Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Great service from NCTS

• 07-11-2013 4:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭

Emailed them two days ago looking for a booking between 21st and 30th of this month, just got confirmed booking for 23rd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

:
    corktina wrote: »
    Emailed them two days ago looking for a booking between 21st and 30th of this month, just got confirmed booking for 23rd.

Thats surley worth 50 in the ashtray. .:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

€55 lol.....

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I just rang them up there to book in the Ohs car for a test (it's not due till the end of January, so can't seem to book it online.)

Booked in for next Friday, and the lady even wished me good luck :D

Edit: just booked mine in for next week too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I think the nct system is quite good. The last time my dad was getting his car tested he rang and got a cancellation for a time that suited him. As much as people give out about it being unfair if your car is in good mechanical order and well maintained it will pass. I'd personally rather be ncting my focus than having to doe it at 111.14 euro a year vs 55 every two years and you don't even have to get a nct until the car is 4 years it sounds very fair to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Stheno wrote: »
    I just rang them up there to book in the Ohs car for a test (it's not due till the end of January, so can't seem to book it online.)

Booked in for next Friday, and the lady even wished me good luck :D

Edit: just booked mine in for next week too.

Ive never had an issue with them in fairness; every time I ring to book a test or re-test I get an appointment within a fortnight.

I have never bothered with the online system mind you; seems easier just to pick up the phone.

Also can't fault the Nct. Long opening hours, great booking system - simply pick a time that suits you.

My last test they failed me because of perished break hoses. I was in a foul mood leaving thinking I was being ripped off.

Off to the mechanic and sure enough
    , there was clear evidence of the hoses cracking. He even showed me a hose that burst open under heavy breaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,872 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

salonfire wrote: »
    Also can't fault the Nct. Long opening hours, great booking system - simply pick a time that suits you.

My last test they failed me because of perished break hoses. I was in a foul mood leaving thinking I was being ripped off.

Off to the mechanic and sure enough
    , there was clear evidence of the hoses cracking. He even showed me a hose that burst open under heavy breaking.

I just failed for the same reason. Is it a big (ie expensive) job to get sorted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

Leroy42 wrote: »
    I just failed for the same reason. Is it a big (ie expensive) job to get sorted?

Obviously not nearly as expensive as not getting it sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

If its the flexi's they're child's pay and cheap also.
    Just a little bottle of new fluid to top up the tank after you bleed the system and your done!

Yeah rear flexis on both sides. Think it cost me e70 to get them done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

This thread reminds me of a an old joke I remember someone told me when I was small.

"John lived in a very tiny house. He was all happy, but he couldn't stand living in tiny place like that where he barely could fit with all his stuff.
    One day friend of his gave him advice. He told him to buy a goat.
    So John did. He bought a goat, but things got even worse. With goat there was even less space.
    2 months later, John talked to his friend again, and complained that with goat it's even worse. Now friend gave him new advice - to get rid of the goat.
    Once John did that, he was happy ever after with amount of space he had without a goat."

The same here.
    People praise NCT booking system, as they can get booking in less than 2 weeks. Ridiculous.
    In most places in the world, you can do vehicle test on the spot. Just drive to test centre and do it.
    In Ireland two weeks seem to be extraordinary achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭homingbird

ye are all missing the point if you leave your test for the week before its due & they cant give you a test within 3 weeks you are due a free test. :P

homingbird wrote: »
    ye are all missing the point if you leave your test for the week before its due & they cant give you a test within 3 weeks you are due a free test. :P

No.
    Rule is that if they can't offer you a test within 4 weeks from time you first contact them with intention of booking and request for the test to be within 4 weeks, then you can get your test for free.
    In practice it never happens, as once you request it within 4 weeks, they always give it to you within that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Cosmo K

CiniO wrote: »
    No.
    In practice it never happens, as once you request it within 4 weeks, they always give it to you within that time.

Sorry to correct you, but.....actually that happens quite a lot. Especially in areas that are busy like Galway, Limerick or Ennis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Mister Man

I find leaving the car at the center the best way of getting a test in a hurry. Just leaves the car outside for the day. No bookings or ringing up. Drop the keys and the test fee with them, and leave.

Cosmo K wrote: »
    Sorry to correct you, but.....actually that happens quite a lot. Especially in areas that are busy like Galway, Limerick or Ennis.

Free tests happen there?
    Really?
    Never heard of anyone who got a free test.
    That's new for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭homingbird

If you ring 3 to 4 months ahead of your test & expect a free test dream on as your car will still be in test . So their is no need for them to give you a free one.

It doesn't matter when you ring.
    If you request a a booking within 4 weeks they have to give it to you. Otherwise your test will be for free.
    From my experience they always give you an appointment within 4 weeks. I always request it within 4 weeks and always get a booking within that date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

Mister Man wrote: »
    I find leaving the car at the center the best way of getting a test in a hurry. Just leaves the car outside for the day. No bookings or ringing up. Drop the keys and the test fee with them, and leave.

........really ? Where was that if you dont mind ? I have had 3 cars to do in the last 10 days and I have a Motor Trade account. First one I got a cancellation appointment within 2 days but failed on emissions, sorted in about 2 hours but I could get a retest inside 10 days. I range every hour for 2 days then called up and told them I could leave it or stay with it all day but no joy. I left 3 hours later and had to wait a week !

Passed next time.

Then 2nd car failed on front alignment, tyre shop did it wrong :mad: but they corrected it and I have to wait 6 days for a retest.

3rd car passed no probs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭nct tester

It doesn't matter when you ring.
    If you request a a booking within 4 weeks they have to give it to you. Otherwise your test will be for free.
    From my experience they always give you an appointment within 4 weeks. I always request it within 4 weeks and always get a booking within that date.

But yet you are on here giving out about the poor booking process the whole time. If people are ill-informed about this 4 week lead time, then that's not nct's fault is it????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭nct tester

MercMad wrote: »
    ........really ? Where was that if you dont mind ? I have had 3 cars to do in the last 10 days and I have a Motor Trade account. First one I got a cancellation appointment within 2 days but failed on emissions, sorted in about 2 hours but I could get a retest inside 10 days. I range every hour for 2 days then called up and told them I could leave it or stay with it all day but no joy. I left 3 hours later and had to wait a week !

Passed next time.

Then 2nd car failed on front alignment, tyre shop did it wrong :mad: but they corrected it and I have to wait 6 days for a retest.

3rd car passed no probs.

Leaving cars at a center for the day is very hit and miss, if everyone is to start doing that, there would be cars everywhere and lots of keys and money left in the test center.

nct tester wrote: »
    [/B]

But yet you are on here giving out about the poor booking process the whole time. If people are ill-informed about this 4 week lead time, then that's not nct's fault is it????

Yes, I give out about poor booking process, because you shouldn't wait 4 weeks for a test.
    If I ring my local barber shop for haircut, I usually get an appointment the same day, in the worst case next day.
    I'd expect the same with NCT.
    In most countries in Europe you can get your test on the spot. Just drive into test centre and test the car.
    In Ireland you need to wait few months, and if you are lucky enough that you know about 4 weeks thing which is completely not advertised, then you can have it within 4 weeks. Great, isn't it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

i've never had any real bother getting an NCT test... average enough sort of waiting times 2-3 weeks, its grand really. once you know to anticipate it, i mean its a once a year event a bit like your birthday or christmas, you know its coming, all it takes is a phone call/ trip online to be prepared.

on one occasion i was waiting for a test date nearly 4 weeks away and i was driving past the NCT centre one day and seen it was empty, so i asked them would they test it there and then and in fairness they did!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

No.
    Rule is that if they can't offer you a test within 4 weeks from time you first contact them with intention of booking and request for the test to be within 4 weeks, then you can get your test for free.
    Happened to someone I know last week. They got the test for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Valid test or not they will still give you a free test ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

Free tests happen there?
    Really?
    Never heard of anyone who got a free test.
    That's new for me.

Always free tests in Waterford. Very busy centre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

My sister booked hers online, cant get a free slot until 4th dec, I rang them up friday and am booked for Wednesday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Yes, I give out about poor booking process, because you shouldn't wait 4 weeks for a test.
    If I ring my local barber shop for haircut, I usually get an appointment the same day, in the worst case next day.
    I'd expect the same with NCT.
    In most countries in Europe you can get your test on the spot. Just drive into test centre and test the car.
    In Ireland you need to wait few months, and if you are lucky enough that you know about 4 weeks thing which is completely not advertised, then you can have it within 4 weeks. Great, isn't it.

The problem with a free for all system is that it would be near impossible to manage at times. Youd end up with a huge queue first thing on a Saturday morning for example, and no chance of getting near the place for the rest of the day.

Personally I think what you expect is unrealistic; especially given what they currently have to work with (staff and facilities). The booking system is not perfect, and they could certainly try and find a way to cut down on wait times Im sure, but I have no idea why there would be any need to have a system where people show up on the day rather than book in advance? You have three months prior to expiry to get the test sorted; its not that hard to get a test date.