Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How many penalty points do you have and why?

• 22-10-2013 1:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

How many penalty points do you have and why did you get them?

I have 2 for using the mobile phone while driving. I have a perception that it's much easier to get them now than it was a few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

I have none (you'll have to just imagine a smug self satisfied smiley).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

None by some form of a miracle...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

2 just expired (I think). Got them for going 62 in a 60. Convinced he got me right as the limit changed at the 60kph sign as I was slowing from 80. Sap.

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭Starscream25

None, never had any, driving 8 years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

Is it possible to check online when your penalty points expire?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭Fishyfreak

They are long since expired, I had 2 but should have been 4. My significant other (as Delboy would say) kindly took 2 of them.

Speeding, 2 Sundays on the trot at the Port Tunnel. They arrived in the post a day after each other, It was not pleasant :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

None

I can't drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

0, left the country 2.5 years ago, they've since expired :pac:

I can't get any English points on and Irish licence either, double:pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

None

I can't drive.

You should learn - you would love the "R" gear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭sidcon

theteal wrote: »
    0, left the country 2.5 years ago, they've since expired :pac:

They actually only expire when you receive official notification from Shannon. So make sure by ringing Shannon and giving your driving licence number

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

4 points here.Both from speeding. think it was 112 in a 100 zone and 72 in a 60 zone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

I got good news and bad news in the post yesterday

Good news: My 12 month Xbox live subscription so that I can play online again! GTAV online!! :D
    Bad new £60 fine and 3 penalty points. Speeding. 38mph in a 30 zone. (bullsh!t, but whatever)

Que somebody making an argument that video games like GTAV are a bad influence.

...well at lease I didn't get caught for mowing down all those hookers and then flipping the car onto a crowded footpath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

theteal wrote: »

em, yes you can. as I've just found out. Law was changed a few months back. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Red Pepper wrote: »
    Is it possible to check online when your penalty points expire?

Yep!

"How do I find out how many penalty points I have?
    To find out how many penalty points are on your driving licence record, contact the Road Safety Authority at 1890 41 61 41, quoting your driver licence number. Alternatively, contact your local Motor Tax Office"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭Hoop66

I have none. Because I drive on a UK license...

I would have 4 if I had an Irish one; speeding, twice. One was coming from the M50 to Cherrywood which is just the wankiest place to put a speedtrap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

None as of about 3 months ago. Got 2 for speeding. 132 on a 100kph road. Have learnt my lesson and don't speed anymore :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭IK09

I have never not had penalty points. Ive got points for all the usual offenses i.e. On the phone, speeding, no seat belt.

I have 4 at the moment, but 2 will be expiring at the end of this month.

Story of my expiring points:

It was my first day at work as a delivery driver, in my bosses jeep, at 6.45am. My Mommy called to ask would she make me some breakfast for my break....Motorbike cop hiding at the side of the road (ya...at 6.45am). Caught. Pulled over. New boss drives by with me in his jeep being pulled. That made for an awkward first day loading the jeep...I was literally 15mins on the job and i had already got points. The boss said nothing though, just "Well im not payin for them".

I generally am a safe driver...but i just seem to get caught more than others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Had two for speeding but they wore off by now

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 326 ✭✭Savoir.Faire

Unfortunately I have 6 points blemishing my record. Two points for a spot of speeding, and 4 points for getting caught on two occasions not wearing my seatbelt. My car has a sensor that beeps if a seatbelt isn't used but the Defender doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Have none and no parking fines or anything else. The reason - I don't drive like an idiot and obey they rules. Boring I know but can't afford to and value my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,394 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

News to me , don't think its just as simple as changing the law as this would have been done years back, uk and Ireland licence have different numbers more digits thus the computer systems don't recognise, that why there is a different storage system for UK licences for points in Ireland, which i don't think works very well, i should have 6 points over last 10yrs but only shows up as only having 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭theblaqueguy

I should of had 6 points a few years ago for no insurance but the points were never put on license dunno why ........but I still had to pay the fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

2 point for going 72kph in a 60kph zone. Things is month I got caught I only drove 4 or 5 days and had no recollection of seeing a speed camera. Might have been one of the private cameras I guess. They seem much harder to spot vs a garda van.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

sidcon wrote: »
    They actually only expire when you receive official notification from Shannon. So make sure by ringing Shannon and giving your driving licence number

notifications were received at the parents house, the auld fella tried to give out to me for getting the points in the first place (serious pot/kettle situation!)

I've not actually tested it but assumed I couldn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭murphym7

Had 4 at one stage for speeding, they are gone for years now. Currently have ZERO. I have to say having 4 points on my license at the same time changed by driving behavior, behavior I still maintain today, I suppose that's the point of them isnt it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Had two for speeding but they wore off by now

I heard of this happening if you just rub them really hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭Paddy Fields

None. :D I thought it was 4 on mobile phone.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

None

I can't drive.

You should have more so! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

You should have more so! :pac:
    Yeah, more good luck than good guidance I think.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

None so far and I'm driving 8 years now. Reckon I've been lucky once or twice on the speeding front, though :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 She bangs She bangs

None ATM:P

Had 8 at one stage.........all dropped off, not been caught in quite a while.......which is crazy considering I probably break the speed limit every day. I find that as long as I stick to the limit in town areas Im grand as I have developed what you would almost call a "6th sense" on open main roads/motorways.

Probably my only form of bad driving though. Dont use phone, overtake dangerously, I actually use indicators and I learned a long time ago not to tailgate.

Just drive fast when conditions allow.

**Oh, I did out-run the cops one day, got nabbed by an unmarked sitting on a fly-over, was doing just under the ton. I thought about slowing down but said feck it, if he chases me, ill pull over, maybe he didnt get me, so kept my speed up. Took the next slip road as I didnt see him in my mirror. Went around the round about slowly 4 times and came back onto the motorway..........3 cars behind my garda friend in the unmarked.
    Twas about 5 years ago when I was young and silly **

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

Fishyfreak wrote: »
    They are long since expired, I had 2 but should have been 4. My significant other (as Delboy would say) kindly took 2 of them.

Speeding, 2 Sundays on the trot at the Port Tunnel. They arrived in the post a day after each other, It was not pleasant :(

Speeding in the port tunnel? I thought this was private land and you could not get points there for speeding?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

None - i is a good driver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I have 0.

Only ever had one and expired in January, for an illegal right turn. It saved me about 10 minutes on my commute and I had been doing it months before I was caught, so I got my money's worth.

• Administrators Posts: 54,423 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

UK license, so I have 0 Irish points. I did get stopped once on the M1, and you do sort of get points, but they can't actually be put on your license at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭Paddy Fields

Didn't think you could only get 1, didn't know that. I do a u-turn on the Long Miler some days to go to Aldi. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,717 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Got 2 for speeding in a built up area 72 in a 50 zone, St Stephens morning at 10am, radar biker, think plod was very annoyed at having to reign in the Christmas night beers to start his duty at 6am.

I previously contested 2 speeding stoppages and had both wiped out on technicalities, one in particular was being picked out from many vehicles for moderate speeding in a 50 zone, I was the unlucky one to be made an example of. Ive no doubt I was over the limit a little but I contested the fact that in busy traffic on two lanes, how could he be certain of getting a clean radar return off my particular car when I had an SUV in front of me, so the plod boss wiped it out

Some of the offences have recently increased though, probably no harm to have a refresher!

http://www.rsa.ie/Documents/Licensed%20Drivers/Penalty%20Points%20Chart1.pdf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Days 298

0 points. They've been one or two close calls with speed cameras.

And I don't do anything point worthy if there is a ford mondeo :D. Saved me twice. When they get close or you get close you can see their reg plate scanner on the dash. Would've speed past two ngardai today but for my habit of checking all mondeos for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 okno

My license is Polish so no points from Ireland! I was pulled over once for crossing a solid white line but a quick opening of my top button before the cop got out and a little flirt and playing dumb and off I go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I've been nabbed for speeding a couple times but those points a long gone now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I have no points, you're not speeding correctly if they can catch you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Days 298

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Got 2 for speeding in a built up area 72 in a 50 zone, St Stephens morning at 10am, radar biker, think plod was very annoyed at having to reign in the Christmas night beers to start his duty at 6am.

I previously contested 2 speeding stoppages and had both wiped out on technicalities, one in particular was being picked out from many vehicles for moderate speeding in a 50 zone, I was the unlucky one to be made an example of. Ive no doubt I was over the limit a little but I contested the fact that in busy traffic on two lanes, how could he be certain of getting a clean radar return off my particular car when I had an SUV in front of me, so the plod boss wiped it out

Some of the offences have recently increased though, probably no harm to have a refresher!

http://www.rsa.ie/Documents/Licensed%20Drivers/Penalty%20Points%20Chart1.pdf

I've heard that work before!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

Don't speed and don't use your phone while driving and you won't get any.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Driving with 3 years and I'm yet to get one. I've had a few close calls alright. Passed a few speed vans where I was on the brakes and watching the clock to see was I after getting caught :o another day I was driving the auld lads jeep between two pieces of land, maybe 2 miles of road a sure enough I met a checkpoint. No seatbelt but the Guard was sound, said wear it from now on. Lesson learned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

None granted now I only drive on the motorway between Laios and Limerick. Never seen a speed van.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Driving 13 years, no points , don't ask me why though, I make up speed limits as I go along :pac:

I'd say a fair whack of people got points during the M1 roadworks at the airport recently. Would have been like shooting fish in a barrel for the speed vans - pretty sure that 1 in 10 cars at best stuck to the 80 limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

0, as I dont break the ROTR, or if I ever unknowing or unintentionally done, I didn't get caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Would you have a source for this?

In on a north licence, and work in the south and north fifty/fifty.

Never gotten points down the south. Ever.

They can't give me them they say (not that I want them mind you)

Are you sure? How does that work given that in Ireland speeding is 2 points and in the UK it is 3?