Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have Irish men turned feminine

• 26-10-2013 7:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭

This September I went back to study a post-grad having left education over a decade ago.
    Majority of the class are younger than I by about 10yrs,so there is a generational gap between us.
    Thing is I have noticed that a lot of these fellas are way more feminine in their grooming than the lads I went to college with 10yrs ago.
    They wear Skinny jeans,perfectly quiffed gel hair,one lad was wearing eyeliner on a few occasions.
    Its a business course and the girls in the class would not be as concerned with their appearance as some of the lads.
    At coffee they speak like that lot of geordie shore,compare fashion tips and idolize some of that crowd.
    I really don`t get it at all,is this the norm for early 20 yr old or did I get an odd class.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 54 ✭✭Sleevoo

hedgehog2 wrote: »
    This September I went back to study a post-grad having left education over a decade ago.
    Majority of the class are younger than I by about 10yrs,so there is a generational gap between us.
    Thing is I have noticed that a lot of these fellas are way more feminine in their grooming than the lads I went to college with 10yrs ago.
    They wear Skinny jeans,perfectly quiffed gel hair,one lad was wearing eyeliner on a few occasions.
    Its a business course and the girls in the class would not be as concerned with their appearance as some of the lads.
    At coffee they speak like that lot of geordie shore,compare fashion tips and idolize some of that crowd.
    I really don`t get it at all,is this the norm for early 20 yr old or did I get an odd class.

I think other factors supercede fashion sense in determining masculinity.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 175 ✭✭sonny jim bob jones

Sleevoo wrote: »
    I think other factors supercede fashion sense in determining masculinity.

Like blokes wearing eyeshadow...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭StickyIcky

I know when I was younger I put a little more effort into my fashion and appearance than I do now...

It could be a current fashion trend and or phase.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Aw man I hate male hipster metrosexuals!

Just cut your nutsack off and post them to "P.O Box - I can't fit into my jeans if I have these -"

I blame Jesus, a good rapture would sort that lot out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 755 ✭✭✭sea_monkey

what the heck are you doing in learnin those words? words are no good to you cuttin turf ya big ovary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Every generation to there own, wouldn't think they are any more feminine than than Adan ant or the new wave people of the 80's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

They have yeah. I was out recently and some guy asked if he could get inside my knickers..........

.........As if they would fit him like!!!!:-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

But how many girls are they banging due to it?

Not sure these lads would be into that sort of thing. Unless banging means something else these days? Like poking on the Facebook or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

It's fashion, soon enough it will be unfashionable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Well-groomed men, the horror! I imagine the OP is wearing bootcut jeans and a GAA jersey.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    It's fashion, soon enough it will be unfashionable.

I hope the "step" hair style comes back, I'm gonna get soooo laid.

Well-groomed men, the horror! I imagine the OP is wearing bootcut jeans and a GAA jersey.

He's one of them! Quick get him!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

A lot of what we consider masculine or feminine is really just cultural norms. Back in the day little boys would wear dresses (just like the girls) and pink was considered a masculine color (like blood), and blue was the 'girl's color.

It would be FAR more accurate to say that Irish women have turned masculine. In the past 100 years they've completely adopted many formerly-male styles - like pants, and seriously redefined their boundaries in society (participating in sports, getting jobs, fighting in wars).

Jeans weren't popular until the late 1800s and they were clothing 'for men' at the time. Skinny Jeans were first popular in main-stream media in the 1950s and it was popularized *by men* first.

Roy Rogers, Lone Ranger, Cisco Kid, Zorro, and especially Elvis Presley made skinny jeans popular. It wasn't exclusively men only, but it was primarily guys.

I'm not a fashion expert, but from what I recall, the 90s brought in the era of men wearing baggy clothes. From then until a few years ago; skinny jeans were predominately for women....but that's just a tiny part of history.

I'm old and married, so I don't care; but I'd wear whatever pants I thought would help get me laid. That's about as masculine as it gets, IMHO. If skinny jeans are popular, I will wear skinny jeans. If baggy jeans are popular, that's what I'll wear.

UCDVet wrote: »
    A lot of what we consider masculine or feminine is really just cultural norms. Back in the day little boys would wear dresses (just like the girls) and pink was considered a masculine color (like blood), and blue was the 'girl's color.

It would be FAR more accurate to say that Irish women have turned masculine. In the past 100 years they've completely adopted many formerly-male styles - like pants, and seriously redefined their boundaries in society (participating in sports, getting jobs, fighting in wars).

Jeans weren't popular until the late 1800s and they were clothing 'for men' at the time. Skinny Jeans were first popular in main-stream media in the 1950s and it was popularized *by men* first.

Roy Rogers, Lone Ranger, Cisco Kid, Zorro, and especially Elvis Presley made skinny jeans popular. It wasn't exclusively men only, but it was primarily guys.

I'm not a fashion expert, but from what I recall, the 90s brought in the era of men wearing baggy clothes. From then until a few years ago; skinny jeans were predominately for women....but that's just a tiny part of history.

I'm old and married, so I don't care; but I'd wear whatever pants I thought would help get me laid. That's about as masculine as it gets, IMHO. If skinny jeans are popular, I will wear skinny jeans. If baggy jeans are popular, that's what I'll wear.

Are you try guy who takes up a second seat on the bus with his bag and refuses to move the bag, or is that someone else? Apologies if it is someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

Jayzus, one bloke moaning about other blokes being well groomed and he classes our groomed brothers as feminine, wtf?

OP, taking good care of yourself is actually quite masculine, it will attract a few ladies :)

Would you rather go around smelling like underarm pong and your whole body smelling like sewerage?! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

moxin wrote: »
    Jayzus, one bloke moaning about other blokes being well groomed and he classes our groomed brothers as feminine, wtf?

OP, taking good care of yourself is actually quite masculine, it will attract a few ladies :)

Would you rather go around smelling like underarm pong and your whole body smelling like sewerage?! :eek:

there is being clean and manly and then there is what he described.
    they are far removed from each other.

It doesn't attract ladies - or at least the ones i know

Apart from the eyeliner bit(though male stage actors use it), which of what the OP described is unmanly?

Skinny jeans is just fashion, it ain't a feminine trait. Gelled hair is a sign of one taking care of his appearance, so care to elaborate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

Are you try guy who takes up a second seat on the bus with his bag and refuses to move the bag, or is that someone else? Apologies if it is someone else.

That wasn't quite my stance; but yeah, I'm pretty sure I'm that guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

I think what the op means is lads taking too much time & effort on their appearance,was watching a documentary about A&E at one of the Spanish resorts,they interviewed a crowd of lads before they hit the town,hair straighteners,checking the chest waxing turned out ok,2 of the lads had fake tan sprays before they went on holidays.
    Some lads are influenced too much by the likes of Geordie Shore etc.I personally know one guy who goes to fix his hair and check his appearance at half time in football matches he's playing in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭An Riabhach

I think this can happen to men of any age-especially those in the public eye who get a lot of female fan mail,e.g TV presenters,newsreaders,actors,singers,sports players etc...if women find them attractive then they turn themselves into "pretty-boys"

Siúl leat, siúl leat, le dóchas i do chroí, is ní shiúlfaidh tú i d'aonar go deo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭The Big Smoke

Some Men will do whatever to attract the ladyfolk and vice-versa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

Yeah I think that's the point the OP is trying to make. I'm a mature student too and compared to 15 years ago when I was last in college, it does look like the young fellas are spending a lot of time getting their hair coloured etc. But who can blame them when every waking moment of their lives gets tagged in Facebook for the world to see? I do feel a bit sorry for them, they get judged more on their looks than lads did back in the 90's IMO. When I was in college then, the right band t-shirt and being able to play 3 chords on a guitar was good enough for me:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

A lot of posters on here don't know the difference between Pansies and real men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

sea_monkey wrote: »
    what the heck are you doing in learnin those words? words are no good to you cuttin turf ya big ovary

I'm filing that away in my "WTF?" folder :D

Still laughing ten minutes later :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭The Big Smoke

Sam Kade wrote: »
    A lot of posters on here don't know the difference between Pansies and real men.

Some women like pansies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

I've a 17 year old son, who spends longer doing his hair, showering and choosing his clothes than my daughter ever did. To me, he's a big ghey nancy looking yoke. But, girls seem to disagree and the little gits a horn-dog who spends his life chasing them and has a great looking girlfriend. So maybe more feminine looking, but I'd say they're all still driven by whats in their trousers regardless. The big poofs.

I'd say they're all still driven by whats in their trousers regardless. The big poofs.

If he keeps wearing skinny jeans he won't have anything in his trousers in a while:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Friend Computer

Every other poster is smart enough not to use a term so nebulous it has no meaning. :pac:

What's a real man? Please tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭TheHighest92

When I moved to england a few years ago I came across alot of southerners (ROI people) and I remember texting a friend saying 'every southerner i've heard here sounds like jedward, independence must have turned them into bandits'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

When I moved to england a few years ago I came across alot of southerners (ROI people) and I remember texting a friend saying 'every southerner i've heard here sounds like jedward, independence must have turned them into bandits'
    Which is gas, cos southerners tend to think northerners are all bandits as well. With their mullets. Pah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Can't stand that Geordie Shore ponceyness either. Don't tell me it's just mere grooming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

It's this sh1t with hugs that grinds my gears,ffs the common handshake is perfectly appropriate in most of the situations. I recently had the brother in law (Swedish,wears red skinny jeans and a scarf and is actually married to a woman,and an evangelical no less) at our Place.

Upon leaving, I attempted to shake hands with him and though our hands were gripped,he was attemptimg some form of flanking maneuver whereby he could hug me,given that we were still shaking hands,I just rotated to my left,avoiding the clench.

It was very uncomfortable,and we did look like badly trained ball dancers pirouetting.Just have to give him a punch om the shoulder next time I suppose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

The whole Irish man-thing is gone fruitcake-style. Eye liner you say, every one to their own i suppose. I used to wear those drainpipe jeans and the black stretchees in the 80's and 90's, now i wear flares ;) but the 80's - 90's style seems to be back in :mad:. Every 20 years the old style seems to come back, and it's funny to see because it feels like i'm back-in-time in the 80's.

Quiff's you say, there's a bit of the 50's in there as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

Can't stand that Geordie Shore ponceyness either. Don't tell me it's just mere grooming.QUOTE]

Yeah vanity is never attractive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭Dublinpato

Just cut your nutsack off and post them to "P.O Box - I can't fit into my jeans if I have these -"

Don't lie Senor Fancy Pants i seen you waiting for the bus in your fancy pant's:pac:

http://img.gawkerassets.com/img/18wa017lbk4vojpg/k-bigpic.jpg

Every other poster is smart enough not to use a term so nebulous it has no meaning. :pac:
    Sorry, did I insult you.
    moxin wrote: »
    What's a real man? Please tell.
    One that isn't a pansie (act like a girl) ;)

What would these guys do if the fuse went in the plug of their hair straighteners? Most of these haven't hands to scratch their arses.

Nothing wrong with trying to look good but this craic of taking longer than your missus to get ready to go out takes the biscuit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

I spotted three such specimens crossing the ha'penny bridge today all under one umbrella and laughing like they were in Sex and the City.

Didn't guys in the 1980's wear eyeliner too?

I think it's the opposite, I think people are turning full circle back to the gender norms of the olden days.

Bottom line is, men will do what we please, and if the women dig it then they'll follow along like their mothers followed our fathers. If they don't like us, then we'll think of complicated psychological tricks to make them believe we're alpha males, thank you Neil Strauss mwahaha :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 kragenmore

god forbid anyone defies gender stereotypes :rolleyes:

One that isn't a pansie (act like a girl) ;)

Huh, you never answered there.

Please define what a real man should be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Its a new skanger fashion all the Geordie shore stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

I do have a hair-straightener, moisturizer, hair moose, hair spray because I have long hair (think harry styles even though i don't like pop music) but I really do hate men's fashion these days.

I go out in a t-shirt/jeans most nights but I do like to pay attention to my appearance. I hate having short hair and since my hair is really thick & wavy I have to do something with it (can't use gel in long hair and it frizzes like mad). In the end I think I look good. I feel confident. That doesn't mean I'm feminine. I don't have any feminine side and I'm not in 'touch' with anything.

I'm a man and I can still kick the ass of any guy who says otherwise.:pac:

I'm also as hairy as f:mad:ck. Would never go smooth but a hair trimmer keeps it presentable.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

And you see the normal lads acting like jock/douchebag/frat boys its so annoying.But act all sensitive and like kids for girls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

kragenmore wrote: »
    god forbid anyone defies gender stereotypes :rolleyes:

Ahh stop with that nonsense, most people couldn't care less about fashion trends and vanity, let alone care about "gender stereotypes".

It's the people that seek to "defy" something imaginary that are being ridiculed, as they should be with their time spent fannying about in front of a mirror to look like pretty boys.

Thankfully they only make up a small subset of society that gives a shìt about fashion and trends, bemoaning being consigned to the "friendzone" while women who want sex are interested in men who aren't so into themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Friend Computer

Sorry, did I insult you.

No, no, I'm just curious as to why you think "real man" has any meaning. Because I just know this is going to turn into a "no true Scotsman" thing and I'm eager to watch you crash and burn.

What part of acting like a girl don't you understand? If you are a man and act like a girl putting on make up having girly chat with your like minded male friends.