Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why cant women deal with the common cold?

• 13-10-2013 7:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭

My wifr has a common cold and has taken to the bed for two days ,my advice to her is get up and get out .am i wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭Teagwee

Yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

My wifr has a common cold and has taken to the bed for two days ,my advice to her is get up and get out .am i wrong

Yes.

Unless you're a doctor (but you're prob not).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Gee_G

If this is the advice you actually gave her,Pack your bags and run....very fast!!:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

No - they make a mountain out of a man flu.

On a side note - who'll make your sandwiches for lunch tomorrow?

Lost in Corks wife = all women?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Who's doing the cleaning?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭boomkatalog

Your wife hardly represents all women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Ericaa

A cold doesn't make people stay in bed, a flu does...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

Men are NEVER wrong, that's a female trait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

It's a test, OP...everything women do is a test of some sort...and you're failing it miserably.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Were all different in how our bodies react to illness,what can be just a cold for you can give some one with a weaker immune system a knockout blow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

No, perfectly reasonable old chap. Throw a bucket of ice on her for good measure, that will sort her out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Wait until she give it to you OP. Then you'll be back here with your "man flu".. :P

Maybe she's run down and it's hit her harder, or at a point in her cycle where she copes less well than usual. Maybe she's trying to isolate herself from her unsympathetic husband, maybe she has a much worse cold than he realises and her energy is gone. Either way rest is obviously what's working for her, so leave her alone to sleep and make sure she drinks plenty instead of hassling her to get up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Candie wrote: »
    Maybe she's run down and it's hit her harder, or at a point in her cycle where she copes less well than usual. Maybe she's trying to isolate herself from her unsympathetic husband, maybe she has a much worse cold than he realises and her energy is gone. Either way rest is obviously what's working for her, so leave her alone to sleep and make sure she drinks plenty instead of hassling her to get up.

Yeah, the wife sounds like she might be depressed too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭joolsveer

It could be the flu. I have never had the flu but I hear that is very common (according to the women I know).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Pretty sure that Lost in Cork's wife = all humans. IIRC, she's Mitochondrial Eve.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Yeah, the wife sounds like she might be depressed too.

There's no way anyone can accurately infer that from the OP. All we know is she has a bad cold and needs a bit of rest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Mooby

As a single mumma, when I feel like crap and need to rest, I sometime wish I had a partner to share the load. I really appreciate your post OP, makes me realise that things are not so bad ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Women not deal with colds??? Two words, Man Flu. A case of the sniffles and ye men are dying apparently.

Seriously though, if she is really sick, then you're just an áss. If she just is a bit sick, she's being dramatic, but only she can really tell. One thing I hate is how energy zapping a cold/flu can be. Then again, if I went to bed with one, I would be forced out within ten minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭lost in cork

kneemos wrote: »
    Who's doing the cleaning?[/QUO
    the latvian girl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

mfceiling wrote: »
    No - they make a mountain out of a man flu.

On a side note - who'll make your sandwiches for lunch tomorrow?

Has no one noticed this question ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

I got lost in his wife once

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 grangerka

I used to have a boyfriend who would caugh 3 times and then go to bed for 4 days - I swear to god, not exaggerating here!

I hope you are keeping tabs on the jobs that are getting overlooked while she is feigning illness. Make sure she catches up on them 'in her own time'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur.

My fiancee deals with a cold better than I do tbh.

I hate being sick and always end up feeling sorry for myself and moping around.

Therefore, your analysis is ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

grangerka wrote: »
    I used to have a boyfriend who would caugh 3 times and then go to bed for 4 days - I swear to god, not exaggerating here!

At that rate, he's going to be in a coughin.

*cough*.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭cuana

Well if my other half said that to me I'd be more inclined to drag it out as long as possible just to prove a point!! :rolleyes: anyhow she could be seriously sick and the best place for is resting anyhow who knows get an medical opinion!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭canadianwoman

Yes, you're wrong. Do the decent thing and make her a nice cup of tea and then enjoy the peace and quiet. Take a sandwich making course online... (look for recipes so you can print out the pictures and eat them....that way you won't starve while she is under the weather.)

Tell her there's a handbag sale on in town.see how quickly she 'recovers'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Cossax

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    Women not deal with colds??? Two words, Man Flu. A case of the sniffles and ye men are dying apparently.

Seriously though, if she is really sick, then you're just an áss. If she just is a bit sick, she's being dramatic, but only she can really tell. One thing I hate is how energy zapping a cold/flu can be. Then again, if I went to bed with one, I would be forced out within ten minutes.

I really hate this man-flu bollocks some women come out with.

We get sick, we go to bed for a day and we get better.
    Whereas if my experience in work is anything to go by, ye get sick, don't go to bed for the day but carry on around the place, bring it to work, complain about it at work, dose yourselves with painkillers, make out ye are martyrs and then give out that we don't suck it up.

Cossax wrote: »
    I really hate this man-flu bollocks some women come out with.

We get sick, we go to bed for a day and we get better.
    Whereas if my experience in work is anything to go by, ye get sick, don't go to bed for the day but carry on around the place, bring it to work, complain about it at work, dose yourselves with painkillers, make out ye are martyrs and then give out that we don't suck it up.

Wife clearly doesn't make you chicken soup when sick Cossax, grounds for a divorce me thinks!

Most people these days cannot take a day off for a cold, man or woman. In most cases, a good dose of lemsip, vicks nose decongestant, vit C and a coffee for energy boost has you as good could be. In the case of an actual flu, the sufferer is incapable of even getting to work let alone working.

There is no need to tell me about the spreading of the illness. My son is in school, cesspit of the contagious illnesses. 3 colds and only half way into October

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Is your wife called Chaka Khan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

My fiancee deals with a cold better than I do tbh.

I hate being sick and always end up feeling sorry for myself and moping around.

Therefore, your analysis is ****.

It just means you're a soft cock

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur.

Itsdacraic wrote: »
    It just means you're a soft cock

Good one.

Real Mensa material here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Aineoil

For a cold or flu - a hot whiskey with a dash of lemon - works wonders
    For a stomach upset - a glass of red wine does the trick

Aineoil wrote: »
    For a cold or flu - a hot whiskey with a dash of lemon - works wonders
    For a stomach upset - a glass of red wine does the trick
    Loads of honey too, yum! Or a hot port.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

It's the weekend, leave her alone. Maybe she needs a break, and some peace and quiet to recharge. Having you standing there complaining probably isn't helping, so why don't you just buzz off outside yourself?

biko wrote: »
    Wait until she give it to you OP. Then you'll be back here with your "man flu".. :P

He will 'man up', not neglect his duties and even though he is just about to have the last rites read to him, STILL take the wheelie bin out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Hey, I've just spent the weekend plying my husband with lemsips, hot whisky's and good hearty meals, all while I did all the housework and shopping etc, so he could have a rest. Now I've got a heavy cold and there isn't even any whisky left for my hot whisky, but I still have to get on with it. Generally women are the ones who just plough through illness and get on with things. If we didn't the world would come to a standstill:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭Hoop66

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    Loads of honey too, yum! Or a hot port.

Or just, y'know, "some booze".

Remarkably effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,656 ✭✭✭ronjo

Hey, I've just spent the weekend plying my husband with lemsips, hot whisky's and good hearty meals, all while I did all the housework and shopping etc, so he could have a rest. Now I've got a heavy cold and there isn't even any whisky left for my hot whisky, but I still have to get on with it. Generally women are the ones who just plough through illness and get on with things. If we didn't the world would come to a standstill:D

why dont you send him to the shop for you? genuine question.

ronjo wrote: »
    why dont you send him to the shop for you? genuine question.
    Because he'd go:) and he's starting 12 hour nightshifts tonight so I want him to get some rest, he's really run down and could do with just resting a bit. I'll be fine with lemsip had some homemade hot lemon, honey and clove drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Itsdacraic wrote: »
    I got lost in his wife once

Haven't we all?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

It's not a gender thing. The whole concept of ManFlu is laughable, doesn't tell the whole picture. Some men and some women just prefer to play the victim more than others...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

you working this week? Also did he ask you to do all that or did you choose to do all of that? Did he make himself the victim or did you make him the victim?

Wompa1 wrote: »
    you working this week? Also did he ask you to do all that or did you choose to do all of that? Did he make himself the victim or did you make him the victim?
    Actually I chose to look after him, we're a supportive couple. If one of us needs looking after the other does the looking after. I'm not sure what you mean by 'victim'. You sound angry, maybe you need someone to give you a little tlc:D