Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

keltec bale shear

• 09-10-2013 9:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭

Have looked at all the bale shears, goweil, oce, tanco and i am left with this one. Does anyone have one?? I am going to be feeding into a keenans with a tractor loader so i think this will suit me best as it splits from bottom i also like the idea of the bucket attachment.
    Know both tanco and kectec retail around 3,700 just looking for experiences

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

I have a something in my hea that the keltec might be a tad heavier than a tanco, but for loadin into feeder i think its the only one to go for as the other drops the wrap into the feeder. Even throwin it out on ground u need to have tanco up high so the bale doesn't fall on the wrap...

Another plus with the keltec is the rams are pushing the blade through the bale rather than pulling it. It might be a bit slower cutting as a result but will be able to apply more force

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Zr105 wrote: »
    I have a something in my hea that the keltec might be a tad heavier than a tanco, but for loadin into feeder i think its the only one to go for as the other drops the wrap into the feeder. Even throwin it out on ground u need to have tanco up high so the bale doesn't fall on the wrap...

Another plus with the keltec is the rams are pushing the blade through the bale rather than pulling it. It might be a bit slower cutting as a result but will be able to apply more force

I was talking to the lads at the keenan stand in the ploughing and they said lots of lads were using bake shears with the keenan but they said they all had tele handlers. But i dot so think this would work best. Cant find any vids on youtube of any of them filling a keenan

Just looked up there tanco weighs 450kgs keltec 480kgs. Not much in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

jersey101 wrote: »
    I was talking to the lads at the keenan stand in the ploughing and they said lots of lads were using bake shears with the keenan but they said they all had tele handlers. But i dot so think this would work best. Cant find any vids on youtube of any of them filling a keenan

Only videos I've seen is of tanco filling into a tub which would be a little easier as there's room between side and auger, the paddles in Keenan would catch wrap straight away! lookin at the keltec video the wrap has no way of ending up under bale and once you can get it over the feeder i dont see wrap gettin caught

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭jp6470

Have a tanco myself and that's the only problem I found,that you need the height.put round bale last winter quickly into an old feeding trailer,without thinking near took the ass out off.

jp6470 wrote: »
    Have a tanco myself and that's the only problem I found,that you need the height.put round bale last winter quickly into an old feeding trailer,without thinking near took the ass out off.

ye thats another thing why the tanco wouldnt suit it would drop it down one big heap. And that wrecks a keenan. Atleast ye can control it with the keltec

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

i see nugent and cashels are doing them now as well, think the nugent is just a splitter without anything for hold plastic..
    the father in law has a goweil splitter which is a very good device, I see you can retro fit a plastic holder to them, complete different mechanism to the irish ones
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hiKSx9E_Su4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

most of the ones i have seen are on loaders, tele handlers and diggers. what are you pallning on putting in havnt you a massey with a loader? they are a fair size so will your yoke be able for them. the over all weight of them may be similar but the weigh on the keltec goes out much further so you have more weight further out from the loader

think your right though the keltec does look and much better job for smoother feeding of the bale and you could feed in a partial bale much easier. the keeanan would be lighter but you would need to split the bale on the ground and use it like a grab to pick up the bale and lift it into the feeder. in that case using a shear grab would be almost the same thing

grazeaway wrote: »
    most of the ones i have seen are on loaders, tele handlers and diggers. what are you pallning on putting in havnt you a massey with a loader? they are a fair size so will your yoke be able for them. the over all weight of them may be similar but the weigh on the keltec goes out much further so you have more weight further out from the loader

think your right though the keltec does look and much better job for smoother feeding of the bale and you could feed in a partial bale much easier. the keeanan would be lighter but you would need to split the bale on the ground and use it like a grab to pick up the bale and lift it into the feeder. in that case using a shear grab would be almost the same thing

no digger here. Its a case 4240 i have with a loader i reckon it will go about 12ft high when its at its max. I have about 2-2.5 ft up over the keenans at the mo so id say i could be fine. I have a tine grab on her for feeding bales reckon it weighs arourd 300kg .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭F.D

hope your yard is level i would hate to have that weight up at 12 ft,
    can you get a demo of one or go see one working on a tractor of similar size

see if you get hold of a demo you can put on your own yoke. thrust me you dont wnat to take it from sales-man that sure it'll fit fine. you may find your on the look out for a new loader tractor next winter.

well all i know is shes near fcuked ha. Bout 20k on the clock but shes still a right yoke at bales stakes 1200 of em every year. But ye i know what ye mean i dont want to be having to look at a tractor next year for the sake of a bale shear. Would you reckon they'd give ye a demo for a few days?

why not, i'm sur they have one in tehyard, they'll stick on a traile and call out to you, maybe not give you it for a few days do proably call out to see how it works. no harm in asking, dotn buy one without testign in your own place with your own machine, it might not have the power the drive the shear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭thetangler

Hi
    Anyone look at the new Mc Hale one.
    Totally different concept.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

thetangler wrote: »
    Hi
    Anyone look at the new Mc Hale one.
    Totally different concept.

saw a mchale van towing one thru clarinbridge the other day, must have been doing a demo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Pacoa

I wouldn't like to be splitting any bale into a diet feeder. Too much risk of plastic or net getting into the feeder. Better to split the bale on the ground first, make sure all net and plastic is removed then chop bale up and put into the feeder in two or three goes. Grab type splitters would be best for that job, tanco bale shear etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭jntsnk

Just looked up there tanco weighs 450kgs keltec 480kgs. Not much in it

450kg + a bale and loader in front. What counter rear weight is needed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

jntsnk wrote: »
    450kg + a bale and loader in front. What counter rear weight is needed?

1ton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Did you try out the shear? I was chatting to a lad in the local dealer today about them, they have the keltec and the Keenan ones. He said the keltec was a fair beast on a tractor loader, there is fair weight in it so they are more suited to be on diggers or loaders as not only are they heavy but ya need a fair bit of hydraulic power to cut the bale too. The Keenan is more suited to tractor loaders.

If your feeding to a diet feeder the keltec is far superior as. You can cut it straight over the feeder. The other you would need to cut on the ground 1st and use it as a grab to pick up the bale to put in the feeder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

most loaders are at thier limit at 1000kgs

yellow50HX wrote: »
    Did you try out the shear? I was chatting to a lad in the local dealer today about them, they have the keltec and the Keenan ones. He said the keltec was a fair beast on a tractor loader, there is fair weight in it so they are more suited to be on diggers or loaders as not only are they heavy but ya need a fair bit of hydraulic power to cut the bale too. The Keenan is more suited to tractor loaders.

If your feeding to a diet feeder the keltec is far superior as. You can cut it straight over the feeder. The other you would need to cut on the ground 1st and use it as a grab to pick up the bale to put in the feeder.

ye we went and looked at the keltec one and talked to there sales man. We was of the same opinion as yourself. Said tge tractor would be just about to handle it, would be more suited to a higher hp tractot or loader. We decided we would leave it, the concrete in my yard is all broken and uneven and would be likely to overturn with that weight on the front of it.

were thinking of buying a tele handler in a year or two so maybe get one then. The tractor is getting on in age now so i dont want to finish her off completely ha

ye we went and looked at the keltec one and talked to there sales man. We was of the same opinion as yourself. Said tge tractor would be just about to handle it, would be more suited to a higher hp tractot or loader. We decided we would leave it, the concrete in my yard is all broken and uneven and would be likely to overturn with that weight on the front of it.

were thinking of buying a tele handler in a year or two so maybe get one then. The tractor is getting on in age now so i dont want to finish her off completely ha

Thought you were saving up for a slatted tank?

Thought you were saving up for a slatted tank?[/

Dont know if were putting in a slatted tank yet or an outdoor one with a channel. It's a hard discission to make, dont want it to be in the way if i need to expand the yard in years to come.
    Theres talk of ulster bank giving out 30k unsecured loans to young qualified farmers so going to inquire about that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Thought you were saving up for a slatted tank?[/

Dont know if were putting in a slatted tank yet or an outdoor one with a channel. It's a hard discission to make, dont want it to be in the way if i need to expand the yard in years to come.
    Theres talk of ulster bank giving out 30k unsecured loans to young qualified farmers so going to inquire about that

Jersey if I were you, I'd save the 3700 cost of a fancy bale shears that might make sh&te of your tractor/loader, and fire in a silage pit slab instead, cut back on the number of silage bales you use (less plastic needed then). Milk your 4240 as long as you can (if it did 20k hrs, another 5k wont be much), and then spend your money on replacement heifers and building up stock, they will put money in your pocket, not a fancy bale shears. 30k is alota moneys also, I wouldnt be jumping in casually trying to get my hands on a loan as such, unless you know its for items that will definitely give you a decent return on investment.

Timmaay wrote: »

Jersey if I were you, I'd save the 3700 cost of a fancy bale shears that might make sh&te of your tractor/loader, and fire in a silage pit slab instead, cut back on the number of silage bales you use (less plastic needed then). Milk your 4240 as long as you can (if it did 20k hrs, another 5k wont be much), and then spend your money on replacement heifers and building up stock, they will put money in your pocket, not a fancy bale shears. 30k is alota moneys also, I wouldnt be jumping in casually trying to get my hands on a loan as such, unless you know its for items that will definitely give you a decent return on investment.

ye were not goin to bother getting it. Bit of a day dream i had. Well we have all our own baled silage gear so wont be going anytime soon.
    Well the father was going to get it my name if ye know what i mean. And it would be put towards either the shed and tank or parlour. We wont be jumping for it yet. We'll wait till the spring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Touareg360

I bought a Keltec for my father to use his in his 70's and he won't use it,the yard is far too tight for it,<MOD snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

[MOD]

Touareg360, this is not the appropriate place to advertise items for sale, nor to bring zombie threads back to life to suit your purposes.
    Thread closed

[/MOD]