Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

well holy god said miley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭cubbyleader

I seen that video before and to me it makes no sense why would anyone shoot a game bird like that' in my book its the same as shooting them with a rifle there's no sport in it. Personaly I wouldn't shoot any driven game but atleast on yer traditional english driven shoot the birds are released months before hand and flushed by beaters and dogs not just thrown from a tower. To me game birds are meant to be hunted and vermim meant to be shot meaning you hunt game with a dog and take a small amount and you shoot vermin whatever way you can to keep there numbers down and to me shooting pheasants like that is like shooting them as vermin, I hunted for roughly 5 hours today and got my first cock of the season and that was plenty for me the main thing is the hunt not killing as many as possinle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

I seen that video before and to me it makes no sense why would anyone shoot a game bird like that' in my book its the same as shooting them with a rifle there's no sport in it. Personaly I wouldn't shoot any driven game but atleast on yer traditional english driven shoot the birds are released months before hand and flushed by beaters and dogs not just thrown from a tower. To me game birds are meant to be hunted and vermim meant to be shot meaning you hunt game with a dog and take a small amount and you shoot vermin whatever way you can to keep there numbers down and to me shooting pheasants like that is like shooting them as vermin, I hunted for roughly 5 hours today and got my first cock of the season and that was plenty for me the main thing is the hunt not killing as many as possinle
    I like your style cubbyleader and agree completely ,,, im a sportsman by default though I miss everything
    Must be laws against this kind of stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Snakezilla

That is ridiculous.... Americans are known to be lazy but that tops the list of the laziest and unsporting form of "hunting" I have ever seen. Why not just shoot some clays off a high tower if you want a challenging shot? Whats next? Shooting caged rabbits with a .308 at 1000 yards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I hunted for roughly 5 hours today and got my first cock of the season and that was plenty for me the main thing is the hunt not killing as many as possinle

I admire that mate. Am pretty disgusted at some lads on this site who are shooting 5-6 cocks a day. Two a day is plenty.
    No point in shooting anymore.
    As for that video I turned it off once I seem the lads throwing pheasants off platform. They basically just replaced clays with live birds.
    IDIOTS!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Dont be too quick to judge "The Americans" on this..There have been reports on a shoot in Italy where this was done with ducks.. Basicaly two flite ponds about a mile apart.The ducks had been raised on both these ponds and were semi tame.They were gatherd up and shoved into gunny sacks and released en masse at one pond. Frightned they flew to the next pond a mile away and into the guns.They then head back to the other pond and get hit there.And on it went..:(

Its about money..Each bird is proably worth five+/- dollars /Euros to the shoot.The more you shoot the more they make,so it is obviously in their intrest to give you plenty to shoot at.
    20 guns looks alot but I have been on boar hunts that have had as many on a line.It is very difficult to co ordinate that amount of shooters on a walking line .
    So driving them oto the guns is going to be more the norm.
    However chucking them off of a tower from a crate is definately not on.
    At least drive and flush them with the dogs.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Dafuq is that crap????????????? :eek:

That's as bad as a video i saw when "wild" animals were released for bow hunters. Turns out the "wild" animals were captive bred and the the area was approx 1 acre fenced off.
    Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Don't be too quick to judge "The Americans" on this..There have been reports on a shoot in Italy where this was done with ducks..
    Regardless of country it's still piss poor carry on.

Still cannot believe that. Neither can others based on comments, and dislikes.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Jerrystevens

and yet lads in ireland will buy adult cocks and drop them off in gateways the last week in october and happily go hunt them in november:eek:

As i said above the location is not the issue. The act is.

Not condoning any behaviour, like what is on the video, but in your example they are in open fields with the ability to leave. The term shooting fish in barrel comes to mind.

Then there is the incessant need to video yourself doing these things and post it as though it is the norm.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭shotie

and yet lads in ireland will buy adult cocks and drop them off in gateways the last week in october and happily go hunt them in november:eek:

its not even half as bad as what ive just seen thats a total disgrace that video is .atleast if a lad does let birds of here in oct they have some chance of staying a live and surviveing .theres no chance for them birds in that video if one lad miss the next lad gest it .total dissgrace and no respect for the birds :mad: .its the worst of the worst ive ever seen so far .total lazy mans sport that is and it looks like the have a serous amount of land there to shoot they be better off if they sowed a few crops and hunted it with a few dogs it wouldnt be half as bad then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

There way a crowd in Cavan doing something similar to this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭EWQuinn

Hey, before you get too hard on Billybob, it does say "European" pheasant hunt. Apparently designed to simulate driven hunts in the old country. There are others like this.

For me pheasant hunting is walking on a very cold day in Kansas with a good dog and a couple partners. On warm days you drive and they run whether you like it or not, so if possible you have blockers.

Did you hear him say watch out, there are bird boys and dogs running around, and have your eye protection as occasionally pellets will fall on you? LOL

My all time favorite was once I toured (not hunted) a preserve, with "duck blinds" out of James Bond. You sat underground in a bunker with cushy lounge chairs in a heated chamber with all the comforts of a den in a mansion. A giant steel door would open up above you to shoot ducks when you weren't hobnobbing with the rich and famous over a latte.

For me personally, if hunting gets to that level, I will just rather shoot clays or paper targets instead.

Cass wrote: »
    As i said above the location is not the issue. The act is.

Not condoning any behaviour, like what is on the video, but in your example they are in open fields with the ability to leave. The term shooting fish in barrel comes to mind.

Then there is the incessant need to video yourself doing these things and post it as though it is the norm.
    thats an issue thats been bugging me lately why do hunters now feel the need to photograph or video every little thing we do are we that narcissistic or are our egos that inflated that we need to do this now im not against taking a photo and sharing it with friends or sticking it on the wall and I love watching videos on here and youtube it can be educational but I feel its gotten completely out of hand everyone is now an expert lads are doing stupid **** and sharing iit with the world..... whatever happened to the intimacy of memories and stories prob should start another thread but id like to know how ye feel about this especially the older hunters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

snipe02 wrote: »
    thats an issue thats been bugging me lately why do hunters now feel the need to photograph or video every little thing we do are we that narcissistic or are our egos that inflated that we need to do this now im not against taking a photo and sharing it with friends or sticking it on the wall and I love watching videos on here and youtube it can be educational but I feel its gotten completely out of hand everyone is now an expert lads are doing stupid **** and sharing iit with the world..... whatever happened to the intimacy of memories and stories prob should start another thread but id like to know how ye feel about this especially the older hunters

Examples?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭Half-cocked

Lads I know paid big money for a driven shoot here in Ireland last season and discovered the birds being released straight out of a trailer out over the guns:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

in relation to the post about ducks flying from one pond to another and being shot on there way back and forward,i have seen this being carried out at a driven shoot,and also seen reared duck being shot between ponds for retreiver trials ,even saw birds being shot on the water as the guns made there way in .

Whiles the general condemnation is clear from folks on here I'm not sure it is the smartest thread. Might as well be loading the anti guns with some of the examples given.

wheter there shot on the ground or in the air they will have something to say anyway , pics and videos on here give the antis plenty to talk about

A pic story or video reflecting what happens on sporting terms cannot be compared to stories or videos or lads throwing birds out of crates. An argument for the sporting element off hunting/ shooting becomes hollow when the sheer lack of sportmanship is advertised by those who do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Stevegeraghty

I wonder did any birds get away, I doubt it with 22 guns shooting one bird!!!
    A mate of mine went on a driven shoot up north last year and he said all the birds still had bits in their beaks, he reckoned they were just releasing them in the next field, not very sporting!
    I only ever shoot one bird (if I'm lucky) or 2 if I'm having a party (if I'm very lucky)

A pic story or video reflecting what happens on sporting terms cannot be compared to stories or videos or lads throwing birds out of crates. An argument for the sporting element off hunting/ shooting becomes hollow when the sheer lack of sportmanship is advertised by those who do it.

are u implying that i shoot birds on the ground or on the water

charlie10 wrote: »
    [/B]

are u implying that i shoot birds on the ground or on the water

Jaysus Mary & Joseph how do you make that out? How could I know or why would I question you? Seriously like what would bring me to have a go like that for no reason when you obviously are against the crap discussed & shown?

I'm talking about this thread & hunters who are in the sport giving examples about bad practice in this country - as a group talking about the negatives within the sport carried out by a minority to my mind advertises it. As said it is met with condemnation by all on here but that doesn't stop those against it picking & dropping this thread into any article or the likes. Was shocked when Cass ,mentioned on the mixed bag thread about leaving the gun in the pic & the reason why - these luns will do anything.

Jaysus Mary & Joseph how do you make that out? How could I know or why would I question you? Seriously like what would bring me to have a go like that for no reason when you obviously are against the crap discussed & shown?

I'm talking about this thread & hunters who are in the sport giving examples about bad practice in this country - as a group talking about the negatives within the sport carried out by a minority to my mind advertises it. As said it is met with condemnation by all on here but that doesn't stop those against it picking & dropping this thread into any article or the likes. Was shocked when Cass ,mentioned on the mixed bag thread about leaving the gun in the pic & the reason why - these luns will do anything.

my bad sorry just re read the post here plucking birds and didnt quite read it right ,ya this shoot obviously just buys in birds ,wont even bother putting in the work required to rear them and keep them,sorry again e-pointer must have partidge feathers in my eyes:)

Personally I wouldn't do a driven shoot. Just don't think it's hunting at all. I realise there is a lot involved but just to me not sporting and like all sports there plenty of idiots involved who do it wrong.

well that video was filmed in the good old usa where anything goes more or less with pheasant shooting , try googling it and you'll be disgusted at the antics that happen, what is on that video clip is mild to some of the things that go on .
    i saw on another site some lads want to get a ban brought in on the moving/handling of game birds here within a month of the shooting season ,that would be a very good move on the part of shooters i think, it would stop the idiots releasing birds the week/day before the shooting
    if you go back through posts here there are even lads on this site buying and releasing partridges giving them a few hours then going hunting them and others letting cocks out of pens the week before the 1st .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

There have been reports on a shoot in Italy where this was done with ducks..

I've seen it done on a couple of shoots in this country.

Examples?
    Your an example :) the above video the video/photo thread im sure youve looked in you tube facebook im not knocking anyone ive photos ive taken meself but keep them private ,, I considered getting a camera and when I questioned my own motives so began this thought process any opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭welsummer

I seen it happen on a commercial shoot here in Ireland, where partridge and ducks are staggered through the shoot, by been taken from a crate and thrown up in the air so that the guns have a selection of different birds to shoot at. Ducks are notorious for all flushing at the one time and this way the guns can shoot ducks through out the drive. Partridge have a habit of fecking off, so once they have flown over the guns they are deemed as shot or lost.
    The paying guns know nothing about this. Only the lads behind the scenes.

Transparency should we just ignore the wrong doing just to keep the heat off ourselves out of site out of mind as said this just doesnt happen in the good old usa its going on here should we ignore as then we are all placed in the one bracket this is exactly the place todiscuss the ethics of hunting

i think there should be a written code of conduct adhered to by both gun clubs and driven shoots some of the goings on in both branches of the sport leave something to be desired with game bird welfare
    if not careful ireland could end up like the netherlands where the release of gamebirds is illegal

Flying ducks between ponds is how you normally do a driven duck shoot.

Not chucking them out of a gunny sack first it isnt.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Your an example :) the above video the video/photo thread im sure youve looked in you tube facebook im not knocking anyone ive photos ive taken meself but keep them private ,, I considered getting a camera and when I questioned my own motives so began this thought process any opinions?

I'll give the benefet of the doubt here before reacting but please correct me if I am wrong. It reads potentially that by posting videos I am somehow displaying narcissism & an inflated ego? As for the second bolded line I will again not take it as to me but by the "Your an example" it is hard not to read it that way?

On topic - I would be more than happy if they want one of my videos - it clearly shows the normal side of roughshooting in Ireland & might educate against the mass murderer image. Every bird shot is now cleaned & ready for the table.
    Even the latest one shows meeting & leaving off hens, hares, unsporting shots, unusual birds etc. It shows clips of dog work not just shooting.
    I took different clips of seeing all sorts from frogs to toadstools that I noticed whiles out & about that I didn't bother adding but keep for myself to show my niece.

Talking sh*te on a forum is just that, it does nothing to work against the bad practices so personally I don't see the point in each of us listing all of this on a public forum as no good will come of it. No anti is gonna say "Well maybe these guys are actually ok given we condemn driven shoots & the likes mentioned - you, I and everyone else is just as guilty in the eyes of someone who doesn't agree with the whole subject of shooting game for sport as the guy lauching a bird out of a crate.

This thread is not promoting transparency. It is promoting naivity. No one has come across poorly or said anything wrong, it is more the outside influences that read this must sit back & think I knew it, they even admit it themselves!

I wonder did any birds get away, I doubt it with 22 guns shooting one bird!!!
    A mate of mine went on a driven shoot up north last year and he said all the birds still had bits in their beaks, he reckoned they were just releasing them in the next field, not very sporting!
    I only ever shoot one bird (if I'm lucky) or 2 if I'm having a party (if I'm very lucky)

You are using a shotgun,not a SAM.So if the bird is 100 yards away it would be pointless,and dangerous.If it is coming over you then it is a clean shot.

i think there should be a written code of conduct adhered to by both gun clubs and driven shoots some of the goings on in both branches of the sport leave something to be desired with game bird welfare
    if not careful ireland could end up like the netherlands where the release of gamebirds is illegal

You see this I agree with & makes a lot of sense.
    Following up on this or starting a petition ot talking to a minister on it would be a more value add way of showing the disagreement with the practices mentioned. Talking about it on here, I just don't see the value & inversly see the potential for negative use.

I'll give the benefet of the doubt here before reacting but please correct me if I am wrong. It reads potentially that by posting videos I am somehow displaying narcissism & an inflated ego? As for the second bolded line I will again not take it as to me but by the "Your an example" it is hard not to read it that way?

On topic - I would be more than happy if they want one of my videos - it clearly shows the normal side of roughshooting in Ireland & might educate against the mass murderer image. Every bird shot is now cleaned & ready for the table.
    Even the latest one shows meeting & leaving off hens, hares, unsporting shots, unusual birds etc. It shows clips of dog work not just shooting.
    I took different clips of seeing all sorts from frogs to toadstools that I noticed whiles out & about that I didn't bother adding but keep for myself to show my niece.

Talking sh*te on a forum is just that, it does nothing to work against the bad practices so personally I don't see the point in each of us listing all of this on a public forum as no good will come of it. No anti is gonna say "Well maybe these guys are actually ok given we condemn driven shoots & the likes mentioned - you, I and everyone else is just as guilty in the eyes of someone who doesn't agree with the whole subject of shooting game for sport as the guy lauching a bird out of a crate.

This thread is not promoting transparency. It is promoting naivity. No one has come across poorly or said anything wrong, it is more the outside influences that read this must sit back & think I knew it, they even admit it themselves!
    no you've taken me up wrong I meant your an example of someone who records their hunting never said you were unsporting as for ego and narcissistic I never mentioned you in that post my original post said I prob should start a new thread on it. as I meant no connection in general between photos and recordings and the carry on in the vid I meant all photos and videos etc good and bad included ... I did also say we not epointer but, we, as in modern day hunters ... and yes I do think putting everything we do up on facebook youtube etc narcissistic and egotistical that's my view of it and my opinion of it and my question still stands how do other hunters feel on the subject im sure the older generation have something to say about it ,,,,I should have explained better what I meant by your an example hope I cleared that up

it is more the outside influences that read this must sit back & think I knew it, they even admit it themselves!

So Let them!!! They are fanatics,and fanatics cant be reasoned with,or debated with and are always right no matter what.Even when it is white they will yell black.
    What we are actually doing is saying ,yes that is a problem and,yes it is a disgrace and yes we should do somthing about it[IE the non movement of birds once the season is open.!100% agree too] Here in Ireland at least.

We arent hiding away from the issue,and unlike the antis dont have to shy away from illegal activities,or deny our members were involved in such,and if they do they are ostracised,not covertly welcomed because of their letter writing skills in the national press.Or covertly staging events to garner sympathy.

It is the quickest way of nipping a crisis in the bud is to admit there is a problem or that somthing was done wrong.Covering it up only makes things worse and is most times a sure sign of a deeper disaster.

So Let them!!! They are fanatics,and fanatics cant be reasoned with,or debated with and are always right no matter what.Even when it is white they will yell black.
    What we are actually doing is saying ,yes that is a problem and,yes it is a disgrace and yes we should do somthing about it[IE the non movement of birds once the season is open.!100% agree too] Here in Ireland at least.

We arent hiding away from the issue,and unlike the antis dont have to shy away from illegal activities,or deny our members were involved in such,and if they do they are ostracised,not covertly welcomed because of their letter writing skills in the national press.Or covertly staging events to garner sympathy.

It is the quickest way of nipping a crisis in the bud is to admit there is a problem or that somthing was done wrong.Covering it up only makes things worse and is most times a sure sign of a deeper disaster.

I don't disagree but I am not saying cover it up. I openly said if going to higlight it then do something worth doing rather than talking. Talking on a forum is to my mind counter productive given the nature of the subject as it is only talking. It provides ammunition rather than work in favour of hunters.
    Putting up a thread asking for all hunters to sign a petition against these type of drives or encouraging a boycot of them would even be better than highlighting an issue & not offering a solution.
    It would be a positive step for the image of the sport in that bad practive is frowned upon & the sportmen themselves wont tolerate it.

thats an issue thats been bugging me lately why do hunters now feel the need to photograph or video every little thing we do ......................
    I have no issue with anyone video tapping themselves or even photgrapinh themselves. My issue is when they do it when they are participating in events/activities that not only only disgust the general public, but also the shooting community.

The video thread on this forum is public and a great way to spend a little time watching lads at their craft. I personally have no time for the making of a video but enjoy watching others. Same with pictures. I enjoy looking at them on the photo thread, but rarely do i post one. Only now will i do so for the mixed bag comp, but i'm not a picture taker. Nothing nefarious about it.

My objection to certain videos stretches to not only hunting but other things. We all know the situation with target shooting outside a range. Agree with it or not it's still the law. Then a lad posts a video of himself and some mates shooting steel and whatever distance, and posts it for all to see. It's illegal lads, and frankly not to hard to find out the owner of the video and bring charges. Its the reason why we don't allow it to be posted or discussed. Surely the lads doing it know this too, but still insist on taping the event and posting it. WHY? If you kept it to yourself or friends that would be one thing but putting into the public domain is only asking for trouble.
    Whiles the general condemnation is clear from folks on here I'm not sure it is the smartest thread. Might as well be loading the anti guns with some of the examples given.
    The thing is we cannot and must not hide away what we do as though it is something to be hidden. The Anti's will always moan. Look at the MARs rover, love/hate, etc, etc. They don't need much of a push to kick off. Once we stay legal we are fine. It's the reason why we keep and open forum. No need for passwords or access to view anything.
    Completely agree with ya. As is evident by the responses most if not all genuine hunters/shooters agree too. This shows we are as much about sportsmanship as shooting, and can only cast us in a good light.
    Correct.
    Putting up a thread asking for all hunters to sign a petition against these type of drives or encouraging a boycot of them would even be better than highlighting an issue & not offering a solution
    Unfortunately we are not as productive when it comes to petitions, etc. as some of the anti squad. This is reflected in recent petitions that took ages to get even 1,000 signatures when there are hundreds of thousands of shooters.

Some feel more comfortable voicing their disgust online and not in a petition, and frankly i'd take that than nothing at all.

However you do raise an interesting topic about a=our sometimes lack of cohesion when it comes to such things as petitions.

no you've taken me up wrong I meant your an example of someone who records their hunting never said you were unsporting as for ego and narcissistic I never mentioned you in that post my original post said I prob should start a new thread on it. as I meant no connection in general between photos and recordings and the carry on in the vid I meant all photos and videos etc good and bad included ... I did also say we not epointer but, we, as in modern day hunters ... and yes I do think putting everything we do up on facebook youtube etc narcissistic and egotistical that's my view of it and my opinion of it and my question still stands how do other hunters feel on the subject im sure the older generation have something to say about it ,,,,I should have explained better what I meant by your an example hope I cleared that up

It reads as it reads Snipe.
    You don't share videos & photos as you feel it is narcissistic to so in general terms yet as the same time deny that you implied those on here that do are?

And BTW the old boys I know think the videos are a fantastic way of sharing stories & are fascinated by the whole 'technology' thing. How you connect egotistical etc with sharing photos/ videos is beyond me.
    I do it as since I started I got asked all year to do more. I gain nothing from it bar the enjoyment of sharing.

I think the only positive thing coming from that video is all of the comments are lads who do hunting and that are pointing out the ridiculousness of it.

Cass wrote: »
    I have no issue with anyone video tapping themselves or even photgrapinh themselves. My issue is when they do it when they are participating in events/activities that not only only disgust the general public, but also the shooting community.

The video thread on this forum is public and a great way to spend a little time watching lads at their craft. I personally have no time for the making of a video but enjoy watching others. Same with pictures. I enjoy looking at them on the photo thread, but rarely do i post one. Only now will i do so for the mixed bag comp, but i'm not a picture taker. Nothing nefarious about it.

My objection to certain videos stretches to not only hunting but other things. We all know the situation with target shooting outside a range. Agree with it or not it's still the law. Then a lad posts a video of himself and some mates shooting steel and whatever distance, and posts it for all to see. It's illegal lads, and frankly not to hard to find out the owner of the video and bring charges. Its the reason why we don't allow it to be posted or discussed. Surely the lads doing it know this too, but still insist on taping the event and posting it. WHY? If you kept it to yourself or friends that would be one thing but putting into the public domain is only asking for trouble.

The thing is we cannot and must not hide away what we do as though it is something to be hidden. The Anti's will always moan. Look at the MARs rover, love/hate, etc, etc. They don't need much of a push to kick off. Once we stay legal we are fine. It's the reason why we keep and open forum. No need for passwords or access to view anything.

Completely agree with ya. As is evident by the responses most if not all genuine hunters/shooters agree too. This shows we are as much about sportsmanship as shooting, and can only cast us in a good light.

Correct.

Unfortunately we are not as productive when it comes to petitions, etc. as some of the anti squad. This is reflected in recent petitions that took ages to get even 1,000 signatures when there are hundreds of thousands of shooters.

Some feel more comfortable voicing their disgust online and not in a petition, and frankly i'd take that than nothing at all.

However you do raise an interesting topic about a=our sometimes lack of cohesion when it comes to such things as petitions.

I am drawing reference to a petition as a proactive tool to use instead of instead of just highlighting the issues & leaving it at that which this will be. Really the premise of my point is the last piece of the last sentence & the how, well, it could be any number of things - a petition being one example only...
    No one here doubts the credentials & willingness of 90+% of hunters

It reads as it reads Snipe.
    You don't share videos & photos as you feel it is narcissistic to so in general terms yet as the same time deny that you implied those on here that do are?

And BTW the old boys I know think the videos are a fantastic way of sharing stories & are fascinated by the whole 'technology' thing. How you connect egotistical etc with sharing photos/ videos is beyond me.
    I do it as since I started I got asked all year to do more. I gain nothing from it bar the enjoyment of sharing.
    it does read how it is now I was talking in general and not about you in particular so get over yourself im entitled to voice my opinion the same the rest and let the rest speak for themselves ,, now saying you were an example and not explaining correctly I see has caused you some confusion ,,, but your nit the only lad on the internet posting ...and a lot of these people do it solely for attention and to feel important in my view ,,, I also said I enjoyed the videos and pictures as much as the next lad but wdcannot deny the fact that the trend of posting your life on line eg breakfast and every other act is creeping into the hunting scene where will it stop because not everyone has the sense to filter what they put up ,,, take offence if you like but it is what it is

Ah lad I dont need to say anymore. Your talking rubbish - it's my opinion & i'm entitled to it.

so thats it then end it with i dont care because your talking rubbish nah na na na nah ,,, ive obviously touched a nerve I never knocked you, you got all touchy about the subject you could of just voiced your opinion on the matter left it at that but the whole thing has now become about you ,,, I know exactly what im talking about if ya dont like if stop replying

Ah Snipe where do we go from here. I am torn.You have not hit any nerves I just think your whole premise makes no sense & somehow I am making is personal because I disagree & voiced an opinion. Good man.

Fair enough then but your not getting my point I cant change that but just have a look on youtube and face book and see if you can figure it out ,,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭welsummer

Flying ducks between ponds is how you normally do a driven duck shoot.
    yes. but when they are trying to trickle them through a pheasant drive, I have seen them fed into a pen and then crated up. These crates are taken up to the back of the pheasant drive where the ducks are released in threes and fours and they then fly back to the pond over the heads of the guns.

welsummer wrote: »
    yes. but when they are trying to trickle them through a pheasant drive, I have seen them fed into a pen and then crated up. These crates are taken up to the back of the pheasant drive where the ducks are released in threes and fours and they then fly back to the pond over the heads of the guns.

I know, I've seen it done on many occasions.

I am drawing reference to a petition as a proactive tool to use instead of instead of just highlighting the issues & leaving it at that which this will be. Really the premise of my point is the last piece of the last sentence & the how, well, it could be any number of things - a petition being one example only...
    Whether proactive or rebuttal petitions have failed, and in some cases miserably. My point, about the petitions as you raised the topic, was that people have no issue complaining, and voicing their disgust, but in the case off petitions we get an average of < 1% of the shooting community signing or supporting such petitions.
    No one here doubts the credentials & willingness of 90+% of hunters
    Correct. However it does fall short when action is needed. Action being putting your name to paper, sending e-mails, letter writing campaign, petitions, etc. These are the few means open to us to combat or voice our opinions.

I am not being defeatist or pessimistic. I am only working of the results from previous campaigns. Without going too far off topic i would love to see a more unified voice or greater support for such projects in whatever format they take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭shotie

i saw on another site some lads want to get a ban brought in on the moving/handling of game birds here within a month of the shooting season ,that would be a very good move on the part of shooters i think, it would stop the idiots releasing birds the week/day before the shooting
    if you go back through posts here there are even lads on this site buying and releasing partridges giving them a few hours then going hunting them and others letting cocks out of pens the week before the 1st .

i personaly dont think it would make a difference .i do agree with you do it would make sense but i dont think it would matter if a law like that was brought in .who would know if a lad had just let the birds out a week before it would have to be serously poilced id think and who would do it .
    as for as far as the antis go i dont think they will ever have a good thing to say about our sport .