Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anthems at matches.

• 15-10-2013 6:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭

Could we speed up the process?
    The Pres gets a blast of it before he shakes hands with everyone and then the two anthems are played.
    Could we leave Willy in the stands like normal people and not have players standing around for ten minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

who is Willy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Can we stick Willy in defence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Muise... wrote: »
    who is Willy?

Micky.Sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Can we stick Willy in defence?

Stick willy anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

You've been AH'd, OP. Good try.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Free Willy!

Stick willy anywhere.
    Even up the Kazakhs? :eek:

The Rugby is even worse,there's three bloody anthems.It's like a mini concert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

kneemos wrote: »

The rugby is a fcuking disgrace ( I'm a rugby fan ) and its so disheartening to hear that bullsh1t Ireland's call.
    Rugby World Cup it was the anthem and it just isn't right.
    I usually mute it.

Sometimes there's even a little dance number just before kickoff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

It is when Ireland play NZ. Then its three anthems and a haka.

It is when we play NZ. The its three anthems and a haka.

Actually four anthems if you count the little rendition when Micky looks wistfully to the skies when he walks out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

The Pres gets a blast of it before he shakes hands with everyone and then the two anthems are played.
    Could we leave Willy in the stands like normal people and not have players standing around for ten minutes.

In fairness at least our president supports Irish football, Supports his own country's league every week and not the English league like most "Irish fans"

The rugby is a fcuking disgrace ( I'm a rugby fan ) and its so disheartening to hear that bullsh1t Ireland's call.
    Rugby World Cup it was the anthem and it just isn't right.
    I usually mute it.

Would you prefer the Rep of Ireland anthem along with God Save the Queen ? Or to have Northern Irish players removed from the team or their nationality ignored ? What way would you do it ?

Why not tune in after the anthems are played?

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Why not tune in after the anthems are played?

You'd be looking forward to a game though and waiting for kick off after watching the pre game analysis stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Anthems add to the atmosphere of a sporting event. Except when some flute sings it trying to make it his/her own. I'm still cringing at Mr. Logan last Friday.

It's an anthem. Let the band do the job and let the crowd do the singing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭locum-motion

The "Pres" does not get "a blast of it".

The President of Ireland is welcomed with The Presidential Salute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Have to agree with previous posts, Irelands Call is a disaster of a anthem.

Even worse is when we play away, Amhran na Bhfiann is scraped altogether and Irelands bloody Call is played alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

wazky wrote: »
    ?Have to agree with previous posts, Irelands Call is a disaster of a anthem.

Even worse is when we play away, Amhran na Bhfiann is scraped altogether and Irelands bloody Call is played alone.

What do they scrape it with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Who was the ****ing fool on last night singing the anthem like she was on American Idol or something? Not to mention making up words as she went along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Would you prefer the Rep of Ireland anthem along with God Save the Queen ? Or to have Northern Irish players removed from the team or their nationality ignored ? What way would you do it ?

You can rename the team the island-of-ireland-all-stars and then they can play whatever theme tune they want.

Bambi wrote: »
    You can rename the team the island-of-ireland-all-stars and then they can play whatever theme tune they want.

Why would it have to be renamed ? Its Ireland not Rep of Ireland, so why should the anthem of rep be the anthem of the team ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Just scarp homo national anthems and play stuff like Eye of the Tiger or Danger Zone.

Why would it have to be renamed ? Its Ireland not Rep of Ireland, so why should the anthem of rep be the anthem of the team ?

because the name of this country is Ireland, not the republic of ireland. So if you don't represent this country find another name. :)

I think you are confused about whats meant by Ireland the country and Ireland the rugby team. Ireland the country refers to the sovereign state of the Republic of Ireland. Ireland the rugby team is the combination of all four provinces representing the island of Ireland. Included in that is the sovereign state of Ireland and Northern Ireland which is part of the UK. But its not a Rep of Ireland team so the Rep of Ireland anthem isnt the teams anthem, which is why its rightfully not played outside the Republic.

So if the team doesnt represent you, find another team....

I think you are confused about whats meant by Ireland the country and Ireland the rugby team. Ireland the country refers to the sovereign state of the Republic of Ireland. Ireland the rugby team is the combination of all four provinces representing the island of Ireland. Included in that is the sovereign state of Ireland and Northern Ireland which is part of the UK. But its not a Rep of Ireland team so the Rep of Ireland anthem isnt the teams anthem, which is why its rightfully not played outside the Republic.

So if the team doesnt represent you, find another team....

Ireland = The republic of Ireland. Like you said the rugby team is not Ireland.

Historically, the IRFU never got over whole Ireland leaving the UK thing so we have this silly anachronism as a result.

So lets do away with the national anthem, el presidente showing up for matches, the funding, the name. Call the team the island of ireland or I- can't-believe-its-not-Ireland, or the Paddy whackers... whatever ye want. But like you said, it's not Ireland. And quite frankly Irelands call doesn't go far enough, you should'nt be expecting the pyoor norn lads to be playing for a team named after a nation that they might not identify with. :(

Ireland = The republic of Ireland. Like you said the rugby team is not Ireland.

Historically, the IRFU never got over whole Ireland leaving the UK thing so we have this silly anachronism as a result.

So lets do away with the national anthem, el presidente showing up for matches, the funding, the name. Call the team the island of ireland or I- can't-believe-its-not-Ireland, or the Paddy whackers... whatever ye want. But like you said, it's not Ireland. And quite frankly Irelands call doesn't go far enough, you should'nt be expecting the pyoor norn lads to be playing for a team named after a nation that they might not identify with. :(

The term Ireland does not solely refer to the Rep of Ireland. If I showed you a picture of the Island of Ireland and asked you what it was, what would you answer ? Ireland.

The IRFU didnt have to get over anything, they ran their affairs based on representing the entire island of Ireland through provincial clubs and nothing has changed. I'm not sure what funding you're talking about either, its a self sustaining organisation that draws its funding from the provinces including Ulster. The Northern Irish players seem to identify just fine with their Irish provincial team and the Irish team. The team doesnt get its name from a country they dont identify with because the name Ireland precedes the independent sovereign state of Ireland. Its a sport, politics has fcuk all to do with it and thats the way it should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

You can see the disdain in the Ulsters boys eyes when the Red carpet is rolled out for 'Twee' Higgins. I'd say some of the southern chaps would also like to drop the elf with a swift blow to the temple. Just the mere sight of the chap aggravates people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 806 ✭✭✭getzls

You can see the disdain in the Ulsters boys eyes when the Red carpet is rolled out for 'Twee' Higgins. I'd say some of the southern chaps would also like to drop the elf with a swift blow to the temple. Just the mere sight of the chap aggravates people.

Likely you are seeing "the Ulster boys" as you put it through your bigoted eyes.

And also likely you don't like "Twee Higgins" because he is a Prod.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

getzls wrote: »
    Likely you are seeing "the Ulster boys" as you put it through your bigoted eyes.

And also likely you don't like "Twee Higgins" because he is a Prod.:cool:

I'm from the south but I respect that some of the Ulster boys have different politics to myself. I've nothing against Unionism I think its a legitimate political standpoint just like Nationalism is. Loyalism and Republican violence is abhorrent however.

Twee was born Protestant but he considers himself an Atheist. I'm not bigoted I just don't like twee, he's a disengenious pseudo intellectual in my view. That doesn't mean you can't like him.

I'm from the south but I respect that some of the Ulster boys have different politics to myself. I've nothing against Unionism I think its a legitimate political standpoint just like Nationalism is. Loyalism and Republican violence is abhorrent however.

Twee was born Protestant but he considers himself an Atheist. I'm not bigoted I just don't like twee, he's a disengenious pseudo intellectual in my view. That doesn't mean you can't like him.

Don't like the way he tries to act the role.

And the shortness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

The match is going to start at the scheduled time. Its either anthems or standing around. The match will not start earlier if there are no anthems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Muise... wrote: »
    Free Willy!

With every program?

diomed wrote: »
    The match is going to start at the scheduled time. Its either anthems or standing around. The match will not start earlier if there are no anthems.

You defy logic my friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

I was reading on the rugby forum someone had a suggestion about starting a petition to stop the tannoy music during the match as its killin the atmosphere.They could have a point but I actually think the archetecture of a vast empty space at one end of t he Aviva and the crowd sitting further back is now killing the atmosphere at the games. It was very flat yesterday.