people if he approached them getting into their car expecially if it's a bit dark!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

A warning for you or any of your friends who may be regular customers at Tesco Headford Road. Over the last month or so I became the victim of a clever scam while out shopping, which has be quite traumatic. Don’t be naive enough to think that it couldn’t happen to you! Here’s how the scam works.

Two seriously good looking 21 year old girls come over to your car as you’re loading stuff into your boot. They both start washing your windshield with a rag while their cleavage is practically falling out of their skimpy T-shirts. It’s impossible not to look.

When you thank them or offer a tip, they say no and instead ask you for a lift to Salthill. You agree and they get in the back seat. On the way, they start having sex with each other. Then one of them climbs over into the front seat and gives you a blowjob, while the other one steals your wallet.

I had my wallet stolen on the 4th, 9th, 10th, twice on the 15th, 17th, 20th of last month and the 2nd of this month, 4th, three times on the 5th, three times just yesterday, and very likely again today (if I can find them).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Aquagakka

I remember being on the Liverpool- Belfast ferry years ago; we were a group of early 20's playing basketball in England.
    Plenty of money going there, not a single shilling coming back.

Bedded down for the night, hungry and thirsty. This guy appears with 2 cases of cans of beer and a few bottles of vodka

and offers them.

We all got stuck in, and it was a grand wee night. During the drinking conversation turned to Irish politics.

One of my friends nudged me, and said to be careful as he didn't trust this boy. I was well mixed and told him

he was being paranoid.

Woke up the next morning, no sign of yer man.

Ten years later, I was studying in England, travelling this time B+I Ferries from Liverpool to Dublin.

The bar closes. I spot this guy going over to a group of Irish teenagers coming back from a trip from somewhere.

The very same boy arrives in the closed bar, where these fellas were about to bed down,

with a few cases and a few bottles.

I did my duty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Its seems to be a universal opening line of any conman ,ie ,'' do you speak English'' ? My answer is usually no i only speak Netherlands Dutch lol.
    Same in Thailand with the time share people .Their opening line is the same .Then they invite you to pick a scratch card .Of course you have won something like a DVD player etc and must go with them to their office to pick up your prize .
    When you get to their office ( i am told ) you are put through extreme pressure to sign up for a time share apartment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

biko wrote: »
    A warning for you or any of your friends who may be regular customers at Tesco Headford Road. Over the last month or so I became the victim of a clever scam while out shopping, which has be quite traumatic. Don’t be naive enough to think that it couldn’t happen to you! Here’s how the scam works.

Two seriously good looking 21 year old girls come over to your car as you’re loading stuff into your boot. They both start washing your windshield with a rag while their cleavage is practically falling out of their skimpy T-shirts. It’s impossible not to look.

When you thank them or offer a tip, they say no and instead ask you for a lift to Salthill. You agree and they get in the back seat. On the way, they start having sex with each other. Then one of them climbs over into the front seat and gives you a blowjob, while the other one steals your wallet.

I had my wallet stolen on the 4th, 9th, 10th, twice on the 15th, 17th, 20th of last month and the 2nd of this month, 4th, three times on the 5th, three times just yesterday, and very likely again today (if I can find them).

That joke is as old as this scam!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭supersheeps

I've seen that guy at rathcoole applegreen twice now. The first time, I took no notice, well used to the sob story merchants. On the second occasion, I pulled in to check tyres & water, and he went to approach me, but when I stood up & he saw I was a lay-dee, he turned & went to the man at the airpump next to me! I then got a phone call about a meltdown at work, so had to park up for almost an hour trying to contact different people, so I got to watch this guy in action.
    He only seems to approach men, he'll case them out as they drive in & is selective about who he targets. He must not feel the cold, it was freezing outside that evening! And finally...there was a big silver passat or a4 parked next to me...which he'd pop into every now & then for a smoke or to use his phone!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭supersheeps

I've seen that guy at rathcoole applegreen twice now. The first time, I took no notice, well used to the sob story merchants. On the second occasion, I pulled in to check tyres & water, and he went to approach me, but when I stood up & he saw I was a lay-dee, he turned & went to the man at the airpump next to me! I then got a phone call about a meltdown at work, so had to park up for almost an hour trying to contact different people, so I got to watch this guy in action.
    He only seems to approach men, he'll case them out as they drive in & is selective about who he targets. He must not feel the cold, it was freezing outside that evening! And finally...there was a big silver passat or a4 parked next to me...which he'd pop into every now & then for a smoke or to use his phone!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,817 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    There is an Irish girl wandering around Connolly station, Busaras, IFSC area most evenings dragging a zebra with her and looking for money off people to get a bus to Waterford too.

FYP. I'd pay good money to see that. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Fries-With-That

Aquagakka wrote: »
    I remember being on the Liverpool- Belfast ferry years ago; we were a group of early 20's playing basketball in England.

Bedded down for the night, hungry and thirsty. This guy appears with 2 cases of cans of beer and a few bottles of vodka

and offers them.

We all got stuck in, and it was a grand wee night. During the drinking conversation turned to Irish politics.

One of my friends nudged me, and said to be careful as he didn't trust this boy. I was well mixed and told him

he was being paranoid.

Ten years later, I was studying in England, travelling this time B+I Ferries from Liverpool to Dublin.

The bar closes. I spot this guy going over to a group of Irish teenagers coming back from a trip from somewhere.

The very same boy arrives in the closed bar, where these fellas were about to bed down,

I did my duty.

So this guy shared his beer and his vodka and is still doing the same thing 10 years later, what's the scam, maybe he likes nomadic companionship ?

I was wondering too. What was the "did my duty" bit?? This needs elaboratings.

He picks lads cos lads are a soft touch, despite what they think. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

I was approached by scammer in London. Replied in Irish. End of scam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Came across a man around 70 with a crutch wandering through Clonakilty Farmers Market recently selling tickets for some equestrian event. Took one look at the tickets and declined. Just printed off on normal printer paper no perforations andcut roughly with scissors. No ticket no. No garda permit no.. He travels the country apparently. Cork city to killorglin. He's been spotted all over the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I've had that "Are you Irish?" question posed to me before some young-ish man (dressed decent enough) giving me a spiel about his phone locked in his car and no keys and something about a bus to Waterford while walking down Pearse Street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Heard of a lad who caught people out and got money too selling and "servicing" fire extinguishers. Think the Revenue got done too but he's still in business in the south.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭Pwindedd

deco nate wrote: »
    That joke is as old as this scam!

Doesn't stop it being funny though.

I think they always say "to waterford" cos they know no-one would go there for any reason other than they had to...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Tell him in a sinister voice that you need his help With 3 women you have tied up at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Mint Aero wrote: »
    What d'ya stop for? Petrol or burger?

A petrol burger perhaps. Flame Grilled

Boom :pac:

I was wondering too. What was the "did my duty" bit?? This needs elaboratings.

Yes, it does, I read to the end to see if this was explained by someone, ?
    The other guy was right to be suspicious, I mean young lads with no drink of their own? so no money to rob but take spirits and beer off some stranger, no thanks.

And what was the relevance of the conversation turning to irish politics? I thought an argument was going to break out or it was an excuse for one and the guy demanded money for his drink at the Irish rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

cerastes wrote: »
    Yes, it does, I read to the end to see if this was explained by someone, ?
    The other guy was right to be suspicious, I mean young lads with no drink of their own? so no money to rob but take spirits and beer off some stranger, no thanks.

And what was the relevance of the conversation turning to irish politics? I thought an argument was going to break out or it was an excuse for one and the guy demanded money for his drink at the Irish rate.

Its like he finished the post and forgot the middle part of the story, im just as confused after the initial reading, ha ha....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

and offers them.

he was being paranoid.

I did my duty.

What was he doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

regards
    Stovepipe

"possible" lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

he was being paranoid.

Did the stranger eat your friend or throw him overboard or sell him into slavery with English travellers?