Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

COAL TIME, what you buy? how much was it? what you use it in?

• 26-10-2013 9:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭

I just rang the local co-op, , ive never bought it anywhere else to be honest,

normal Black Diamond Polish coal 40kg bags (red/pink label on the bag) €437.50 per tonne (ill be getting the tonne)

Cosy Glow, (blue bag) 20kg bag €8.50

Brickettes 25 bales €90

black diamond for stove and range,

cosy glow and brickettes for the mothers open fire. . .

i think im fine with the closy glow and brickettes, its what she uses and does the job. .. no hassle etc..

Black diamond. . .. at €17.50 per 40kg bag. . .. im thinking this is a long way off €15.something 2 yr ago. . . . . . . should i be looking at another type of coal?

black diamond for me had a nice flame for the stove, and wasnt in marble sized lumps in the bag. .

full order above €612.50.. . and no offers available. . . (thats kept for the crap coal if you ask me)

ideas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

bought 1.6 tons of doubles for 480 ,it was all bought as a lorry load for that price from the north,neighbours all bought it, and it burns perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭NewBeefFarmer

actually, just checked my records, the Black Diamond has gone up €1.30 per 40kg bag in 12 months

rang again, offer on Doubles is 25+1 free, making 26 bags for €14.08 per bag. . . or €366 for the load

how much in the bag ?how much in the load?

leg wax wrote: »
    how much in the bag ?how much in the load?

40kg bags. . . 25 bags at €14.65 + 1 free. ..

Im going to buy one bag of doubles. . and try it. .
    my concern is the coal is very small. . . and for a stove. . . well .. . .

wonder is the coal smaller than say one full size cosy glow. . if u know what that is like.

ps. .. was told the €1.30 was to do with carbon tax. . . . . .

thanks Gov. . .

how some people are managing in this country is beyond me. . . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

I use smokeless nuggets along with a bit off turf and timber in the stove. Used polish coal once and am sorry it warped the grate. It seems that some coals burn too hot for stoves and will burn out grate over time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I use smokeless nuggets along with a bit off turf and timber in the stove. Used polish coal once and am sorry it warped the grate. It seems that some coals burn too hot for stoves and will burn out grate over time.

Ive replaced the grate in the range a few times and I cracked the top once too . Sure thats where the craic is with solid fuel !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

bought 1.6 tons of doubles for 480 ,it was all bought as a lorry load for that price from the north,neighbours all bought it, and it burns perfect.

Through the T.V. star?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭6480

try this lad hes over the road from me(cavan fuel supplies) on 0872422924 he delivers anywhere day and night lorries with cranes , he sells alot of timber , coal in lorry loads or bagged or loose or in half ton bags ,try him he sells all over the country

Through the T.V. star?
    yes ger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

yes ger

;);)

update, went in and got me bag,

price is €14.65, but buy ten and get 1 free.

making 22 bags at €13.31 a bag. . .

so i have it here now, openned it up, and seems nice stuff. . . its graded well. . in fact. . . its like the standard coal without massive lumps.

kinda like a bag of 2inch stone. . . if u know what thats like. .

ill put a small shovelling of it on the stove tonight, light it and see how it burns, ill report back tomorrow.

havent lit the stove yet this year, no need yet either, but ill temper in the stove with this test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Jamey_29

Went up to Newry with a van last week and got a load.

40kgs Polish Coal £10.00 €12.00
    40kgs Premiium Doubles £9.25 €11.00
    40kgs Economy Doubles £8.50 €10.00
    40kgs Boiler Beans £7.75 €9.00
    40kgs Coarse Slack £6.90 €8.00
    40kgs Calco Smokeless £11.75 €14.00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Jamey_29 wrote: »
    Went up to Newry with a van last week and got a load.

40kgs Polish Coal £10.00 €12.00
    40kgs Premiium Doubles £9.25 €11.00
    40kgs Economy Doubles £8.50 €10.00
    40kgs Boiler Beans £7.75 €9.00
    40kgs Coarse Slack £6.90 €8.00
    40kgs Calco Smokeless £11.75 €14.00

all ex carbon tax I presume. Some con when you see Northern boys passing in convoy with a half dozen bulkers ferrying coal up north to be resold in the South

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

all ex carbon tax I presume. Some con when you see Northern boys passing in convoy with a half dozen bulkers ferrying coal up north to be resold in the South

Fair lay to them here is always a Bob somewhere. In reality like everything else in the great Free State the difference in tax fails to reflect the reality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Bought a pallet last may before the carbon tax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭enricoh

if yer near the border, i got 40kg bags in hoeys fuels in cullaville for e10 last year n it was better than stuff i got local for 16 a bag.
    will be heading up in a few weeks with the jeep n mini digger trailer n getting 2 pallets for mine n the folks'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I bought polish coal off Dairygold today buy 4 get 1 free, it went into a lump in the fire and never burned properly :mad: I used a bag of house coal before that and had no problem with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

must try that place in cullaville, got kids to load and unload the front bucket of the digger with sticks yesterday:D they are all stacked up now ready to go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Replaced old Stanley stove with a Kingstar. So can't burn coal which made me a little worried.

Fired her up in the last few days, thankfully my fears were unfounded. I start the fire with briquette and use timber. We have an old indoor silo full of ash after the last few years so happy days. Would get a guy in to fell and block in return for a car trailer load for himself

I'd say for the time and effort timber is hardly worth the effort as there are a a few steps before you get to burn it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭locky76

Any fear delaval letting a fella in with a chainsaw, it's the one thing your insurance won't cover...
    delaval wrote: »
    Replaced old Stanley stove with a Kingstar. So can't burn coal which made me a little worried.

Fired her up in the last few days, thankfully my fears were unfounded. I start the fire with briquette and use timber. We have an old indoor silo full of ash after the last few years so happy days. Would get a guy in to fell and block in return for a car trailer load for himself

I'd say for the time and effort timber is hardly worth the effort as there are a a few steps before you get to burn it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

Got briquettes last wk, 128 bales per pallet. 325 per pallet, that's 2.45 per bale i think.
    So i got two. Dropped in the yard for me as well.

delaval wrote: »

Great exercise working with timber :) Buying a plot of turf, that would be the greatest waste of time and money by the time it is ready for the fire it would be dearer than coal. I have to laugh at the people advertising turf on done deal for €5/bag saying that you can beat the carbon tax :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Great exercise working with timber :) Buying a plot of turf, that would be the greatest waste of time and money by the time it is ready for the fire it would be dearer than coal. I have to laugh at the people advertising turf on done deal for €5/bag saying that you can beat the carbon tax :rolleyes:

Ah would nearly agree with ya but for some reason it wouldn't be the same if ya didnt do the bog each year, saying that I don't think it would be dearer than coal but we have our own bank

Yeah but I know people that pay big money for a plot of turf then foot it bag it and draw it home after that. I spent many summers in the bog back in the late 70's early 80's cutting turf with a hay knife :) £5 to cut as much turf as you want :) It was cheap fuel back then. I know a fella that bought 1000 bags of turf in the bog for €1/bag next day he went back to collect it and it was gone, maybe the fella selling the turf didn't even own it :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,141 ✭✭✭colrow

I saw a coal bloke on donedeal advertising 270 to 285 a ton delivered anywhere, but his adverts where from different areas each week, so I was a bit worried it was a scam.

I bought a ton from the co-op at waterville for €400 delivered, and then when I was in the creamery this week they had it for 370 delivered. Thats Polish Bord Moaner coal

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Yeah but I know people that pay big money for a plot of turf then foot it bag it and draw it home after that. I spent many summers in the bog back in the late 70's early 80's cutting turf with a hay knife :) £5 to cut as much turf as you want :) It was cheap fuel back then. I know a fella that bought 1000 bags of turf in the bog for €1/bag next day he went back to collect it and it was gone, maybe the fella selling the turf didn't even own it :eek:
    yeah alot of turf goes missing off the banks at times, a few lads were caught in the act

I've heard tales of boys down here leaving the odd shotgun cartridge in their stacks, to give the thieves a fright. I don't know whether its true or just a old tale

colrow wrote: »
    I've heard tales of boys down here leaving the odd shotgun cartridge in their stacks, to give the thieves a fright. I don't know whether its true or just a old tale
    they better remember where they put them themselves

rotflmao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭horse7

anyone got the prices for the coal just past batterstown at the old petrol station?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

colrow wrote: »

Fella down the road from me was having some of his turf taken. He put some gun powder in a few sods. Wasnt long finding out who was taking it your mans stove exploded did a lot of damage to the house. Same guy was taking turf from a lot of places so had no proof who did it

Mulumpy wrote: »
    Fella down the road from me was having some of his turf taken. He put some gun powder in a few sods. Wasnt long finding out who was taking it your mans stove exploded did a lot of damage to the house. Same guy was taking turf from a lot of places so had no proof who did it
    sometimes the extreme ways are what works, a local was having his diesel tank drained so he put acid into it, a week later a tractor in the parish had its engine give up the ghost.....strangely enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭DK man

Got briquettes last wk, 128 bales per pallet. 325 per pallet, that's 2.45 per bale i think.
    So i got two. Dropped in the yard for me as well.

Where did you get that value? Were they bord an Mona? I paid €430 for a pallet in carrickmacross and the seller was making me feel guilty for cutting his slice too fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

DK man wrote: »
    Where did you get that value? Were they bord an Mona? I paid €430 for a pallet in carrickmacross and the seller was making me feel guilty for cutting his slice too fine

yes, friend works in the bord, and the cost comes out of his pay packet. they delivered to his house, and I chanced it to see if they would drop up mine, i'm a few minutes away. had gates open etc and made it easy for him. last drop of the day as well.