Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People who have never travelled

• 03-11-2013 12:56am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2 AerLingus regular

There is something innately wrong with people who have never travelled or who have no desire to do so. You know the type: born and raised in Ballygobackwards, maybe spent a few years living in the "Big Smoke" for college, only to return to their little village and marry the girl up the road. Their inbred children will usually continue the cycle leading to whole villages having the same surname. These are usually the same types who proclaim that Ireland is the best country in the world. Idiots. Travel and then make that judgement.

So far, I have experienced living in South America, North America and Asia, each for months at a time. I have also visited over 30 European cities, mainly on week long holidays. I could write a book on my adventures and may well do so one day. The people I've met, the sights I've seen... I'm getting nostalgic just reminiscing about it.

Your annual piss-up in Santa Ponsa with the lads is not travelling by the way. I find that people who haven't travelled are also extremely socially awkward, usually still living with the mother too. Anyway, what do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭AulBiddy

I think that if someone's happy doing that, then so be it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Yep. Your a man of the world and you know it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Was going to say your so cultured etc etc, but your prob pissed and reminiscing about your one trip to Thailand where you banged that lovely "woman"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

I think that you think you are great.

For someone so cultured and well travelled, your humility is obviously still on the baggage carousel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭Digs

Yeah Ivor you're so roight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

There is something innately wrong with people who have never travelled or who have no desire to do so. You know the type: born and raised in Ballygobackwards, maybe spent a few years living in the "Big Smoke" for college, only to return to their little village and marry the girl up the road. Their inbred children will usually continue the cycle leading to whole villages having the same surname. These are usually the same types who proclaim that Ireland is the best country in the world. Idiots. Travel and then make that judgement.

So far, I have experienced living in South America, North America and Asia, each for months at a time. I have also visited over 30 European cities, mainly on week long holidays. I could write a book on my adventures and may well do so one day. The people I've met, the sights I've seen... I'm getting nostalgic just reminiscing about it.

Your annual piss-up in Santa Ponsa with the lads is not travelling by the way. I find that people who haven't travelled are also extremely socially awkward, usually still living with the mother too. Anyway, what do you think?

You sound like a stereotypical holiday bore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I think judgemental snobs are much worse myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Not going to feed it....

• You couldn't be more obvious if you tried. Try to make it at least entertaining next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Wow..months at a time...in Asia... impressive. Well done. Not really traveling though is it? discovering lost worlds or whatever is so great that you think you have done.

I know people who have not traveled and maybe they read or maybe they talk to other people. They can still be interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Travel has done nothing for your ****ty attitude.

You could spend 6 months on Mars and I'd say you'd return with an equally ****ty attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Tails142

Woah major deja vu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Anyway, what do you think?

I think you should go travelling again. Preferably to somewhere with no internet access.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭theblaqueguy

I think you've just started a thread to boast about your vast globe trotting experience which is pretty sad really
    I know a few people that have never travelled abroad and there not socially awkward or still living at home.
    A lot of people can't afford to be travelling all over the world either I wish I could have visited more countries than I have but I still have plenty of time to change that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I know yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭tim3000

I think this guy is the Moe Syslak guy from those elevator/escalator etiquette threads. Also I love threads making sweeping generalizations about less traveled people keep it up OP.

A holiday with the security of knowing you have a way home is the only way to learn about a different culture.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2 AerLingus regular

What is so wrong about travelling? It opens your mind to new experiences and you make so many new friends. With Ryanair these days, you don't need to be a millionaire to travel either. Talk about the infamous Irish begrudgery....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

How many times has this one been copy pasta'd on AH ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Sure look at ya there, not a wet week out of the place and ya already have fierce notions of yourself, ya'd have a better mind to be out footing turf than galavanting around the europe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Tails142 wrote: »
    Woah major deja vu

It's the second coming for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 ceo

I think you should keep travelling just in case some poor village should end up stuck with you! There is absolutely nothing wrong with not travelling to asia or america etc not everyone finds those places exciting. Whereas a week in Santa Ponsa well theres something I find exciting - site seeing is so not my thing!! Neither is multiplying and becoming a village name!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

Travellers get a pretty bad time on here so you can't bloody win!

What is so wrong about travelling? It opens your mind to new experiences and you make so many new friends. With Ryanair these days, you don't need to be a millionaire to travel either. Talk about the infamous Irish begrudgery....

Yeah totally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Was going to say your so cultured etc etc, but your prob pissed and reminiscing about your one trip to Thailand where you banged that lovely "woman"...

Buddy of mine went to Thailand recently. Met a gorgeous lookin' 'chick' in a bar. The way he told it was she looked like a girl, danced like a girl, kissed like a girl but when she brought him home she reversed in to her parking spot in one fluid motion.

It was then he realised he was already fvcked! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

I got sucked off by Ms. Longford at a session in a haybarn after a Macra rally a few years ago. I didn't have to travel for that. I may write a book about it someday, in fact I'm getting nostalgic just reminiscing about it.

I've travelled far & wide & I can bet that I have seen/done far more than you have, some of the best memories I have are of Ireland & some of the best people I've met are Irish so you're attitude doesn't wash with me. If you want to meet nice people - go to Longford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Sunrise Orange

Wow you're some Christopher Columbus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

I have travelled a lot for work and I like it, but I have to say there is nowhere I'd rather have grown up and live in than Ireland. I feel like people who constantly complain about Ireland need to travel more and see that how the rest of the world lives is not so amazing. Yes to travel there on holiday or for business can be fun. But I'm referring to the locals and how they live their lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Ah jaysus joe it's terrible joe de peeeeple don't be travellin and dey do be hokey pokeyin up the whole village with der childers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

Did you just start an account to boast how great you are because you have travelled..? I can see you lasting long here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

biko wrote: »
    Not going to feed it....

Is it ok to give it a bath or take a flash photo of it?:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

I have travelled a lot for work and I like it, but I have to say there is nowhere I'd rather have grown up and live in than Ireland. I feel like people who constantly complain about Ireland need to travel more and see that how the rest of the world lives is not so amazing. Yes to travel there on holiday or for business can be fun. But I'm referring to the locals and how they live their lives.
    This.

Everywhere is a kip. The glossy brochures dont tell the full story and never will. Having said that, us Irish are a slack bunch and certain things certainly run better abroad. But by and large things are ok here. Yes the health service is doing anything but. The roads are making a fortune for the spare parts industry. We are dumping all our money down a black hole for no good reason other than to keep a few lads in caviar.
    But things aren't completely fecked either.
    Take a streetview trip around the world. It will open your eyes.

Everywhere is a kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

It's not your travel that bothers most people here. It's just that travel is supposed to broaden the mind.
    Have you been west of Inchicore? Brendan Behan thought there was nothing but bog west of Inchicore, until he ventured there.
    Incidentally Immanuel Kant never travelled more than 40 miles from his birthplace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Sigourney

So far, I have experienced living in South America, North America and Asia, each for months at a time. I have also visited over 30 European cities, mainly on week long holidays. I could write a book on my adventures and may well do so one day. The people I've met, the sights I've seen... I'm getting nostalgic just reminiscing about it...

Anyway, what do you think?

I think you probably know where to stand on an escalator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

1. You'r just bored and put this for a bit of reaction and a laugh, nothing wrong with that, shur we all like a laugh.

Or

2. Your a Gobshyte!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭Brego888

jobeenfitz wrote: »
    1. You'r just bored and put this for a bit of reaction and a laugh, nothing wrong with that, shur we all like a laugh.

Or

2. Your a Gobshyte!

Or most likely both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

I know a man in his 80's, he has never been abroad, he has been reading since he was a little boy, he knows more Geography an History about any country in the world you'd care to mention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

For a man so well traveled you do know how to pick a bad airline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

global travel :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

There is something innately wrong with people who have never travelled or who have no desire to do so. You know the type: born and raised in Ballygobackwards, maybe spent a few years living in the "Big Smoke" for college, only to return to their little village and marry the girl up the road.

These are usually the same types who proclaim that Ireland is the best country in the world.

So far, I have experienced living in South America, North America and Asia, each for months at a time. I have also visited over 30 European cities, mainly on week long holidays. I could write a book on my adventures and may well do so one day. The people I've met, the sights I've seen...

I'm getting nostalgic just reminiscing about it.

Your annual piss-up in Santa Ponsa with the lads is not travelling by the way.

James, is that you ?

Did that Horse Headed thing in Melbourne you proclaimed love for finally get sick of your snivelling garbage....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭Shpongler

Time to take your head out of your behind..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭Teagwee

Is that you. Isaac? Maybe you should try travelling somewhere new instead of revisiting old places?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 175 ✭✭sonny jim bob jones

Is it just me, or is the OP a bit of a knob?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Knight who says Meh

I think youre wonderful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Knight who says Meh

Nothing wrong with travelling. Lots wrong with being superior about it and sneering at those who have not travelled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

tim3000 wrote: »
    I think this guy is the Moe Syslak guy from those elevator/escalator etiquette threads. Also I love threads making sweeping generalizations about less traveled people keep it up OP.
    I was thinking the same he usually gets banned before post number 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Feathers

You let yourself down with your choice of username, OP. Should've gone for "Al Nippon regular".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

Was he banned for being a traveller?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 175 ✭✭sonny jim bob jones

Was he banned for being a traveller?

No, for being an economy class pleb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Overflow

You also fall into a stereotype.
    You are now, 'That annoying twat who has travelled and now somehow thinks he is better and more enlightened than anyone who hasnt'

Congratulations, you are no better.