Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Where is everyone???

• Registered Users Posts: 7,559 ✭✭✭andy_g

If you wish to try remove the fee's for sites/retailers try emailing the office Hello@boards.ie

The other reason for here going quiet is of the mentality of people in the cliques who feel hard done by, by the "nazi mods" (there wording not mine)

Just my two cents.

• Registered Users Posts: 798 ✭✭✭I Armour I

When the older audience (not age) from 1+ year(s) ago went from banter>drama on this site they took a back seat.

Factors that are affecting the boards audience/issues with boards:
    -Facebook (it's user numbers, other than that it has no other advantage, except maybe the chat feature.)
    -Certain rules on boards that don't exist on other platforms.
    -The level of activity of current users (threads look old and that deters potential new users)

-*Tacit knowledge* I think this is a big one, think of this like a recession: 1 or more years ago there were a vast amount of users who knew a lot but not everything, the new users came along, asked questions had banter etc and than any knowledge gained was left in there heads. The older users then began to "know everything" and stopped posting, the previously new users didn't share their knowledge either and now when questions are asked too few answer. I'm guilty of this aswell, but a few names come into my head as constant guides on this forum. We just need the now older users to stick up what they know and welcome the now new users into asking as many questions as possible.

-Outdated posts/ stickies: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055172868 None of the images here are available. What is the purpose?? same with the retailers list and a few others.

-Lack of guide/instruction in regards to using the forum/ strict rules being applied in some areas but not in others. i.e. should an "irish airsoft prices" thread be allowed in the Airsoft reviews sub forum (should one assume it should be for text/video reviews and requests only. However the bumping is constantly kept on top of.

My personal suggestions:
    - Above the Sub forums in the airsoft section could be a "How to use the airsoft forum" With screen shots/arrows/ brief descriptions on what each sub section/main section does and then links to the sections respective dedicated charter.
    - Within each section, the stickies could be reviewed once a month by mods to ensure relevance and correct/current information.
    - F.A.Q's, Section/subforum feedback & collaborative guides/compendiums created and stickied per section. This could be a general idea as some users Inari, Rooky, among mods and some others have given up some fierce knowledge regarding AEG's GBB's etc. I believe these threads should be necro exempt, bumped/updated by mods with info from all the other threads thrown into the guides and FAQS to be a giant flag geared towards new/inexperienced boards users. This would cut out alot of the same information being repeated and furthermore would allow new users to soak up all knowledge possible before asking questions.

- Where youtube, facebook, other forums etc already have videos, reviews, existing information on stuff, I feel they should be encouraged to be copied, pasted, plastered on relevant threads instead of repetitive regurgitation of the same information over and over again.

- More strict attitudes on the threads allowed in the subforums, moving of threads to the main section etc. I just think this would make it all more readable and give more structure.

-Lastly, show off/ promote/ utilize Boards strong suits, The structure and search functions along with the way forums can be sorted, etc.

I know some of those were obvious, a bit out there and some just silly but just some ideas I had.

What would the mods and users here think of FAQ's/ guides etc being started up in the subsections as a first attempt to make boards more user friendly?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭matty1994

I Armour I wrote: »
    When the older audience (not age) from 1+ year(s) ago went from banter>drama on this site they took a back seat.

Factors that are affecting the boards audience/issues with boards:
    -Facebook (it's user numbers, other than that it has no other advantage, except maybe the chat feature.)
    -Certain rules on boards that don't exist on other platforms.
    -The level of activity of current users (threads look old and that deters potential new users)

-*Tacit knowledge* I think this is a big one, think of this like a recession: 1 or more years ago there were a vast amount of users who knew a lot but not everything, the new users came along, asked questions had banter etc and than any knowledge gained was left in there heads. The older users then began to "know everything" and stopped posting, the previously new users didn't share their knowledge either and now when questions are asked too few answer. I'm guilty of this aswell, but a few names come into my head as constant guides on this forum. We just need the now older users to stick up what they know and welcome the now new users into asking as many questions as possible.

-Outdated posts/ stickies: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055172868 None of the images here are available. What is the purpose?? same with the retailers list and a few others.

-Lack of guide/instruction in regards to using the forum/ strict rules being applied in some areas but not in others. i.e. should an "irish airsoft prices" thread be allowed in the Airsoft reviews sub forum (should one assume it should be for text/video reviews and requests only. However the bumping is constantly kept on top of.

My personal suggestions:
    - Above the Sub forums in the airsoft section could be a "How to use the airsoft forum" With screen shots/arrows/ brief descriptions on what each sub section/main section does and then links to the sections respective dedicated charter.
    - Within each section, the stickies could be reviewed once a month by mods to ensure relevance and correct/current information.
    - F.A.Q's, Section/subforum feedback & collaborative guides/compendiums created and stickied per section. This could be a general idea as some users Inari, Rooky, among mods and some others have given up some fierce knowledge regarding AEG's GBB's etc. I believe these threads should be necro exempt, bumped/updated by mods with info from all the other threads thrown into the guides and FAQS to be a giant flag geared towards new/inexperienced boards users. This would cut out alot of the same information being repeated and furthermore would allow new users to soak up all knowledge possible before asking questions.

- Where youtube, facebook, other forums etc already have videos, reviews, existing information on stuff, I feel they should be encouraged to be copied, pasted, plastered on relevant threads instead of repetitive regurgitation of the same information over and over again.

- More strict attitudes on the threads allowed in the subforums, moving of threads to the main section etc. I just think this would make it all more readable and give more structure.

-Lastly, show off/ promote/ utilize Boards strong suits, The structure and search functions along with the way forums can be sorted, etc.

I know some of those were obvious, a bit out there and some just silly but just some ideas I had.

What would the mods and users here think of FAQ's/ guides etc being started up in the subsections as a first attempt to make boards more user friendly?

I agree with this, adding to your point, i think a sub section should be started as you have said but have say a begineers guide, with reviews and guides on what gear to get,what a joule is, what rules are in place etc, kinda like the questions sub forum but just somewhere we can add our own views on guns for begineers or just leave advice or tech tips etc

matty1994 wrote: »
    I agree with this, adding to your point, i think a sub section should be started as you have said but have say a begineers guide, with reviews and guides on what gear to get,what a joule is, what rules are in place etc, kinda like the questions sub forum but just somewhere we can add our own views on guns for begineers or just leave advice or tech tips etc

See we already have a couple like that, but they are the bottom of the stickies lists and are spread over the whole forum, from main page to sub section. Some of them locked too. That and if it may be said, are very difficult to read. One comes to mind in which it has a list of the manufacturers with some/most of the guns they make. However it is again outdated and a pain to read.

As you said a simple version of all rolled into one guide. With the amount of times info has been given out, a quick copy and paste into one universal guide would be dead helpful. Not only that but as I stated before, for stickies to be left open for critique and than info added later (like with gaming forums).

If it could be applied, the same stickies on every page with exception to their content. (i.e. rules stickies are there.)

Another note to make this place more user friendly is a "Player in your area thread" Similar to the teams thread only for casual airsofters to see who lives close/plays close to where others do. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 23,128 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

There is a thread like this pretty much every year, and very little is ever REALLY done.

The forum here used to be a core/driver for all things airsoft. Where to play, what to buy, everything, that is no longer the case. Even the adverts section isn't the best or most popular place to sell your kit anymore. I've had a thread there sitting for DONKEYs with no action, put it up on Facebook ( regrettably) and there was much more action.

Facebook is by far the biggestchange that has come , for most communities.

Alot of the gaming communities I'm part of, that five years ago would have been boards centric, have moved to Facebook.
    Boards is one of those slowly wittling platforms unfortunately, as the new generation prefer using Facebook. The sub-forums here hasn't helped. Sub-fora should be created to DEAL with a growing annoyance or problem. In alot of cases they were created trying to guide content in advance, or over reacting to maybe a couple of posts about the same thing.

I can't reiterate it enough, users drive content and discussion, not admins or moderators.

Boards has a pretty big advantage that it is a forum, and forums will ALWAYS have the tools to be the best platform for discussion and debate. Facebook is shocking, no formatting options, not even a paragraph to create. It also seems to more easily attract wallies. Text speak and stupid opinions are all over the place.

But the main reason why I see Facebook winning over boards, in terms of airsoft and a few gaming communities I'm part of it, is the perception of having a bit more freedom. Rules arn't hardfast, things slide a bit more and there is just more wiggle room. In saying that, Boards charters and rules are a refined measure done over years of experience, whereas Facebook now is a bit of a free for all, problems will surely emerge. I think it is just a case that Boards isn't keeping up with this site.

A recent example would be, not being allowed advertise something here, when its advertised elsewhere. I won't get into specifics and re-rail, but there need sto be acceptance that boards.ie isn't the main attraction of airsoft anymore. When a rule is in place " If you want to sell kit on here, you can only sell it here" I'm sorry, it's retarded. With more traction on other platforms, it's not a big deal anymore having a sale thread closed down here. Like I said, I was getting no traction on here with my kit, got much more on Facebook.

Something I think Boards in general (and I've spoken to a few higher level guys I play games with about it) is that it has consistently lost track of what made it popular. It was a platform to allow people speak, in a structured somewhat articulate way. Somewhere along the line, boards has lost it's way with meticulous rules and OTT charters. That's across the board, not just here.

Reddit for example, get's the whole point. Place of discussion and socialising are driving by users, not admins or moderators etc. If something is rubbish, bad, or not interesting, it doesn't need to be locked or deleted, it just eventually looses popularity and drifts of the front page. Things that are interesting and good, will keep their place on the front page etc. It's just how it works like.

We could argue all day why the older guys have all left this place, why the centres of informations and knowledgeable players have all gone elsewhere but that will just transcend into a useless childish tit for tat as always.

The simplest reason is mostly Facebook. Not even the fact it's easily accessible for most ( far more so then boards), I know for me personally I'm in three private groups, where I can check when decent groups are playing, **** about new guns , repair advice and all that jazz...in a private group where I know the knowledge level is stupidly high and it's relatively like minded individuals.

TheDoc wrote: »
    There is a thread like this pretty much every year, and very little is ever REALLY done......

....check when decent groups are playing, **** about new guns , repair advice and all that jazz...in a private group where I know the knowledge level is stupidly high and it's relatively like minded individuals.

Nail on the head there Doc, there could be a sneaky way to get more players/ new players over to boards but it would require the advertising rule to be abolished: That way we could link our ads to facebook and bring in people that way.

That said though the lack of rules is also lack of necessary for rules. On facebook you don't see "read the charter" and ignorance is bliss after all :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

I stopped caring when Doc left.

NakedDex wrote: »

When did he leave, he is still here. so back to topic :P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭matty1994

andy_g wrote: »

Strict modding there again:P

• Registered Users Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭MerryDespot

I stopped caring when Dex left.

Joking aside, I've been gone from here for a while ... mostly due to other things in life taking over (work, living abroad and my original time-vampire - music) ... but damn, dead is an understatement.

And yes ... I'm aware of the hypocrisy of a once active user disappearing and then commenting on a lack of perceived activity when they come back to a forum fuelled by user content.

matty1994 wrote: »
    Strict modding there again:P

Yup i completely agree sarcasm is strictly not permittied :O

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭Southern Dandy

Out of interest, for the once regular posters that are reading this thread, if things were to change around here would that entice ye back?. I can not obviously speak for mods but look who knows if they want the continuation of this forum maybe certain things need changing.

Or has the damage been done so to speak?

Reason I ask this is, the people I am referring too have a wealth of knowledge, experience etc and it is a shame that all that is gone. There are very little gamers with years of experience and expertise left here. This thread if I am not mistaken was one of the busiest on boards at one point it would be great to get it back to it's former glory.

Personally I am not even on Facebook nor care to be on it but I think forums are a far better platform for the Airsoft community in Ireland.

To be honest it was curiosity that made me check back in here - I haven't had a game of any sort since after Copehill last year. That's mostly down to changes in my own life than airsoft, or boards.

I'm trying to get myself back into it though - I miss playing with some of the folk who have disappeared from on here, but I'm mostly in touch with those guys through gmail or texts, so the need to come on here to stay in contact is largely gone.

But as Doc said, things like this crop up every year. I remember when I joined here the airsoft forum was one of the busiest - but it's now been overtaken by Facebook and naturally that's killed a lot of traffic here. The fact that a few popular sites have closed, and that this might have also led to a few players who would have been regular airsofters tending to head out less and less will also be a factor.

• Registered Users Posts: 709 ✭✭✭bushball

i havent been here long-not even a year- so i dont really know much about what it was like before but i have noticed that even adverts which was the busiest part when i joined has slowed down alot .
    i think this site needs a bit more advertisment as alot of people wouldnt know about it. i only found out about it when a saw someone shared a link to facebook so it can be a kinda conflicting argument

• Registered Users Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

andy_g wrote: »

He's like an ex. He left me, but he still shows up now and again, and makes me miss the happier days...

Stockholm syndrome.
    Just remind yourself of the voice... "it puts the lotion in the basket..."

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Stockholm syndrome.
    Just remind yourself of the voice... "it puts the lotion in the basket..."

I hope "it's" the only place the lotion is going

• Registered Users Posts: 14,148 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Out of interest, for the once regular posters that are reading this thread, if things were to change around here would that entice ye back?. I can not obviously speak for mods but look who knows if they want the continuation of this forum maybe certain things need changing.

Or has the damage been done so to speak?

Reason I ask this is, the people I am referring too have a wealth of knowledge, experience etc and it is a shame that all that is gone. There are very little gamers with years of experience and expertise left here. This thread if I am not mistaken was one of the busiest on boards at one point it would be great to get it back to it's former glory.

Personally I am not even on Facebook nor care to be on it but I think forums are a far better platform for the Airsoft community in Ireland.

First off; I'm still here - I read a lot, I just don't post much unless I feel I have something to say. And I'm fairly sure there's a few others in the same boat. Nothing to do with enticement - don't need it. And I'm not so sure that the quiet at large is anything really to do with "damage" either.

There would appear to have been a general slowdown in airsoft terms on the commercial front, and whilst there are plenty of events still knocking about; people are being much more selective about what they attend, so there's less discussion to pull in newer players so readily. And of course, as players move on, or real-life responsibillities/job circumstances change with the years, it's bound to have a knock-on effect.

Even facebook - for all its activity - doesn't really seem to be saying much. Lots being written; not much really being said when you stand back and look at the content.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,899 ✭✭✭S.E.A.L.s

always-watching-41051.jpg

It'd all be the recessions fault

Lemming wrote: »
    First off; I'm still here - I read a lot, I just don't post much unless I feel I have something to say. And I'm fairly sure there's a few others in the same boat. Nothing to do with enticement - don't need it. And I'm not so sure that the quiet at large is anything really to do with "damage" either.

There would appear to have been a general slowdown in airsoft terms on the commercial front, and whilst there are plenty of events still knocking about; people are being much more selective about what they attend, so there's less discussion to pull in newer players so readily. And of course, as players move on, or real-life responsibillities/job circumstances change with the years, it's bound to have a knock-on effect.

Even facebook - for all its activity - doesn't really seem to be saying much. Lots being written; not much really being said when you stand back and look at the content.

As far as enticement goes I am referring to the people that have left here here for other forums and the like for reasons like modding issues and all that jazz. What about people that only seem to post giving about mods when things arise, can their issues be resolved, move on and maybe get them back in to regular posting.

Newer players will search for info regardless be it technical, ordinary enquiries and events, boards was once the focal point of all that, All I am saying is it would be great to see it again, promote it more via facebook and make it more welcoming for them, and we need people like the ones who don't post here too often to do so and pass on the knowledge and advice they have.

Naturally, personal reasons, work, family and all those are of course going to effect it, thats a part of life.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

media is only a reflection really on the community, and the trends on the forum have just reflected the changing community

it is no different to forums and such in the uk the community has just changed and either migrated offline or into more specialized groups on others forums or facebook

tbh boards is still very active compared to other forums I read, it may not be what people what but then again people have a tendency to complain that something is wrong rather than just being proactive and doing something about it, if you want an active forum with content you need to be active and produce content as mentioned before it is just a reflection on the community and tbh the community is very apathetic in general just showing up when 'drama' crops up

Maybe that is precisely what it is, complete lack of interest. But if there are ways to get people more interested. I have zero problem giving it a shot. If it fails then so be it least I can say I tried.

When I put this thread up originally it was already known that it was quieter without the regulars but there was still alot of new people coming here and then they became regular posters most of which are also gone.

When the "drama" flairs up it does not do boards any favours believe me, that is looking from the outside in. I'm not involved with any of the usual discussions that get a bit heated so watching it unfold despite my love of drama and eating popcorn watching it, it does not look good to new posters when they see this.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

I'll think you will find peoples priorities have changed over the last 5+ years ,
    A lot of guys who started back in there 20's and so on have gone from college to full time career's or in some cases single lads and girls are now happy parents ,
    Others are struggling to keep roofs over there heads ,so boards is probably low on the priority list ,
    As for the drama on here its part and parcel of a discussion forum ,
    Ego's and cliques always clash , eventually people grow up( at least we live in hope )
    Facebook is great for well if your 12 and like looking at chicks in bikini's carrying M4's if that your thing ,
    Its not the place for proper discussions ,
    It would be nice to have the threads cleaned up and lose some of the outdated stickies removed or rewritten to include new information ,
    Or even asking some of the tech's to regularly post threads for upgrading aegs or pistols ,and so on ,

But you can only take out what you put in

Gatling wrote: »
    I'll think you will find peoples priorities have changed over the last 5+ years ,
    A lot of guys who started back in there 20's and so on have gone from college to full time career's or in some cases single lads and girls are now happy parents ,
    Others are struggling to keep roofs over there heads ,so boards is probably low on the priority list ,
    As for the drama on here its part and parcel of a discussion forum ,
    Ego's and cliques always clash , eventually people grow up at least we live in hope
    Facebook is great for well if your 12 and like looking at chicks in bikini's carrying M4's if that your thing ,
    Its not the place for proper discussions ,
    It would be nice to have the threads cleaned up and lose some of the outdated stickies removed or rewritten to include new information ,
    Or even asking some of the tech's to regularly post threads for upgrading aegs or pistols ,and so on ,
    But you can only take out what you put in

Don't I know, my own changed plenty if times over the last few years, but I don't see that as the main core reason as to why people don't post here. As i said above it's not strictly the old crew but the recent and new posters that have dropped off.

Yeah sure discussion boards are and always will be a battlefield but you can not deny that a good portion of posters left here on account of mods etc, now some bans warnings were probably justified some may not have been. And this pissed people off and brought the tone down a bit around here.

I suggested that tech thread months ago to no avail, SEALS fair play to him kept it going on a unstickied thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,899 ✭✭✭S.E.A.L.s

I suggested that tech thread months ago to no avail, SEALS fair play to him kept it going on a unstickied thread.

That you did Dandy and credit where it's due, that was a great idea, which requires more time than most of us have, so has not really taken off just yet

One day hopefully and in my humble opinion, forums like boards are a better place then Bookface to collect Airsoft content

Unfortunately, Bookface is shiny :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

As a 24 year old chap, I'm plagued by everyone around me on facebook. I don't like it at all and have never signed up.
    I love the airsoft community on boards. I'm relatively new here, found it last christmas and have been around here a lot since.
    I went from not knowing a thing about tearing an AEG apart to being fairly handy at it and the local go to guy :D

Met a few chaps through purchases that I'd now consider friends on here too and keep in contact.

Even since I have joined here I have noticed it get very quiet. I really hope it gets better than it currently is as it's a fantastic resource!
    I also think the modding on here is spot on, if it were to be relaxed it'd turn the place upside down in no time.

Some great points have been made earlier and I have little to add other than that the information that is on here is frequently looked at and it is of use to plenty of people developing their skill at stripping these things, not being able to put them back together and also spending the kinds of money you could never say in public on them :D

Maybe a modernisation of some of the threads is in order.

Here's hoping we can have this thread next year,
    YbFocus.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,404 ✭✭✭ricka

I think another reason for it's decline is as a result of existing gamers, retailers and site owners making a point of telling people to stay away.

Any of you who are active in the Airsoft world outside of boards, will be well aware of this.

If boards is mentioned on a site or in a shop, at least one person will make a point of ridiculing it.

The infighting here has taken it's toll, wrongly or rightly the vast majority of people connected with Airsoft will tell people to stay away.

It will continue I have no doubt but the youngsters coming into the sport have no interest in it.

Most seem to think it's dated, boring and controlled.

I don't have any answers to it's decline but personally I've always enjoyed boards and learned a lot both personally and for my business.

A good thread to start Southern Dandy and at the very least you've got us talking again!!

ricka wrote: »
    I think another reason for it's decline is as a result of existing gamers, retailers and site owners making a point of telling people to stay away.

Any of you who are active in the Airsoft world outside of boards, will be well aware of this.

If boards is mentioned on a site or in a shop, at least one person will make a point of ridiculing it.

The infighting here has taken it's toll, wrongly or rightly the vast majority of people connected with Airsoft will tell people to stay away.

It will continue I have no doubt but the youngsters coming into the sport have no interest in it.

Most seem to think it's dated, boring and controlled.

I don't have any answers to it's decline but personally I've always enjoyed boards and learned a lot both personally and for my business.

A good thread to start Southern Dandy and at the very least you've got us talking again!!

Cheers Ricka, like you I enjoy coming on here, helping out when I can or just have a bit of banter and I will continue to do so regardless :). It would be nice as I said to at least make some headway with the forum.

It is funny you mention that, two different sites I was attending I asked people were they on boards?, some happily said yeah and I can put a face to the name now (Something I like about boards also) and other people I asked would slate it, it is their opinion at the end of the day but jesus there is a difference between not liking something and freaking out at the mention of it..

But word of mouth spreads like wild fire, this can be both a positive and a negative. Negative in the sense that it has tainted boards once good name, positive that if a change was to happen to bring newer and older posters back.

To the mods, I ask do you yourselves have any thoughts on the matter, suggestions, personal opinions etc?.

• Registered Users Posts: 960 ✭✭✭jayod30

Here's one reason "The Super Honest whats wrong with the IAA" thread. Started by mods, for the sole purpose of the minority to jump on the bandwagon, along with some mods, to air their petty grievances over past issues. It ended up a complete train wreck, non stop arguing, and was just let run and run when clearly going nowhere.

I lost all respect for any of the mods here after that. I used to love coming on here, it was my first port of call anytime I opened the laptop. Now I just check in a couple of times a week and never more than 2-3 mins at a time. And as a result my stress levels have dramatically reduced:)

To be fair SD, this is prob the first thread I've taken any interest in in a long time. But would I ever regain the interest I once had here, I doubt it.