Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Height Regulations for Trailers

• 25-10-2013 10:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭

From this weeks Farmers Journal.
    Straw and hay transport will be severely affected by new height regulations to be enforced from 1 November. They limit the maximum transport height to 4.65m (16.5 feet). It essentially means that only two rows of 4x4 round bales can be legally carried on lorries. Big square bales, typically three feet high, will only be legal when loaded three high on most trailers.

https://www.facebook.com/IrishFarmersJournal#!/IrishFarmersJournal?hc_location=timeline

Most of the straw going for the mushrooms is transported on low loaders but a lot of of farm trailers can be quite high even onloaded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

brian_t wrote: »
    From this weeks Farmers Journal.

https://www.facebook.com/IrishFarmersJournal#!/IrishFarmersJournal?hc_location=timeline

Most of the straw going for the mushrooms is transported on low loaders but a lot of of farm trailers can be quite high even onloaded.

Jasus guard im sure its under 4.65m, Get your tape out there and go up and measure it, but im in a bit of a rush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Dozer1

have to say I'm in favour of it, come the straw delivery season around here every road is a nightmare with broken branches everywhere, and your heart would be in your mouth watching some loads swaying back and forth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Jasus guard im sure its under 4.65m, Get your tape out there and go up and measure it, but im in a bit of a rush

Can't go up due to health and safety ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Dozer1 wrote: »
    have to say I'm in favour of it, come the straw delivery season around here every road is a nightmare with broken branches everywhere, and your heart would be in your mouth watching some loads swaying back and forth.

It will make expensive straw, even more expensive, for those of us who have to get it from long distances:( More fiukin high handed, crap regulations, from well paid, well pensioned, jobs for lifers:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Have to say back in the day I was guilty of "accidently" building the straw in such a fashion that it would interfere with the bunting in the Royal county as we passed through with loads of straw.. Come close to all-ireland day and it was better fun.. We'd even take a detour to get it right !

Though the odd phone line was taken out... sort of friendly fire :o

nashmach wrote: »
    Can't go up due to health and safety ;)

crisis averted, we can hire Northern trucks :rolleyes: and still take full loads, they have to comply with their jurisdiction AFAIK. They can do more than 3 loads fully in the south or then they are breaking the law. Legal height in UK is 5.05. All tesco, an post lorries are over 4.65m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭F.D

Maybe it will be better all round
    people might sell the stuff by the weight rather than the bale so the bales will be actually packed at full density,

more volume moved and less loads
    less space taken up in the sheds
    less bales to be loaded,
    less compaction on the stubble fields
    Contractor paid by the acre or hour instead of per bale

What do other people think ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

F.D wrote: »
    people might sell the stuff by the weight rather than the bale so the bales will be actually packed at full density,

less bales to be loaded,

Selling by "the bale" is one of the biggest con jobs going.

What is "a bale"?

Go to my local mart and one sellers bale could be twice the size of another sellers bale.

The neck of some of those lads is amazing. But, like anything else if people keep on buying "by the bale" there'll still be lads only too delighted to shaft them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭jp6470

Dozer1 wrote: »

Aww.sure that's the best bit.some men don't know to cut a hedge plus love getting out quick to lift a stray

less bales to be loaded,

just working the figures and it will be carrying 3.5tons less of straw. It will add about €1.50 onto an 8x4x3. there is only a certain density that balers can bale to, volume comes into the equation aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

less bales to be loaded,

That is grand we will pack the bales as tight as possible and then you will wonder why a bit of green around a headland leads to hot bales!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

That wouldn't work around here. the rsa and Garda traffic corp are well equipped around the mullingar area anyways.

we bred the c*nts down here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

we bred the c*nts down here

In that case don't use that line on them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭st1979

Think I will still be legal at 3 rows of rounds. My trailer is 1.2m high. And I stack them on there rounds so they sit in the valleys between each bale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭st1979

Think I will still be legal at 3 rows of rounds. My trailer is 1.2m high. And I stack them on there rounds so they sit in the valleys between each bale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Are these trailer heights restrictions anything to do with the Dublin port tunnel , there was a big row when it was being built over super cube trailers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭brian_t

According to todays Farming Independent there is a 'Reprieve on the cards for Fodder Transportation'.

The regulations won't apply for uncovered loads of Hay and Straw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

According to todays Farming Independent there is a 'Reprieve on the cards for Fodder Transportation'.

While that is to be welcomed why are they even bothering with a regulation. I presume that the restrictions are for safety reasons. Either a high load is dangerous or not. I don't see how fodder is safer than something of similar density. It makes a joke of the regulations but these are the same geniuses saying a triaxle trailer=artic lorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭paddysdream

Thats because an awful lot of fodder was drawn last winter in curtainsiders.

As far as I am aware, loads of hay and straw are classified as hazardous loads and as such ,need to be covered down on ferries,insurers notified and requirement for double fire extinguishers etc etc.

Maybe an open period like drawing grain from August till November direct from farm to merchant then no need to use tachograph (has to be present but not governed by hours,rest periods etc).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭paddysdream

While that is to be welcomed why are they even bothering with a regulation. I presume that the restrictions are for safety reasons. Either a high load is dangerous or not. I don't see how fodder is safer than something of similar density. It makes a joke of the regulations but these are the same geniuses saying a triaxle trailer=artic lorry.

Would be a bit unfair to hauliers with mega trailers to tell them that they are not allowed to use them to draw boxes of cornflakes or other very light but bulky materials whilst others can exceed the heights just cause its hay or straw they are hauling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

I am glad uncovered hay and straw won't be affected. Surrounded by three sides by the Atlantic ocean the only way to get hay and straw here is by truck and we're already over an hour West of Galway city. Taking a third off each load would have put fodder and bedding to stupid money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Rho b

So it seems that the Dept are running with the haulage association of Ireland and curtain siders. I seem to remember EU legislation about having loose loads in curtain siders, I will stand corrected if that is not the case. To date I have never seen anyone strap bales within a curtain sider. Total load of bollox, at the end of the day it still makes straw more expensive for people who are not living in or near tillage areas.

crisis averted, we can hire Northern trucks :rolleyes: and still take full loads, they have to comply with their jurisdiction AFAIK. They can do more than 3 loads fully in the south or then they are breaking the law. Legal height in UK is 5.05. All tesco, an post lorries are over 4.65m
    Once upon a time when I was a youngster, I used to work in the haulage industry. In those days unless you were registered in Rep of Ireland then you could not do "within jurisdiction" collections and deliveries. I know its been several years since I was working in the haulage industry but I find it hard to believe that non Irish (Rep) registered companies are allowed to do 3 drops before breaking the law.
    Having said that I have recently seen yellow plated tractor units with 8x4x4's and 4x4's three high heading North (I presume). Totally sickening for lads/lassies trying to survive in this neck of the woods :mad:

Rho b wrote: »
    Once upon a time when I was a youngster, I used to work in the haulage industry. In those days unless you were registered in Rep of Ireland then you could not do "within jurisdiction" collections and deliveries. I know its been several years since I was working in the haulage industry but I find it hard to believe that non Irish (Rep) registered companies are allowed to do 3 drops before breaking the law.
    Having said that I have recently seen yellow plated tractor units with 8x4x4's and 4x4's three high heading North (I presume). Totally sickening for lads/lassies trying to survive in this neck of the woods :mad:

nearly sure, probably something got to do about free trade or some other crap within the EU

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭brian_t

Link here http://www.independent.ie/business/farming/reprieve-on-the-cards-for-fodder-transportation-29842659.html