Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

whats your morning routine?

• 31-10-2013 10:23am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭

Be interesting to see what other people do in the mornings.
    At the moment i get up at 7, straight out the door to get cows, i move wire on redstart on the way and move wire in field when cows are out, normally start milking then between 7.30 and 8 depending on how far cows are away.
    Finished milking around 9 ish and let cows down to redstart.
    Go for breakie then and back out to push cows to grass and mix up silage for drys and for cows for evening milking. That brings me up to around 11 and the day is my own after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,141 ✭✭✭colrow

When I was back on the farm in Cornwall..

Get up about 5.30 egt a coffee and fag to get the blood flowing.
    Get the cows into the collecting yard, do the milking, scrap down the collecting yard, wash out the dairy,
    get the cows back out
    about 9.30 to 10 go for an hours breakfast and chat.
    Do the yard work scraping the **** with the tractor
    Then back up for lunch about 1 oclock open the post, then a couple of hours power napping .

About 3.3 get the cows back in for the second miking, get them out again, and wash the dairy down, and leave the **** for the morning about 6 to 630 have dinner.

There was three of us, we worked out we were doing about 70/80 hours each for about 90p an hour, but it was good fun, mostly..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,489 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Up at 6.30 ish,straight out the door round up the cows milk hose out parlour ,in for breakie with wife and daughter for 8.00.there gone at 8.30 so laptop comes out a bit of boards,done deal,independent.ie,Facebook and whatever else I can find on web that interests me.back out for 9.15 or so scrape down yards,set up wire for cows then off to see calves and in calfs.quite time after that just doin knick knacks around yard.dinber from 1 to 2 then a half an hour or so of office work.round up cows at 4.15 clock off at 5.30 and head to gym for an hour and a half then super and family time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

Normally start at 630 ere but for mornings like this morning when have job to go to I was in yard at 445 cows in and fed nuts (no feeders) milking finished at 630 and then wash up feed and check youngstock. In the door for breakfast at 715 then in work for 8

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

alarm goes at 5.35, get up have a cup of tea go on boards, if milk man has been i will wash tank during this time... go out between 6.20 and 6.30 milk , come back in to house at 7.30 to call eldest lad for school.. go back out finish milking. do calves etc. back in house for 8.30.. do kids breakfast and lunches oh will drop them to school... go back out around 9.15 go to outfarm check and feed there... then come back scrape yard, put out sawdust , do bedding etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Lazy fooker here in comparison to yas, up at 7.20, straight out the door usually, and cows up, try to get the 1st cluster on by 7.40. Finished fully in the parlour at 9, if there are afew odd jobs with cows, lame, dosing, injections I'll do it then while gloves still on. If the next paddock is setup hand for the cows I'll let them out then, otherwise they can wait, its time for breakfast. Try to get any paddock jobs, like moving strip wires etc done after breakfast, and be fully done by 11ish.

Getting lazy at the weekends also, 8am start will do, and try to avoid having too many jobs ahead of me then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Full time farmers have it handy:cool:

Timmaay wrote: »
    Lazy fooker here in comparison to yas, up at 7.20, straight out the door usually, and cows up, try to get the 1st cluster on by 7.40. Finished fully in the parlour at 9, if there are afew odd jobs with cows, lame, dosing, injections I'll do it then while gloves still on. If the next paddock is setup hand for the cows I'll let them out then, otherwise they can wait, its time for breakfast. Try to get any paddock jobs, like moving strip wires etc done after breakfast, and be fully done by 11ish.

Getting lazy at the weekends also, 8am start will do, and try to avoid having too many jobs ahead of me then.

Nothing wrong with that Tim,as the saying goes work smarter not harder or longer!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Mulumpy wrote: »
    but for mornings like this morning when have job to go to I was in yard at 445

:eek::eek: Remind me never to get a fulltime job while I'm still milking!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

lazy feckers I don't go 2bed!!!!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

Up at 7ish out the door auld lad usually has cows in. Cows finished and parlour washed out for latest 8.20, run down r drive (weather depending) ahead to move wires for cows.brekkie at 8.45 out for 9.45 , work part time so may have jobs to do then if not we are expanding here so always have something on d go here, or else calves cattle or sumthing to be done, either me or auld lad goes for cows at 4.30ish finished for 6.20 sitting down for tea. Don't usually work after this unless I have to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

Timmaay wrote: »
    :eek::eek: Remind me never to get a fulltime job while I'm still milking!

Ah thats only two mornings a week though and the relief milker does the evening work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Tells a story in itself - all the full time posters so far are in milk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Muckit wrote: »
    Tells a story in itself - all the full time posters so far are in milk
    And all the milkers in good land:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

Whelan what age is he come back in to house at 7.30 to call eldest lad for school..
    get alarm clock

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

milkprofit wrote: »
    Whelan what age is he come back in to house at 7.30 to call eldest lad for school..
    get alarm clock

He's 12 oh would be in the house but would still be in bed, he has an alarm clock and alarm on his phone, was late going in one morning and all still asleep. Men have it too easy around here :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Wake at 5.30 hit or miss the jax, back to bed till breakfast is ready some time around 9.30. Hit the shop 100m 40 benson and the Star.

Home where herself gets me a cuppa while I check out the odds for the racing in Scunthorpe. Watch WWF on my 60" plasma, I have it in the conservatory that the health board built for me as I'm afraid of the dark.

Hit town about 2ish after a bit of grub. I'd have a full 4 hrs work to do in the bookies. Home for egg and chip sandwiches, meet the lads for about 7-8 pints chipper and home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

delaval wrote: »
    Wake at 5.30 hit or miss the jax, back to bed till breakfast is ready some time around 9.30. Hit the shop 100m 40 benson and the Star.

Home where herself gets me a cuppa while I check out the odds for the racing in Scunthorpe. Watch WWF on my 60" plasma, I have it in the conservatory that the health board built for me as I'm afraid of the dark.

Hit town about 2ish after a bit of grub. I'd have a full 4 hrs work to do in the bookies. Home for egg and chip sandwiches, meet the lads for about 7-8 pints chipper and home.

liven the live. I hope i can do that when i can milk a few hundred cows :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭REBEL COUNTY1

delaval wrote: »

Saw a good one on facebook there...

Tonight im going to dress up as enda kenny so when the trick or treaters come to my door im going to take the sweets off them and then go give it to the lazy kids who are still at home and couldnt be bothered dressing up and going out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

up at 6.45, have it down to 7 minutes to get out the door, in work within 25 minutes of that.
    if I leave any later it could be 40+ minutes to get to work.
    not farming but from a farm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Alarm off at 05:00 out of bed by 05:10 and out the door by 05:15. Grab the cows lift the fence then start milking, usually have cups on by 05:35 or so. Parlour washed yard clean cows shut away by 08:30 normally then into the house for an hour, back out do odd jobs till 12 back in for an hour lunch then start milking at two all done back in the house for half four normally. I've it well handy out here, most the lads I know would but up at four home at six!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Depends on what time of the year.

Summer time
    Up about 6:00 check the cattle, cows and calves. Then back to get get ready for work then off about 7:15

Winter time
    Up around 6:00 check the cows and let them out, push in the silage and throw out the ration for the weanlings. Back in shower and change then off to work

Spring time
    Same as winter but start earlier in case there are any new arrivals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

up at 6.45, have it down to 7 minutes to get out the door, in work within 25 minutes of that.
    if I leave any later it could be 40+ minutes to get to work.
    not farming but from a farm.
    Take more than 7 minutes to flushtwice here. Weak water flow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

No 2 mornings are the same for me. depending on where im working usually determines what time i get up at. if im in the workshop its ok but when im fitting i could be anywhere from 15 mins away to 3 hours away. The old man gets me mornings off here and there so that can give me a break ut i still like to get a quick look around most mornings. i took this week off to get all the odds and ends sorted and i found ive never drank so much tea. the auld wan even threw on a fry one morning. i could get used to this fulltime farming crack. its great not to be stuck in traffic thinking of what i have to do and instead getting it done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

1chippy wrote: »
    its great not to be stuck in traffic thinking of what i have to do and instead getting it done.

So very true! I spend most of the day at work doing farming jobs in my head!!! How very unproductive!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

Depends on what time of the year and which duties im on.

Summer time
    Up about 0510hrs if on duty or 0730hrs if not check/feed the cattle and calves. Then back to get get ready for work then off about 0600 hrs, if home do a few odd jobs around my yard and the main yard.

Winter time
    Up around 0450hrs if on duty or 0630hrs if not, check the weanlings and give them ration, push in the silage then off to work for 0600hrs. If im off its down to the main yard to fire up the diet feeder for the FIL at around 0730hrs

Spring time
    same as winter but will be on call to FIL for cows that are due to calve