Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever been trapped in a lift (elevator for our friends across the puddle) ??

• 02-11-2013 8:29pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5

Simple question really, have you ever been stuck in a lift before ?? :P I don't think this has been done before. Have you ?? I was stuck in one today for about 15 minutes. Not between floors. The doors just jammed upon opening and there was only a small slit to get out .. so obviously I wouldn't have fitted :P

Have you ever been stuck in a lift ??

Have you ever been stuck in a lift? 16 votes

Yes
    0%
    No
    100%
    Lia_liabikolistermintmickdwdaheffhatetherain!SVI40montyrebelbabygirlzMetalDogSweetCaliberPandora2brandomSir Osis of Liver.DahecallMoe Syzlack 16 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

No I haven't, I got stuck on an escalator once though, that was a traumatising 3 hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Once, rabbits burrowed in and started to nibble on my cape and everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

No
    Yes i have, Was in spain at a wedding, and form some reason my cousins and I (with drink it has to be said) assumed a 6 person elevator could take 11.

Needless to say it couldnt and stopped mid floor. It was actually hilarious because we couldnt stop laughing we we trapped in there for about 30 minutes until the front desk guy came and opened the door. We had to crawl out. It was pretty confused looking as he counted us coming out one by one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

No
    Yes, a gang of us (when students) overloaded a small lift in France. The result was that it dropped about 1m below the floor. I dont remember how the doors were opened but we eventually had to climb up onto the floor outside. Good laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Got stuck reading thread title. Confusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭babygirlz

No
    Yes, in the Hudson Bay hotel in Athlone's tiny lift with 4 people in it. Longest 10 mins of my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭electrobanana

No but iv come across a fair few puddles in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭daheff

No
    yes. on the ferry back from holyhead once. windy & wavey. was stuck going up to the top deck with a friend. He started freaking out about what we'd do if the ferry capsized in the waves. Hadnt thought of it till he brought it up...B*stard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Been stuck for a lift a few times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

Not in a lift, but a cable car. We were stuck there for over half an hour. Turns out the staff just switched the thing off when they went for lunch :confused:

We got stuck in the one at Dublin airport, waited a while then just forced the doors open and stepped out had to jump down nearly a metre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

No
    Me and a mate once got stuck in one in an apartment building. The lift was that old French style where there wasn't walls as much as a cast-iron grid. Rang that little alarm and someone eventually came but it was 30 mins or so before we got out. Thankfully we had plenty of cigarettes on us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Nabber

I got stuck for a lift once. Person said they'd drop me of somewhere. They never did.

Worked in a place wit 14 floors. I was on the first floor two mates were on the 13th. When I'd get out of the left I'd push the buttons for every floor. It pissed them off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Yes. I tried to have sex with the door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Dahecall

No
    In school about three weeks ago. We thought for some reason it was a good idea to have 10 people in it ( says max 5 ). Aswell as that one of the boys opened the door halfway up so it stopped. Now loads of people do this and sign the wall. However for us the doors wouldn't close again so we were stuck in it for about 10 mins before we eventually managed to force the doors closed again. What made it even worse was one person discovered he had a touch of claustrophobia that day. Least to say he hasn't gone near a lift again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭Maudi

Simple question really, have you ever been stuck in a lift before ?? :P I don't think this has been done before. Have you ?? I was stuck in one today for about 15 minutes. Not between floors. The doors just jammed upon opening and there was only a small slit to get out .. so obviously I wouldn't have fitted :P

Have you ever been stuck in a lift ??

Yes in a tiny apt block lift designed for four adults i got stuck for over 90 minutes i got stuck with two other guys between floors..i have terrible claustraphobia and ended up clawing at the door gap on my knees gasping for air while the two lads discussed various gigs they had been to..stairs for me now ..everywhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

I got stuck in a lift once. I was there for about 10 minutes wondering what the hell I was going to do! Then the doors opened and someone got in.

Turns out I didn't press any buttons. So no, I haven't.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 175 ✭✭sonny jim bob jones

No. Got caught out in the jacks with no bog roll. Does that count?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Got trapped in a lift in Brompton Rd back about 1985. Saturday morning and a heavy night the night before. But a Portaguese woman got agitated and had to pee. We (three others) turned our backs and really empathised with her. Stuck for about 20 minutes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Nope, but I'd imagine it'd be good craic ;)