Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

roofing a cattle crush/yard

• 02-11-2013 9:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭

Did I hear somewhere this week that it is a legal requirement now when trying to attain a herdnumber to have a roof on you crush?

Either way im thinking of throwing up a lean two over my crush/collection yard as it would be handy to leave cattle in overnight/ dry for pour on .. ready for mart etc etc

now id like to do it with minimal disturbance to existing walls etc or would I be adding expense it asking for a custom built /roof structure /beams???!!
    what's standard lean two sizes every 2 ft like 14ft 16 ft etc

thanks in advance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

It wouldnt need to be that heavy if it was just a sheeted roof. a 4x4 box section support with runners every 6 ft should be well adequate. i dont understand what your asking about the standard lean too size. a lot of lean toos are just worked into the area needed or available.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭caseman

Did'nt hear anything about legal requirements for roofing crush.
    i'd rather spend my money an somthing else that would make money, than spending it an a roof that would only be used for a few hours every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

caseman wrote: »
    i'd rather spend my money an somthing else that would make money, than spending it an a roof that would only be used for a few hours every year.

Co Co's are paying particular attention to where run off/slurry is going too from the crush, FFS what next

we'll have to start using mobile crushes out in the middle of the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

For the craic, you should apply for the next job that comes up at your local coco :D

I've love to sit in on that interview :D

just do it wrote: »
    For the craic, you should apply for the next job that comes up at your local coco :D

I've love to sit in on that interview :D

i have done enough face to face meeting and interviews to last a lifetime. next time I have meeting with them, I will wait for them to take their seats, then turn my chair to face the wall and talk away to that, as talking to the wall would be more progressive than trying to reason with a shower of corrupt bribe seeking council officials

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

We have a roofed crush and I was damn glad of it today when dosing, clipping & licing cattle for housing. We had gale force wind and heavy rain & couldn't have done the job without the indoor crush

its a bit of a luxury and you can feel right smug about yourself today:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

im thinking of that alright Bob as its near a stream but I could make a collection tank for run off I suppose

it'd just be right handy where it is as it'd double up as a shed and its right central so would be very handy for overnight jobs/calves weaning etc and its tucked into a hillock so basically concealed... must measure it up rightly one of the days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

We have a collection tank for the crush in the main yard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

its a bit of a luxury and you can feel right smug about yourself today:)

And boy am I smug!. Smuggity smug smug!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

And boy am I smug!. Smuggity smug smug!

And dry to boot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

After today will defo put one up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

caseman wrote: »
    Doing it next year aspart of a reroofing job, biggest advantage is it gives you a job option on a bad day+one less thing for a vet to moan about on test day

keep going wrote: »
    Doing it next year aspart of a reroofing job, biggest advantage is it gives you a job option on a bad day+one less thing for a vet to moan about on test day

It would be a nice luxury ,but i don't think a moaning vet would make up my mind.