Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE = the Santa clause on November 9th

• 09-11-2013 6:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭

Bloody hell
    You expect this rubbish from the shops but already from RTE... Lazy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Pro tip: Turn on RTE 2 now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Plasid wrote: »
    Bloody hell

Just seen this and couldn't believe it. I suppose we can expect all of the usual suspect xmas movies to be rolled out now for the next 2 months :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Yep, just spotted that in the listings and now the nightmare begins for the parents.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

watched National Lampoons Christmas vacation about two weeks ago on c4 or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Bollocks I'm sitting down with my 3 year old nephew watching it!

Great craic

Ho ho ho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Bollocks I'm sitting down with my 3 year old nephew watching it!

Great craic

Ho ho ho

Bah feckin humbug

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

That's nothing. It was on BBC 11 months ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

That's nothing. It was on BBC 11 months ago.

Damn you got ahead of me on that one.
    Well played sir

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

Jingle All The Way was on somewhere recently too.

Was in Blanch Centre today and blaring out was "Do They Know It's Christmas". I said to myself, it's not fu(king Christmas, it's only early November for godssake!"

Pro-tip, turn off your TV.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭Vinz Mesrine

Dunnes have their Xmas music playing since last week, the poor staff.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 645 ✭✭✭loveBBhate

pharmaton wrote: »
    watched National Lampoons Christmas vacation about two weeks ago on c4 or something

Yup same, Sky 1 it was, twice in one week :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Hello_MrFox

Most people are happier around Xmas, why don't we make Xmas a permanent all year around thing so everyone is happy all of the time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,875 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I noticed Christmas threads are appearing on AH already. Too early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Most people are happier around Xmas, why don't we make Xmas a permanent all year around thing so everyone is happy all of the time?

Law of diminishing returns...and a scarcity of turkey's!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭FreshKnickers

Ah I like that movie, like Jingle All The Way too. Might watch them with the young wan. In December though.

The rule in our house is the decs don't go up before the first Saturday in December. That probably seems a bit early for some. When it was just meself and herself it was the second Saturday but with a little one in the house she's talked me into letting her put them up a week ahead. Makes feck all odds to me tbh. She tends to rip em down before New Years.

Sorry now, I've answered a question no-one asked there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Plasid

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Pro tip: Turn on RTE 2 now.

Ofc it was during Mcgurks extra "gotta squeeze another break in here" moment at half time I switched

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

I'm only watchin the Santa Clause because the rugby was so bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Ah lads it's a quality film. I'm after watching no country for old men instead of the dirt in the aviva so I need some sort of light relief

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

True Movies (well down the EPG) are now a Christmas channel until, well January I suppose. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Santa Clause is an abdomination of a movie and should never be shown, whether it's Christmas or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

Bloody hell

So I guess this isn't a good time to encourage all you TV land people to pop over to the boards.ie Christmas forum then, no?:P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 368 ✭✭Morph the Cat

Bloody hell

Typical Irish moaner. Moaning about nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

Classic tim allen movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

Bloody hell

Yup - loving it'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Christmas would want to fcuk off until about two days before the 25th and then want to **** off again straight after it. Not looking forward to it at all, first year being on the dole for it and I can safely say it will be miserable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

bumper234 wrote: »
    Just seen this and couldn't believe it. I suppose we can expect all of the usual suspect xmas movies to be rolled out now for the next 2 months :(

Are they going to be showing Christmas films in the run up to Christmas?

I'm going to stick my neck out and say - yes.

Better than showing them in the middle of June.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

The worst part of Christmas is people bitching about how it's coming earlier every year. Just ignore it you whingebags. And tell your ugly kids to shut up if they start going on about it too much. Jesus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

bumper234 wrote: »

Yeah. I think its pretty likely we'll see some christmas movies around christmas time.

The worst part of Christmas is people bitching about how it's coming earlier every year. Just ignore it you whingebags. And tell your ugly kids to shut up if they start going on about it too much. Jesus.

'ugly kids' :D Love it :)

Red Nissan wrote: »
    Correct me please, 12 days of christmas. Question ?

Thinks it's more something along the lines of; 'On the 12th day of Xmas my true love said to me'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

. Jesus.

What's he got to do with it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Red Nissan wrote: »
    Correct me please, 12 days of christmas. Question ?

"What's just a song?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Woah woah, hold on a second! RTE IS SANTA CLAUSE?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭brian_t

Next Saturday they are showing Fred Claus and the following Saturday it's The Santa Clause 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Great film, should be on every week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Would you complain if they showed Die Hard in July?

The Santa Clause is not the worst of the Christmas movies tbh.

Its no Home Alone though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

The best thing about Christmas is being able to watch Die Hard in a properly festive setting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

krudler wrote: »
    The best thing about Christmas is being able to watch Die Hard in a properly festive setting.

THIS!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Good film though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Kikin

JJayoo wrote: »
    Great film, should be on every week.

Should be on every day if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭FameHungry

F*cking joke all together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Plasid

Typical Irish moaner. Moaning about nothing.

Typical begrudger irish or otherwise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

krudler wrote: »

....I still think the festive season requires more Asian gangster however. Sets the tone and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

I think it's True Movies that start in July with their Christmas movies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

kneemos wrote: »

.....catering for a peculiar form of pervert, no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

kneemos wrote: »

Nov 1st they start with it, it's annoying because it's actually a good movie channel the rest of the year and one of the few 'free' movie stations on Sky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

It does come earlier every year, it rolls over, I bought this years presents in 1993. Can't wait to see their smiles of joy when they rip the shrinkwrap off that brand new minidisc player :).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

Kikin wrote: »
    Should be on every day if you ask me.

every hour if you ask me, in fact they should dedicate as many channel's as they need to it so they can show it on the hour every hour....

Bloody hell

its not lazy, its well thought out of them to be fair, 7 weeks to christmas = 7 saturdays, which is only 7 childrens christmas movies....

between home alone 1,2,3
    the santa claus 1,2,3
    fred claus...

thats 7 alone never mind all the other childrens christmas movies they could have to show. so they started at the appropiate time, if it was before halloween now that would be lazy especially with so many great halloween movies for children, like the ring, saw and the nightmare before Christmas.......oh wait!