Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying a brand new car on benefits?

• 18-10-2013 1:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭

A neighbour of ours is on job seekers benefit and has been for two years. He cannot find a job. He has a brand new 2013 car worth €30,000 with all it's extras and modifications (his own words). Bought outright. Has a mortgage, wife and three kids. Can't understand how he could afford to buy this.

Before anyone says I'm jealous, I'm not. Just curious as to how he could afford this if he's not worked in two years. My husband has a three day work week and can just about cover the costs of his 2003 car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Dfmnoc

Drugs

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Is he black? Everyone knows black people get free cars when they're on the dole.

The dole allows you to have some form of savings, so perhaps he used that towards buying his car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,834 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

lukesmom wrote: »
    Before anyone says I'm jealous, I'm not.

I don't believe you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

I don't believe you

even I'm jealous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

He sells his ass for cash in the evenings???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

I don't believe you

Swear to God I'm not. More power to him for having a fab car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

The dole allows you to have some form of savings, so perhaps he used that towards buying his car?

You really think someone can save €30,000 in 2 years while on the dole :confused:

Or were you being facetious? I sometimes miss these things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

A neighbour of ours is on job seekers benefit and has been for two years. He cannot find a job. He has a brand new 2013 car worth €30,000 with all it's extras and modifications (his own words). Bought outright. Has a mortgage, wife and three kids. Can't understand how he could afford to buy this.

Before anyone says I'm jealous, I'm not. Just curious as to how he could afford this if he's not worked in two years. My husband has a three day work week and can just about cover the costs of his 2003 car.

I don't believe you. my neighbour is an alien would you believe that ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

He's either doing nixers or he's selling tablets.

Either way he wants locking up pronto.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Winning streak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

What an anti dole thread on boards??? Well I never.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Not to turn this into a Dole bashing thread but I know a few relatives on the Dole that can afford 3 foreign holidays and countless weekend trips down the country.

I don't believe you. my neighbour is an alien would you believe that ?

It's 100% true I have no reason to lie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

You really think someone can save €30,000 in 2 years while on the dole :confused:

They wouldn't be on Jobseekers Benefit for 2 years though so the OP is incorrect, plus it doesn't mean they didn't have any savings before they signed on.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

Pretty easy to do.

If he lost his job 2 years ago and had say 25k in savings, and saved the other 5k from his dole then he would have enough (25k + 5k =31k)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

It's 100% true I have no reason to lie.

Neither do I but it's still aint true

K-9 wrote: »
    They wouldn't be on Jobseekers Benefit for 2 years though so the OP is incorrect.

Job seekers allowance then it's one of the two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

He probably bought it on finance and will be paying for it for the next 15 years.

He said he paid it upfront.

An unemployed person would never be able to put 30k on finance. What do you think this is, 2006? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Hownowcow

Inheritance? Gift? Win?

*Probably drugs.

op out of interest how do you think he afforded it? you know him better than us

he might have savings, an inheritance, a small lottery win, he sounds like he likes to boast, but probably wouldn't admit to an inheritance or a lottery win, some people like to project an image of success based on their own ability rather than through good fortune

Read the first part of my sentence. The dole allows for some form of savings, so they could have had some set aside before they signed on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

He might have sold a kidney for cash. Or bone marrow or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

He said he paid it upfront.

Well then one of three things are true:
    • He is lying.
    • He had substantial savings before he went on the dole.
    • He is gaming the system and making money on the side.

Best way to find out which would probably be to ask him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭donutheadhomer

Is he black? Everyone knows black people get free cars when they're on the dole.

and I've heard the blacker they are the better the car - so I've figured it out - this guy must be in the Minstrels Show on the quiet. Shop him to the welfare for working and signing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Only logical theory is that he's claiming for about 20 people who are already dead.

Maybe he's a serial killer who's addicted to the dole.

op out of interest how do you think he afforded it? you know him better than us

he might have savings, an inheritance, a small lottery win, he sounds like he likes to boast, but probably wouldn't admit to an inheritance or a lottery win, some people like to project an image of success based on their own ability rather than through good fortune

I honestly don't know. I do think he likes to boast. As far as I'm aware the dole wouldn't allow for €30,000 savings though I think. €10,000 is the cut off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

chopper6 wrote: »
    He's either doing nixers or he's selling tablets.

Either way he wants locking up pronto.

Tablets that help you connect to the internet or tablets that help you connect to the infinite wholeness of the universe??? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Savings.

Redundancy from last job.

Either way who gives a ****....

He sells his ass for cash in the evenings???

is it that guy off the RTE show last night who rubs himself up on camera for other lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

maybe he whores out his wife.....if so can you pm me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

My first guess is that he is lying. People do that a lot these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,773 ✭✭✭larchielads

Tom_Cruise wrote: »
    Pretty easy to do.

If he lost his job 2 years ago and had say 25k in savings, and saved the other 5k from his dole then he would have enough (25k + 5k =31k)

hey Tom your maths arent quite right there:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭Devi

Savings before being let go, redundancy payments, inheritance, all three, could be loads of reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

There is a number of ways but why do you care?

He has a mortgage about 15 years left on it he said. He said he'd never buy a second hand car because 'you'd never know what could be wrong with it'. That's fair enough but surely you'd settle for an older car to pay your mortgage without getting assistance. Maybe I'm missing something but I find it bizzare. Two foreign holidays since the start of the year too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I'm sure revenue would be interested to hear about his ability to blow €30k while on the dole. Inform them via the confidential information function on their website. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Strange that the chap would want to draw suspicion down on him like that.

Read the first part of my sentence. The dole allows for some form of savings, so they could have had some set aside before they signed on.

Huh, I knew you could have a bit in the bank and still pass the means test but I just did check on citizens information to see how much. I always assumed it was at most €5,000 but I was way off. You can have €20,000 in the bank and still get full benefits. If you have €50,000 your dole will be cut roughly in half. To lose all €188 a week you would need to have just under €80,000.

That is totally mental. I totally get that Jobseekers benefit isn't means tested, but for jobseekers allowance I find that shocking.

UCDVet wrote: »
    My first guess is that he is lying. People do that a lot these days.

A garda I know told me they once arrested a bloke for stealing number plates off a new car to put on his own older car to make it look new

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

However they got the money is a mystery to me but it's not a very smart move to buy a 30 grand car while you are receiving benefits. If you acquired the money legally then surely saving it would have been smarter. If it was illegal then you'd just be making it easier for yourself to be found out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

He could have a lot of money in the bank. If he was working before then he was contributing to the system and therefore if he loses his job he is entitled to support. Just because you lose your job, you don't automatically become poor.

Ush1 wrote: »
    There is a number of ways but why do you care?

Because my husband works his arse off and we just about scrape by so I would hate to think our neighbour is scamming the state. It would annoy me of course, who wouldn't be annoyed?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

Tablets that help you connect to the internet or tablets that help you connect to the infinite wholeness of the universe??? :confused:

Bennies,zimmos,roche,yellies,bluies,sleepers etc.
    Or he could be selling the tablets that allow you to connect to the internet instead.

This case gets moe disturbing by the minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

He has a mortgage about 15 years left on it he said. He said he'd never buy a second hand car because 'you'd never know what could be wrong with it'. That's fair enough but surely you'd settle for an older car to pay your mortgage without getting assistance. Maybe I'm missing something but I find it bizzare. Two foreign holidays since the start of the year too.

Heh - yeah, I see a lot of new and nearly new cars around the place in driveways where there's no-one working for generations at this stage. All on the Bowmaker, of course, but it strikes me as a little strange that one is allowed to enter into finance worth tens of thousands while on the scratcher. Oh well. Personally I could fill the yard with new cars, but I wouldn't have a new car in my furken way! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

A neighbour of ours is on job seekers benefit and has been for two years.
    Do you mean Job Seekers Allowance?
    Job Seekers Benefit only lasts for a maximum of 1 year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Ha Ha. There is a Nigerian family that live on my Mam's road. (Working class area D 15 ) They have a 131 Audi A7 and a 132 Q7. My mam thinks they got them off welfare.

/facepalm

dilallio wrote: »
    Do you mean Job Seekers Allowance?
    Job Seekers Benefit only lasts for a maximum of 1 year

9 months now istnt it