Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone ever owned a 01 Almera?

• 22-10-2013 9:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭

Going to look at a 2001 1.5 Almera Saloon later on today. I've read mixed reviews on it, some people have said it's slow and noisy, others say it's a very cramped car, and others say it's great and can't fault it. Just wondering if anyone here has ever owned one and what they think about it? Also going to look at a 2002 1.3 Hyundai Accent, but I'm not really mad on that one. I'd rather the Almera if it's a good car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭hallo dare

Had an 02 one. Found it very light when driving, too light actually. Drank petrol to beat the band. The backs a little small if you are carrying passengers. It has tons of compartment spaces and the like. Personally i was delighted when i got rid of it. Never liked it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭advertsfox

Owned a 2001, no issues and I liked it but moved on from it quite quickly (hit a dog, got a Mazda 6 and never looked back) - thirsty little fecker that 1.5 is but sounds good and handles quite well. What's your budget / average mileage / driving needs and maybe we can recommend something better?

PS: Don't go near an Accent! Piles of crap, easy to roll (happened to my friend with kids in the car) and is a 1.5 NCAP Safety Rating.

http://www.euroncap.com/tests/hyundai_accent_1998/36.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Iano_128

Budget is around 1200/1300 and I have a 97 1.3 Fiesta there I can use to trade in (mainly looking at dealers). Average mileage would be around 400-500km per month, and really just need something to get me from A to B. Not looking for a car with a load of extras or special features for my budget :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭kerten

Iano_128 wrote: »
    Budget is around 1200/1300 and I have a 97 1.3 Fiesta there I can use to trade in (mainly looking at dealers). Average mileage would be around 400-500km per month, and really just need something to get me from A to B. Not looking for a car with a load of extras or special features for my budget :)

Buying from dealers with this kind of budget is not wise unless you don't want hassle of private buy/sell. You will end up with a car that dealer wants to get rid of cheap due to issues then spend your time to convince dealer honour warranty for a cheap car he sells.

kerten wrote: »
    Buying from dealers with this kind of budget is not wise unless you don't want hassle of private buy/sell. You will end up with a car that dealer wants to get rid of cheap due to issues then spend your time to convince dealer honour warranty for a cheap car he sells.

I'd agree with you on most dealers, but this one is a friends of my Dad and really looked after me with my first car, told him I was looking to sell it and get a newer one and he said he has these 2 in my price range. That's why I haven't really looked privately because I know his cars are reliable and that if on the off chance I do have trouble he'll look after me with no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

That vintage Accent was crap. Go with the Almera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Theres were problems with headlights melting, was reported on here a couple times, here's more info www.honestjohn.co.uk/forum/post/index.htm?t=43586

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

On testdrive listen for gearbox whine, that main worry I think. If ok and car ok it worth a try if you like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Watch out for a rotten crossmember on the Almera

Right so gearbox noises, a rotten crossmember and headlights are what I'll look out for.. I don't have any kids so people in the back seats usually isn't a problem unless I'm driving friends but we usually just meet at places anyway so I don't really see that as a problem :) Thanks lads!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 478 ✭✭Stella Virgo

Right so gearbox noises, a rotten crossmember and headlights are what I'll look out for.. I don't have any kids so people in the back seats usually isn't a problem unless I'm driving friends but we usually just meet at places anyway so I don't really see that as a problem :) Thanks lads!

old models are cheap as chips:) buy one with a new nct and ur grand for 1/2 years:) here is a few with nct to get ya drooling :P

http://cars.donedeal.ie/find/cars/for-sale/Ireland/new%20nct?filter%28make%29=Nissan&filter%28max_engine%29=1.8&filter%28max_year%29=2001&filter%28min_engine%29=1.5&filter%28min_year%29=2000&filter%28model%29=Almera&sort=publishDate+desc&source=all&start=0

The 1st result is the one im going to look at later :-) bit of a dint in one of the front panels so ill ask him about that and see what he says

ave a look at the pics on this thread....this is wot can happen if u have a rusty.rotton x-member...serious amount of dosh required to replace rusty bits.....:D
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=82747368

Well excuse my ignorance but would popping the bonnet let me see this or would I need the car to be raised off the ground to see it?

look under the front bumper,the rad is bolted down onto the crossmember,it is very easy to see, if it even beginning to get rusty do not buy it.its common fault on older micras/almeras ,but once replaced it will never need to be done again. look at the shiny new lower black frame (with the bolts sticking out)in the pics..thats it. the upper bit is a different part .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dh0011

OP I had an 01 almera and it broke my heart. I had all the known faults between 80K and 90K. These included:
    Gearbox trouble
    Timing chain stretching (this is very common look out for the rev counter needle wobbling or a rattle from the engine) this repair will cost 400/500
    wiper box breaking (part was about a hundred euro)
    brake calipers sticking
    clutch went
    boot leaked
    radio broke
    heater controls broke
    seatbelt stopped working
    car ate light bulbs
    camshaft sensor went (200 quid)
    lambda sensor went (200 quid)

I swore off nissan after this.

On the plus side I had the 1.5 petrol and managed to get 40-45 mpg from her which is quite good. This is largely down to the fact that the car is very light. Also managed to get 40000 miles from the tyres on the front of the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

For your budget you could get an 00/01 civic saloon with 1.4 engine, waaaay more economical than the 1.5 Almera which are very sore on fuel. The civic is also more refined and ultra reliable.

Absolutely do not buy the accent, the1.3 engine is even worse on fuel than the Almera, they're crude and cheap and butt ugly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I'd agree with you on most dealers, but this one is a friends of my Dad and really looked after me with my first car, told him I was looking to sell it and get a newer one and he said he has these 2 in my price range. That's why I haven't really looked privately because I know his cars are reliable and that if on the off chance I do have trouble he'll look after me with no problem.

Choosing between those two cars just because the dealer has them in stock and is a friend is a mistake imo. There are other models out there that are better than those two. Corolla, Civic, 323, Focus, etc. are all superior to an Almera or Accent of that era imo.

Why not ask the dealer if he can source something else for you? Small time dealers usually have contacts in bigger franchised dealerships who normally take a part exchange in that is either too old or worth too little for the bigger dealer to sell on their forecourt themselves so they sell them on to smaller dealers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭bigroad

Op i think the mazda 323 to be the best value.The civics are good but wont be up the years like the mazda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

bigroad wrote: »
    Op i think the mazda 323 to be the best value.The civics are good but wont be up the years like the mazda.

The 1.3 Mazda is another guzzler, very poor fuel economy and they're quite noisy and unrefined. They're reliable but I'd have a 00 civic over an 02/03 Mazda any day.

OP like said above, buying from a dealer because he's your dad's friend is not a good idea and considering all he has to offer is two pigs of cars is another reason to spend your money elsewhere. There is better value to be had buying privately and you'll get a much better car.

I think everyone is right in saying no point buying just because he has 2 there in my price range. Going to look at what people suggested here, so Mazda 323, focus, Civic and going to have a look at Astra's too... Cheers for the advice ladies and gents!

OP biggest regret I had with the almera was that I didnt get a focus or a corolla.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭bigroad

CJC999 wrote: »
    The 1.3 Mazda is another guzzler, very poor fuel economy and they're quite noisy and unrefined. They're reliable but I'd have a 00 civic over an 02/03 Mazda any day.

OP like said above, buying from a dealer because he's your dad's friend is not a good idea and considering all he has to offer is two pigs of cars is another reason to spend your money elsewhere. There is better value to be had buying privately and you'll get a much better car.
    Yea i would have to agree.If you can find a 1.5 mazda or even better a civic go for it.Have a look on donedeal and bring a mechanic with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭balcan

Ran a 2000 Mazda 323F 1.5 for 4 years without any issue whatsoever,sold it to her brother who still has it to this day
    Great car,never cost us or him a penny bar routine maintenance.
    Mother had a 04 Almera,Absolute pile of sh*te

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Theres were problems with headlights melting, was reported on here a couple times, here's more info www.honestjohn.co.uk/forum/post/index.htm?t=43586
    The melting headlight issue only effected the 03+ facelift models and was part of a recall afaik.

CJC999 wrote: »
    For your budget you could get an 00/01 civic saloon with 1.4 engine, waaaay more economical than the 1.5 Almera which are very sore on fuel. The civic is also more refined and ultra reliable.

Absolutely do not buy the accent, the1.3 engine is even worse on fuel than the Almera, they're crude and cheap and butt ugly
    Those 1.4 Civics aren't all that economical either, but other than that they are miles better than those Almeras.
    bigroad wrote: »
    A good 99-00 Civic would still be a better car than a 03 or 04 323 imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

Those almeras are complete dirt mate. I had a 01 and it broke my heart timing chain rattling like ****, gearbox started to make noises and it was very heavy on petrol.. The interior is cheap and not very tough. My mate sold a 02 the other day for 400 quid he couldnt get rid of it... He put it on donedeal and didnt get any calls..

This car ruined nissans name IMO.. Go for a focus, There a bit slow but a much better car..

carzony wrote: »
    Those almeras are complete dirt mate. I had a 01 and it broke my heart timing chain rattling like ****, gearbox started to make noises and it was very heavy on petrol.. The interior is cheap and not very tough. My mate sold a 02 the other day for 400 quid he couldnt get rid of it... He put it on donedeal and didnt get any calls..

This car Renault ruined nissans name IMO.. Go for a focus, There a bit slow but a much better car..
    Fyp:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    Fyp:P

tis true.. fcukin renault.. what a heap of ****.. It amazes me that there are so many of them almeras around..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

dh0011 wrote: »
    car ate light bulbs

My yoke has been doing that since I bought it. I never had a single one go on my last motor (which ironically was an Almera).

Why does that happen? Dodgy electrics I'm guessing?

some sort of a short in the system

carzony wrote: »
    tis true.. fcukin renault.. what a heap of ****.. It amazes me that there are so many of them almeras around..
    They were quite popular at the beginning, at a time when Nissan was associated with reliability. Many people upgraded(if you can call it that:D) from the ultra reliable old model. People soon realised though that both cars had very little in common when it came to reliability

Op how about something like this? These would be a good bit better than both the Almera and the Accent.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/1999-toyota-corolla-1-3-4dr-92k-miles/5859889
    Full-24081244.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,656 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Jeeese I never thought the Almera were this bad. Dull as dyke water, yes but didn't think they were so unreliable and poor cars. How hard was to make a plain reliable small saloon? Obviously very for Nissan in this era!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Shane Fitz

dgt wrote: »
    Watch out for a rotten crossmember on the Almera

Had to get mine replaced after NCT fail last year. On a 03 Almera.

Those head lights were subject to a recall, check if that happened with this car. Nissan Ireland can tell you if you ring them with the reg.

Shane Fitz wrote: »
    Those head lights were subject to a recall, check if that happened with this car. Nissan Ireland can tell you if you ring them with the reg.
    If it's a 2001 Almera it won't be effected by melting headlights;)

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    If it's a 2001 Almera it won't be effected by melting headlights;)

Yup, you are correct Sir