Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Given out to by garda for eating my lunch...

• 15-10-2013 11:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭

I work in a shopping centre with an open air car park and always spend my lunch hour in the car to get away from the madness that is my place of work.
    Just an hour ago I had a detective visit me in the shop (all staff cars are listed by the car park attendant) quizzing me as to what I was doing in my car at 12pm yesterday.
    I told him I was eating my lunch and he (nearly) accused me of watching a securicor van with the intention of marking its whereabouts!
    I told him to leave the shop as I've worked here and eaten my lunch in my car for a long time.
    He told me to stop eating my lunch in the car and I laughed in his face.

He left the shop then and went over to have a good look at my car and the details in the window.

I know crime prevention is important but that was taking the biscuit.
    The car park staff would of told him I was staff here for a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

You could be staff there for a long time and still checking out the movements of a Securicor van to be fair.

I understand where he is coming from, but honestly I would have said the same. If Securicor dont want the movements of their vans to be obvious then they shouldnt run on a predictable schedule...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,867 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

I work in a shopping centre with an open air car park and always spend my lunch hour in the car to get away from the madness that is my place of work.
    Just an hour ago I had a detective visit me in the shop (all staff cars are listed by the car park attendant) quizzing me as to what I was doing in my car at 12pm yesterday.
    I told him I was eating my lunch and he (nearly) accused me of watching a securicor van with the intention of marking its whereabouts!
    I told him to leave the shop as I've worked here and eaten my lunch in my car for a long time.

He left the shop then and went over to have a good look at my car and the details in the window.

How did he NEARLY accuse you? Was the big bad garda asking you questions and you put 2 & 2 together to get 14598765416354687?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Hes watching too much Love/Hate, that fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

Somebody, probably the Securicor driver, reported you. Kudos to the Gardai for doing their job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Iano_128

deccurley wrote: »
    Hes watching too much Love/Hate, that fella.

Maybe it was a scene for Love/Hate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,636 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I think you were over reacting a little OP. He was just doing his job to be fair. Just explain calmly and rationally what you were up to. Afterall, you have nothing to hide so there's no problem.
    Lucky all was up to date with your car or else he could have thrown the book at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭keithsfleet

I thought it was a bit much sending a detective. I don't know the movements of securicor drivers but I'd imagine they use the same driver on the same route so they can notice things out of the normal but I wouldn't be out of the normal, same spot in the car park, same time every day and usually the same car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

road_high wrote: »
    I think you were over reacting a little OP. He was just doing his job to be fair.

If someone told me
    He told me to stop eating my lunch in the car
    I'd be quite anxious too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

was taking the biscuit.
    He took your biscuits?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

No Pants wrote: »
    He took your biscuits?

Call the Garda. A crime has been committed!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

I wouldn't be laughing if a detective took my biscuit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭aaabbbb

I wouldn't be out of the normal, same spot in the car park, same time every day and usually the same car.

The fact you manage to get the same parking space everyday is a little unusual , unless theyre reserved or something ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭catastrophy

In fairness op, he was prob following up on something you know nothing about and then you told him to leave the shop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

He was just doing his job up until this:
    He told me to stop eating my lunch in the car.

Where you eat your lunch is your choice and he has no right to dictate to you where you should eat it.

And this was downright petty IMO but you shouldn't have laughed in his face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,388 ✭✭✭markpb

aaabbbb wrote: »
    The fact you manage to get the same parking space everyday is a little unusual , unless theyre reserved or something ?

Or maybe the OP parks there before the shops open in the morning? People are creatures of habit, most people in my workplace park in the same spaces every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

In fairness op, he was prob following up on something you know nothing about and then you told him to leave the shop?
    The detective may have been following up on something, however the op done nothing wrong and the detective had no right to tell the op to stop eating their lunch in the car.

It was a ridiculous request to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭Bits_n_Bobs

What were you eating for lunch??? I've long held suspicions that the gardai have a most bigoted attitude for sangwidges containing muck like rocket, smelly-cheese or fancysmancy foreign ham.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

if the OP has to park in the same spot everyday then it would be too much of a coincident that he was also a criminal that was just lucky enough to have goten a job where his parking spot allowed him to spy on security vans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭Corkbah

(put on conspiracy theory hat)
    OP ....how do you know he was a detective (did he show you an ID badge ...was it real ? ...would you recognise a real one?)

he could have been a criminal trying to ensure his people have the best spot to view the van or best spot to park for a better getaway.

(takes off conspiracy theory hat)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

I wouldn't be laughing if a detective took my biscuit.

And he wouldn't be laughing if I opened my lunchbox !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

so when are you gonna hit the cash van Nidgy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

What a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭StompToWork

If a detective tried to tell me where or where not to eat my lunch, I would laugh in his face too. From what the OP says, I back up what the detective says, right up to the point where he tried to dictate where the OP should not eat his lunch. In that case, it would be a great big "would ya ever feck off, you gimp ya" to the detective's face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Gardai or not, that's a Douchy move, I would have told him to take a long walk off a short pier, and I have 3 uncles on the force!

Cheek of him, fair dues for running him from the shop - and keep having your lunch there, don't mind him....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

He was calling you fat OP. Tis the garda way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Was he wearing his cap, if not you should have told him to fvck off.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

I wonder would they tell Gilligan to do the same thing.
    I bet he was eyeing you sandwich for himself ;)

Did you take the last spicy chicken fillet roll in the deli, you pushed him over the edge man !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

I work in a shopping centre with an open air car park and always spend my lunch hour in the car

Such a sad sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I suppose it's easier and safer to fill in an hour slapping you around and doing the hard man than it is to step up to some actual criminals.
    Such a sad sentence.
    ^^^
    Not as sad as this one.

I have the utmost respect for an garda siochana and I have family and friends that are members of it but that detective was a complete tool.

I'm sure they would of ran the reg of my car through pulse and then ran my name through, both of which would of come back completely clean.

To then come into a busy shop and quiz me in front of customers from the get go instead of asking if we could talk somewhere quietly!
    I had no choice but to run the idiot. I'd done nothing, I'm sure he suspected I'd done nothing but had to follow up on it anyway. I had forgot to say I'd patiently answered several questions off him before I started getting cheeky.

To who ever was asking about my car spot, it's not reserved but I'm here 30 minutes before any of the shops open so I pretty much of a choice of the "good" parking spots.

Such a sad sentence.

I'm sorry I'll stop sitting in my car for my lunch because you think it's sad.

Such a sad sentence.

Such a nonsense statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

aaabbbb wrote: »

Thats not unusual in the slightest. :rolleyes: I park in the same spot in an unreserved car park with 600 spaces every morning...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Maybe he wanted some of your lunch....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭BanzaiBk

Somebody else already mentioned it but he was probably acting on a 'complaint' by a Securicor driver. Around where I work is a fairly busy bank. One area where staff at my workplace can congregate on breaks looks onto the side entrance of said bank. The Gardai both plain clothes and uniformed have approached a certain group of us (i.e. the slightly younger crowd) on multiple occasions about why we were 'staring' at the money transfer van, drivers etc...! It stopped being funny a long time ago and resulted in HR complaining to AGS but it still happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Doing their job and ensuring I wasn't up to anything scurrilous is fine. Telling me not to eat my lunch in the car would have resulted in me closing the window and turning up the radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Call the Garda. A crime has been committed!!!!

Thats a civil matter there boss ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Blue Punto

As already stated the "detective" was more than likely following up a complaint from someone who saw you in your car and at the same time a Cash In Transit vehicle was in the area.
    It may well of been the driver of the CIT van who would not have been aware of your lunch break activities but saw you sitting in your car.
    This in itself would mean nothing to you(OP) but for the CIT driver he is only being observant and doing his job.
    Its better to be safe than sorry ,nobody enjoys a gun being put to there head in the course of their work.
    It could even have been a member of the public who reported it.
    Afterall the hype of love hate and they were doing their civic duty.

Securicor no longer exist it was G4S/Brinks/GSLS or Omada

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

Unlike many places of work, shops and other front of house jobs require a private "staff only" refuge where staff can go in order to have their often unpaid lunch break without interference from customers looking for a "quick favour" etc and feeling agrieved if a uniformed staff member does not jump to their beck and call at once.

This practice of spending lunch time in a car is not unusual especially in small shops and offices where private back room space is limited or non existent. Many non car owners spend their time standing around nearby shopping centers in a "suspicious" manner. Should they be castigated as well???

The cop was probably agrieved that he had chased up a red herring and was probably looking for revenge for his wasted time when told to leave the shop.

While telling him to leave the shop was a tad unprofessional ( I like to deal with unprofessionally difficult people with punctiliious politeness so that overhearers can know I am dealing with a difficult situation ) the cop was being totally unprofessional in looking over the workers car in search of revenge.

I'm sorry I'll stop sitting in my car for my lunch because you think it's sad.

Good idea - spend some time socialising and chatting with your colleagues/co-workers as opposed to sitting on your own in your car eating your lunch.

You'll be less likly to come to the attention of the Gardai and may end up enjoying your lunch breaks more,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭Corkbah

Good idea - spend some time socialising and chatting with your colleagues/co-workers as opposed to sitting on your own in your car eating your lunch.

You'll be less likly to come to the attention of the Gardai and may end up enjoying your lunch breaks more,

obviously missed the scarcasm !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

What were you having for lunch?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

Bloody 'ell, there are some nonsense posts on here today but that has to be tops. I'd like to strangle some of my co-workers never mind spend my lunch hour with them. :mad: :)

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    How about you let the bloke decide what he does on lunch and not judge him on what he does? What kinda of nanny state are we in that you cant eat your lunch in your car!

I wasn't judging.
    The word 'sad' was used in the context of 'feeling sorry for' as opposed to 'considering him pathetic'.

Of course you can eat lunch in your car - but it doesn't sound very pleasant or socially healthy to be doing this every day.

I eat my lunch in my car every day as if I don't I will get collared with a customer or a question or a quick job.

Its my 30 minutes of Jim time.

I like spending time with Jim. He is the nicest guy I know and buys me my lunch and let's me sit in his car.

Loads of people have their lunch sitting at their desk browsing the internet how is sitting in your car eating your lunch in peace while listening to the radio/reading the paper/going on the internet on your phone or tablet etc etc any different? Others who live near work go home for lunch everyday, how is that any different?

Btw I don't currently eat my lunch in the car but I see nothing wrong with it either.

Joe Duffy or nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,429 ✭✭✭dnme

Motoring issue ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

dnme wrote: »
    Motoring issue ??
    Read the thread. The Gardai stole his biscuits out of his car.