Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Malala

• 11-10-2013 1:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭

Such a brave girl.

Malala: I want to be Prime Minister

http://www.breakingnews.ie/world/malala-i-want-to-be-prime-minister-609802.html

What will she want to be next? :o

Anyone sniff a teeny bit of milking celebrity here? It reminds me of Bono over the years. Sure she has a great story and overcame horrific injuries but I feel I have less time for her now than I did.

That and I begrudge people who are more advanced than me in status in this world:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Fair play to her :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

It reminds me of Bono over the years.

But without the gun wound to the head, sadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

She is getting a lot of mileage out of that shooting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

She is getting a lot of mileage out of that shooting

Well if I took a round to the noggin I'd expect a bit of mileage out of it an' all. Fair play to the kiddo, and I hope the crazies don't have a right go at her over all the publicity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

Thread title is a bit disrespectful though. Her full name is right there in the article you linked to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Such a brave girl.

Anyone sniff a teeny bit of milking celebrity here? It reminds me of Bono over the years. Sure she has a great story and overcame horrific injuries but I feel I have less time for her now than I did.

That and I begrudge people who are more advanced than me in status in this world:P

Sooooo 99.99999999%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭tomdempsey200

can't see it myself

seems fearless and ambitious maybe...

shoddy enough thread title alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Such a brave girl.

Yeah, imagine that crazy asian having dreams and aspirations and using what happened to her to highlight the way women are still treated in many parts of the world. I don't want my daughters seeing that sh¡t. Let's get back to Miley Cyrus licking the make-up off her face and showing preteens how to twerk and let's not worry about all that inspirational nonsense.

Also OP, to really get across the full Jade Goody-ness of your intellectually stunted post, you should have called her Malala Poppadom or sumfink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭ThePieintheSky

I didn't want to put in her second name for other reasons. But that's neither here nor there. This is AH not the UN Humanitarian Forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I've said it before, I feel like someone is using her as a kind of ventriloquists dummy.

I do have huge admiration for the girl, considering she barely seems to have been phased by her horrific attack (seriously, who shoots a 14 yr old kid at point blank range?).

But listening to her speak, I can't help feel something is a little off...like somebody's putting words in her mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

You could have just used a different thread title then. Calling her Malala whatshername was always going to get a reaction.

But you probably knew that.

DoozerT6 wrote: »
    You could have just used a different thread title then. Calling her Malala whatshername was always going to get a reaction.

I changed it just for you.

DoozerT6 wrote: »

But you probably knew that.
    I didn't want to put in her second name for other reasons. But that's neither here nor there. This is AH not the UN Humanitarian Forum.

We have to remember this is also the OP who gave us this classic thread:rolleyes:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057057692

Fancy a role as a "nail tecnician"?
    Perusing a high profile employment site for "highly technical and advanced roles" to see what's going at home at the moment and came across this. This looks a bit too advanced.

It seems looking down the nose at others is a hobby?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

Now I think this thread is about mala and how someone wants to make a prime minister out of it

I've said it before, I feel like someone is using her as a kind of ventriloquists dummy.

Yep, I get that impression too. Though it's very hard to say tbh. She is is a very good speaker though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Well, good luck to here. Politics in Pakistan is a dangerous business, with a lot of former heads of state having been assassinated, but she seems to be very brave, and would probably do a good job running the country, when she is older. She surely can't do a worse job, then the corrupt shower of wealthy politicians, or military dictators, that the country has had so far.

bumper234 wrote: »

It seems looking down the nose at others is a hobby?

If this thread was about Bono would you be so defensive?

I have nothing against him, he is a successful singer and business man and has never done anything to bother me. This may surprise you but not everyone has the begrudgery gene.

Also this thread (that you started) is not about Bono it's about a child who was shot in the head for going to school and now wants to try to help the people of her country.

I have nothing against him, he is a successful singer and business man and has never done anything to bother me. This may surprise you but not everyone has the begrudgery gene.

All Irish are begrudgers at heart. We wouldn't be Irish without the aul begrudgery.

Nope i don't agree with that Maybe it's because i'm not Irish.

Also this thread (that you started) is not about Bono it's about a child who was shot in the head for going to school and now wants to try to help the people of her country.

She is comfortably a millionaire times over at this stage and set for a life of wealth and potentially power. Sympathy goes so far.

Nope i don't agree with that Maybe it's because i'm not Irish.

Well then how would you know? Begudgery is a very Irish trait. Anyone who says the opposite is being dishonest.

She is comfortably a millionaire times over at this stage and set for a life of wealth and potentially power. Sympathy goes so far.

Link please? Or are you talking rupees? Also are you saying she is now HAPPY that she was shot in the head and left for dead?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

I do have huge admiration for the girl, considering she barely seems to have been phased by her horrific attack (seriously, who shoots a 14 yr old kid at point blank range?).

But listening to her speak, I can't help feel something is a little off...like somebody's putting words in her mouth.

Considering English wouldn't be her native tongue, there's bound to be some minor difficulties with pronunciation so I reckon she should get a pass on that. Her father is a human rights activist as well so I'm sure he's been an influence on her but beyond I don't really see her as being some sort of puppet. The girl has probably had 10 times as much life experience as a similar 16 year old in this country.

Well then how would you know? Begudgery is a very Irish trait. Anyone who says the opposite is being dishonest.

The fact i have lived here for 35 years gives me a good bit of experience:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

OP => trollin'. He's outta here for a while.

beertons, I've deleted your post and reference to it with that card I gave you. More crap like that will add up to a ban.