Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The perfect taxi?

• 27-10-2013 8:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭

Hi all
    I currently drive a 06 e320 as a taxi and tbh I'm getting bored!
    What would use suggest for around the 20k mark!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Weekend in Vegas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

Only back thanks..
    I would consider a van but would need to weigh up the pros and cons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Tbh, sounds like you have the perfect taxi. I'd definitely walk straight for a car like that over a van.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Audi A8 TDi or 730d?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

760Li

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Blah, can I ask a serious question? I thought there was no money to be made at taxiing these days? Every driver I speak to bemoans how bad it is. What are you doing differently?

No van is going to be more interesting to drive than what you have. Like going back in time and the novelty would wear damn thin very quick I'd reckon. Just my 2c. :) A 5 or 7 series might be more fun.

760Li

Good luck finding a 760Li, and further good luck finding one for €20,000!

Kaiser D wrote: »
    Fine 535d then! At least the fuel is right
    I'd say a 760li could be found for less than 20k though. Or an S600 - they are going for under 5k in the luxobarge thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Very lightly to be cheaper than the smallest diesel engined 7 in this country:)

S320cdi? only thing that would be better IMO

dgt wrote: »

That is insanely cheap, cheapest e60 m5 I have seen here.

Another M5 for 10900 :p

Full-22936115.jpeg

Or this for 10000!

Full-24239446.jpeg

How about a Turbo R? 15000

Full-17402715.jpeg

Would it actually be worth while buying something along the lines of a 750i and having an LPG system fitted?

yes :D

AFAIK you can't have a petrol (non hybrid) car registered as a taxi. Open to correction though.

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    AFAIK you can't have a petrol (non hybrid) car registered as a taxi. Open to correction though.

I don't think this is true.

This place here rents new or new-ish petrol taxis

http://www.newtaxisupplier.com/

My father ran a petrol taxi for years. It was LPG'd though.

I knew a chap who had a petril Prado (4.7 Straight 6 I think?) as a taxi not too long ago, wasn't LPG'd and a pig on fuel :pac:

My father ran a petrol taxi for years. It was LPG'd though.

I knew a chap who had a petril Prado (4.7 Straight 6 I think?) as a taxi not too long ago, wasn't LPG'd and a pig on fuel :pac:

I thought it came in around the time of the age limit... I don't know though

Last time I saw that Prado as a taxi was about 2011 ;)

Ah fair enough, M5 it is so :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2006-bmw-750li/5842445

i really dont think itll get better than this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

I have seen a few sub 15k in the past few months...

How about the 06+ s class merc?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Do taxis not have to be less than 4 years old now?

Hi there
    I'm just working as a taxi should? Not doing anything spectacular.
    I actually don't work Saturday nights and still survive. Just don't sit on a rank expecting work come to you. The only guys that complain about it are the oul lads that were making 1000s back in the day.
    I'm happy making what I'm making.
    I like the e320 but I am very bored with it.
    Fuel bills a but of a nightmare tbh.
    I was looking at vans but that's weekend work mainly and I enjoy my weekend night off.
    Also looking at the 7 series but fuel bill same as e320?
    I'm heading up north tomorrow to Charles hurst compound so going to look around there.
    I think an Audi would grow on me but would need a DVD tv on board.

Blah, can I ask a serious question? I thought there was no money to be made at taxiing these days? Every driver I speak to bemoans how bad it is. What are you doing differently?

No van is going to be more interesting to drive than what you have. Like going back in time and the novelty would wear damn thin very quick I'd reckon. Just my 2c. :) A 5 or 7 series might be more fun.

Whilst not exciting as the 7 series or similar, the Jag XF can be picked up for absolute peanuts.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Jaguar/XF/3.0-DIES/36613809738855850/advert?channel=CARS

2009 XF for way under €20,000 here.

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    Do taxis not have to be less than 4 years old now?

Nope that was all back tracked now. I think it's if your a current driver it's 9 or 14 years. Don't think it's really confirmed yet.

Couldn't justify the mileage spending so much money. I bought the e320 last year with 130kms for €10,000

Whilst not exciting as the 7 series or similar, the Jag XF can be picked up for absolute peanuts.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Jaguar/XF/3.0-DIES/36613809738855850/advert?channel=CARS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

Old Chinese curse "May you have an interesting life"

Your car is boring, therefore it is trouble free. Accept your blessings. You already have an ideal taxi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I think the OP is looking for something cheaper to run than his current car so posting V8 Audi's and M5's probably isn't helpful.

Ye I think your right. If I'm paying out 20k I want to gain something back in saved fuel because I may aswell stick with the 320 if that's the case.
    But is there anything out there. This is were I'm struggling

I think the OP is looking for something cheaper to run than his current car so posting V8 Audi's and M5's probably isn't helpful.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Ford/Mondeo/TITANIUM/36313795389600120/advert?channel=CARS

Ford Mondeo 2.0 diesel automatic in Titanium spec, looks like the original owner ticked nearly all of the option boxes when new too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

That looks class and if I was to pick a taxi to ring I would ring the guy with this one every time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I don't think you are going to better the E Class then, there is a reason they are the most popular taxi across the Continent.

Would a well speced Superb not fit the bill? Easier on juice, spacious and almost built to be a Taxi. Nice to drive as well. Not glamorous, but very fit for purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,843 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Would a well speced Superb not fit the bill? Easier on juice, spacious and almost built to be a Taxi. Nice to drive as well. Not glamorous, but very fit for purpose.

a good call but in this instance if the OPs Merc is working well - he (or she) may be better off to keep working with the Merc.

Anything that will save fuel in comparison will be more boring then an E320 (imo).

Superbs a nice car though in general - but having to deal with a 4 cylinder diesel after coming out of a nice 6 cylinder diesel would make me :(:(:(

But the fuel savings, and the cheaper repairs, might make you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Ford/Mondeo/TITANIUM/36313795389600120/advert?channel=CARS

Ford Mondeo 2.0 diesel automatic in Titanium spec, looks like the original owner ticked nearly all of the option boxes when new too.

Is that not Ford Irelands contribution to the Lord Mayor of Langerland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dh0011

OP would you consider being a sheep and getting an avensis?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dh0011

By the way every year the car with the reg year-C-1 (Mondeo) is for the lordmayor of cork. He has to give the car back after 12 months so you can easily find the original owner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

As it stands now if you replace the 06 Merc your next vehicle will need replacing when it gets to over 9 y.o so things like the http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=87222159&postcount=10 will need replacing 2014/15 depending on date of 1st registration.

Likewise http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=87222310&postcount=13 is already past its use by date

The Jaguar XF http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=87222802&postcount=26 doesn't have full approval by the NTA for use as a taxi and could be risky unless you ensure approval before purchasing
    http://6311664e1a241bd4b58f-3999d26af054d711e4557be72bd8ff23.r3.cf3.rackcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/09/Model_Report_Database_13-08-13.pdf

buy a new bike and keep the Merc :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

blahblah06 wrote: »
    Ye I think your right. If I'm paying out 20k I want to gain something back in saved fuel because I may aswell stick with the 320 if that's the case.
    But is there anything out there. This is were I'm struggling

Is it petrol or diesel ?

If petrol stick on LPG for a grand and buy fuel around 90 cent.

To be fair, that wasnt mentioned in the original post

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,346 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

No point posting older cars lads. The OP will have to indie by the 10 year rule for his next taxi IIRC.

So even though he technically could use an E60 M5 from 2005, he would only get up to 2015 with it so it wouldn't be financially viable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭bigroad

Hyundai montana with leather 170bhp or a mercedes vito /minibus with the 120cdi v6 diesel 204bhp.Good visibility from both .Quicker to get people and their bags in and out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Fuk sake, none of that fancy ****e!!

Just go and get a lovely wanked out jap box, my suggestion;

1993 Toyota Carina XLi Daysul, preferably in faded red with black bumpers, little magic tree hanging from the rear view, a film of daysul soot covering the boot.

Now THATS a taxi, http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/a-legend-from-drumshanbo-to-donaghmede/5740264

I Was VB wrote: »

1993 Toyota Carina XLi Daysul, preferably in faded red with black bumpers, little magic tree hanging from the rear view, a film of daysul soot covering the boot.

Now THATS a taxi, http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/a-legend-from-drumshanbo-to-donaghmede/5740264

I'd love it but jaysis Id be near scared to call that one, never know who you are goin to see.

I Was VB wrote: »

Is that your one VB?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

That's mad, my car has a one of a kind number plate too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Is that your one VB?