Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ROG book

• 03-11-2013 10:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭wicklowwonder

I see Ronan O'Gara has a section of his book in one of the newspapers. Is he writing a whole new autobiography bit just a second part to the one he realised a few years ago.

Also on a side note seems to loads of rugby books out at the moment, is BODs due out before Xmas or will they wait until he retires?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

It's a new biog. BOD has stated nothing will be released until he retires.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,979 ✭✭✭✭phog

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

From the excepts in yesterday's Times, it reads a lot like Alan Partridge's "Bouncing Back".

Needless to say, ROG had the last laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I called for the ball and reluctantly Peter Stringer passed it to me, the DG sailed through the posts. Hysteria followed. Peter felt his pass, so slick as it was as allowed me the time to ensure a good connection but I got the credit.
    'Don't be blue Peter' I says, needless to say I had the last laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭cormacjones

razorblunt wrote: »
    I called for the ball and reluctantly Peter Stringer passed it to me, the DG sailed through the posts. Hysteria followed. Peter felt his pass, so slick as it was as allowed me the time to ensure a good connection but I got the credit.
    'Don't be blue Peter' I says, needless to say I had the last laugh.

I'd say that was funnier in your head. No shame, we've all done it!

It was, it was a gamble to post it.
    Still though 1v1 on Thanks between it and your retort ;-)

I'm going to thank the sh*t out of your post, RB!

You're all a great bunch of lads!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭moycullen14

Just read a few of the snippets on the irish times website.

I dunno, he comes across as a thoroughly unpleasant person.

The two sections I read - on the dropping by Kidney and the episode with the Queen - make him out to be completely self-obsessed without an ounce of humility or self-awareness.

Maybe you need that single-mindedness to be a top sportsman but, jeez, it's nice to be nice.

Meh, I don't think there's anything wrong with what he says. The queen thing was blown out of proportion massively. It was a little naive of him but not exactly a hanging offence. The only snippet that I'd take issue with were his comments on Jackson's performance against Scotland. I thought that was a pretty unnecessary thing to publish.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

We had tickets booked for The Gruffalo’s Child in the Cork Opera House at three that afternoon so we headed over there. The Gruffalo’s Child will never be the same again.
    Of all Kidney's many crimes, this is truly the worst.

Robbo wrote: »
    Of all Kidney's many crimes, this is truly the worst.

That's the thing. It's all about him. He is very sore about the end of his international career. If you're going to hang around long enough, then you will be dropped. Simple as that. All this crap about 'He deserved better' is just nonsense. Kidney - or any coach - is duty bound to pick the best team as he sees it, no sentiment. Imagine if Ireland had lost a match they should have won because players out of form were picked because they were 'entitled' to it.

Load of oul crap. ROG comes across as a petulant child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,668 ✭✭✭Mahatma Geansai

Of course it's all about him. Its a book about his life/career.

Last time I looked, rubgy was a team game. He clearly couldn't give a monkey's about the team, country, anything but himself.

I know it's understandable to think about these things in terms of yourself. I'm just surprised someone/anyone when proof reading this book didn't say 'Jeez, ROG you come across as a bit of a gruffalo here, maybe you should tone it down a bit'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Didn't get bring out an autobiography a few years ago...

I think I read that. Pretty forgettable obviously. Won't be getting this cash cow.

He brought one out. Then he brought out an amended version to include up to the end of the 2009 season. Now he's got another book based on the intervening 4 years. It's a short career and you have to cash in however you can but I cannot see it being much use.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Bogota

From the snippets I've read he comes across as very unlikable. Particularly the dropping inciddent and his comments on Jackson.

• Jackson Comments?

The thing about that Scottish game is, yes Jackson had a mare with the boot, but ROG tried that atrocious cross field kick and he sent that awful pass out to Marshall that was knocked as Ireland had an attack 5 meters out with 80 minutes gone.

Don't intend to buy the book, but someone will pick it up over Xmas and I'll read through it at some stage.

Jackson Comments?

Conversation between DK and ROG.
    “It is, it is, but I thought Paddy went really well against Scotland,” he said.

“You thought he went really well against Scotland? Well, if that’s how you think that’s fair enough, you know. That’s your opinion, but I wouldn’t necessarily agree with going really well at Test level.”

And he said: “Well, that’s where we are.”

“Grand,” I said, “that’s fine, I’ve nothing else to ask you.”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

Buer wrote: »
    Conversation between DK and ROG.

That's the type of stuff we've come to expect from ROG over the years though. How it's perceived is mainly left up to your bias or allegiance. For me I accept where he's coming from in terms of his desire to start and win and admire his honesty, but have always had reservations about a few things he comes out with, the above now included.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,301 ✭✭✭✭jm08

So what should he have done. Would you have preferred if he had lied about it? It certainly wasn't a subject he could avoid.

jm08 wrote: »
    So what should he have done. Would you have preferred if he had lied about it? It certainly wasn't a subject he could avoid.

No, he should't have lied; however, it added nothing to the piece. He could have simply omitted it or part of it. I'm sure what is printed isn't a full transcription of the conversation anyway.

It's not a big deal but it's a snide comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

I don't know why ROG said that to Kidney after his cameo in that game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I don't know why ROG said that to Kidney after his cameo in that game.

Bingo. I'd certainly think differently about his comments if he had come on and made a positive impact against Scotland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,668 ✭✭✭Mahatma Geansai

Bingo. I'd certainly think differently about his comments if he had come on and made a positive impact against Scotland.

Jackson not being great against Scotland, and ROG being shít in the same fixture aren't mutually exclusive. It mightn't come across brilliantly, but ROG is well within his right to point out that Jackson wasn't great.

No, he should't have lied; however, it added nothing to the piece. He could have simply omitted it or part of it. I'm sure what is printed isn't a full transcription of the conversation anyway.

It's not a big deal but it's a snide comment.

“You thought he went really well against Scotland? Well, if that’s how you think that’s fair enough, you know. That’s your opinion, but I wouldn’t necessarily agree with going really well at Test level.”

Snide criticism? I think people are seeing stuff that isn't there.

Does anyone think Paddy Jackson went really well at Test level?

No but ROG was a team mate at the time, he shouldn't have commented on the performance of a team mate, especially when he was awful himself

Fair enough if he goes to Kidney and asks why he wasn't starting, but he overstepped the mark there

“You thought he went really well against Scotland? Well, if that’s how you think that’s fair enough, you know.”[/B]

How Jackson played is not the point whatsoever and I would like to think you're smart enough to realise that.

The first part of the quote, that I've left in above, is almost the definition of snide. You could put it in a dictionary as an example.

No but ROG was a team mate at the time, he shouldn't have commented on the performance of a team mate, especially when he was awful himself

Fair enough if he goes to Kidney and asks why he wasn't starting, but he overstepped the mark there

You need to read to read this to get the context of why he made that comment:

I was obviously feeling hugely disappointed because I thought I’d weathered the storm with the game against the Ospreys, but he just said to me, “I don’t have a place for you this weekend”.

“OK,” I said. “That’s all right.”

“Do you want to ask me anything about it?”

I said: “Can I ask you, for my own head, why?”

“I don’t think your form at the minute is good enough,” he replied.
    I snapped. “Did you see the game last night?”

“Yeah, I was at the game.”
    “How did you think I went?”
    “You went very well.”
    “Is that not the latest form?”
    “It is, it is, but I thought Paddy went really well against Scotland,” he said.
    And he said: “Well, that’s where we are.”
    “Grand,” I said, “that’s fine, I’ve nothing else to ask you.”
    “I wanted to say it to you before you got in the car and you came up to training and I spoke to you in Dublin,” he added.
    “Yeah, I appreciate that. That’s very important to both of us, how it’s handled.”

The phrase "difficult Corkman" appeared twice in the Times excerpts. Have Paddy Power worked out the spread for total occurences in the entire book?

How Jackson played is not the point whatsoever and I would like to think you're smart enough to realise that.

The first part of the quote, that I've left in above, is almost the definition of snide. You could put it in a dictionary as an example.

The context of the conversation is the point. Kidney asked him if he had any questions about why he was dropped.

Look, he is repeating a conversation he had after being dropped. What do you expect him to say to his coach in a private conversation? "yea, your dead right. Paddy was really good in that Scotland game.'

The context of the conversation is the point. Kidney asked him if he had any questions about why he was dropped.

Look, he is repeating a conversation he had after being dropped. What do you expect him to say to his coach in a private conversation? "yea, your dead right. Paddy was really good in that Scotland game.'

He still didn't need to comment on Jacksons performance against Scotland

But of course you'll defend him to the hilt regardless so this is rather pointless

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I have just always assumed that this is the sort of character O'Gara is. I know he is adored, particularly by Munster fans due to his provincial successes of which there have been many, but I have always found him to be a very difficult individual to like as a person.

At least to the extent that you can "like" someone you really only ever see on TV.

In my eyes he's a stark contrast to O'Connell and O'Driscoll. Not in his playing ability, but in his persona.

No, I don't. You don't seem to be listening. Firstly in the conversation, he could well have just said it outright "I disagree, I don't think he had a good game". That's far more preferable than the indirect snide comment he made insinuating that surely nobody could think Jackson had a good game. There's a big difference. One is being honest and blunt. The other is mocking in its wording.

Secondly, he could have just omitted it. Why bring Jackson into it? Do you think that's a word for word transcript of a phone conversation from 8-9 months ago or just how he remembers it going in his head?

awec wrote: »
    I have just always assumed that this is the sort of character O'Gara is. I know he is adored, particularly by Munster fans due to his provincial successes of which there have been many, but I have always found him to be a very difficult individual to like as a person.

At least to the extent that you can "like" someone you really only ever see on TV.

In my eyes he's a stark contrast to O'Connell and O'Driscoll. Not in his playing ability, but in his persona.

I think that's a fair comment, and would agree.
    Personally I find the same, but can certainly see the other viewpoint that he's direct, wants to win at all costs and will step on toes to start.
    He wouldn't have gotten to where he was without that probably, but I do have issues with how he's gone about articulating some things in public over the years.

No, I don't. You don't seem to be listening. Firstly in the conversation, he could well have just said it outright "I disagree, I don't think he had a good game". That's far more preferable than the indirect snide comment he made insinuating that surely nobody could think Jackson had a good game. There's a big difference. One is being honest and blunt. The other is mocking in its wording.

Secondly, he could have just omitted it. Why bring Jackson into it? Do you think that's a word for word transcript of a phone conversation from 8-9 months ago or just how he remembers it going in his head?

I don't think he should have mentioned Jackson at all. It's not something you should be doing to a team mate

He still didn't need to comment on Jacksons performance against Scotland

But of course you'll defend him to the hilt regardless so this is rather pointless

The guy had just been dropped. He asked why. Kidney brought up Jackson's 'really good form'. Would anyone have agreed with Kidney on that one?

I think its over the top to criticise someone for being honest about a private conversation.

I should say I do like ROG, he's completely egotistical and far from perfect, but from the interviews I've heard since he has retired he seems to have mellowed a bit

He has, I think. He did one interview in particular with Matt Dawson on the BBC that was excellent. He was relaxed, witty and engaging. It's when his performances are questioned that he seems to become very defensive.

Fairplay to anyone who could think straight enough not to be snide after they had just been dropped out a squad for the first time in about 15 years.

Why would he omit it? And I'd say you would remember a conversation like that.

Just for the record:

John Hayes on ROG: “Ronan was one of the greates players, determined driven, never took a backward step, but also a good friend and great to be around. He had a razor sharp tongue and you would not want to be at the wrong end of that."

Fairplay to anyone who could think straight enough not to be snide after they had just been dropped out a squad for the first time in about 15 years.

Why would he omit it? And I'd say you would remember a conversation like that.

Just for the record:

John Hayes on ROG: “Ronan was one of the greates players, determined driven, never took a backward step, but also a good friend and great to be around. He had a razor sharp tongue and you would not want to be at the wrong end of that."

O'Gara was wrong to **** on a teammates performance, it was a ****ty thing to do.

Question, if Sexton had done the exact same thing would you be here defending him? It's impossible to take your posts seriously because you solely defend Munster players even when it's obvious they aren't exactly in the right

It's tiresome

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Lets dial it down a notch or two please folks. No need for this thread into pages of bickering.

He has, I think. He did one interview in particular with Matt Dawson on the BBC that was excellent. He was relaxed, witty and engaging. It's when his performances are questioned that he seems to become very defensive.

Yep, and the one on Second Captains was good too.

O'Gara was wrong to **** on a teammates performance, it was a ****ty thing to do.

Question, if Sexton had done the exact same thing would you be here defending him? It's impossible to take your posts seriously because you solely defend Munster players even when it's obvious they aren't exactly in the right

It's tiresome

em, he wasn't a team mate then - he was dropped.

I would defend Jackson in general as he is inexperienced, but he didn't have a 'really good' game against Scotland. I've also great time for Luke, McFadden & D'Arcy!

Jackson not being great against Scotland, and ROG being shít in the same fixture aren't mutually exclusive. It mightn't come across brilliantly, but ROG is well within his right to point out that Jackson wasn't great.

Is it his place though to do that?

Come to think of it, ROG and Kidney know each other since ROG was a kid, and perhaps ROG would say things like this to Kidney that he wouldn't say to other coaches. That still doesn't give him the licence to have a cut at another player's performance IMO.

Anyway the rugby autobiography bubble is way over-saturated, so like Sexton's book I'll give this a miss too.

Is it his place though to do that?

Come to think of it, ROG and Kidney know each other since ROG was a kid, and perhaps ROG would say things like this to Kidney that he wouldn't say to other coaches. That still doesn't give him the licence to have a cut at another player's performance IMO.

Anyway the rugby autobiography bubble is way over-saturated, so like Sexton's book I'll give this a miss too.

Sexton's book is actually worth the read. I generally think the same, but it's well written and informative. Peter O'Reilly's hands are all over it.

What I meant was I've read so many I've kinda lost interest. Also nobody will be able to top John Hayes' autobiography, which I re-read every week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

I think ROG is very ego driven and just couldn’t handle competition for his place, which was worsened by how long he was the unquestioned top dog for both Munster and Ireland. He’s coming across very well these days as he’s basking in the much deserved glory of discussing a great career but I can only imagine the gems he’s going to come out with to the media when he becomes head coach somewhere and comes under pressure from the fans/media if his side isn’t performing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭former legend

Did ROG have a ghost writer?