Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Missing girl Starr Carew

• 01-11-2013 8:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭

A young girl last seen in Kells, County Meath at about 10.30pm Halloween night has gone missing. She is 14 years old. She's approximately 5 foot 4 inches tall. Her name is Starr Carew. She wears glasses and was last seen wearing a grey top, grey hoodie, grey bottoms and black high top runners. Gardai are concerned for her welfare.

If anybody sees her please call Kells Garda station 0469080820 or the Garda Confidential hotline on 1800666111 or any Garda station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Photo of Starr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Jesus Christ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Very early days - let's hope for the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Crap. Hope she is ok. God help the poor families

Could this be made as a sticky? She has been missing 40 hours and she's only 14

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,737 ✭✭✭Missymoohaa

Thank god, according to independant.ie
    she has been found safe and well. A big relief for her family. Keep safe everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I'd like a story after these people are found. Why were they missing and what happened to them?

Brilliant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

I'd like a story after these people are found. Why were they missing and what happened to them?

If it was due to family reasons they might want to keep it quiet. There usually is no follow-ups in these kind of stories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

I'd say the Gardai and Health and Social Services share data like these for the purposes of prevention, investigation and care. Beyond that, it's nobody's business, so why jinx a happy ending?

Muise... wrote: »
    I'd say the Gardai and Health and Social Services share data like these for the purposes of prevention, investigation and care. Beyond that, it's nobody's business, so why jinx a happy ending?

Don't see how I'm jinxing it. Just curious as to how/why she went missing for 2 days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Don't see how I'm jinxing it. Just curious as to how/why she went missing for 2 days.

It's none of your business tbh...

Would that justify asking her about it, when she probably needs to rest and recover? She might tell the public about it some day, but until she does, it's enough to know she's safe now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

I am so happy that she's been found safe and well.

Before I read this, I read an article that said the police were searching for 'other' body parts in Meath. :eek:

January wrote: »
    It's none of your business tbh...
    Would that justify asking her about it, when she probably needs to rest and recover? She might tell the public about it some day, but until she does, it's enough to know she's safe now.

I don't give a flying **** if she tells us or not. Or if it's my business.

I'm saying in general, these cases of missing people that just show up after a few days, I wouldn't mind hearing what happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

I'm saying in general, these cases of missing people that just show up after a few days, I wouldn't mind hearing what happened.

It's not going to happen. As far as the media is concerned the story is over and they'll move on to other things.

I'm sure there are sociological and psychological studies into runaways and missing persons. You won't find what happened to this girl in them, but you might get an idea of what leads people to run away or go missing for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 NoTrouble

I see nothing wrong with someone being curious about what happened to a "missing" person who was "found" but the thing is usually there is no "story" to follow up on because in the majority of cases like this the person was never missing in the first place.

The parents didn't know where she was for 1.5 days (probably a lot less as there would've been at least a half day gap between her turning up and the guards releasing that info) but that's not the same as being a missing person. Teenagers stay with friends, go to parties they shouldn't go to, meet new boyfriends, experiment with alcohol etc etc etc. They stay out overnight which is a nightmare for parents but suddenly it's all over social media and the teen is a missing person as opposed to a stroppy teen.

I don't know (and I'm not saying) this girl's particular reason for not coming home. I'm talking in general about "missing" teens who turn up within days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

You're just nosey.

Lux23 wrote: »
    You're just nosey.

Exactly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

I guess it is technically "nosiness", but I think after the enormous publicity, sharing of info and links online and often well-organized searches to find these people by communities and well-meaning strangers, it's odd when an abrupt "girl found safe and well" statement is released and the line goes cold.

I think the naturally-occurring reaction for anyone would be..."thank God! But what happened?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

I understand about curiosity in these cases but I have seen posters before practically demand to know what happened as if they had some entitlement. But really, often the missing people are so young that disclosing personal information about the incident online is a bit off and possibly damaging to them in the future. Who knows what happened? Sometimes its best not to. These missing person appeals are for the public to engage in a search on the hope the person is returned to somewhere safe. And once they are, it should end there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 645 ✭✭✭loveBBhate

Put it this way, my cat went missing for 3 days. When I found her, I wasn't bothered not knowing where she was and that she couldn't tell me what happened. I was just happy my Pushkiss was home :) x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

I went missing for a month once. I was just too devil-may-care and full of sh!t to call my mum. I was 18. That was bad.....and unfeeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

lukesmom wrote: »
    A young girl last seen in Kells, County Meath at about 10.30pm Halloween night has gone missing. She is 14 years old. She's approximately 5 foot 4 inches tall. Her name is Starr Carew. She wears glasses and was last seen wearing a grey top, grey hoodie, grey bottoms and black high top runners. Gardai are concerned for her welfare.

If anybody sees her please call Kells Garda station 0469080820 or the Garda Confidential hotline on 1800666111 or any Garda station.

She was dressed up as 40 shades of gray, thank god she was found so I could make that joke.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,401 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

Wonder is this the same girl reported missing in Enniscorthy today??

http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/0219/681463-missing/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Grid. wrote: »

Seems that it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Grid. wrote: »

Hard to say.. shur Starr Carew is as common a name as James Byrne

Yes she just keeps on running off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Yes she just keeps on running off.

Could they not tie her to something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭beyondbelief67

She was only 14 in the missing ad a year ago so how is she 17 now ?

NoTrouble wrote: »
    I see nothing wrong with someone being curious about what happened to a "missing" person who was "found" but the thing is usually there is no "story" to follow up on because in the majority of cases like this the person was never missing in the first place.

The parents didn't know where she was for 1.5 days (probably a lot less as there would've been at least a half day gap between her turning up and the guards releasing that info) but that's not the same as being a missing person. Teenagers stay with friends, go to parties they shouldn't go to, meet new boyfriends, experiment with alcohol etc etc etc. They stay out overnight which is a nightmare for parents but suddenly it's all over social media and the teen is a missing person as opposed to a stroppy teen.

I don't know (and I'm not saying) this girl's particular reason for not coming home. I'm talking in general about "missing" teens who turn up within days.

More often they tell the parents and release the info the person is found at the same time to stop people looking for them and it being a good news story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Probably gone back to UK , she's only been here 2 weeks .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

Well, I'm not heading out again tonight looking for her....as George W. said,fool me once, shame on me...fool me twice, well youre the fool, or something like that.....

She's 15 don't know where they got 17 from. A wild child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Lux23 wrote: »
    You're just nosey.

So are half the people that click onto these treads tbh. A lot of the same people seem to be posting/thanking on them.

And before any Einsteins go "well how do YOU know who's posting, you're on them too!" they are stickied and you can see. Also, I'd click into ones that are based near to me and yes, the odd time if they're not because we are inquisitive by nature.

But for anyone saying none of your business and getting stroppy about it , perhaps there's merit in some closure on these events for future cases. Why are people running away/going missing. Maybe it will help parents a little. Obviously it can be said in a respectful way and not "he or she was out riding in a free gaff for the weekend" but something along the lines of no foul play or teens being teens, if applicable.

She's wild and doesn't live at home. Wrong crowd etc. Her mother lives beside me and is worried sick about her. Just go home and stop looking for attention because that's all it is sure it was the same last year. Had everyone worried and she turns up. She's get an awful clatter if she was mine.

Yes it's a worrying time and at that age they think they are grown up and know what they are doing
    has her mom checked if she's at her boyfriend's ? He might know something, and I'm sure her best friends know but think they are doing their friend a favor by pretending they don't know, not realizing just how worried her parents are.
    As until it actually happens to you, it's virtually impossible to know just how it feels or the thoughts that go through your head no matter how much you try and stay positive.
    I hope she is found safe again, and even if the outcome means she doesn't return home, that everyone has the results they need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Probably at her friends Sunnnn or Moonnnn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

inforfun wrote: »
    Probably at her friends Sunnnn or Moonnnn

Or skye... Jesus i hate that name

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

They should send her a Facebook message since she has been active on that.

tuxy wrote: »
    They should send her a Facebook message since she has been active on that.

They probably have already that's one of the first things done now, but as her boyfriend has deactivated his account on there they aren't probably replying.
    I just hope she does get in touch with someone soon, her parents will be heart broken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

At least they know she not come to any harm since she is updating with new pictures. If she doesn't live at home where is she gone missing from?

tuxy wrote: »
    At least they know she not come to any harm since she is updating with new pictures. If she doesn't live at home where is she gone missing from?

Waterford

Edited to say meant Wexford sorry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

It's probably against the law to disseminate such information about a minor.

Plus it would make it harder for the family to move on and get on with their lives.
    Plus the rumour mill always goes into overdrive while the person is missing and wouldn't believe any real story as to why the disappeared in the first place.
    They will simply stick to what they heard at the pub/ coffee morning/ shop counter.
    I'm still hearing stories as to why my daughter went from people not realising I'm the mom, and
    Even when I tell them the real story I get MMM but such a body said it was this reason are you sure it wasn't that, even though the person mentioned wouldn't know our family !!!!
    So no matter how many times they hear the real reason they will always make up their own theory, and stick with it, after all fiction is always better than fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

It says on here that she went missing from Enniscorthy.

http://www.garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=14769

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Many would like to know how/where she was found so they could possibly take the information into account if their child went missing. Contacting the gardai or other authorities could be a big stressful event/step for many families. If it turned out they contacted her via facebook or something they would save themselves, and the authorities & taxpayer that unnecessary hassle & expense.

rubadub wrote: »
    Many would like to know how/where she was found so they could possibly take the information into account if their child went missing. Contacting the gardai or other authorities could be a big stressful event/step for many families. If it turned out they contacted her via facebook or something they would save themselves, and the authorities & taxpayer that unnecessary hassle & expense.

Sometimes the person won't respond to family, or friends, but will to garda as they don't want to communicate with family.
    Also they see the garda as an way to pass messages on for them, to let the family know they are safe. The garda are trained to do this where family and friends are stressed upset and not cool headed whereas someone from the outside is.
    But also they sometimes don't use there old Facebook page anymore or deactivate it altogether.