Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Britney Spears 1 Somali Pirates 0

• 29-10-2013 4:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭

"According to british Merchant Navy officer Rachel Owens, Britney Spears’ songs are now being used to scare away Somali pirates.
    Her songs were chosen by the security team because they thought the pirates would hate them most."

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/britney-spears-music-being-used-140659301.html#p9EBQhX

If its that easy I'd reckon Jedward could defeat Al Qaeda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

She'd burst yer eardrums alright

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

or linda martin singing "Get lucky". That would defo scare away robbers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

D1stant wrote: »

If its that easy I'd reckon Jedward could defeat Al Qaeda

The US commit enough war crimes already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Playing Hit me baby one more time is just goading them though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

There's got to be some human right violations there. Us of chemical toxic weapons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Specialun wrote: »

That would sink the ****ing ship, never mind scare them away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Leave Britney alone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

You know there's a couple of snaps of Britney Spears freaking out in the 'photos-that shook-the-world' thread?

Lol. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Specialun wrote: »

The ship would moan and creak probably in tune with linda herself!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 890 ✭✭✭CrinkElite

I suspect there's more to this than "Brittany Spears is shoite"

The article That I read alludes to directional speakers that can be aimed at a small target.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/weird-news/britney-spears-music-blasted-out-2646660
    “The speakers can be aimed solely at the pirates so as not to disturb the crew.
    “They’re so effective the ship’s security rarely needs to resort to firing guns - as soon as the pirates get a blast of Britney they move on as quickly as they can.”
    (The bad punctuation is the mirror's doing.)

It sounds like they're using L-RAD technology.

I'd say the Somali pirates are more worried about the excruciating pain and permanent hearing loss than the quality of Brittany's lyrics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Her album Blackout was fecking class - don't care what ye say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

The Barney "I love you" song was an all time favourite weapon for the US Army.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Music_in_psychological_operations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Any chance the Somali pirates would hijack Britney? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Surely guns pointed at the would be better than speakers, regardless of what song is playing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Gee, Thanks for ruining the ending of Captain Philips!
    I see it now, Tom Hanks desperately trying to pirate a single mp3 file over a course of a few weeks.

Tom Hanks: "I'm a pirate too.....bitches"
    Hits "play"

Everybody starts flying overboard air 80's action style

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

South parks next episode for sure