Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

234kph on irish roads near loughrea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Northern Monkey

If that list isn't just for this year I'm in the top 10 :( I've since seen sense.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

its a joke that all the got was an €80 fine and points. They should be off the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭vandriver

In my youth I was stopped for doing 130 mph on the Stillorgan dual carriageway,and let off with a talking to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

vandriver wrote: »
    In my youth I was stopped for doing 130 mph on the Stillorgan dual carriageway,and let off with a talking to.

wow...good luck doing 85 now....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Hahahahahahah, 234 you say :pac:

Think I've beaten that high score a couple of times !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

KTRIC wrote: »
    Hahahahahahah, 234 you say :pac:

Think I've beaten that high score a couple of times !!

I'm wondering if I'm the record breaker at the N7, because I've certainly gone that speed once or twice when it was empty :D

Can't tell you what car and when though as that would be admission to guilt :rolleyes:

It's called driving with consideration for others, when it's empty between 2 and 7 AM, I don't think anyone does a 100km/h on the N7.

Constant speeder, never been caught :D I gotta thank the 03 X5 driver who flashed me, so I could brake from 140 and avoid a ticket :D There was a Guard with a speed gun at the Naas exit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Most I've seen on the speedo is 265km/h. Most I was actually stopped at was 160km/h on the old Lucan bypass in the mid-'90s. Seasoned old bear of a Garda gave me a stern rollocking and sent me on my way. "Don't give me that sh!te, youngfella - I know what shticks flies ta helmets!!". Ole Jim was mighty bad an' he mos' pow'ful sorry. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,867 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

Thank you colm mcm for fixing the spelling in the title!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Sobanek wrote: »
    It's called driving with consideration for others, when it's empty between 2 and 7 AM, I don't think anyone does a 100km/h on the N7.

That's a rule is it???? Nobody else ever uses the road at that hour????
    Disgraceful attitude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Nothing about Portlaoise so :D I guess I'm grand!

oldyouth wrote: »
    That's a rule is it???? Nobody else ever uses the road at that hour????
    Disgraceful attitude

Nope. Didn't pass anyone on my way down from the airport at 3 AM :confused: So no one did use the road at the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Looks like there's a new high score to beat lads

[sound of approaching hooves] Whoa there.. I'm kidding! :p

While I've never pushed it anywhere as high as some of the numbers in the report, I don't concern myself with arbitrary limits too much either - I drive appropriate to the conditions at the time (traffic volume, weather/visibility, surface conditions etc) and within the bounds of what I'm comfortable at.

Far too much time speedo watching in this country. Be far better if people learned to drive properly (changing lanes without looking/indicating/last second, no/minimal lights in poor conditions, dawdling when there's no reason for it etc) and the Gardai were out enforcing that instead.

Nothing about Portlaoise so :D I guess I'm grand!

Ah once you get down that far it's quietened down significantly and the M8 is practically deserted most of the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

I'm safe on the m3 anyway! :pac:

It's hard not to use a motorway to its full potential at 3am when empty:)

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    Looks like there's a new high score to beat lads

[sound of approaching hooves] Whoa there.. I'm kidding! :p

While I've never pushed it anywhere as high as some of the numbers in the report, I don't concern myself with arbitrary limits too much either - I drive appropriate to the conditions at the time (traffic volume, weather/visibility, surface conditions etc) and within the bounds of what I'm comfortable at.

Far too much time speedo watching in this country. Be far better if people learned to drive properly (changing lanes without looking/indicating/last second, no/minimal lights in poor conditions, dawdling when there's no reason for it etc) and the Gardai were out enforcing that instead.

I had to emergency brake yesterday, because some pillock in a white van didn't stop at the stop sign :mad:

Now, who has caused more danger? Me, driving down the three lane, empty road in the morning hours at 200kph or this yob who almost caused a crash?

I had to emergency brake yesterday, because some pillock in a white van didn't stop at the stop sign :mad:

Agree. I see a lot more driving on a daily basis that would be a lot more dangerous than doing a bit over on an empty motorway.

I've also recently found this thread in R&R - very therapeutic! :p

Nope. Didn't pass anyone on my way down from the airport at 3 AM :confused: So no one did use the road at the time

My point is that some utter asshole will come across an innocent motorist who isn't usually there and cream him in to the ditch. I'm hoping you're just a troll and I'm not going to feed you

Everyone in the Motors section who knows me knows that I'm not your usual 10 and 2 driver. :D

And I have EYES. Therefore, I look for other yobs on the motorway, in case they decide to drive in the right hand side lane on an empty motorway at 80kph and don't use either of their mirrors.

That's a ridiculous comment tbh. Your whole post.

If the "innocent" motorist cannot drive to the extent that he is at such a risk, then he should not be on the road at all. The asshole is the driver that cannot drive appropriately.

Sobanek is not a troll, he (or she, ya never know behind the handle) has been posting here a fair while!

If the "innocent" motorist cannot drive to the extent that he is at such a risk, then he should not be on the road at all. The asshole is the driver that cannot drive appropriately.

Sobanek is not a troll, he (or she, ya never know behind the handle) has been posting here a fair while!

I'm a he. :D

1400 posts!

1179 of which are in the Motors section, so I guess that makes me a regular :D

1400 posts!

He's just being politically correct after someone called stheno a he yesterday! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

1400 posts!

Your not a regular till you come to a meet :p :pac:

I can't go very fast, the joys of owning a 1.4, 140/50kms is the most my car has seen and probably will ever see

Oh :D

I think we can lock this, as it will turn into another "Speeders vs Non-Speeders" thread with some people saying that we should focus on something else than speeders like people with their fog lights on or octavias with big boots.

I'll possibly be at the Cars&Coffee just before x-mas, gotta get that set of 4 wheels I wanted :D

Oh :D

I think we can lock this, as it will turn into another "Speeders vs Non-Speeders" thread with some people saying that we should focus on something else than speeders like people with their fog lights on or octavias with big boots.

I'll possibly be at the Cars&Coffee just before x-mas, gotta get that set of 4 wheels I wanted :D

That ain't a boards meet though :D

Scortho wrote: »
    He's just being politically correct after someone called stheno a he yesterday! :pac:

Yeah.... we motors posters were a bit spooked by that one - a girl in the motors forum??:confused:
    :D:D:D

Yeah.... we motors posters were a bit spooked by that one - a girl in the motors forum??:confused:
    :D:D:D

I feckin was!:embarrassed:
    There's a few regulars who're women I just ain't naming in case I'm wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

It's certainly not a top 10 ever list, as it doesn't feature my own 174 kph ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭ITDept

Driving a little over the speed limit on a dry empty motorway is not a problem. However, driving at 200 kph plus in a normal car is suicidal. You may think you're a great driver and you're doing nothing wrong but if something unexpected does happen (tyre blow-out, debris in the road, breakdown etc.) you've got no chance. With any luck you'll only kill yourself and I, for one, won't be crying at your funeral.

That ain't a boards meet though :D

BOARDS MEET! Sorry, still haven't smelled the coffee :D The tongue always turns to the aching tooth :D
    ITDept wrote: »
    Driving a little over the speed limit on a dry empty motorway is not a problem. However, driving at 200 kph plus in a normal car is suicidal. You may think you're a great driver and you're doing nothing wrong but if something unexpected does happen (tyre blow-out, debris in the road, breakdown etc.) you've got no chance. With any luck you'll only kill yourself and I, for one, won't be crying at your funeral.

Have you tried turning it off and on again? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

if something unexpected does happen (tyre blow-out, debris in the road, breakdown etc.) you've got no chance.

Whereas a Porsche on the Autobahn can't possibly have a puncture, break down or hit debris.

At 300kph.

How is it ridiculous? The lad says he doesn't expect other road users to be there while he is acting the maggot, so what happens when he comes across one unexpectedly and perhaps gets a blowout? Anyway, there are a group of you here at the moment who are like-minded, so I'll get nowhere with my point of view. Hopefully, I won't get to read about any of you over the weekend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

I'm sure that graveyards have a good few who broke 234km as well!

How is it ridiculous? The lad says he doesn't expect other road users to be there while he is acting the maggot, so what happens when he comes across one unexpectedly and perhaps gets a blowout? Anyway, there are a group of you here at the moment who are like-minded, so I'll get nowhere with my point of view. Hopefully, I won't get to read about any of you over the weekend

Above post summarized as the following:

-Heres MY VIEW
    -Don't bother disagreeing because I'm RIGHT and you don't listen
    -No debate, (what is the point of a forum then)
    -finally, insulting a "group" of users.

Well done sir. Well done.

*sarcastic clap*

I'm sure that graveyards have a good few who only went 50 as well.

Anyways, that's what I was told three years ago - speed kills, and you've 95% more chance of having an accident if you speed.

I'm guessing I must be one lucky b..rd because after three years, the only three situations in which I had to brake hard or avoid were caused by someone else.

Ironically, the latest one was when I was going below the speed limit.

As well as many more who didnt.

And people who walked out in front of buses and people who died of cancer. Post not relevant, full of mindless rhetoric.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Zcott

My car is reportedly good for 210kmh on a downhill stretch on a motorway at 2am. Or so I've heard from others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Statistically unlikely...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Im not sure that publishing lists like this is such a smart idea; ordinarily I couldnt care less about speeding on motorways, but joking aside I know guys who would see such a thing as a challenge.

Did it not used to be a manditory court appearance for speeding over a certain level? I find it very hard to believe that someone could be clocked doing 230kmph+ and get away with just an €80 fine and a couple of points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭Cocolola

Now, who has caused more danger? Me, driving down the three lane, empty road in the morning hours at 200kph or this yob who almost caused a crash?

Maybe he too assumed that the road would be empty and also decided that the laws don't apply to him? It's no different. You do ridiculous speeds as you don't think you're going to meet another vehicle. He runs stop signs for the same reason.

djimi wrote: »
    Im not sure that publishing lists like this is such a smart idea; ordinarily I couldnt care less about speeding on motorways, but joking aside I know guys who would see such a thing as a challenge.

Did it not used to be a manditory court appearance for speeding over a certain level? I find it very hard to believe that someone could be clocked doing 230kmph+ and get away with just an €80 fine and a couple of points.

It is only a mandatory court case if you are charged with dangerous/reckless driving in addition to speeding charge.

Which, with no other cars on the road at 2am, it would be very difficult to justify charging.

Cocolola wrote: »
    Maybe he too assumed that the road would be empty and also decided that the laws don't apply to him? It's no different. You do ridiculous speeds as you don't think you're going to meet another vehicle. He runs stop signs for the same reason.

No-one decided that
    Obviously going over 120km/h is illegal and if caught I fully accept the penalty due which is 80 Euro and two points.

Different thing, Illegal and wrong ;)

Above post summarized as the following:

-Heres MY VIEW
    -Don't bother disagreeing because I'm RIGHT and you don't listen
    -No debate, (what is the point of a forum then)
    -finally, insulting a "group" of users.

Well done sir. Well done.

*sarcastic clap*

- It was my view and reflects the law of the land
    - Speed kills, it really does. Also, you cannot choose which laws you wish to adhere to, so I am right
    - I have posted 4 or 5 times on this thread, so that is debate
    - The 'like-minded people' on this thread insult me by putting my life at risk while I go about my business

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

if you allow cars on the road that can do these speeds, then the Boys will try to reach them. Time for speed limiters on cars perhaps so they can't do more than (say) 120 kph

disclaimer: I very rarely am below the limit myself and have often (on a closed road or abroad of course) been way into three figures. I see the sense in speed being limited though and would support a maximum speed limiter if introduced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

ok, I'm gonna close this one now as its really more of a'whats the fastest you've gone' thread