Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rock pools,worms, conkers, forts and fire's

• 27-10-2013 10:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭

Growing up as a kid I loved playing along the shoreline, fishing for trout and eels in the river, collecting conkers in the Autumn and lighting small fire's etc
    Building forts, cycling from one village to another. ..

Going on adventures, coming home up to my neck in mud etc

Do kid's from 8 to 14 still do any of that today ?

If they're not I think they're missing out on something.

I grew up in the 7os and 80's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Kids in the 00's just have sex instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Apologies for possibly coming across as a grammar nazi here, but I'm curious as to the logic in putting the apostrophe in for "fires" but none of the others...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

I was 14 around the year 2006. Still did all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mackeire

Geomy wrote: »
    Growing up as a kid I loved playing along the shoreline, fishing for trout and eels in the river, collecting conkers in the Autumn and lighting small fire's etc

i bring my 5 year old son out doing these things :)
    not because he wants to, because I want to :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

We're in the 10's now :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,862 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Ficheall wrote: »
    Apologies for possibly coming across as a grammar nazi here, but I'm curious as to the logic in putting the apostrophe in for "fires" but none of the others...

You missed out kid's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Kids round these parts still do same sh*t I done except they've dirt bikes now :(

Collecting conkers is fair ghey though, no one does that. Small fires? Nah. At least 5 gallons of petrol was used always. Your youth sounds like something out of The Waltons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭Geomy

You missed out kid's.

Predict text was the problem there, im not great at writing.
    Sorry about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Unlucky you, my friends and I were having sex with the parish priest in the 80s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Ficheall wrote: »

Grammer Nazi? Not at all

I managed to read it fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Growing up as a kid I loved playing along the shoreline, fishing for trout an eels in the river, collecting conkers in the Autumn and lighting small fire's etc

Growing up in tallaght in early 90s we had a lot of wooded areas like the Dodder park, we had forts, rocks and concurs were used to fend off the rival estate kids and small fires were for burning down the other kids forts.

i assume it's all knives and hammers these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭funt cucker

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Growing up in tallaght in early 90s we had a lot of wooded areas like the Dodder park, we had forts, rocks and concurs were used to fend off the rival estate kids and small fires were for burning down the other kids forts.

I remember that, then off over to "bago's" land to see will he come out and shoot you with the pelet gun.

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Kids round these parts still do same sh*t I done except they've dirt bikes now :(

Collecting conkers is fair ghey though, no one does that. Small fires? Nah. At least 5 gallons of petrol was used always. Your youth sounds like something out of The Waltons.

Lol more like Dennis the menace mixed in with a bit of Neds, maybe a dash of romper stomper and round it off with Quadrophenia....

It wasn't all The Waltons,try growing up in Little Belfast (Shannon)during the 80s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Oranage2 wrote: »

Definitely....not enough concurring going on between rival groups of kids these days.

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Definitely....not enough concurring going on between rival groups of kids these days.

We used to fight with the next door estate,we're all friends now but being a kid when we were caught we thought we were a dead man lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

We used to fight with the next door estate,we're all friends now but being a kid when we were caught we thought we were a dead man lol

Likewise...I grew up in a council flat complex and the rivalry between the kids from each block was crazy...would normally peak about this time each year when you would have to put life and limb on the line to defend the bonfire wood....other times differences would be settled with a football match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

I grew up in the 90s and we still did all that. My younger cousins (about 7or 8 years younger) wouldn't step outside their back door when they were young lads - stuck inside watching TV or playing Xbox!

I'm not saying we didn't play with consoles or watch TV but most of the fun parts of my childhood happened outside. Maybe our parents just made us, whereas today's parents are too afraid of the boogeyman!

I bet it happens with the pre-teens of today,kids imagination is something that can't be destroyed by computer games or similar.

Used to love going on "adventures" with the pals,building rafts out of pallets and barrels,exploring caves and woods.

Hopefully we will be able to move back home in a few years,I really want the kids to be able to roam the countryside the way I could when I was young.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

dmc17 wrote: »
    We're in the 10's now :pac:

Yeeeeeah and?

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Likewise...I grew up in a council flat complex and the rivalry between the kids from each block was crazy...would normally peak about this time each year when you would have to put life and limb on the line to defend the bonfire wood....other times differences would be settled with a football match.

Lol I can identify with that rivalry etc
    For some strange reason some of the biggest rascals and messers in my home town came from the posher area's

The misfits from those part's preferred hanging out with estate kid's

We had some classic break dance, dance offs back then too.
    Those summer evenings, roll of lino, can of pledge and ghetto blaster :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭Birroc

Great thread. I often wonder the same. I am making my kids live an 80s childhood thus far. No xbox or cable/sky and we all spend lots of time outdoors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 sparesandwich

Last night I saw a bunch of kids tearing down the middle of Parnell street dragging around a big stack of pallets with a pallet truck. And I shed a tear for old Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

OP I done all those things too, the lighting small fires usually resulted in criminal damage though but sure it was a bit of craic.

Done the conkers thing too, cycled everywhere as fast as I could pedal and hated being stuck indoors.

Today's youth are missing out big time I think. I don't think its their parents fault though, there are more dangers around today, roads are busier and parents tend to restrain their kids activities for safety sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I spent a lot of my childhood soaked from mucking about in the local river. Practically lived in the local woods during the day in summer. We used to get old lorry tyre tubes, pump them up and go rafting on them. Good times.

We used to go on treks to find the best horse chestnut trees whose spawn would give us super conkers.Used to dip them in vaseline and let them in the hot press for the night-don't Think it worked though.Always had to have a stick too-whereever you go....go there with a big stick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

crockholm wrote: »
    ....Always had to have a stick too-whereever you go....go there with a big stick.

Yeah a stick with a sharpened point which you done with your penknife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭NoCrackHaving

We used to start fires using rolls of toilet paper and cans of Lynx back in the 90s, set cones on fire with fireworks...the more I think about it we were pretty obsessed with fire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

I spent a lot of my childhood soaked from mucking about in the local river. Practically lived in the local woods during the day in summer. We used to get old lorry tyre tubes, pump them up and go rafting on them. Good times.

Yes indeed, tyre tubes were like gold in my youth. We used to patch them, inflate and then sit in them for miles on the local river. Heaven.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Zed Bank

Yeah all that stuff is still done, im 16, grew up in the 00s and I can tell you all that was done, especially because most of us were in the scouts. Was it our generation who first started putting nail varnish on conkers? We used to go camping, fishing, outdoor pursuits. Can't say I particularly liked it at the time but it was fun being around your friends and I gained some invaluable memories. Did I answer your question OP?

We used to start fires using rolls of toilet paper and cans of Lynx back in the 90s, set cones on fire with fireworks...the more I think about it we were pretty obsessed with fire.

We would use the Lynx as flame throwers and then throw them on fire to watch explode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I was a pretty urban kid, so didn't get to do stuff like that at home. We'd go camping every summer though and then I'd have weeks of rock pooling, damming streams, and general riot-running. Fantastic memories.

These days my nephew has to be forcibly removed from his room and shows no interest in things like watching spiders eat flies or collecting interesting rocks, the weirdo.

Water and Fire is the constant theme here. My hero was Huck Finn. Who are the heroes of today?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

thread makes me want to go out and climb the tallest tree I can find. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Systemic Risk

Ya grew up in 80s and 90s. We spent loads of times up to all the things in the OP and wandering around countryside.

My favourite time of year was coming up to bonfire night. We would collect branches for weeks before hand, going for miles and dragging them back tied to the back of our bikes. We would have a stack higher than a two story house. The guys from the village used to come down and try steal our branches so the word would go around the area and we would all get together and battle the off.

Fun times :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Kersh

Back in the 80s, we used to go to Santry Woods and collect tadpoles, fish for sticklebacks and pinkeens. It was deadly.

Mucking around in rock pools in Malahide and Portmarnock was a favourite too when the family went out there.

My 21 month old loves doing that now. Throwing rocks in, looking for crabs :D

And of course I get to have a root around too :cool:

My favourite time of year was coming up to bonfire night. We would collect branches for weeks before hand, going for miles and dragging them back tied to the back of our bikes. We would have a stack higher than a two story house. The guys from the village used to come down and try steal our branches so the word would go around the area and we would all get together and battle the off.

Fun times :-)
    Stealing tyres off sileage heaps was dangerous work before bonfire night. I saw a drunk lad drive his motorbike thru a bonfire one year. It didn't work out for him too well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Systemic Risk

Stealing tyres off sileage heaps was dangerous work before bonfire night. I saw a drunk lad drive his motorbike thru a bonfire one year. It didn't work out for him too well.

Our neighbours usually donated loads of tyres to us for the bonfire every year. Jaysus there was no drunken antics like that at our bonfires. It was a big community event ran by the kids with bbqs fizzy drinks and loadsa sweets. All the parents woulda ran anyone up to that sort of divilment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Zed Bank wrote: »
    Yeah all that stuff is still done, im 16, grew up in the 00s and I can tell you all that was done, especially because most of us were in the scouts. Was it our generation who first started putting nail varnish on conkers?

The arrogance of youth. :rolleyes:

:P:P:P:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

we had a fort of all forts, unfortunately some smack heads realised this and the closest neighbour to the woods put an end to our fun, that ****er was actually built better than priory hall :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

We have a raft race on Lough Corrib every year. I built one a few years ago but it fell apart sank after 100m.