Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quitting college to sign on Dole

• 26-10-2013 10:26am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭

The governments plan has backfired, I know 3 students that have quit college this week, to sign on the dole, to get the €144 rate instead of the new €100 rate that comes in for new applicants under 25 in January.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Smart feckers. The education wasn't wasted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

Yet again another dole thread..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭overpronator

Those 3 will bring the system down for sure. Vive la revolution!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

More fool them. But then again I wouldn't like them to be my colleagues if that's how they think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Harpy

July Rain wrote: »
    The governments plan has backfired, I know 3 students that have quit college this week, to sign on the dole, to get the €144 rate instead of the new €100 rate that comes in for new applicants under 25 in January.

If that's true I've lost all faith in the future of this country if that's the mindset of some people.. We'll see how they feel about that decision in about 3 years when they're stuck on the dole with no qualifications and they'll prob find that a lot of the back to education and all those benefits could also be gone so they'll find themselves in some rut..

There are people that waste their education because they can't motivate themselves to get a degree. They think life is all about partying and then they end up on the dole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Nabber

I'm quitting my job for butter vouchers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Harpy wrote: »
    If that's true I've lost all faith in the future of this country if that's the mindset of some people.. We'll see how they feel about that decision in about 3 years when they're stuck on the dole with no qualifications and they'll prob find that a lot of the back to education and all those benefits could also be gone so they'll find themselves in some rut..

at that point they'll be in college getting the third level allowance and the grant.

If they stayed in college they'd be unemployed in three years time and looking at leaving the country.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

I'd like to meet them when they're 40 serving me my big mac.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

that wont happen cos they'll still be on the dole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭TheBody

That had to be up there as the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard. Talk about short-sighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

How much is wasted each year sending gob****es who aren't suited to 3rd level education to college in the form of these grants? My father had to pay my living expenses through 4 years, he's not a wealthy man. Maybe there could be a government loan system like in the States. I paid my father back when I started earning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'd imagine it costs the state more to keep them in college than keep them on the dole. If more wasters did likewise then it is a masterstroke of genius by the government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

So you got a problem with them if they don't work and then if they do get work you belittle them???

Stay classy pal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

i honestly do not understand their motivation to leave a solid educational institution to sign on the dole, and then people like me who isnt in college, on the dole and i dread it, looking for part time work and trying to make my way to college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Doylers

What were they studying OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Doylers wrote: »

Politics and Economics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭judgefudge

Harpy wrote: »
    If that's true I've lost all faith in the future of this country if that's the mindset of some people..

Why would you lose faith because of three eijits? There are plenty of young people out there working hard to get where they want to be in life. There's always going to be wasters around, I don't see why you would choose to see them as representative of the mindset of young people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

WOW.

Sums up the snobbery of modern day Ireland. Stay classy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

TheBody wrote: »
    That had to be up there as the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard. Talk about short-sighted.

I will if you like but the thread's really about leaving college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Did they quit because they were completely out of their depth in college or for dole? Either suggests a lack of intelligence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭barrackali

Those lads sound like some of the dumbest fcuks known to man.....idiots!

i honestly do not understand their motivation to leave a solid educational institution to sign on the dole, and then people like me who isnt in college, on the dole and i dread it, looking for part time work and trying to make my way to college.
    I understand your pain and I have a few mature students in my course who are delighted to be studying towards a degree. Just keep working and someday you get what you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

Economics! Ha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭Just Like Heaven

If you drop out of college before 31st of October in most third level institutions you're eligible for free fees the following year, college administration offices are bombarded with withdrawal forms during this week every year. It's unlikely that the dominant factor in many people who bother going to college in the first place now dropping out is a drop in dole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭Bits_n_Bobs

Nabber wrote: »

Gratuitous 'I have a job' post ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭imitation

Grayson wrote: »
    at that point they'll be in college getting the third level allowance and the grant.

If they stayed in college they'd be unemployed in three years time and looking at leaving the country.

Maybe, maybe not, past experience has shown constant cuts to these grants, they aint going to be there forever. The government is realising they have become a perma crutch for some. Why rely on it if you dont have to. plus theres the fact your stunting your life by 3 years for 44 quid a week, the big cv hole etc, not to mention the possible depression, blow to self esteem etc

Ruining your life for 44 quid in free handouts a week. That's embarrassing. And not for the government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭Prisoner6409

Better not go on the Jeremy Kyle show so. I find it hard to believe ppl could actually be that stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Who's the better educated the person serving the Big Mac or the person eating it :)

Hearsay, M'Lord. Not fact. If they were getting grants, they WON'T be able to sign on for some time, so I'd say their supposed plan backfired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

I a full fee paying student (6k a year) not because me or my family are rich because we are not but because its my second degree. It's a serious struggle at the moment but it was my choice so I'm prepared to do it instead of doing jack shît with my time. OP I've never blamed people on the dole for the state of this country anyone who does is an idiot and very short sighted and not particularly well informed but if I came across your friends it be hard not to give them an almighty kick up the hole!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

It's just a mystery to me as to why people would rather stay on the dole, than work a McJob serving their betters such as yourself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Nabber wrote: »

And it won't be long before they start giving out the free cheese again!
    Who needs 3rd level education?

My only thought is how did these three gents even get in to 3rd level and take places from three deserving cases who might have been a few points short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Ì thought the bins out the back were self-service? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭July Rain

Doylers wrote: »

Arts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Fair f*cks to them. 3 boys well able to play the system, they'll do well in life :)

Future county councillors maybe? It's a recession, dog eat dog. They probably have some card up their sleeve i'd say ;)

Meanwhile, this is an indictment of our government and their failed policies. It's an indictment, indictment, indictment, indictment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Honestly this is making a massive mountain out of tiny molehill. This is the week that the vast majority of people drop out of college. It's their deadline for registration fees refunds. Who's the proactive one? The person who drops out of a course they don't like or can't manage, possibly because 3rd level education isn't for them at the moment? Or the person that sticks with it for 4 years with no motivation and no work ethic hating every bit of it and then barely scrapes through the system but has no real knowledge or skills acquired from his course to apply it the real world?

Cannot believe someone who drops out before the financial deadline (and it's even costlier for the State in the long run) is being panned. :confused: It's very often the wisest career choice someone can make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Those guys have it right, sure if they stay on the Dole for a few months they'll be given €160 a week to go back to college! The system is fairly screwed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 banker69

whos sick of the goverments bankers and other such big companys that prey on the poor hit me up on facebook johnoblivious at gmail dot com and lets take sum of your money back for you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

It's just a mystery to me as to why people would rather stay on the dole, than work a McJob serving their betters such as yourself.

This. I worked in a fast food place for two years, rather than be unemployed. It's people who look down their nose at somebody trying to better themselves by doing any work they can find who need a kick up the hole. Oh, and the vast majority of my colleagues (there were over 70 of us in the one branch) had completed third level education. Jobs are scarce, take what you can get. I did, and I'm now in a much better role thanks in part to working in a fast food place. Has to have been better than a two year gap on my CV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭Pro Hoc Vice

You know 3 muppets, who will throw away a third level education, for €44.00 a week, do they really believe they will spend their whole life on the dole.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8 dromano

Pointless thread... relies only on anecdotal evidence
    They were foolish to leave college - they have gained 44€ per week extra, but they probably could gain at least five times that if they stayed in college,

I'm not a fan of EK, but he is right - welfare culture needs to be tackled. If I was a minister, I would cut by 5€ every month they are on the dole

That would stop them playing GTA V

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

There are a fair few on my course that would be better of doing what the OP is describing. If you absolutely struggle through first year there isnt really much of a point being in college doing that course. You aint graduating and if you do the results will be pants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

this is the stupidest thing i have every heard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭jrmb

fewtins wrote: »
    If you drop out of college before 31st of October in most third level institutions you're eligible for free fees the following year, college administration offices are bombarded with withdrawal forms during this week every year. It's unlikely that the dominant factor in many people who bother going to college in the first place now dropping out is a drop in dole.
    No one has mentioned that they'll have to be out of full time education for three months before they can claim anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

jrmb wrote: »
    No one has mentioned that they'll have to be out of full time education for three months before they can claim anything.

three months from yesterday is jan 25th lol so maybe they did it on the 24th for that very reason

Jernal wrote: »
    Honestly this is making a massive mountain out of tiny molehill. This is the week that the vast majority of people drop out of college. It's their deadline for registration fees refunds. Who's the proactive one? The person who drops out of a course they don't like or can't manage, possibly because 3rd level education isn't for them at the moment? Or the person that sticks with it for 4 years with no motivation and no work ethic hating every bit of it and then barely scrapes through the system but has no real knowledge or skills acquired from his course to apply it the real world?

Exactly. The latter person you describe was me, sadly; I was miserable during my degree but was too stubborn, too proud and too cowardly to drop out when I should have. Now the prospect of finding a decent job is a real struggle because my grades aren't good enough for a lot of vacancies. :(

I can't imagine anyone dropping out of college just for the sake of claiming the higher rate of dole. No-one who was enjoying their course would even dream of that. It's more likely that these people who dropped out realised that the course was not for them, or perhaps that they would not be able to cope financially with it any longer. But shur lets all sit back and mock them like good keyboard warriors 'cause they're obviously just wasters with no life prospects if they drop out. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭July Rain

jrmb wrote: »

That's only for secondary school.