Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Toyota Yaris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭discombobulate

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/exceptional-automatic-toyota-yaris/5833736

Looking for a small automatic for a friend. What do ye think of this? Looks to be in really good shape
    5k for a 10 year old Yaris seems fairly excessive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Yep, fantastic condition and all that it may be but the price is pure dreamer territory!

Personally speaking I wouldn't spend that money on a 9 year old Yaris.

If I was to buy one then I'd buy one with 80,000 Miles for 1200-1500 Euro's instead. They are an ultra reliable car if it has been well maintained and the high mileage isn't a worry on them, cheap to service too and no timing belt to worry about.

One of the last great 1.0L engines before the 3 cylinder balls of crap emerged.

If your friend is prepared to spend 5 k on a 9 soon 10 year old 1.0L yaris then so be it, it should last another 10 years.

Also know that the engine obviously, is only suited to town driving with the occasional motorway run, it does struggle on motorway inclines and it's noisy as hell because of the lack of a 5th gear. It has only 60 hp and 60 or so lbs of torque which is very little.

Can get 48-50 odd mpg (per tank) at speeds 60-100 kph throw in motorway trips and that will go all the way down to 40 maybe 41 of you're lucky.

This was my average per tank calculated at the pump after 1 week. Loan of my Aunt's car.

The interior rattles like hell and it is awfully noisy, but it is a very reliable car.

Tell your friend you can get a Prius MK II 04-09 for about the same money with maybe 90-100K miles, far better car and more economical, bigger and a lot more power.

This week alone I'm averaging 65 mpg 4.3L/100km over 350 odd kms so far on this tank averaged 4.6 on the last tank as I drove it harder, I'm using it for work and the Boss can't believe it and is happy to pay so little in petrol compared to the small vans. So far this week I've clocked up around 1200 kms and this is the 2nd tank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Phoenix Run

Thanks lads. What would ye consider to be reasonable?

You won't get reasonable at this low mileage, if it's genuine that is.

As I said high mileage well looked after yaris will still be reliable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭discombobulate

You won't get reasonable at this low mileage, if it's genuine that is.

As I said high mileage well looked after yaris will still be reliable.
    I'd agree. My mother has had an 04 1.3 auto with 70,000 miles for 7 years and only had a battery and service costs on it which she does before each NCT so she was only getting it looked at every 2 years.

Oh I forgot the OP said Auto,

Then you will get 38-40 mpg if lucky. Can't remember if they're cvt or torque converter ? torque converters are very thirsty.

In that 5k price region then the Prius is absolutely without doubt a far, far better car. It's also automatic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

They're torque convertor,

That one is one irish owner and whatever number of owners in the uk

This is worth 5k not a poxy yaris IMO.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2004-toyota-prius-nctd-and-taxed/5771777

110K miles on a well maintained Prius is nothing, they are well known to exceed 350,000 miles. With proper care.

All usual checks should be done, there is another on donedeal , just search prius 4000-5000 euro's

5 K for a almost 10 year old yaris ? Not a fecking hope in hell !

colm_mcm wrote: »

That one is one irish owner and whatever number of owners in the uk

Nice one, clocked for sure !

A torque converter 1.0L would be horribly slow and uneconomical and awful to drive, automatics like power or they're forever changing down with the slightest touch of the throttle revving inefficiently.

I wouldn't be so sure, small automatics are often tiny mileage. I'd want a service history to back up the mileage tbh but you'd know a low mileage yaris from a high miler straight away

Just thinking, it could be a multimode. Yes it is, didn't spot the gear shifter.
    This has exactly the same mpg and (errr) performance as a manual but is a pig of a yoke to drive.

I wouldn't be so sure, small automatics are often tiny mileage. I'd want a service history to back up the mileage tbh but you'd know a low mileage yaris from a high miler straight away

Just thinking, it could be a multimode

what's multimode ?

Its an automated manual box, same idea as citroen sensodrive or ford durashift-EST
    Has electric actuators for clutch and gear linkages.
    Good for emissions, mpg, performance, parts (same box as a manual) but a pretty bad idea otherwise.

You'd really need to drive it in tiptronic (sic) mode to make it bearable.

Its an automated manual box, same idea as citroen sensodrive or ford durashift-EST
    Has electric actuators for clutch and gear linkages.
    Good for emissions, mpg, performance, parts (same box as a manual) but a pretty bad idea otherwise.

You'd really need to drive it in tiptronic (sic) mode to make it bearable.

Those gearboxes are supposed to be absolutely terrible.

Fiat and opel have them too .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Not all cars are clocked. There is genuine low mileage cars out there. I know they are few and far between but they do exist.

I wouldn't be so quick to call that yaris a clocked car. It's a small one owner automatic car. In my experience it's mostly cars like this that have low mileage on them as their owners are usually oap's that only occasionally go to the shops or bingo etc. Some prove of servicing is vital though as some low milers have never been serviced.

A viewing of that car should give a prospective buyer some idea if the miles are genuine and if it's been maintained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

2006 one here for not much more though I'd take that mileage on a Jap import with a pinch of salt:

View2-23117342.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-yaris-automatic-for-sale/5670157

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

bazz26 wrote: »
    2006 one here for not much more though I'd take that mileage on a Jap import with a pinch of salt:

View2-23117342.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-yaris-automatic-for-sale/5670157

Good find

50k miles is fairly realistic.

Being auto I'd say its done mostly urban japanese city driving. It's not like it's a diesel saloon from the uk where you expect double that mileage for the year

A Prius is still a far better car for the money even with twice the mileage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭kerten

If it is not japanese import vitz, it should be multimode. I never saw 1.0 lt with torque converter automatic mk1 yaris other than vitz. I

I think uk/irish versions have 1.3 lt engine with torque converter automatic transmissions.

I just checked pictures. It is certainly multimode. It is better for performance and fuel consumption but not a great transmission as far as I heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

kerten wrote: »
    If it is not japanese import vitz, it should be multimode. I never saw 1.0 lt with torque converter automatic mk1 yaris other than vitz. I

I think uk/irish versions have 1.3 lt engine with torque converter automatic transmissions.

I just checked pictures. It is certainly multimode. It is better for performance and fuel consumption but not a great transmission as far as I heard.

That is DEFINITELY a japanese import

There's no way I'd buy a vitz multimode unless I knew the parts were the same and the obd was the same.

ION08 wrote: »
    That is DEFINITELY a japanese import

I was referring to 04 yaris in my post. I don't think it is an import. I never saw mk1 import with multimode. They all were torque converter.

06 is obviously an import but not sure about transmission.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Phoenix Run

Guys,

Thanks for all the replies. I went to see the car this morning and it's in great condition. It's a UK import but the mileage checks out with a VOSA check and the car is really immaculate.

My friend is based in Donegal so she has decided to look closer to home but I wouldn't put anybody off taking a look

Guys,

Thanks for all the replies. I went to see the car this morning and it's in great condition. It's a UK import but the mileage checks out with a VOSA check and the car is really immaculate.

My friend is based in Donegal so she has decided to look closer to home but I wouldn't put anybody off taking a look

Tell your friend to look for 1.3 lt torque converter automatic yarises if he/she is set on one of those.

They are cheaper than 1.0 due to high tax :D, and have acceptable performance with similar fuel consumption to 1.0.

I seriously think it would be a big mistake to spend 5 k on a yaris over the Prius, high mileage is not a problem for the Prius and it's a far better and more economical car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

I seriously think it would be a big mistake to spend 5 k on a yaris over the Prius, high mileage is not a problem for the Prius and it's a far better and more economical car.

Prius is two classes higher. Some people want small cars.

That's fair enough but for the money it's far better and maybe the OP'S friend isn't aware of the value ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

That's fair enough but for the money it's far better and maybe the OP'S friend isn't aware of the value ?

And a 5k S-Class would represent better value again if you use that train of thought.

Far as I know the automatic 1.0 and 1.3 vitzs from 05 are cvt

And a 5k S-Class would represent better value again if you use that train of thought.

Of course, only difference the Prius would have a fraction of the running costs for the 5k and probably less than the yaris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Broken_Record_Logo.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭PatM65

Any chance you have a Prius you're trying to sell?

PatM65 wrote: »
    Any chance you have a Prius you're trying to sell?

LOL no I'm not selling it, not yet anyway.