Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drogheda city status

• 03-11-2013 4:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭

How are the people of Drogheda campaigning ? What benefits are they looking for? Is it possible they could succeed and become Drogheda city? :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Take a trip up the road and see the difference it made for Newry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

It's just a shit Dublin suburb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Swords has a greater population

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭micar

what does that make Swords and Balbrigan?

As a person from Drogheda, which offends me more, drogheda being described as "sh1t" or a "dublin suburb"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

It's not a Dublin suburb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

micar wrote: »

As a person from Drogheda, which offends me more, drogheda being described as "sh1t" or a "dublin suburb"?

Yeah but come on......you guys have Ballsgrove!

and Moneymore!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

according to the all-knowing Google, there's 52Km between the two so it's a bit unfair to say it's a suburb of Dublin. Having said that, it's also a bit close when considering giving it city Status.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Well if Kilkenny can be a city, anywhere can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

It's like Bray, it ain't in Dublin county but it's still a shit Dublin suburb.

That's just the way it is.

I'm sorry it's me who has had to inform you of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

It's like Bray, it ain't in Dublin county but it's still a shit Dublin suburb.

That's just the way it is.

I'm sorry it's me who has had to inform you of this.

Very true except for the small detail of Bray being in Wicklow of course.

and Moneymore!!!!!

Aw jaysis! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

It's not a Dublin suburb.
    As evidenced by all those empty trains, buses and cars leading out of Drogheda every morning.

If more people leave than enter during normal working hours then it's a commuter belt suburb of a larger urban area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Shi tter Dublin suburbs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

wazky wrote: »

Kilkenny gets it because it was the nations first capital

Very true except for the small detail of Bray being in Wicklow of course.

I know, that's why I said that despite Bray (Wicklow), same as Drogheda (Louth) not being in Dublin county from a GAA perspective, it is economically and socially a shit Dublin suburb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

When they learn how to speak properly, we can discuss this matter.

BMJD wrote: »
    When they learn how to speak properly, we can discuss this matter.

Eh excuse you!

People from Dwogeda spoke proper England they does, haaay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I can never understand why some people are so vociferous in declaring the likes of Newry, Kilkenny or Armagh "cities". They aren't f*cking cities, they're large county towns. Cork would barely qualify as a city in my eyes, never mind Drogheda.

Eh excuse you!

Wut?

Hay at the end of a sentence is ardee. Had you have said fo'teen now...

And its pronounced Drawda!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I know, that's why I said that despite Bray (Wicklow), same as Drogheda (Louth) not being in Dublin county from a GAA perspective, it is economically and socially a shit Dublin suburb.

Geographically and politically though - its not

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Wut?

Hay at the end of a sentence is ardee. Had you have said fo'teen now...

And its pronounced Drawda!

Aaaah, il never blend in!

Not like that you won't. I'll meet ya in mcphails for a few scoops and we'll get a batter buurger after if ye want lessons

FTA69 wrote: »
    I can never understand why some people are so vociferous in declaring the likes of Newry, Kilkenny or Armagh "cities". They aren't f*cking cities, they're large county towns. Cork would barely qualify as a city in my eyes, never mind Drogheda.

neither your eyes now mine really count though, in attributing city status on somewhere.

Not like that you won't. I'll meet ya in mcphails for a few scoops and we'll get a batter buurger after if ye want lessons

Heh McPhails! Bring back Reds, that's what I say! Can we go d'Earth after?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Kilkenny IS a City
    Newry IS a City
    Armagh IS a City.

Citydom was never based on population size.

Redz* :p

No, it's sunday. Were going de stoorm

Showing your age there SFP:P

Bring back Goodfellows:D:D:D

Not really :confused:

It's not gone all that long.

Eh excuse you!

pwappa*

Bring back Goodfellows:D:D:D

Who's showing their age?! :D

Storms ****e....I'm going the Laurence's instead!

Oops, yep that closed aaaages ago didn't it! 'twas a good spot though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Kilkenny IS a City
    Newry IS a City
    Armagh IS a City.

Citydom was never based on population size.

Kilkenny is a "city" because someone said it was in the 1600s. Technicalities aside, a city (in accepted vernacular terms) is generally taken to be a large urban area. When you talk about "city living" I doubt you'd be referring to living in Newry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

List

This list includes places which have at some time had a legally-recognised claim to the title "city". Informally the term may have been applied to other places or at other times.

Current Cities

Name Gained status Method of granting Jurisdiction granting Present jurisdiction

Dublin 1172 royal charter[6] Lordship of Ireland Republic of Ireland
    Cork 1185 royal charter[118] Lordship of Ireland Republic of Ireland
    Limerick 1199 royal charter[119] Lordship of Ireland Republic of Ireland
    Waterford 1206 royal charter[120] Lordship of Ireland Republic of Ireland
    Kilkenny 1383 royal charter[121] Lordship of Ireland Republic of Ireland
    Derry 1604 royal charter[122] Kingdom of Ireland Northern Ireland
    Belfast 1888 letters patent[45] United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland Northern Ireland
    Galway 1985 Act of the Oireachtas Republic of Ireland Republic of Ireland
    Armagh 1994 letters patent[52] United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland Northern Ireland
    Newry 2002 letters patent[55] United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland Northern Ireland
    Lisburn 2002 letters patent[55] United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland Northern Ireland

Former Cities

Name Gained status Method of granting Jurisdiction granting Lost status Present jurisdiction
    Armagh (1st time) By 1226[52] prescription[52] Lordship of Ireland 1840 Northern Ireland
    Downpatrick ("Down") By 1403[14] Lordship of Ireland By 1661[14] Northern Ireland
    Clogher Lordship of Ireland 1801[123] Northern Ireland
    Cashel 1638 royal charter[124] Kingdom of Ireland 1840 Republic of Ireland

Ha! I knew Cashel used to be a city at some point! them feckers at the pub quiz screwed me over!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I have a sudden craving for a staa baa.

Cienciano wrote: »

You can get dem in de shop above in ma park

Cienciano wrote: »

pwafair mas bas meself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

something i never knew until now..
    wikipedia wrote:
    Carlow (Irish: Ceatharlach) is the county town of County Carlow in Ireland. It is situated in the south-east of Ireland, 84 km from Dublin. County Carlow is the second smallest county in Ireland by area, however Carlow Town is the 14th largest urban area in Ireland by population according to the 2011 census with a population of 23,030.[1] The River Barrow flows through the town, and forms the historic boundary between counties Laois and Carlow: the Local Government (Ireland) Act 1898 included the town entirely in County Carlow. The settlement of Carlow is thousands of years old and pre-dates written Irish history. The town has played a major role in Irish history, serving as the capital of the country in the 14th century. It was voted the cleanest town in Ireland by Irish Business Against Litter (IBAL) in 2010.

Carlow Castle was constructed by William Marshal, Earl of Striguil and Lord of Leinster, c1207-13, to guard the vital river crossing. It was also to serve as the capital of the Lordship of Ireland from 1361 until 1374.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Hello_MrFox

Same can be said for Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭NoCrackHaving

There actually is no accepted definition of what is a city and what isn't, in Ireland or elsewhere.

Usually in Ireland it related to having a cathedral I think. However, history aside to claim that Kilkenny or Newry are cities in what we commonly think of is just plain ridiculous. To be fair, even Galway and Waterford are bordering on the dodgy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Calvin and Hobbes

Should Dundalk not get a City Status before Drogheda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭DK man

Would yella batta be in the city centa or de subooorbs?

I'm sorry but drogheda just doesn't do it for me. It shud b nice because of its hills and spires and boyne curling through the edge of the town

But I'm from dundalk so I am prejudiced

DK man wrote: »
    Would yella batta be in the city centa or de subooorbs?

I'm sorry but drogheda just doesn't do it for me. It shud b nice because of its hills and spires and boyne curling through the edge of the town

But I'm from dundalk Ndwaaaahhk so I am prejudiced
    FYP:D

Who's showing their age?! :D

Jebus, I worked there in the 90's, in the 80's I worked in the Central and the Europa.
    Anyone remember Lucianos?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Regardless of whether it gets it or not, I'll never call Drogheda a city. It's a f*cking town. Most of Ireland is full of towns. Apart from Dublin, Cork and Limerick there's just no "city feel" to places like Newry or Galway or even Drogheda. Maybe they could've been cities during the Middle Ages, but in modern terms they're just not.

Jebus, I worked there in the 90's, in the 80's I worked in the Central and the Europa.
    Anyone remember Lucianos?:D

Lucianos!!!!!!!!!!! that's a long time ago.

The brother of my first girldfriend was a DJ (DJ Sonic) and he played there. He was into all this sh1te dance music. It was also empty. Worst night ever!!!!!.
    Also my first time to see people dropping e.

I also remember being taken out of school by my dad to go up there to watch Ireland matches

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

according to the all-knowing Google, there's 52Km between the two so it's a bit unfair to say it's a suburb of Dublin. Having said that, it's also a bit close when considering giving it city Status.

Drogheda is also 2 counties away from Dublin

As someone living in Drogheda all my life, I have no idea where this whole silly 'city status' nonsense came from. Never was, isn't, and likely never will be, a city in any respect (other than by name if they manage to win that one over).

It's a small town full of empty retail premises and two retail parks that are both at least a ten minute drive away from the centre of the town.

It has restaurants and cafes by the bucket load, a well-manned Garda station and a few historical sites dotted around (that aren't that great in the grand scheme of things in fairness) but not a lot of anything else. Day to day life has very little social activity for adults (though to be fair, the Funtasia place and Rathmullen Leisure Park are both good to have in the town).

Dundalk is much the same in my opinion, but them having DKIT would make me christen them a City before Drogheda.

In my opinion though, city status should be based on the everyday 'feel' of the location. Dublin feels like a city. Drogheda feels like it has never recovered from poor 'pedestrianisation' plans nearly ten years ago.

(don't get me wrong, Drogheda, as a whole, is a nice place with a lot going for it. You could do a hell of a lot worse, and given the option, I think I'd rather live here than many other places in the country. However - It's not a city and shouldn't be. This whole city thing should've been knocked on the head long ago).