Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do revenue check facebook accounts?

• 01-11-2013 10:50pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 86 ✭✭

Heard recently that the taxman monitors facebook to try and catch people for not being properly registered or paying tax, in particular trades people doing nixers & crafts people who have set up unofficial businesses.

Apparently this has been going on for a while. Must be like shooting fish in a barrel especially coming up to christmas, though I've never heard of anyone being caught this way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

If they don't, they certainly should.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

They might if they got a tipoff, but Facebook posts aren't really great evidence.

I think that it would have to be reported that someone is advertising on FB for revenue to even have the time to look, well FFS they're up to their necks in getting all the other taxes before they start looking at peoples Fb pages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Rho b

I do not know if it's true but someone told me that they do track trade advertisements on internet sites like G'tree and D'deal.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I know someone who works in Revenue who said this is an area they are focussing on to identify those who may be setting up businesses on facebook and trying to avoid tax.

They are having a fair bit of success with it, from mobile hairdressers/beauticians etc to others running small businesses.

Irish Revenue has one of the most highly sophisticated IT setups in Europe, and according to the person I spoke to, they have an entire department who spend their time looking for online trading that they can follow up on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

I know for a sure fact that they were trying to at one point. They were going to use it to try and find people flying in for the weekend to claim their dole and similar stuff. Not sure if the project went ahead in the end.

Tis scary sh1t this big brother society we live in. At the start it will be catching out the scammers everyone hates, but if it proves to be a success they will be using it to catch out a lad who converts his attic to a bedroom and doesn't tell the revenue he now needs to pay more property tax because the value of his house has gone up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,874 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I know for a sure fact that they were trying to at one point. They were going to use it to try and find people flying in for the weekend to claim their dole and similar stuff. Not sure if the project went ahead in the end.

Tis scary sh1t this big brother society we live in. At the start it will be catching out the scammers everyone hates, but if it proves to be a success they will be using it to catch out a lad who converts his attic to a bedroom and doesn't tell the revenue he now needs to pay more property tax because the value of his house has gone up

You are making it even more scary by scaremongering. If a person does improvements to their house they do not have to pay more property tax. The valuation given will stay in place until everyone has to do another one after 2016.

http://www.revenue.ie/en/tax/lpt/faqs/valuation.html#section2

2. If I make improvements to my property e.g. by adding an extension, will the value of my property for LPT purposes change for future years?

The valuation of your property for LPT purposes on 1 May 2013 will stay the same for 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 no matter what improvements you make to your property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

I would say they do, if they don't they should. Revenue seems to be one of the more together departments so I could see them doing this. You would want to be pretty stupid to advertise on Facebook if you are not paying tax.

Heard recently that the taxman monitors facebook to try and catch people for not being properly registered or paying tax, in particular trades people doing nixers & crafts people who have set up unofficial businesses.

Apparently this has been going on for a while. Must be like shooting fish in a barrel especially coming up to christmas, though I've never heard of anyone being caught this way.

Where did you hear this?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 86 ✭✭pennypitstop

I'd say a lot more established businesses would like to see it happen. I know a shopowner who reckons she loses loads of business especially at times like christmas due to unofficial online shops or even people selling at the fairs.

goose2005 wrote: »
    They might if they got a tipoff, but Facebook posts aren't really great evidence.

Only takes that to get an investigation started though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Twiki

Loads of those facebook accounts are probably held offshore too.

Twiki wrote: »
    Loads of those facebook accounts are probably held offshore too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

I would say they do, if they don't they should. Revenue seems to be one of the more together departments so I could see them doing this. You would want to be pretty stupid to advertise on Facebook if you are not paying tax.

I'd bet the majority of novelty cake businesses on fb are not tax compliant.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Stheno wrote: »
    I know someone who works in Revenue who said this is an area they are focussing on to identify those who may be setting up businesses on facebook and trying to avoid tax.

They are having a fair bit of success with it, from mobile hairdressers/beauticians etc to others running small businesses.

Irish Revenue has one of the most highly sophisticated IT setups in Europe, and according to the person I spoke to, they have an entire department who spend their time looking for online trading that they can follow up on.

One of the most highly sophisticated IT set ups in Europe you say?

Is that why you can't pay your property tax by laser or credit card!

Where did you hear this?

A friend was on a start your own business course & someone was in to give a talk on tax compliance.
    Al;so said that they would sometimes select an area and pick eg plumbers in that area, google it & even check notice boards in local shops etc. They would then send a team down and try and contact as many as possible & check them out.

You are making it even more scary by scaremongering. If a person does improvements to their house they do not have to pay more property tax. The valuation given will stay in place until everyone has to do another one after 2016.

http://www.revenue.ie/en/tax/lpt/faqs/valuation.html#section2

2. If I make improvements to my property e.g. by adding an extension, will the value of my property for LPT purposes change for future years?

The valuation of your property for LPT purposes on 1 May 2013 will stay the same for 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 no matter what improvements you make to your property.

So in 2016 he's fcuked.

This sort of thing is unfortunately quite common in other countries that our overlords so often strive to copy in every way. You have lads going around inspecting but with this new system nobody has to get up off their arse or waste any petrol. Enda will be the poster-boy of Europe once again. He'll have something to contribute when he flies over to Brussels in the government jet and he's sitting at the table with the rest of the overlords discussing new ways to extract money from their subjects.

So in 2016 he's fcuked.

This sort of thing is unfortunately quite common in other countries that our overlords so often strive to copy in every way. You have lads going around inspecting but with this new system nobody has to get up off their arse or waste any petrol. Enda will be the poster-boy of Europe once again. He'll have something to contribute when he flies over to Brussels in the government jet and he's sitting at the table with the rest of the overlords discussing new ways to extract money from their subjects.

There will be a new government before then. What makes you think Enda will still be in it?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I paid mine by credit card.

You might have missed the news recently where if you did pay by direct payment such as Visa, you may need to pay for by Nov. 27th.

The RoS system has been recognised as innovative and won European awards.

I think you can.

2. What debit/credit cards do Revenue accept for paying LPT in full when filing on-line?

You may pay your LPT in full when filing on-line with the following cards:
    Laser
    Mastercard Credit
    Mastercard Debit
    Visa Credit
    Visa Debit

There will be a new government before then. What makes you think Enda will still be in it?

Its not like they're going to sit around and drag their feet until 2016, spending millions on consultants, feasibility studies and re-hashed plans that end up in the bin as they do with every other project. When it comes to ripping off the people of this country there is no time for stallin' with these boys.

I paid mine by credit card.

You might have missed the news recently where if you did pay by direct payment such as Visa, you may need to pay for by Nov. 27th.

Ya, they can only accept payment this year for next years dues. Can't see how the system is that sophisticated if that's the case!

Maybe so, the real problem is that there is still no "joined up Government", one department takes money from you another gives it to you one taxes your car another sends you the NCT reminder and so on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Suddenly, a whole lot of folks that bought/begged/borrowed/stole 'likes' for their business page are ****ting themselves... lots of updates? check! testimonials? check? bit that bigs up the scale of the business & how busy you are? check!

Some people will get shafted that don't & didn't have much of a business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭Media999

As a software developer that made me laugh.

The social welfare offices still do most work in pen and paper.

When someone can step off a plane, walk into a post office and collect dole in 5 different names you know we dont have the best systems in Europe.

Ya, they can only accept payment this year for next years dues. Can't see how the system is that sophisticated if that's the case!

It's a yearly charge? Why would they take more than one years, especially as the govt is close to ending it's term and any changes to LPT have to be factored in yearly?
    Maybe so, the real problem is that there is still no "joined up Government", one department takes money from you another gives it to you one taxes your car another sends you the NCT reminder and so on

I thought that too, until one year I had four weeks of being unemployed and was on JSB.

Lo and behold when I got a balancing statement from revenue for the year, the four weeks of JSB were included and I owed them a small amount of tax.

And remember the furore last year over revenue sending out letters to pensioners overdue on taxes, based on combined information from the DSP and Revenue?

They've a way to go as a collective of Government departments, but Revenue are pretty much streaks ahead of most government departments and a lot of European ones when it comes to hitting out against non compliance.

Suddenly, a whole lot of folks that bought/begged/borrowed/stole 'likes' for their business page are ****ting themselves... lots of updates? check! testimonials? check? bit that bigs up the scale of the business & how busy you are? check!

Some people will get shafted that don't & didn't have much of a business.

What do you mean get shafted? They can only get taxed on whatever they earn, same as me. I get shafted every week on the PAYE system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

Irish revenue are actually incrediable good with finding tax evasion with IT. I read they monitor foreign credit use particular cards from tax havens, to identify Irish people with off shore bank accounts using cards to access funds. So why wouldnt they monitor facebook? I imagine they have a computer to monitor businesses and profile potential tax evasion.

http://www.irishtimes.com/business/economy/public-finances/revenue-inquiry-on-irish-clients-of-hsbc-with-swiss-accounts-1.1476494

Irish Revenue are extremely sharp. If they identify a tax loophole its generally closed within the year.

Media999 wrote: »

When someone can step off a plane, walk into a post office and collect dole in 5 different names you know we dont have the best systems in Europe.

Report them.

https://www.welfare.ie/en/Pages/secure/ReportFraud.aspx

Media999 wrote: »

That's social welfare, not the revenue, there is a fair difference between the two in my experience and knowing a few people who work in revenue.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

I use a loophole to avoid paying any tax. I used facebook.nl to set up my account, but set my country of residence as Ireland. Now I can make billions of farmville points and those revenue ba*tards can't touch a single one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Rho b

hfallada wrote: »
    Irish revenue are actually incrediable good with finding tax evasion with IT. I read they monitor foreign credit use particular cards from tax havens, to identify Irish people with off shore bank accounts using cards to access funds. So why wouldnt they monitor facebook? I imagine they have a computer to monitor businesses and profile potential tax evasion.

http://www.irishtimes.com/business/economy/public-finances/revenue-inquiry-on-irish-clients-of-hsbc-with-swiss-accounts-1.1476494

Irish Revenue are extremely sharp. If they identify a tax loophole its generally closed within the year.

Don't think so and recent history has proven so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Sure Revenue are on Boards too as are most of the other Govt depts......so if they weren't checking FB ya can be sure they will be Mon morning;)

Whatever about revenue checking facebook, the guards are never off myhome.ie!

What do you mean get shafted? They can only get taxed on whatever they earn, same as me. I get shafted every week on the PAYE system.

My point was that some will have presented the business as much more successful than it is, & not having declared squat, then are left to prove that they are not as successful as they have made themselves out to be... if it's a cash business, especially.

They read the death notices in the papers too and listen to them on local radio. So don't think you can escape that way.

Whatever about revenue checking facebook, the guards are never off Usedtobemyhome.ie!
    fyp ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Whatever about revenue checking facebook, the guards are never off usedtobemyhome.ie!
    fyp ;)

As for the Guards, well they really should NOT have borrowed above their means, no sympathy for them if they cannot make the agreed re-payments now regardless of the sob-stories in the media by the GRA!

My point was that some will have presented the business as much more successful than it is, & not having declared squat, then are left to prove that they are not as successful as they have made themselves out to be... if it's a cash business, especially.

If they have failed to make a declaration ever I think they would have more problems to sort out with Revenue than pretend testimonials on the internet. Especially if it's a cash business. That brings them into the area of tax default and lots of people have had to pay big penalties when they were caught. The big fish are always on Part 2 of these quarterly lists.

http://www.revenue.ie/en/press/defaulters/

Seems they have the capability so. Not surprised, I heard about this over 18 months ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭ImDave

This isn't proactive monitoring to discover fraud but I know of a revenue case which heavily relied on the LinkedIn profile of a suspect. All his boasting of various businesses on the website and not one of them registered with Revenue or the CRO didn't work out well in the end.

If they have failed to make a declaration ever I think they would have more problems to sort out with Revenue than pretend testimonials on the internet. Especially if it's a cash business. That brings them into the area of tax default and lots of people have had to pay big penalties when they were caught. The big fish are always on Part 2 of these quarterly lists.

http://www.revenue.ie/en/press/defaulters/

Jesus... I'm talking about Tom/Tammy who have made maybe not even a few hundred with a part time endeavour over a year, but acting as if they're making thousands or tens of for the past two or three or more.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Just thinking of all the people listing their occupation as "Pimpin N Hustlin' Bitches" oh god... Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

...:rolleyes:

I feckin hate this attitude. Like if we are talking about someone on the dole while running a 'phantom' business? ... i'd get you...
    But someone doing a nixer? Someone earning a few extra bob selling things every month? FFS!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Hands up!!!... I work for revenue and our latest assignment was checking bookface profiles, we also check adverts and donedeal for tax fraud. That moth holed, musty auld jacket that you'd never worn is going to bring you down mutha fooker, kerching.