Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying Cattle - wrong information

• 08-11-2013 9:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭

Folks
    Bit of advice needed.

Bought 20 cattle up the country few days ago.
    Cards had only one owner on back and lad selling confirmed that.

Anyway, after buying them and cattle in herd, the agfood website shows that isnt the case and I dont qualify for Bord Bia for 13 out of the 20. Also, they are whiteheads so losing my hereford bonus too. All in all, a nice loss on them when finished.

Why do people not fill in cards.

Is there anything people think I can do with this apart from just learn a lesson. Have I any comeback. I know if it stated in a mart the wrong number of owners, you would be able to do something about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

TUBBY wrote: »
    Folks
    Bit of advice needed.

Anyway, after buying them and cattle in herd, the agfood website shows that isnt the case and I dont qualify for Bord Bia for 13 out of the 20. Also, they are whiteheads so losing my hereford bonus too. All in all, a nice loss on them when finished.

Is there anything people think I can do with this apart from just learn a lesson. Have I any comeback. I know if it stated in a mart the wrong number of owners, you would be able to do something about it.

Depends on what question you asked the seller when buying them about previous herds. It can hurt to ring the guy and see what he says, although it may not be mass language:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Folks
    Bit of advice needed.

Im not sure what you can do about the cards , but would it make any sense to sell off the 13 that dont qualify straight away and replace them with cattle that will qualify ? I reckon its sometimes easier to cut your losses earlier rather than looking at something you didnt want in the first place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

Depends on what question you asked the seller when buying them about previous herds. It can hurt to ring the guy and see what he says, although it may not be mass language:rolleyes:

Heh Bob.

Asked him specifically, did ye buy the cattle off the original owner for each of them as they had no other movements or mart stamps.
    He said he did so took that as being OK.

Asked him originally on phone that if I bought them, would I be the 3rd owner. Again, he said yes to this.

Only realised when looked at Agfood that they were all private sales. Pity ya cant check AGFOOD until they are in your herd.

Just after getting off phone with him, he said he sold in good faith so not much to go on there.

I know I am snookered now but it is very annoying that the animal passport is basically meaningless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

Heh Bob.

Asked him specifically, did ye buy the cattle off the original owner for each of them as they had no other movements or mart stamps.

Asked him originally on phone that if I bought them, would I be the 3rd owner. Again, he said yes to this.

Only realised when looked at Agfood that they were all private sales. Pity ya cant check AGFOOD until they are in your herd.

Just after getting off phone with him, he said he sold in good faith so not much to go on there.

I know I am snookered now but it is very annoying that the animal passport is basically meaningless.
    Would report cares not signed to dept to see if that pi Off guys that didn't sign

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Heh Bob.

Ring him up tell him you are taking the cards into the department and reporting same. He stated he bought from orginal owner. It is something we will all have to get tough with. Now with QA being worth so much and HEX and AAX bonus on top we will all have to start getting tougher with these situtations and if a few fellas have to be taught a lesson so be it. He bought cattle off a farmer that had not signed the back of the cards

At present Bonus's in cattle can be worth from 20-35c/kg this can be worth over 100/head. We have to insist on cards being signed at the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

thanks for replies lads.

I dont want to go selling again cause margins are tight and with transport etc and mart fees when selling, I would lose I am sure. Also the no. of movements and the fact that i was selling so quickly would turn people off. I had thought of it but think I will keep and just take the hit.

As regards talking to dept about lads not signing, I would love to do it cause the lad that i bought off hadnt even signed some of the cards himself. Thought about mentioning this to him to see if he would at least go halves on the lost bonus with me.

Will end up not contacting dept in any case though cause I give out a lot and do very little about it:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭The man in red and black

thanks for replies lads.

I dont want to go selling again cause margins are tight and with transport etc and mart fees when selling, I would lose I am sure. Also the no. of movements and the fact that i was selling so quickly would turn people off. I had thought of it but think I will keep and just take the hit.

As regards talking to dept about lads not signing, I would love to do it cause the lad that i bought off hadnt even signed some of the cards himself. Thought about mentioning this to him to see if he would at least go halves on the lost bonus with me.

Will end up not contacting dept in any case though cause I give out a lot and do very little about it:)

It may seem very harsh calling the Dept about this but he has taken money out of your pocket and will likely do the same tomorrow to the next fella. That said nobody wants the Dept on their backs and it would be bad karma! Everyone has their own view on it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

I cant see the dept having one jot of interest in the backs of cards not signed as 90% of the cards I have wouldnt be signed and they would have being through a number of herds. I usually just buy animals as they stand not knowing their history and dont factor in potential bonus, if the bonus comes its a bonus :)

The amount of maiden heifers that turn up as being cows is similar crack and farmers think that the final seller can take the couple of hundred quid hit, they swear black is red to try and get out of having the reimburse my loss on the animal