Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

slurry deadline

• 09-10-2013 8:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭

have ye all the slurry out, still have some to put and dung but loads of grass everywhere:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

bt12 wrote: »
    have ye all the slurry out, still have some to put and dung but loads of grass everywhere:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Emptied the tanks a few weeks ago. Nice grass after coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭6480

yellow50HX wrote: »
    Emptied the tanks a few weeks ago. Nice grass after coming.

have been spreading for the last 8 weeks after the cows and still have a bit to spread and nearly too much grass and not enough of ground to spread on but its a good complainent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

80k and we are all done, pity my contractor who has a loan of my tank isnt answering his phone :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 c_cathal

I've emptied my tanks over the last six weeks or so. It is a 'nice' inconvenience struggling to find a field that are bare enough. Long may it last

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

c_cathal wrote: »
    I've emptied my tanks over the last six weeks or so. It is a 'nice' inconvenience struggling to find a field that are bare enough. Long may it last
    i hear that.... we still have a few loads of FYM to get out

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I finished slurry today, dung is long gone. Not planning to graze where slurry went out until mid Feb.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    I finished slurry today, dung is long gone. Not planning to graze where slurry went out until mid Feb.
    nice one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭stanflt

relief at last

r1ut.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

stanflt wrote: »
    relief at last

r1ut.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
    who pulled the plug :D

got 30k done today, monday will be a long one and Im nearly outta land to spread it on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

got 30k done today, monday will be a long one and Im nearly outta land to spread it on

Same here, had to put last of FYM onto fields today that could have been grazed,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

This calender farming is fairly stupid, after the stroke of midnight Tuesday any slurry applied will cause pollution :mad:

Sam Kade wrote: »
    This calender farming is fairly stupid, after the stroke of midnight Tuesday any slurry applied will cause pollution :mad:
    oh for a few more weeks.........i say that every year :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭cavandown

Could do with extra week or so as well. Is the deadline for f.y.m. not the end of the month? What is slurry spreading deadline in northern Ireland.

cavandown wrote: »
    Could do with extra week or so as well. Is the deadline for f.y.m. not the end of the month? What is slurry spreading deadline in northern Ireland.
    its the 15th for slurry and FYM i think but open to correction

End of month for FYM but what are chances of land being travel able then

hugo29 wrote: »
    End of month for FYM but what are chances of land being travel able then
    i stand corrected :D

said the man in the orthopedic shoes

stroke of midnight Monday :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Think would should we apply for an extension because of the good weather ? Or would that be taking the piss !

Ya may be trying to take the pi**, but ya won't be able to spread it after Tuesday

moy83 wrote: »
    Think would should we apply for an extension because of the good weather ? Or would that be taking the piss !
    Too much grass and lack of ground for spreading would be a good excuse this year :)

Ya may be trying to take the pi**, but ya won't be able to spread it after Tuesday
    Apparently if it contains less than 1% solids he can :D only stick a sample in the fridge for proof when they come knocking :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭flat out !!

Yeah it's all a load of FYM this calendar farming craic.

More than likely it was some pen pusher that wouldn't know a cows head from her arse that got the brainwave :mad: Next we will have to put nappies on cows after Oct 15.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

When you consider that we get extensions in wet years when pollution risks are high, it's laughable that we won't even apply for one this year when risk is minimal

delaval wrote: »
    When you consider that we get extensions in wet years when pollution risks are high, it's laughable that we won't even apply for one this year when risk is minimal

Very true , if things were logical we shouldn't even have to ask for it in these conditions .

Logic???

Logic???
    I think lads used it in the 60's but its well out of fashion now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭farmertipp

I think lads used it in the 60's but its well out of fashion now :D

Can you spread on Tuesday or not?

farmertipp wrote: »
    Can you spread on Tuesday or not?

Not allowed spread on Tuesday by law, I will be finishing off Tuesday as to busy setting wheat today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Lads i was talking to simon there, he said we can spread away as long as we like :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Henwin

jersey101 wrote: »
    Lads i was talking to simon there, he said we can spread away as long as we like :D

Ah Simon is a great man:D

Is there any truth in the rumour that if you don't have your tractor and tanker back in the shed before midnight on Tuesday then they will turn into a pumpkin??:D

I was spreading today and broke a vein in the pump:mad: I have it stripped now and new veins ready to put in :)

Maybe if I gave simple Simon or baldy headed Hogan a call they might give me a few days extra :)

I was spreading today and broke a vein in the pump:mad: I have it stripped now and new veins ready to put in :)

Well you now have till Jan to fix it, so no rush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭slippy wicket

Well I'll be spreading away till the tank is empty, and woe betide any clipboard holding gowl that tries to stop me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Maybe if I gave simple Simon or baldy headed Hogan a call they might give me a few days extra :)
    sure they will be busy with the budget tomorrow they wont minda few loads of slurry going out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭lefthooker

Tanks emptied here on paddocks now closed till spring. Phew:pac:

According to teagasc growth rates are 67kgs. Looking back at the texts near the end of October last year they were 22. So there's great growth and phenomenal covers out there still. At this rate I'll be sending the cows out armed with machetes next spring:D

Why the educated suits in the department can't take growth rates, weather and ground conditions into consideration and amend their deadlines accordingly, like they did with the chemical fert:confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MFdaveIreland

15th October, same I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

Finished lagoon today, just have to rinse out the tanked with a few loads tomorrow

Well you now have till Jan to fix it, so no rush
    The rotor is warped :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

The rotor is warped :mad:

Happened me, same thing. New rotor silly money. Try for a second hand complete pump from a sucked in tank. About 350 should get you sorted.

Them boys are so sound they will probably finish up the dail early and head down to give you a hand putting the pump back together .

Ah they will deserve a few pints in the dail bar first,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Well I'll be spreading away till the tank is empty, and woe betide any clipboard holding gowl that tries to stop me.

F***ers will be wearing it if they say anything to me this week, im not in the most hospitable humour this week.
    Neighbour p***ed me off peeping through a hole in the hedge was going to cut a big hole in the hedge to make it easier for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

15th October, same I think

Spreading FYM
    Farmyard manure must be spread before November 1. It contains 4.5 kgs of Nitrogen and 1.2 kgs of Phosphorus per tonne. Do not apply to land from a road or passageway adjacent to the land.

Taken from here

http://www.teagasc.ie/newsletters/farmingtips/2008/environment-20080117.asp

hugo29 wrote: »
    Ah they will deserve a few pints in the dail bar first,
    Goes without saying :rolleyes:

with thier own brand wine they are looking for