Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to do with high cell count cows?

• 15-10-2013 4:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭

Lads i have a couple of cows incalf 4 months, 2 are jerseys with 3 quarters another one is a british fresian(fat) and the last a holstein heifer not incalf. I was gona send the first 3 to the factory and last one to the mart. Problem is the first 2 jerseys will get feck all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Lads i have a couple of cows incalf 4 months, 2 are jerseys with 3 quarters another one is a british fresian(fat) and the last a holstein heifer not incalf. I was gona send the first 3 to the factory and last one to the mart. Problem is the first 2 jerseys will get feck all

That's the problem with jerseys and x breeds,good for nothing only a small volume of high solids milk!!,no cull value and no bull calf value.anyway as regards what tobdovwithbthem .jerseys if there in calf try and sell them as they are ,someone may want them for suckling..the other 2 dry off with cepravin and also sealers and inject with tylovet for 5 days..the Holstein heifer feed her well until first mart in new year and then mart.cull cow trade will be poor between now and Xmas due to the volume of them going through

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

mahoney_j wrote: »
    That's the problem with jerseys and x breeds,good for nothing only a small volume of high solids milk!!,no cull value and no bull calf value.anyway as regards what tobdovwithbthem .jerseys if there in calf try and sell them as they are ,someone may want them for suckling..the other 2 dry off with cepravin and also sealers and inject with tylovet for 5 days..the Holstein heifer feed her well until first mart in new year and then mart.cull cow trade will be poor between now and Xmas due to the volume of them going through
    Agreed on the cull price but you are making some sweeping statement re output. I have no interest in a row but at least be fair
    6 lac Xbred 5656 litres 453kg solids

5 lac xbred 6147 litres 460 kg solids

2 lac xbred 6924 litres 520 kg solids

2 lac 91% je 5703 litres 490 kg solids

These are only for lactation to date this year

All these cows will milk until 20th dec, so 2 more months milk to give and will have been fed 600kg ration, at a sr of 3.5/ha on the milking block middeling ould 'runts' with low volume high solids....my hole

delaval wrote: »
    Agreed on the cull price but you are making some sweeping statement re output. I have no interest in a row but at least be fair
    6 lac Xbred 5656 litres 453kg solids

5 lac xbred 6147 litres 460 kg solids

2 lac xbred 6924 litres 520 kg solids

2 lac 91% je 5703 litres 490 kg solids

These are only for lactation to date this year

All these cows will milk until 20th dec, so 2 more months milk to give and will have been fed 600kg ration, at a sr of 3.5/ha on the milking block middeling ould 'runts' with low volume high solids....my hole

Was waiting for that delaval!!impressive yields and solids but as a matter of interest was the base cow of those xbreeds a hol freisan??.any x breeds I've seen are small narrow little yolks prob bred off poor br freisan cows hence why I call them Runts.anyway no interest in starting a row or trawling back over old ground .i don't like x breeds as I feel they aren't a complete package animal .keep the breed pure is my thing.ibwill have either pure jerseys or most likely pure Ayrshires to compliment my hol freisans post 2015 and definitely won't be x breeding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

we milked on 5 pure JE cows last winter, they calved in spring and werent incalf so we milked em on. These were very big JE cows now and by dutch bulls. They were very heavy and had given us angus calves that spring and they averaged 800e in factory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

what kind of money have you on the 2 jerseys kev ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Was waiting for that delaval!!impressive yields and solids but as a matter of interest was the base cow of those xbreeds a hol freisan??.any x breeds I've seen are small narrow little yolks prob bred off poor br freisan cows hence why I call them Runts.anyway no interest in starting a row or trawling back over old ground .i don't like x breeds as I feel they aren't a complete package animal .keep the breed pure is my thing.ibwill have either pure jerseys or most likely pure Ayrshires to compliment my hol freisans post 2015 and definitely won't be x breeding.

The type of cow you have is the perfect cow for crossing to jersey, mahoney.
    If you were so inclined, but why the second seperate breed?

Also can anyone tell me if you were to cross once to jersey and then back to holstien how many generations would the solids improvement last?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

mf240 wrote: »
    Also can anyone tell me if you were to cross once to jersey and then back to holstien how many generations would the solids improvement last?

Interesting question, I've afew 1st cross heifers that I bought in, put the most of them incalf to a high solids b&w (either pbm or ksk), I would be quite disappointed if the 3/4 bred are much lower in solids than their dams, I'd certainly be hoping for some boost in kg of ms, and then be able to hold a 365 ci

Actually I've afew 7/8000L HOs here, with CIs of 450 days, I think they would be good candidates for a JE straw, I'll hold fire for the minute, and will see 1stly if its any management issues, I'll be paying close attention to their bsc, minerals, etc etc moving forward, I'll avoid breeding from them if possible, but if I do want to build numbers quicker, a JE on them would allow me more homegrown replacements.

Ive always had an interest in ayrshires in praticular from when i saw a herd in england.Very simillar to holstein in frame.as for the jersey it would be the dutch bred jerseys id like.I proably have a good candidate co to x breed but i feel id ruin what has taken me years to create.ive no need to anyway ebi is close to 150 ci is around 370 days average delievered yield per cow this year will be over 7500 ltrs and solids around 550kg and i also have a valuable cull cow and bull calf.There is no way id better that by x breeding.There is enough variation in the holstein breed on the ebi index to keep me happy.The different breed is just something ive an interest in and want to persue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Ive always had an interest in ayrshires in praticular from when i saw a herd in england.Very simillar to holstein in frame.as for the jersey it would be the dutch bred jerseys id like.I proably have a good candidate co to x breed but i feel id ruin what has taken me years to create.ive no need to anyway ebi is close to 150 ci is around 370 days average delievered yield per cow this year will be over 7500 ltrs and solids around 550kg and i also have a valuable cull cow and bull calf.There is no way id better that by x breeding.There is enough variation in the holstein breed on the ebi index to keep me happy.The different breed is just something ive an interest in and want to persue

my father used to have a pure breed herd of JE both canadian and dutch and crossedthem back to high milk HO cows made some serious cows out of it. Im thinking of putting the HO cows i have here in calf to nz Friesians. I like them cows alot

jersey101 wrote: »
    Im thinking of putting the HO cows i have here in calf to nz Friesians. I like them cows alot

We have the one NZ fr here, a cow my dad picked up afew years ago. Tiny yoke, size of a JEx, she is a decent enough milker, but shocking bad for losing body condition, which as a result she slipped from calving in feb last year to July this year, she's not back in calf yet, so will probably be heading for the road at the end of the current lactation, I'm not expecting too much for her, 300quid maybe? But anyways, my opinion on NZ frs based just on her is that they have the downside of a JEx (sh%te cullcow price), but also the bad side of FRs (hard to maintain condition on, average solids, and lower fertility). The one we had was a decent EBI also, 170ish.

Moving forward I'm 99% I'll be just sticking with whatever the highest EBI offerings are with AI, something with decent solids also, this year that is the likes of PBM, JFK, KSK. I'll probably end up down a similar road to you jersey, room for 120ish cows on the milking platform, I think I might as well go for a middle of the road HO/brit FR who will pump out 7000L (delivered per year), and most importantly go back in calf every year, against a 5000L cow, at 120 the higher yielding cow is still very manageable, them NZ HOs have been bred to work well in 600cow herds, lots of walking etc, not what we need to worry about.

Going back to Kevs question about his few cows, 2BH Kev I think you just need to face the music, and let them on for whatever you can get, if they are 3spinners already, I take it they have had a bad dose of mastitis in the dead spin, and now they are high SCC so its spread to other quarters. Take your 300quid or whatever cull price, and be content that you have offset the loss in cull cow price with higher solids/less maintenance on them JEs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Sorry for not back sooner,
    Judging by where you are from our original cow breeding is similar

We used Dovea, Capan, Camper then on to Sonny Boy and then Bellewood. Would have been pedigree TMR even milked 3 times a day for a while.

We were crossing on to good sized milky cows. We actually only use Je on Bw heifers and NZ on all others at this stage

Any farm visitors comment that we have managed to keep the size in the cows. More by accident than design to be honest. I choose no bulls as I might as well be looking into a bush as a catalogue. One of my brothers does it for all of us. If it goes wrong he gets a kick in the hole