Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Petrol v diesel service

• 02-11-2013 8:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭

hi,
    is there any difference between servicing a petrol and diesel engine?? is the fuel filter the only extra thing you need to do when doing a service on a diesel engine?? just planning to do the usual oil, oil filter, air filter, spark plugs, and pollen filter on my cousin's vw 03 1.9l vw golf.
    thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,188 ✭✭✭cletus

No spark plugs on a diesel engine, glow plugs instead. They don't get changed like spark plugs, however.

Generally you don't change them till they go, and by all accounts they van be a pig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭MAJJ

bungaro79 wrote: »
    hi,
    is there any difference between servicing a problem etrol and diesel engine?? is the fuel filter the only that's the stuff I bought. thing you need to do when doing a service on a diesel engine?? just planning to do the usual oil, oil filter, air filter, spark plugs, and pollen filter on my cousin's vw 03 1.9l vw golf.
    thanks

You won't need spark plugs for a diesel other than that I think you're right. Check the oil type is correct. Going to be doing my first service on my 1.9 Tdi. Folks here will give you great advice so ask away and there are lots of YouTube videos for that engine , best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭bungaro79

cheers lads, been checking out vids online the past while and it seems pretty similar to my astra i just did. great advice as usual on here :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭Tropheus

You do need to change the fuel filter at every service for a diesel. At least I do and I think it's pretty much recommended. Not so often on petrol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

Correct grade and spec of oil is probably the most important thing especially if it's a tdi, you need to lubricate the turbo properly. VW 505 01 spec on the can at least. I would recommend using a fully synthetic oil, 5w40 grade and too use only a Mann, bosch or a vw oil and fuel filter. VW main dealers give good prices on oil and filters if there is one local.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 124 ✭✭Dark sun

My own one is due a service, just make sure you get decent oil I use vw 507 00 5w30 grade, I do the oil twice a year as it suffers with cam wear on the 1.9 ARL, works out around 37 euro for 5 litre off vw which is pretty good price, it's fairly straight forward. When changing the oil filter don't forget to replace the two O rings as they can become worn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

hi,
    is there any difference between servicing a petrol and diesel engine?? is the fuel filter the only extra thing you need to do when doing a service on a diesel engine?? just planning to do the usual oil, oil filter, air filter, spark plugs, and pollen filter on my cousin's vw 03 1.9l vw golf.
    thanks

No spark plugs on a diesel
    Use the correct spec of oil and change the oil on the button when it needs it.
    Diesel filter as often as it needs it, not strictly to schedule. Can't be too careful with all the crap diesel floating about

Eg here's a filter that did approx 5k miles
    Image450.jpg

And the rubbish in the housing
    Image452.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Dgt

Housing is filthy there must be some muck in the fuel tank if its sucking it up to filter.

visual wrote: »
    Dgt

Housing is filthy there must be some muck in the fuel tank if its sucking it up to filter.

It was a sandy/silty substance. Reading about I found that cat litter and wishy washy diesel sometimes go hand in hand...... That's what it looks like to me

thanks again lads. going to help my cousin do his diesel engine soon, he's going to get the oil in a local motor suppliers so i assume they will give him the correct oil. haven't done a fuel filter before but looked at one on youtube so we'll give it a shot.

one other thing is would ye recommend i get a torque wrench or is it ok to use a normal ratchet as long as i don't over tighten it?? and if i should get one is there any bit that you could use on a 1/2 wrench that converts it to be able to use with a 3/8 socket bit??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

dgt wrote: »
    It was a sandy/silty substance. Reading about I found that cat litter and wishy washy diesel sometimes go hand in hand...... That's what it looks like to me

The fuel tank must be full of that crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

Tropheus wrote: »
    You do need to change the fuel filter at every service for a diesel. At least I do and I think it's pretty much recommended. Not so often on petrol.
    Vw recommend 40k miles between fuel filter changes on the 1.9tdi. No need to do it every 10k IMO.
    thanks again lads. going to help my cousin do his diesel engine soon, he's going to get the oil in a local motor suppliers so i assume they will give him the correct oil. haven't done a fuel filter before but looked at one on youtube so we'll give it a shot.
    Depends on the motorfactor. Some will just hand out 10w40 even though it might not meet the vw 505.01 standard let alone be approved by vw
    one other thing is would ye recommend i get a torque wrench or is it ok to use a normal ratchet as long as i don't over tighten it?? and if i should get one is there any bit that you could use on a 1/2 wrench that converts it to be able to use with a 3/8 socket bit??
    I never use a torque wrench for servicing.
    One of these is handy for the oil filter on the tdi
    http://www.halfords.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_11101_catalogId_15551_productId_199193_langId_-1_categoryId_212616
    You might also want a new sump stud to hand or at the very least a copper washer.
    Be very careful when you are tightening this back up as these cars have an aluminium sump and you can damage the threads very easily. But you don't want to leave it loose so it will fall out either!

1/2 to 3/8 adaptor
    http://www.halfords.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_11101_catalogId_15551_productId_170741_langId_-1_categoryId_212616

visual wrote: »
    The fuel tank must be full of that crap.

Hence I drained it out twice, cleaned the sender and lines each time ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭The_Pretender

Howya lads sorry if this is a stupid question, but where do you get your air filters? My Yaris has no pollen filter, which I assume is why it keeps fogging up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭MAJJ

Howya lads sorry if this is a stupid question, but where do you get your air filters? My Yaris has no pollen filter, which I assume is why it keeps fogging up.

I've asked my fair share :-) Talk to your local motor factors, give them your reg number and they will know what you need.

great into about the oil, didn't realise that it would need such a specific oil. thinking of http://www.mister-auto.ie/en/engine-oil/castrol-14c275_g3224_a20714C275.html , think the engine is 4.5l so that should be enough. and why is it recommended fully synthetic instead of semi for this??

that oil is dose not meet the spec the pd engine needs.
    you need this
    http://www.mister-auto.ie/en/engine-oil/castrol-14d79b_g3224_a20714D79B.html
    or this
    http://www.mister-auto.ie/en/engine-oil/delphi-h6316_g3224_a089H6316.html
    I would rather the castrol myself

you need at least vw 505.01 spec

thanks sean. i thought for the magnitec spec of Vw 502.00 / 505.00 was ok but i see that its at least 505.01 for the delphi and 504.00/507.00 for the better castrol. is it the bigger the number the better the oil??

Its not that it is better oil but vw set a standard for the oil that needs to be used in these engines. It must be at least 505.01 but you can use 507.00. I think these are the only two numbers that can be used

The 507 spec 5w30 is longlife oil for 18000 miles I think, depends on the engine and driving you do. The 5w40 is standard interval 12000 mile oil. Better to use the 5w40 and change every 10000 miles IMO.

thanks again sean. for future reference where can you find the exact spec for a car's oil, is it in the car book?? i was going to buy that magnitec based on the results mister-auto brought up once i put in the reg but obviously that isn't the best place to use!

Interslice wrote: »
    The 507 spec 5w30 is longlife oil for 18000 miles I think, depends on the engine and driving you do. The 5w40 is standard interval 12000 mile oil. Better to use the 5w40 and change every 10000 miles IMO.

so you would go for the delphi oil so interslice, does the number after the "w" mean that the lower it is the longer you'll get out of it. so would all "30s" be better quality than "40s"??

Interslice wrote: »
    Only if the 5w40 meets vw 505.01. Not every 5w40 will.
    thanks again sean. for future reference where can you find the exact spec for a car's oil, is it in the car book?? i was going to buy that magnitec based on the results mister-auto brought up once i put in the reg but obviously that isn't the best place to use!

You will usually find it in the hand book but sometimes it can be confusing as they can list oils for every engine. The first of the mk4 golf tdi's were not pd engines and oil meeting 505.00 suited them. This will also be listed in the handbook for the newer golfs

so you would go for the delphi oil so interslice, does the number after the "w" mean that the lower it is the longer you'll get out of it. so would all "30s" be better quality than "40s"??

No it's the VW spec that determins that. 504.00 spec for petrol 507.00 for diesel is the longlife. 502.00 for petrol and 505.01 for diesel is the standard interval.

You can get 5w30 that is 505.01 spec so it's only good for 12k.

I don't like leaving any oil in over 10k miles, no matter brand, grade or spec.

edit: I was told the 5 is the cold viscosity and the 40 is the hot viscosity. Not sure if that true??
    The lower the viscosity the thinner the oil.
    viscosity-2.gif

sean1141 wrote: »
    Only if the 5w40 meets vw 505.01. Not every 5w40 will.

I meant the delphi one in the link. Got lazy typing out numbers :p

cheers lads. i never would've thought that buying oil could be complicated!! there i was thinking 505.00 was nearly the exact same as 505.01 and was about to buy it tonight! i hope that its just these diesel engines are the difficult ones and that my own petrol engine will be a lot more straight forward!

505.00 would be better than no oil and one or two services with it wouldn't do any harm but its best to use the right oil.
    The mk4 tdi are pretty easy to service. you only need get under them to drain the oil. everything else is done from the top