Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

From 350z to 335i ... thoughts?

• 14-10-2013 6:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭

So I'm very close to pulling the trigger on a 07 335i. I'm happy enough with the cost to change. I'm just worried the BMW won't live up to the experience I had with the Z. The test drive was rather sedate so I do need to go back for a more spirited one before making up my mind.

I'm aware of the known issues, and there is a slight rattle from the westgate when lifting off the throttle.

I'd appreciate any thoughts.

Thhanks,
    Alan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

Paging MM :D

I think if you buy the right 335i you won't regret it. Is the one you are looking at manual or Auto?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭alanmc

It's an auto. That's why I need the more spirited test drive. I want to make sure I can live with the steptronic.

• Subscribers Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭TCP/IP

335i is a stunning car which one are you looking at as my old one is for sale at the min just wonder if you are looking at the same one. Blows a 350z out of the water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭Shane732

TCP/IP wrote: »
    335i is a stunning car which one are you looking at as my old one is for sale at the min just wonder if you are looking at the same one. Blows a 350z out of the water.

What are you driving now TCP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Make sure the auto is in DS for the testdrive, the ZF box in that car is a peach, almost psychic. Never driven a 350z so cannot comment on the relative performance.

This is the car in question.

DS you say? Nice one.

alanmc wrote: »
    This is the car in question.

DS you say? Nice one.

Buy an M-Sport and change the wheels!

Shane732 wrote: »
    Buy an M-Sport and change the wheels!
    +1,000,000

Those alloys are tragic :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Might as well have M6 reps on that! Cant understand anyone buying a car like a 335i new and not getting an M-Sport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

My brother went from a 350z to an e46 M3 and at least initially he wished he went tuned 335i due to the power delivery differences.

I think my mind has been made up. Cheers lads.

• Subscribers Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭TCP/IP

What are you driving now TCP?

Hi Shane long time no hear. Currently driving a CLK 55 AMG. I thought the 335i was quick but my god this is an animal and the noise is pure addictive. Worst thing is though I am just about to put it up for sale as second baby due in the house so need something bigger. Gonna really miss it. I had my 335 remapped but AMG is the next level in power delivery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Cant understand anyone buying a car like a 335i new and not getting an M-Sport

Because 335s are rare enough in Ireland, let laone an MSport one!

OP, the only thing you have to worry about is wastegate failure. If you hear a loud rattling sound from the engine bay, this means you have to replace both turbos. Due to bad design, the wastegates on these usually fail.

The US got an extended warranty on these but as usual, we got nothing. I have one of mine replaced and am getting the other one done soon. You send BMW your old turbo and they send you a remanufactured one with upgraded parts and a 2 year guarantee. Each turbo will cost you €450 which isn't bad but labour is saucy as it's a pig of a job. If you have to get it done, get both replaced at the same time. You'll save money in the long run by doing this. I didn't and I regret it.

It's a brilliant car and I plan on holding onto mine as long as I can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭rocky

Some people prefer the non-MSport look on the 335. All E92s 335is get the sport suspension by default anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

What about a "different" e92 335?

OSI wrote: »
    There's a nice black 335i with red leather in Sarsfield Motors that I've been eye balling. Might be worth a look.

Me too
    It seems awfully cheap though for a 335i (with that interior especially :pac:)

OP, the only thing you have to worry about is wastegate failure.

The wastegate is one thing, but injectors are far more troublesome and common failures. Check how many have been replaced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

.. Worst thing is though I am just about to put it up for sale as second baby due in the house so need something bigger.....

....sorry to hear you're selling. Actually, sorry to hear you think you can't fit a 2nd child in a CLK Merc tbh....really ? :confused:

OK, mine are now 13 and 10. But the biggest car I've owned for them is, well, take your pic......... 3 x TT's, 1 x 911, 2 x 968's. I will have to get a bigger coupé in the not-too distant future, and herself wants a CLK convertible. Or maybe a 6-series.........

A CLK would be palatial, space-wise tbh. I mean, how big is this child ye're having anyway ?? :P

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

galwaytt wrote: »
    ....sorry to hear you're selling. Actually, sorry to hear you think you can't fit a 2nd child in a CLK Merc tbh....really ? :confused:

OK, mine are now 13 and 10. But the biggest car I've owned for them is, well, take your pic......... 3 x TT's, 1 x 911, 2 x 968's. I will have to get a bigger coupé in the not-too distant future, and herself wants a CLK convertible. Or maybe a 6-series.........

A CLK would be palatial, space-wise tbh. I mean, how big is this child ye're having anyway ?? :P

I know of someone selling a 166 because they've had a second child.
    Aparantly there isn't enough room in it! :eek:

Scortho wrote: »
    I know of someone selling a 166 because they've had a second child.
    Aparantly there isn't enough room in it! :eek:

If that's who I think it is then shhhhhh!
    :P;)

The wastegate is one thing, but injectors are far more troublesome and common failures. Check how many have been replaced.

Forgot about them but I haven't had any injector issues thankfully.

At least though, injectors aren't anywhere near the job to replace as the turbos are. Also Alan, if you do need to get injectors replaced, they need to be coded before they'll work properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

,,,,,,OP, the only thing you have to worry about is wastegate failure. ----.

fuel pump too an common issue, relatively?

cabb8ge wrote: »
    fuel pump too an common issue, relatively?

Not really in Europe. It was a huge issue in the US due to their low octane fuel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

galwaytt wrote: »

You took the words right out of my mouth :)

If I only had 2 children, I might have bought a 645Ci (4 seater)...

Never understood the need for MPVs when you have only 1 / 2 / 3 children. Big saloon / hatch / estate does the trick easily, even with 3 children

OSI wrote: »
    but getting a baby in and out of a child seat in the back of a coupe is back breaking.

Not if it's an RX8 :pac:

Hi Shane long time no hear. Currently driving a CLK 55 AMG. I thought the 335i was quick but my god this is an animal and the noise is pure addictive. Worst thing is though I am just about to put it up for sale as second baby due in the house so need something bigger. Gonna really miss it. I had my 335 remapped but AMG is the next level in power delivery.

What year is the AMG? I'm still driving my 335i but have test drove a few 997's, Gran Turismo's, a R8 etc... I'm getting very itchy feet!

Not really in Europe. It was a huge issue in the US due to their low octane fuel.

They tend to do the injectors and fuel pump at the same time from what I've seen. I had my injectors done as there was a recall - my injectors were actually fine. They replaced the fuel pump at the same time, which I thought there was a problem with.

Thank God for the BMW goodwill program.

They tend to do the injectors and fuel pump at the same time from what I've seen. I had my injectors done as there was a recall - my injectors were actually fine. They replaced the fuel pump at the same time, which I thought there was a problem with.

Thank God for the BMW goodwill program.

Goodwill me hole! They wouldn't give me anything just because the first owner didn't bring it to a dealership for servicing.

So, does the goodwill program only kick in if you have a book full of dealer stamps?

Thats the same with most dealers and issues in Ireland though, I couldnt get Audi to cover an issue years ago either.

Yes. I'm the second owner of my car and I now have to fork out to get these things fixed with no goodwill because of the choices someone else made :rolleyes:

When I had the RX8, I got quite a bit of goodwill from Mazda towards the hard-to-start issue even though I was the 3rd owner AND it was a Jap import and I didn't even buy it from a Mazda garage.

The problem with the 335i turbos has been there since they were built on day 1 by Mitsubishi. It's not up to them though, it's up to BMW to rectify this as they put them in their cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

I'm looking at a 335i touring as even though we have just the one child the sheer amount of stuff you have to bring with you is mind boggling.
    Looking at going from 5 series to the touring as the estate is just handier :)

Blazer wrote: »
    I'm looking at a 335i touring as even though we have just the one child the sheer amount of stuff you have to bring with you is mind boggling.
    Looking at going from 5 series to the touring as the estate is just handier :)

I saw that black one for sale recently. Quite a rare beast on these shores!

Yes. I'm the second owner of my car and I now have to fork out to get these things fixed with no goodwill because of the choices someone else made :rolleyes:----

but did you not chose to buy car even though you observed audible turbo rattle?

When I had the RX8, I got quite a bit of goodwill from Mazda towards the hard-to-start issue even though I was the 3rd owner AND it was a Jap import and I didn't even buy it from a Mazda garage.
    You got iucky then, my dad got nothing from Mazda when the timing chain slipped a sprocket on his CX7 (it was fixable, but at EUR3k) despite being an Irish car bought new and serviced at the Mazda dealer network. They claimed it wasnt serviced exactly according to spec however. I would not rate Mazda aftersales or indeed product at all.

Yeah I did chose to buy it but regardless of that, no matter who bought it, why should they have to fork out huge money for a problem that was there from day 1 just because the first owner didn't go to a dealership for servicing? Coupled with the fact that "servicing" has absolutely zilch to do with the wastegates.

Like I said already, BMW extended the warranty in the US to cover this issue so they are openly telling people that it exists and that they know about it.

There's not that many 335i's in the country. It wouldn't cost them a lot to give *some* goodwill gesture regardless of servicing.

Yeah I did chose to buy it but regardless of that, no matter who bought it, why should they have to fork out huge money for a problem that was there from day 1 just because the first owner didn't go to a dealership for servicing? Coupled with the fact that "servicing" has absolutely zilch to do with the wastegates.

Like I said already, BMW extended the warranty in the US to cover this issue so they are openly telling people that it exists and that they know about it.

There's not that many 335i's in the country. It wouldn't cost them a lot to give *some* goodwill gesture regardless of servicing.
    Same with me and the improperly welded exhaust manifolds taking out turbos on prefacelift Audi S4's. Audi UK did a goodwill thing, Audi Ireland acted like I was some scumbag out to take profit out of the bottom line.

I am a rabid BMW fanboy, however after owning 5 over they last few years I am always less than impressed with the customer service and build quality. Driving dynamics and getting power out of a engine is not their problem, but a premium brand need to work on their service and QC the problems before launch.

In the UK servicing (especially for older cars) within the dealer network is far more reasonable.

Why do you always look for the negative in everyone.
    Between me in a few threads a while back, DGT in the bangernomics thread, and now (and there were others)

The world is not always out to get you. Maybe remember that, and stop being so critical and abusive.

MM's machine (even from an oilburner fanboy like myself) is a beast, perhaps it was a heart over head decision, which, as posters in a motoring forum - we should all have some sort of resonance towards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

For MM, he just wanted the car, the spec and condition obviously outweighed the issues with the wastegate. Now I dont think he predicted it would be such a costly issue seeing as how he has to replace the second turbo now, but the car is rare in its condition, even before he has put the hours he has into it.

Why do you always look for the negative in everyone.
    Between me in a few threads a while back, DGT in the bangernomics thread, and now (and there were others)

The world is not always out to get you. Maybe remember that, and stop being so critical and abusive.---.

critical and abusive, world out to get me, negative :confused:

I send you some head and shoulders in post :)

dgt was attacking someone over anensis with no NCT, I not attack anyone

You were personally attacking me in the "post a pic" thread and via PM a few weeks ago out of nowhere.
    The posts got deleted.
    I don't want to derail the thread further and risk another ban - so I will leave it at that. We both know what I meant by my earlier statement.
    As I said, the posts were deleted by a moderator, so I cannot link to them. (But if you need a refresher, the mods can still access the posts)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

You were personally attacking me in the "post a pic" thread and via PM a few weeks ago out of nowhere.
    The posts got deleted.
    I don't want to derail the thread further and risk another ban - so I will leave it at that. We both know what I meant by my earlier statement.
    As I said, the posts were deleted by a moderator, so I cannot link to them. (But if you need a refresher, the mods can still access the posts)

If either of ye have an issue with a post.Report it.Don't deal with it here on thread

OP - any news on what you're going to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

Also 4 owners with 56000 miles on the clock???

Seems high.

OP - any news on what you're going to do?

I've put a deposit down on the car and I'm collecting it tomorrow. :)

I took it for another spin yesterday and it put a very broad smile on my face. It's definitely a heart over head decision, and I'm still not sure if I'll be happy with the Steptronic 'box in 6 months time, but I'm as giddy as a school boy before TopGear comes back on the telly. Can't wait.

I've put a deposit down on the car and I'm collecting it tomorrow. :)

I took it for another spin yesterday and it put a very broad smile on my face. It's definitely a heart over head decision, and I'm still not sure if I'll be happy with the Steptronic 'box in 6 months time, but I'm as giddy as a school boy before TopGear comes back on the telly. Can't wait.

With cars like this, it always is :D

Any chance you might come to the next meet?

Best of luck with it! It might be a case that what you're hearing is the ticking from the injectors or just the engine ticking over (normal) rather than the wastegate so let's hope so!

With cars like this, it always is :D

Any chance you might come to the next meet?

I'll definitely try and make it, yeah.

If you have any questions (I had when I got mine) I'll be more than happy to help out if I can :D

Cheers. Much obliged.