Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FIAT 500s - am I mad?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Only one I would buy is the Abarth 500. I have two friends in America, both lunatics with GTR's, GT3's etc, and they both have Abarths for the daily drive around New York.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Drove a 1.2 around Italy for a week earlier this year. I personally wouldnt buy the 1.2 - I found it sluggish enough although it was very, very light on petrol. I'd try find a 1.4 at a minumum and if you are prepared to go back a couple of years there's Arbarths on carzone too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Maybe consider the multijet diesel too? They're not that common but they're out there.

Or a mini....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Mr.Fred

Are you a man/woman??

I'd definitely class this as a womans car. Yes you may get some amount of forgiveness if it was an Abarth.

If you're a man I hope you've a thick skin.

To add a bit more info I drove a rental one of these once and in all honesty you'll feel like noddy in the thing very small interior and generally the word I use describing these is small. It's a city car so if you do a lot of motor way mileage look elsewhere. They''re well put together though for a fiat and it would be good for a spin every now and then if the missus owned one.

Did I mention it's a womans car :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

I own a twinair one, great little car. Agree about the 1.2 tho, it's very sluggish.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 145 ✭✭bigblackmug

Mr.Fred wrote: »
    Are you a man/woman??

I'd definitely class this as a womans car. Yes you may get some amount of forgiveness if it was an Abarth.

If you're a man I hope you've a thick skin.

To add a bit more info I drove a rental one of these once and in all honesty you'll feel like noddy in the thing very small interior and generally the word I use describing these is small. It's a city car so if you do a lot of motor way mileage look elsewhere. They''re well put together though for a fiat and it would be good for a spin every now and then if the missus owned one.

Did I mention it's a womans car :D

Could you please explain why it is a woman's car? Does it give clittoral stimulation or something else that a man can't appreciate due to his gender?

Yep you hit the nail on the head. :D

No, I think the correct expression is "push the button" and I think you're talking ****e. Get over yourself.

Aww diddums did I ruffle your little feminine feathers. Don't be so sensitive petal. I'm sure you make this car look all macho. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Maybe the OP genuinely isn't as insecure as yourself? The 1.2 is pretty flat though, although the twinair is said to be good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

Seriously - anyone who thinks this car (or any car for that matter) is a 'ladies car' needs to refer to the 'Canyonaro' episode of The Simpsons. Or invest rather more assurance in their gender identity. No-one is going to equate the size of the car with your weeny - you'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Anan1 wrote: »
    Maybe the OP genuinely isn't as insecure as yourself? The 1.2 is pretty flat though, although the twinair is said to be good.

I've personally not experienced the twin air however I'm lead to believe by someone who has one that the drink juice if you drive them in a manner which will provide entertainment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Ryano87

Thanks everyone for the input so far - Don't want this to turn into a feminine car debate - yes i'm aware of the womanly perception but then again I drove an mx-5 for 2 years and absolutely loved it - not worried what others think regarding the feminine image, i'm comfortable with my sexuality thanks!

I was also expecting the Abarth response - but cannot see any on carzone in dealership - only a twin-air (which I actually quite like except the black alloys).

I was full ready to do a deal today - I love the look of the 500 s but I keep coming back to that 1.2 engine niggle - once the shine of owning a new car wears off in a few weeks- would I just be frustrated with the power?

I do mainly city commuting btw.

Ryano87 wrote: »
    Thanks everyone for the input so far - Don't want this to turn into a feminine car debate - yes i'm aware of the womanly perception but then again I drove an mx-5 for 2 years and absolutely loved it - not worried what others think regarding the feminine image, i'm comfortable with my sexuality thanks!

I was also expecting the Abarth response - but cannot see any on carzone in dealership - only a twin-air (which I actually quite like except the black alloys).

I was full ready to do a deal today - I love the look of the 500 s but I keep coming back to that 1.2 engine niggle - once the shine of owning a new car wears off in a few weeks- would I just be frustrated with the power?

Only a bit of banter mate. Some folks are a little sensitive. :eek:

They're just not for me I need something with a bit more testicular fortitude :D

I do like the colour of the one in your op though.

Enjoy whichever way you go I'd have thought the mx-5 would've been more of a fun drive though.

ba_barabus wrote: »
    I've personally not experienced the twin air however I'm lead to believe by someone who has one that the drink juice if you drive them in a manner which will provide entertainment.
    So they say, but 'drink juice' is probably relative. The 1.4s seem cheap too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Cosmo K

I had one as a rental last week, loved it. Its not that small inside, ok, the rear seats are, but plenty of room in the front. The only thing I didn't like was the old 1.2 Punto/Panda engine, the 500 felt under powered with it.

I really think you quoted the wrong person. The only one on this thread who has displayed gender insecurity is Mr Fred.

Sorry, I did! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Always read this and the classics forum but rarely post - could do with some advice.

Traded in my MX-5 last Feb when my mum was buying a new car and took her focus instead. Have never really grown to love the car even though it is absolutely immaculate and therefore been thinking about changing it. In the last two weeks i've really had a liking for a Fiat 500 - this one....

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Fiat/500/Sport-**/36313823540128990/advert?channel=CARS

Would like your opinions before I make a final decision! - Test drove it and thought seating position was high and engine was a little sluggish (like the 1.4 focus)

Much appreciated,

Ryan

(My current focus here)
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Ford/Focus/ZETEC-1./201335218058525/advert?channel=CARS

Don't mind the begrudgers. I bought a new Cinquecento Sporting - in Yellow - way back when, and I seem to have survived unscathed....... :D

1.4? This ? http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/fiat-500-1-4-litre-petrol/5813098

Hint of the '50's of this colour set ;http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/for-sale/5756663

Enough power ? - I'd have thought so tbh....... http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/fiat-500-abarth-esseesse/5739246

If you're really doing most of your driving purely commuting, I don't think the 1.4 is going to do a lot for you that the 1.2 won't tbh. If the cost difference is negligible I would go for the 1.4 though.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

I own a twinair one, great little car. Agree about the 1.2 tho, it's very sluggish.

...I see that in various places - but in reality, what is consumption like in yours ?

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

Aww boo hoo.. will we all have a little cry together. Jesus with a user name like BIGBLACKMUG you'd imagine you'd be a bit more hardy and not such a sensitive flower..

I give up. Good Luck op

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

So they say, but 'drink juice' is probably relative. The 1.4s seem cheap too..

36mpg was the real world figure given to me. However they didn't give a hoot as the smiles per mile factor more than made up for it.

I'd genuinely like one. And as I'm holding off until the new year for a better purchase I'll actively be considering one then.

Aww boo hoo.. will we all have a little cry together. Jesus with a user name like BIGBLACKMUG you'd imagine you'd be a bit more hardy and not such a sensitive flower..
    Aren't you the one who's scared of what other people might think? :D

ehhh.. no.. FFS ye lads are gas. loads of craic in this forum I see. I can see why some of the older regular users are leaving.. what a shower..

Might actually call in and see that one in Paddy Connollys today

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/fiat-500-1-4-litre-petrol/5813098

I just thought the asking price was a little crazy! - I'll see how much he wants with the focus. And although I really like it did some research last night - given to ferrari customers as a lend while their car was being serviced so 1 owner but probably a very hard life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

Lads, lets face it, woman's car or not every time you pull up beside a 500 in traffic you check out how hot the driver is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭BdaraB

veetwin wrote: »
    Lads, lets face it, woman's car or not every time you pull up beside a 500 in traffic you check out how hot the driver is?

I hope the OP's a good looking man then

I give up. Good Luck op
    I don't see how my favourite piece of pottery from which I drink my tea every evening has any relevance to the thread.

veetwin wrote: »

How you not know he (OP) isn't hot?

ehhh.. no.. FFS ye lads are gas. loads of craic in this forum I see. I can see why some of the older regular users are leaving.. what a shower..

No over-sensitivity apparent there then. :rolleyes:

And although I really like it did some research last night - given to ferrari customers as a lend while their car was being serviced so 1 owner but probably a very hard life!
    That's only marketing nonsense to reassure people like Mr Fred that they won't be laughed at in it. I think it's crazy money for the wrong colour and cheap-looking leather, but sure a quick spin can't do any harm!

alastair wrote: »
    How you not know he (OP) isn't hot?

Ha ha this has escalated quickly :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭00sully

OP - I have the twinair version of this and it is awesome. test drove all varieties and nothing is as fun as the twinair - I say don't hesitate! I went to England to get mine as was MUCH cheaper the VRT was very cheap considering the emissions from the twinair are so low. I love this car!! I've gone from an Audi-TT to a Focus 1.6 diesel to this and do not miss any power. it's also great on the motorways surprisingly enough :)

go the classic black with Italian stripes ;) real head turner! I am male. my car is made of metal mostly can't find any gender associated parts but have not looked too thoroughly :pac:

I heard we should all get silver meganes and dress the same too ;)

edit: should add that total cost of mine 2011 black full leather twinair worked out at €11,500! try get that price over here!

Thanks - Ha same type of car progression as myself! - SO you really wouldn't recommend the 1.2? as in the twin air is like chalk and cheese? -

Love the spec of this one (Mainly the wheels - & can get a good deal as it is a demo - Have been to see this one)

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Fiat/500/500s-1.2/37713803149868090/advert?channel=CARS

or this one - Love it inside but not mad about stripes or wheels

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Abarth/500/BY-ABART/36513799492031640/advert?channel=CARS

Thanks for responses everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

Are you a man/woman??

I'd definitely class this as a womans car.

Can someone explain why so many folk on here need their car to promote their sexuality for them ?

Some seriously great cars get lambasted here for being a woman's car despite being cracking cars

Puma, MX5, Mini to name but a few.

I know what my sexuality is before I buy and therefore am free to buy whatever I want !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭00sully

Thanks - Ha same type of car progression as myself! - SO you really wouldn't recommend the 1.2? as in the twin air is like chalk and cheese? -

Love the spec of this one (Mainly the wheels - & can get a good deal as it is a demo - Have been to see this one)

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Fiat/500/500s-1.2/37713803149868090/advert?channel=CARS

or this one - Love it inside but not mad about stripes or wheels

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Abarth/500/BY-ABART/36513799492031640/advert?channel=CARS

Thanks for responses everyone

yes the 1.2 is so under powered compared to the twinair. I really can't stress that enough. I even found the 1.4 not as good to drive as the twinair to be honest.

the abarth now is a different beast altogether but have never driven one. I think those stripes are decals and the dealer can take em off for you!

The one thing about the twinair is you won't really use it in eco mode and even in eco mode it's hard to get the MPG they quote! I don't really care though it's so much fun in non-eco mode :cool:

with regards car gender obsessed people - you can't reason with the ignorant :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

ba_barabus wrote: »

There's a lot of truth in that. Manufacturer's figures are something silly like 71.1 mpg. Using the eco-mode, I get around 50mpg, but it makes the car very gutless. It's massive fun with eco-mode turned off though, loads of torque. I get around 45mpg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Mr.Fred this thread isn't about your perceptions of women's/men's cars.
    Frankly I don't give a toss and it would be nice if people could come asking about all kinds of cars without getting slagged like this.

Infraction handed out and if you have nothing constructive to add, don't post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Friend of mine bought a nice looking Bravo not so long ago. Sport seats, great looking low profile 17 inches wheels. The car looks like a beast if it wasn't 1.4 non turbo engine. He still regrets not going for T-jet engine.
    Don't make the same mistake. Better to wait for the right one to show up for sale rather than buy now whatever is available and regret later